Customer Reviews


204 Reviews
5 star:
 (152)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Talk to Me Harry Winston, Tell Me All About It!
While it will never compete with the likes of SINGIN' IN THE RAIN, GIGI, or MEET ME IN ST. LOUIS, this 1953 confection is nonetheless a real charmer. Based on a popular Broadway show which was itself based on the famous novel by Anita Loos, GENTLEMEN PREFER BLONDES tells the story of two cabaret performers--blonde bombshell Loreli Lee, who is determined to marry for...
Published on May 15, 2002 by Gary F. Taylor

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marilyn's the blonde most gentleman prefer
Not a work of art, but alot of fun, Gentleman Prefer Blondes is one of those movies that is great to curl up with on a rainy day. A comedy with lots of song and dance numbers that show off Marilyn Monroe & Jane Russell to best effect, it is the story of two nightclub performers from Little Rock who set out to snag themselves millionaire husbands. Loralei &...
Published on December 22, 1999 by Belinda


‹ Previous | 110 11 1221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Blonde and Brunette best friends looking for love, July 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Jane Russell and Marilyn Monroe star as Dorothy Shaw and Lorelei Lee. Dorothy is a down-to-earth, no nonsense woman, while Lorelei is an adorable, yet slightly dim blonde, whose lust for diamonds is just as powerful as her childlike innocence. The only thing that these two women have in common is their ability to turn the head of any man they cross paths with. In this heartwarming, classic comedy, two showgirls are sent on a luxury cruise ship to France. On the way, love is put to the test, and both women are dead set in finding the man they are destined to be with. Jane Russell is a genius as the brunette brain of the pair, and Monroe captures the viewers heart with her childlike beauty and innocence. This film is one if the first (along with Niagara) to propel Monroe into the eternal sex symbol status. If you are in the mood for a heartwarming, comedic love story, this is the film for you. You'll be captivated by two of the greatest actresses that we have had the privilege of watching on the big screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, July 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gentlemen Prefer Blondes (DVD)
I love this movie...wish they would make more movies like this today. Something the whole family could watch and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny Girls, July 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gentlemen Prefer Blondes (DVD)
MARILYN IS MAGNIFICENT

This movie is fun to watch and Russell & Monroe are a perfect pair. The inclusion of those two cute little African boys dancing with the girls is a pleasant surprise considering rampant racism that defined the uptight 50's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Monroe at her best!, June 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gentlemen Prefer Blondes (DVD)
Such a great movie... her singing is wonderful! this is another one that i just cant get enough of! great songs... a must have if youre a Monroe fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars charming, June 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gentlemen Prefer Blondes (DVD)
Very witty and charming. Definitely a must have in the collection. A timeless classic that I love to watch again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Time spent well., June 3, 2013
By 
Wayne Baker (Canyon Country Ca.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Monroe shines in the superbly photographed and choreographed production numbers, most notably Diamonds Are a Girl's Best Friend.
An unusually perfect marriage of star, scenario, dialogue, director, and music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift, May 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bought this for brother-in-law as a birthday gift.. He is a huge fan of Marilyn Monroe and was thrilled to receive it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gentlemen prefer blondes, May 25, 2013
By 
William Orr (CARLSTADT, NJ, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gentlemen Prefer Blondes (DVD)
the film adaptation of the broadway musical stars Marilyn Monroe and Jane Russell as 2 entertainers on a cruise ship a wonderful comedy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love me some Marilyn, April 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gentlemen Prefer Blondes (DVD)
Love it, Great movie, remasterd for todays tv's but still has the old retro timeless quality of Marilyn Monroe! Great DVD! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, case is crappy, March 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gentlemen Prefer Blondes (DVD)
Hello,

I bought this for my GF for Christmas. The movie was great, but this is the cheapest thinnest DVD cases I have seen. It is all caved in and feels like trash. that is my only complaint.

Good movie, get it used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 1221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Gentlemen Prefer Blondes
Gentlemen Prefer Blondes by Howard Hawks (DVD - 2006)
$14.98 $10.17
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.