Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Shave Cream
Don't be put of by the word "Violet" in the name of this shaving cream. It has a pleasant floral smell that disappears when one rinses, post-shave.

The cream can be used by hand, but is designed to be used with a shaving brush - the idea being that working a lather up with a brush will make one's whiskers stand up and result in a closer shave. The idea is...
Published on August 10, 2007 by diesel100

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Shaving Cream but Not My Favorite
Trumper's Violet shaving cream produces a rich, thick lather that won't dry out on your face. It has a mild floral scent to it without being too perfumey or feminine. The color of the cream is also violet in color but turns white when mixed. If left alone for a few minutes after mixing, the cream regains some of its violet color as it starts to dry.

This is...
Published 1 month ago by Erich1


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Shave Cream, August 10, 2007
By 
diesel100 (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Geo F. Trumper Violet Soft Shaving Cream 75 g cream (Misc.)
Don't be put of by the word "Violet" in the name of this shaving cream. It has a pleasant floral smell that disappears when one rinses, post-shave.

The cream can be used by hand, but is designed to be used with a shaving brush - the idea being that working a lather up with a brush will make one's whiskers stand up and result in a closer shave. The idea is accurate.

Apply two small stripes of cream to either side of your beard and lather up with a hot brush and away you go.

The glycerin in this cream makes it far superior to shaving soaps that come in jars. Those dry one's skin due to the soap. After shaving with the Trumper cream, rinse your face, pat dry and apply an after shave of choice. I use Jack Black Aloe Vera or other alcohol-free products like Obsession or Baxter of California.

While seemingly expensive at around twenty bucks a tube, 75g will last six months once you get the proportion of cream to water down. My second favorite scent is Sandlewood, but I don't seem to get the same set up as I do with the Violet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Most Heavenly Shave, August 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Geo F. Trumper Violet Soft Shaving Cream 75 g cream (Misc.)
I admit I was apprehensive at first to try Trumper's Violet, not because of the color, but because some reviewers have mentioned it's on the dry side. It is a little more drier than Trumpers Limes, Coconut, and Almond. But to be honest, the scent is addictive. It truly smells like Violets. Even if you're a manly man you can appreciate the smell. Don't worry about the purple coloring. When you lather, it's not going to be the same bright purple color. The color fades when lathering this up.

As far as the shave, it is heavenly. This still gives you a semi-slick shave, although you may have to add a little more water to your mix. I don't have any issues with this cream in regards to razor bumps or razor burn. Again, the smell is wonderful in my opinion. It makes it such a pleasant experience when you get out the shower and use this in the morning. We guys have to start treating ourselves better. Ladies have no problem pampering themselves, so why shouldn't we?

This cream has done its job and protects as you shave. Try using Trumpers Limes Skin Food as both a pre and post shave.

Happy Shaving Gentlemen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite shave cream, May 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Geo F. Trumper Violet Soft Shaving Cream 75 g cream (Misc.)
This shave cream lathers extremely well producing a soft, smooth, protective lather. The 75g tube is a convenient size for travel and this shave cream may be lathered with a brush or by hand directly onto the face if you happen to leave your brush at home. The violet scent isn't too strong and disappears rapidly after rinsing. Of all the shave creams I've tried, Geo F. Trumper is among the best and the violet soft shave cream seems to be the best of the Trumper brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Premium Shave cream, November 23, 2011
By 
R. James (Cincinnati, OH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Geo F. Trumper Violet Soft Shaving Cream 75 g cream (Misc.)
After using nearly two dozen different shave creams, soaps, gels, foams this one is still one of best. With a badger hair brush it lathers up easily and goes on thick. Only downside is the price is slightly premium also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cream., November 6, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Geo F. Trumper Violet Soft Shaving Cream 75 g cream (Misc.)
Will buy many times again. The fragrance is very nice and the quality of the shaving foam is the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best, January 15, 2011
By 
This review is from: Geo F. Trumper Violet Soft Shaving Cream 75 g cream (Misc.)
Two years ago I began wet shaving and this is the first (non drug store) shaving cream I bought. Don't be put off by the price. The quality of this product is amazing. The scent is floral but light, it doesn't stick around long after washing up. The glycerin in the cream leaves your face feeling more hydrated than with other brands of shaving creams.

The use of this product works best with a shaving brush and a tube key.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Shaving Cream but Not My Favorite, July 5, 2014
This review is from: Geo F. Trumper Violet Soft Shaving Cream 75 g cream (Misc.)
Trumper's Violet shaving cream produces a rich, thick lather that won't dry out on your face. It has a mild floral scent to it without being too perfumey or feminine. The color of the cream is also violet in color but turns white when mixed. If left alone for a few minutes after mixing, the cream regains some of its violet color as it starts to dry.

This is important to note as some have reported that the violet coloring in this cream has stained their brush. To the best of my knowledge, it will not permanently stain your brush. However, after a few uses you may notice that your bristles do have a violet tint to them. I experienced this as well. This is not caused by the coloring in the cream dyeing the bristles. It is caused by tiny amounts of leftover cream residue gradually building up, drying on the bristles and returning to its original violet color. This problem can be solved by simply cleaning the brush with liquid soap and water. You may also want to consider periodically soaking your brush in a vinegar/water solution. This works even better to remove soap and cream residue and it will leave your bristles feeling softer too.

The tube that this comes in is one of those metallic foil tubes which I was unaware of. This created some problems during shipping as the tube came delivered with the top half crushed in. When I punctured the foil seal to use it for the first time, cream immediately oozed out everywhere. This illustrates an important point to travelers. Once anything presses into the tube, it will not retain its original shape the way other creams in plastic tubes would. Instead, it causes pressure to stay built up inside until the next time you open it. Therefore, this tube is certainly not ideal for travel and would have to be packed inside of a hard case. Also, these foil tubes don't list ingredients on the back the way Trumper's plastic tubes do. All of Trumper's creams contain parabens in them. The jury is still out on parabens but some people choose to avoid them. All of Trumper's ingredients are listed on their website but ingredients should really be listed on all tubes as well so that consumers can readily decide for themselves whether they want to use the product.

Overall, the cream itself is good. It performs better than all 4 of my Taylor of Old Bond Street creams and provides more protection than my Truefitt & Hill cream. The lather is thick and one tube is enough to last you about a year. However, there is just something bland about this one that doesn't leave me wanting it in my rotation often. And while not unpleasant, the scent is a little dull. I can also see how the coloring of the bristles might be off-putting to some and the foil tube with its unlisted ingredients is a little unfortunate. Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better the foam, December 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Geo F. Trumper Violet Soft Shaving Cream 75 g cream (Misc.)
This a really great. It give me a better shave and a closer shaving with a lot less irritation. This tube last a long times!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The scent is unmatched for Violet, June 2, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Geo F. Trumper Violet Soft Shaving Cream 75 g cream (Misc.)
The two violet scents I know of for shaving creams are this one and Razorock's Napoleon's Violet. The razorock violet is a terrible smell, I absolutely hate it. The GFT Violet is the complete opposite. It's my favorite scent and I've tried lots of scents so far.

As far as performance goes, I find it to be up there with other good performers, but honestly I'm not the best judge of performance.

That's all I have for this review, comment if you have further questions :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Luxurious, February 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Geo F. Trumper Violet Soft Shaving Cream 75 g cream (Misc.)
Wow, this shave cream is nice. Buy it now.

While my Proraso green is refreshing and invigorating, the Trumper is very comforting and luxurious. The lather feels soft and pillow-like as if each bubble is a tiny little cushion. You can just feel the difference as soon as you lather your face.

It still is a little dry, which made me dock half a star. Also the scent reminds me of something I might find in my grandmother's medicine cabinet, which made dock another half star.

But the lather itself is so nice, that after my first shave, I immediately jumped on amazon to buy the lime version.

I'm waiting for a jar of Jack Black shave cream, which I hope will be very slick and smooth. Then my cream trifecta will be complete. I'll have Proraso for a refreshing shave, Trumper for a luxurious shave, and Jack Black for a slick shave.

But back to Trumper... Buy it now. It is awesome. This is a brand you MUST have in your rotation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Geo F. Trumper Violet Soft Shaving Cream 75 g cream
$15.63
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.