Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stone Cold and Spinelli
I'm surprised by the reviews on here. I enjoyed watching this series very much. Maybe because I'm a big fan of Jason and Spinelli. I also enjoy scrubs and any scene with Epiphany because she is one of the best actresses on the daytime show that they fail to utilize. The mystery of who is sabotaging the Hospital is interesting and the ending was a great montage shoot-out...
Published on December 6, 2009 by Haley Kerr

versus
33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A letdown
This was a waste of time. I went into it believing it would be about something and was left disappointed. Bob Guza (head writer) and Brian Frons (pres of ABC) basically pulled a bait and switch on fans. They said it would be about the popular couple Patrick and Robin and that this show wouldn't carry over to the original soap, General Hospital. On NS, it didn't seem like...
Published on December 7, 2007 by Cafetasia


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A letdown, December 7, 2007
This review is from: General Hospital: Night Shift: Season 1 (DVD)
This was a waste of time. I went into it believing it would be about something and was left disappointed. Bob Guza (head writer) and Brian Frons (pres of ABC) basically pulled a bait and switch on fans. They said it would be about the popular couple Patrick and Robin and that this show wouldn't carry over to the original soap, General Hospital. On NS, it didn't seem like Patrick and Robin (Scrubs) even liked each other. And a lot of the stories did carry over, so that in fact it wasn't an alternative universe that was promised.

Whether you were a previous GH watcher or a new watcher all together, this series will leave you confused with its inconsistencies, bad editing, and lame writing. To be fair there were some highlights, but they didn't outweigh the bad.

The Bad:
- The non-chemistry filled "relationship" between Patrick and nurse Leyla, played by an actress with the screen presence and acting ability of a paper bag.
- The lack of screen time of the vixen you can't help but love, Maxie Jones (played brilliantly by Kristin Storms)
- The writing and editing.
- The lack of relationship development between Patrick and Robin.
- The confusing ending. Not worth it.
- The character destruction of Patrick Drake.

The Highlights:
- Actresses like Minae Noji and Kent King who were given the chance to show what they were capable of.
- New finds like the charismatic and talented Dominic Rains.
- When they highlighted Billy Dee Williams in more than just mopping the floor.
- The acting from Kimberly McCullough. There is a reason this woman is a two time Emmy award winner. Despite the crappy writing and the obsessive baby desires of her character, you just felt for her and cried along with her when the world was crumbling before her.
- Other note worthy performances where Bradford Anderson and Steve Burton.

What promised to be a riveting series, turned out to be a complete let down. If you want to see a love story, because we are all suckers for a good love story, this is definitely not the show. You want good writing and decent storytelling. Also not the show. I would only buy this DVD if by some miracle it was a different series all together. Since it's not, save yourself the disappointment and money. Mr. Bob Guza thanks for nothing. You do not know the fans at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Total waste of talent and money..., December 10, 2007
This review is from: General Hospital: Night Shift: Season 1 (DVD)
Last spring, Brian Frons, head of ABC Daytime, was touting an upcoming prime-time spinoff of General Hospital, called General Hospital: Night Shift. He and others were all smiles, saying as how the mob-obsessed head writer, Robert Guza, Jr., did not have the "time" to tell the story of Patrick and Robin on GH, that GH: NS would do so, focusing on their romantic relationship.

Too bad he and everyone else lied.

Instead, what the viewers got was complete character destruction and the assassination of the very couple used in the ads to draw the suckers...er, viewers...in. We had thirteen weeks of a show used to glorify the non-existent charisma of character Student Nurse Leyla Mir - a nurse whose only redeeming characteristic was looking as if she stepped out of an '80s beauty pageant - all while either killing pregnant women by neglect and managing to be rewarded for her screw ups, but I digress.

The viewers who were promised focus on the "Scrubs" (Patrick/Robin) relationship instead saw Patrick stripped of any tenderness, humor, and empathy - most especially apparent with the character of Robin - and turned into a jackass of monumental proportions. It is a testament of Jason Thompson's skill that Patrick and Robin are still root-for on GH, the main show, as had everyone seen this, I'm not so sure that would be the case. Thank God for his chemistry with Kimberly McCullough, which, naturally, made the lack of chemistry with Leyla that much more appalling. So, naturally, we had "Scrubs" break up and had the chemistry-free pairing of Patrick/Leyla dominate for about eight of the thirteen weeks. Never mind the pesky commercials promoting "Scrubs" up to the very end. Force feeding was the name of the game.

Speaking of Kimberly McCullough, she also deserves major kudos and combat pay of her own for managing to still make Robin sympathetic in the face of Bob Guza and Company trying to make her into a baby-obsessed shrew over a patient she knew for five minutes. No doubt this was done to try and make Patrick's choice to turn to the other woman sympathetic, but as much of everything else this regime tries, it failed. There is a reason Miss McCullough has two Daytime Emmys to her name, turning crap into gold.

And do not get me started on the waste of talent of Billy Dee Williams, whose character's sole mission was to mop floors while giving "sage" advice to the masses, including hitman-turned-janitor Jason Morgan.

The sole high points of the supporting cast include Kent King, Minae Noji, and Dominic Rains. If GH were still about the hospital, they would no doubt be welcome additions on a more regular basis, instead of token extras that they sadly are. (Thus showing contracts mean squat if you're not in the mob. Ask Kent King, one of the three who does have a contract. Surprised? Thought so.)

However, those few good supporting actors and the talent of Mr. Thompson (who truly got the raw end of the deal here) and Miss McCullough (that is where the one star comes in; if there was a way to put none, I would have!) was wasted on a project that gave new meaning to the term, "bait and switch". And it is a shame, as had the show delivered what it had promised - romance with Patrick/Robin and medical stories - of which there were few - this DVD may have had a chance of succeeding.

As it is, you're better off spending your money on a show that is actually entertaining and enjoyable and not some exercise in futility, frustration, disappointment, and pain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Waste Your Money (Even on Used Copy), December 10, 2007
This review is from: General Hospital: Night Shift: Season 1 (DVD)
I totally agree with everything the previous reviewers said. This DVD is not worth your money, put you're $20.99 to better use such as having your teeth pulled without novacaine. Scrubs fans were lured into watching and supporting this show under the guise that it would revolve around the love story of General Hospital legacy character Robin Scorpio and her boyfriend Patrick Drake who have a huge fan base but receive little air time on GH so naturally Scrubs fans were salivating at the opportunity to see a series revolving around this couple rather than the same old tired GH Mob dominated storylines. Instead we discovered after the first first few episodes that talentless head writer Bob Guza duped us into watching this garbage that featured the descruction of Scrubs relationship all in the name of propping Guza's newest pet student nurse "Leyla". Thankfully Guza was made to look like a fool since even non-Scrubs fans have failed to support the character of Leyla and Guza's misguided attempt to pair her with Patrick.

The only bright spot in this horrible series is the ability of underused GH regulars Kimberly McCullough (Robin), Jason Thompson (Patrick), Kent King (Lainey) and newcomer Dominic Raines (Leo) to continue to deliver top notch acting despite the awful writing/scripts they are forced to draw from.

If you are thinking of buying this series to see Scrubs love scenes and growth of their relationship then save your money and watch the first 30 seconds of the first episode on You Tube because it's all downhill after that. If it were possible to give zero or negative stars on this review I would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Guza's folly, December 10, 2007
This review is from: General Hospital: Night Shift: Season 1 (DVD)
After being billed as a show case for the Patrick and Robin characters, this series completely trashed the character of Patrick, gave us the chemistry black hole that is Patrick and Leyla (an abomination that bled over to GH, unfortunately) and was generally a kick in the teeth to fans. NO WAY would I buy this. Its only due to the overall awesomeness of Jason Thompson and Kimberly McCullough that this couple was not ruined beyond the point of repair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Say No to the Night Shift, December 9, 2007
This review is from: General Hospital: Night Shift: Season 1 (DVD)
I went in so excited for this show, that was supposed to revolve around my favorite daytime couple, Patrick Drake and Robin Scropio, but was instantly dissappointed. It depicted them as totally different character and the story change half way through was a disasterious idea. The forced pairing of "nurse" Leyla and Patrick was nausiating and lacking in any chemistry. It was so horrible i stopped watching after acouple episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible waste of money, December 6, 2007
This review is from: General Hospital: Night Shift: Season 1 (DVD)
Please save your money! This series was horribly written, and the production quality is that of an amateur. The writers could have taken some pointers from online fanfiction authors. I am embarrassed for those involved with this show. I wouldn't waste my money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just Some Facts, February 7, 2008
This review is from: General Hospital: Night Shift: Season 1 (DVD)
I wouldn't presume to tell anyone else whether or not they should purchase these DVD's but I would like to just present some facts in case you think Nightshift was about Robin and Patrick. There were 13 hours of Nightshift and Robin and Patrick shared the screen for 43 minutes and 27 seconds. There were only two scenes where they were happy as a couple.

Episode #1 - Robin and Patrick were on screen together for 10 minutes and 1 second. During that time P. told R. that he didn't need a babysitter, it wasn't flattering to either of them when she was terratorial and he was a superhero and she was a nag. P. started flirting with nurse.
Episode # 2 - on screen together 2 minutes and 7 seconds. P. gets a back-rub from nurse and insinuated that R. might want to consider a boob job.
Episode #3 - again, 2 minutes and 7 seconds on screen together. There is one decent scene where R. and P. discuss parenthood.
Episode #4 - 4 minutes and 29 seconds on screen together. Patrick joins the nurse in a picket line and P. and R. argue over the HIV+pregnant lady.
Episode #5 - 2 minutes and 58 seconds R. sees P. on roof hugging and dancing with nurse.
Episode #6 - 2 minutes and 51 seconds. R and P fighting
Episode #7 - 4 minutes and 36 seconds. After HIV+ patient dies, R is upset and crying. P yells at R that patients die, no matter now much we hate it and if she can't accept that she doesn't belong in medicine the stomps off.
Episode #8 - 3 min 13 seconds. P tells R she needs Stacys baby because her biological clock is ticking and she is a walking hormore level with an irrational attachment to a baby.
Episode # 9 - 4 min 37 sec. P grabs R by arm and drags her into the stairwell. Tells her the woman he met 1 1/2 years ago is gone because she wants to be a mother.
Episode # 10 - 6 second scene as P just glances at R as he passes her in the hall.
Episode # 11 - 2 minutes 5 seconds. P tells R that using her position to pick on nurse is petty. Says R is running around the hospital like a 10 year old on a sugar high, has lost her objectivity and has no professionalism. P says "Don't punish Leyla because I am sleeping with her.
Episode # 12 - 2 minutes 1 second. P grabs R. (yet again), pulls her into closet. Tells her that she should apoligize to him because, unlike the nurse, she wasn't there for him when he needed her.
Episode # 13 - P says he wasn't prepared for R to bond with Stacy and baby but he still cares about her. R tells him that for someone who was supposed to love, he made no attempt to help or understand her as she dealt with the loss of Stacy and the baby.

In my opinion, Nightshift was not about Robin and Patrick. After the first episode, there was no indication that Patrick loved Robin and not much indication that she loved him. This show was about Patrick and the nurse. The only good to come out of Nightshift was the absolutely amazing acting of Kimberly McCullough. I would give that 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stone Cold and Spinelli, December 6, 2009
By 
Haley Kerr (Cleveland, OH) - See all my reviews
This review is from: General Hospital: Night Shift: Season 1 (DVD)
I'm surprised by the reviews on here. I enjoyed watching this series very much. Maybe because I'm a big fan of Jason and Spinelli. I also enjoy scrubs and any scene with Epiphany because she is one of the best actresses on the daytime show that they fail to utilize. The mystery of who is sabotaging the Hospital is interesting and the ending was a great montage shoot-out that was GH's usual excellent quality. Dr. Drake was great too and the JaRob scenes were a nice touch. Toussaint DuBois as the janitor was really good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth it only for Kimberly McCullough (Robin), December 11, 2007
This review is from: General Hospital: Night Shift: Season 1 (DVD)
I am a long time Robin fan from the soap General Hospital and the character of Robin is very underused on that show, so this was a great opportunity (despite some stilted writing) for her to showcase her talents. No this isn't the show for fans looking for romance you'd have to purchase this if you solely want to view intense scenes with great acting from Kimberly McCullough and a few others who had moments of good work such as Kent Masters amoung others. For those that have watched the Robin character long before Patrick was even on canvas it was nice to see her pick up a friendship with old lover Jason Morgan played by Steve Burton (since the show GH chooses to ignore they ever knew each other) and watch her character struggle with personal choices that included having break downs as cases get too close to her heart. For those reasons alone it was an interesting show to watch. The rest as others stated might be a bit flat and I wouldn't really be interested at all if it wasn't for Kimberly's talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABC Please Release Season 2 Already!, October 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: General Hospital: Night Shift: Season 1 (DVD)
I enjoyed both seasons of Night Shift. Season One was great, and Season Two was even better, if that's possible. The only thing I don't understand is why ABC hasn't released Season Two on DVD yet. Are they waiting until everyone forgets about the show? Please, ABC, release Season Two so I can have a complete collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

General Hospital: Night Shift: Season 1
General Hospital: Night Shift: Season 1 by Adrian Alvarado (DVD - 2008)
$29.99 $9.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.