Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for $5.29
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Genius on the Edge: The Bizarre Double Life of Dr. William Stewart Halsted Hardcover – February 2, 2010

4.3 out of 5 stars 76 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$106.94 $15.53
--This text refers to the Paperback edition.

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi
"When Breath Becomes Air" by Paul Kalanithi
For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question - What makes a life worth living? Learn more | See related books

Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

Clearly an homage to the man to whom “virtually every academically affiliated surgeon can trace his or her teachers,” teaching surgeon Imber’s effort is more than a biography. It is a scholarly reconstruction, complete with historical perspective, of the life of a man who managed to revolutionize surgical practices and, indeed, the entire field of surgery, while battling the enduring and debilitating consequences of self-inflicted medical experimentation. To make surgery more efficient for surgeons, safer, and freer of pain for patients, Halsted began to explore various methods of anesthesia, including the then recently discovered drug, cocaine. He became addicted. Failure to kick that addiction played havoc with his professional life and ultimately forced him to turn optimistically to heroin, generally thought at the time to be an effective treatment. The result was lifelong heroin dependence, despite which he was eventually able to not only function but also continue a brilliant career. Imber’s academic style and inclusive approach are solid but may not appeal to all tastes. --Donna Chavez

About the Author

Dr. Gerald Imber is a well known plastic surgeon and authority on cosmetic surgery, and directs a private clinic in Manhattan. An early proponent of prevention and minimally invasive procedures, he has devised many popular anti-aging techniques, and is attending surgeon at New York Presbyterian Hospital and assistant clinical professor of surgery at Weill-Cornell School of Medicine.

Dr. Imber has published many scientific papers and is a regular lecturer at professional meetings. He is also the author of a number of “beauty books” and has written on many subjects for varied publications such as Departures, and The Wall Street Journal, and appears regularly on network television.

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE


Product Details

  • Hardcover: 412 pages
  • Publisher: Kaplan Publishing; 1 edition (February 2, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1607146274
  • ISBN-13: 978-1607146278
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 1.4 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.6 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (76 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #823,408 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Gerald Imber, M.D., is a graduate of the State University of New York Medical College and was trained in plastic surgery at the New York Hospital Cornell Medical College, where he maintains a professional affiliation as a plastic surgeon and clinical assistant professor of surgery. He lives in New York City.

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
Dr. Gerald Imber will change your views of what it means to be a doctor and a patient, to be sick and to be well. While tracing the convoluted evolution of modern surgery, Imber also chronicles the prodigious, twisted career of the greatest surgeon in American history. As he modernized medicine - introducing such life-sparing novelties as anesthesia, scrubsuits, handwashing, sterlized instruments, even while the medical establishment strenuously resisted his innovations -- Halsted himself descended into a dark, secretive abyss of cocaine abuse and closeted homosexuality. Yet Halsted's techniques and his teaching were so unimpeachably sound, they remain the model for practicing and teaching surgery today. Halsted's story is written with such clarity, it will appeal universally - along the way, Imber's tale encompasses, among other matters, 19th-century American and European history, and some commendably high and lamentably low examples of the human condition. It is a wonder Halsted never had a biography before; we should be very grateful that Dr. Gerald Imber took on this daunting task. His impressive scholarship never gets in the way of good story telling. The charm, humor, and authority of the author's voice shines warmly throughout the sprawling narrative.
1 Comment 56 of 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
By far the best biography I have read. I did not have to skip over any boring parts or risk falling asleep. It was strange to realize that not only did people not always use sterile practices but that within the last 100 years people did not use sterile practices. Dr Halsted snd his peers were the creators of modern medicine as we still know it, and their story is a fascinating one.
Comment 16 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
"Genius on the Edge" is an interesting book describing the medical developments (especially in surgery) during the period of about 1846 to 1922. The first third of the book mainly focused on what surgery was like before this period, on the developments that occurred from 1846 to 1889, and how they affected Halsted's medical training and prompted his surgical innovations. The rest of the book was more a series of short biographies of men who worked with Halsted and the developments they (and he) brought to the practice of surgery from 1889-1922. It also covered Halsted's marriage and how he lived.

The author didn't assume that the reader was familiar with medical terms and so concisely worked that information in as was needed to understand the innovations. He did an excellent job of making the topic fascinating and easy to understand. I found the book a quick read despite the amount of information packed into it. I also liked how the author wove the general technological changes and social setting into the story so we could see how society effected the advances and how Halsted and the others influenced society in turn. While the book mostly focused on American surgery (especially that done at Johns Hopkins Hospital and Johns Hopkins School of Medicine), the author also brought up related advances over in Europe.

There were only a couple of brief descriptions of actual surgery, so most of the book probably wouldn't bother those who get queasy by descriptions of operations.

Some of the topics covered were: the introduction of general anesthetics, heat sterilization, and antiseptics to make surgery safer. How medical training had been done and how it changed (both in medical school and post-graduate) under the influence of Halsted and his friends at Johns Hopkins.
Read more ›
Comment 17 of 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This biography of one of the luminaries of American surgery reads more like a history text, attempting to include every detail and minutiae surrrounding its main subject, Dr. William S. Halsted. It is replete with documented facts, innuendo, myths and gossip about a brilliant but troubled surgeon, a perfectionist who dedicated his entire being to his craft; but was also intensely private and secretive. His drug addiction to Cocaine and Morphine was a collateral effect of his research & expeimentation (on himself) for pain control during and after surgery, his long abscences from work (4-6 months at a time) and frequent trips to Europe were tolerated by his colleagues because of his immense contributions to surgery, to teaching and to building Johns Hopkins Hospital.
Until the period between the two Great World wars, Europe led the world in medical and surgical advances. Many American doctors flocked to Paris, Vienna, London, Berlin et al for training; this included Dr. Halsted. His trips to Europe were to perfect his craft and not to troll for homosexual trysts as implied in the book.

The book is redundant, repetitive and poorly written. It is mostly about the Johns Hopkins Hospital, Halsted's colleagues and students. The information about Dr. Halsted could have been fit into an article of a few pages. The book would have benefited from professional editing.
1 Comment 4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
Like most people, I never gave any thought whatsoever to how our modern surgeries evolved, and took for granted that Westernized modern surgeries require a sterile field, sterile rooms and sterile gloves. This book, "Genius on the Edge; the Bizarre Double Life of Dr. William Stewart Halsted", grabbed me by my collar at the bookstore, and after reading the first two pages, "the Prologue," I was hooked. I bought this book, not hearing anything about it, or even the legendary genius, Dr. Halsted. I read the whole thing in two days.

"Surgery would be delightful if you did not have to operate," was the opening statement of this fine book, given many years ago - by the brilliant Dr. Halsted. Back in the day, when surgery was just being figured out, most `surgeons' were mere "butchers" by today's standards, or "meat carvers" - whose surgical prowess and technique was judged on how fast they could do the deed. Surgery was excruciatingly painful and left physical and emotional scars that never healed. Many surgeons of that era were very hard on the body parts they operated on; and a patient of that era was fortunate if their surgeon knew how to use a bar of soap & water prior to operating. A huge percentage of early patients did poorly post-op, so consequently, surgery was the last resort any person chose. Most persons died of the resulting infection than the original malady, and Dr. Halsted was painfully aware of this and set out to correct it.

The true story of this book was really never fully explored. A lot was said in regards to Dr. Halsted's self-experimentation with Cocaine, and how he carefully calibrated small doses as he experimented with Coke for dental procedures.
Read more ›
1 Comment 6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: goodyear gloves