Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Nice Modular Starter Kit with Paper DVD and Booklet
The kit contains a nice selection of square paper in two sizes. Most of the paper is printed or colored on both sides, which many modular origami designs require, and can be hard to find in some locales. The paper includes striking geometric patterns. The smaller size is colored with the same color on both sides. The box was not as well-designed as it could have been, and...
Published on March 19, 2012 by Catherine Michael

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really worth it
The papers are not interesting and seem to be coated. The booklet has some very basic patterns. I do a lot of folding and hoped to find more challenging patterns to use for xmas ornaments. It would have been better to apply the money spent on this kit towards a book with a variety of patterns.
Published 6 months ago by Jamowa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Nice Modular Starter Kit with Paper DVD and Booklet, March 19, 2012
This review is from: Geometric Origami Kit: The Art of Modular Paper Sculpture [Origami Kit with Book, 48 Papers, & DVD] (Paperback)
The kit contains a nice selection of square paper in two sizes. Most of the paper is printed or colored on both sides, which many modular origami designs require, and can be hard to find in some locales. The paper includes striking geometric patterns. The smaller size is colored with the same color on both sides. The box was not as well-designed as it could have been, and also appears to have been faulty in construction, so that the paper was somewhat damaged in transit (corners dinged & crumpled.)

The booket diagrams are typical LaFosse class act. The models range from some early modular origami classics to designs by more recent artists and origami engineers. The kit contains the only authorized English language video and printed diagrams book of the famous Magic Rose Cube.

I'm not sure I would buy this kit for children unless they have previous experience in origami and have demonstrated patience and manual dexterity (or you are prepared to assist!). Modular origami models are notorious for having units that are easy to fold, but assembly of the model can be quite difficult. The kit includes 4 models of the kind that tend to fall apart as you try to add a unit, and do not become stable until the last unit is in place. This can be frustrating. Also The WXYZ model is the kind with a (typically) hard to place final unit.

Suggestions: Use some practice origami paper to master units before using the kit papers, as there are just enough of each kind of sheet for the models (no spares). When you run out of paper look for origami paper packages with 3 inch squares in 360 to 1000 sheets intended for folding 1000 Peace Crane memorials. Six inch paper in packs of 100 (usually 5 or 6 of each color or design, or packs of 100 shades, 1 sheet each) are also handy.

Some notes:

1). The photo of the Aster model was not assembled according to the diagrams in the book. (Compare the photo to the final drawing of the model or with your model completed according to the diagrams.) Step 10 of the diagrams was omitted in assembling the photographed model. In Step 10 the unit being added to the model should be inserted into a pocket on the back, which forces the folded over locking flap to be also inserted inside the back pocket in Step 11. Both ways of assembly produce a nice model, and if you assemble 2 different colors of units in pairs, using Step 10, then assemble the 4 pairs to complete the model omitting Step 10, one color will form a star on the front of the model.

2) WXYZ model: Instructions note that you need 12 units, but should also point out that you need 3 sheets each of 4 colors/designs to make the 4 intersecting triangles show clearly in the final model. Also, the assembly instructions are to join 4 units (one of each color) to start. What would be helpful to say is that some intersections or joints of the model join 4 units (6 joints, corresponding to the faces of a cube), and 8 joints (corresponding to the 8 corners of a cube) join only 3 units. Someone who tries to join 4 units after the first joint will be frustrated as the next joint may only take 3 units. Also the proper color to insert in a slot can be easily determined because it is the same color as the unit in the slot on the back of the unit you are going to insert the new one.

3) All of the diagrams seem to be OK, but some are arguably not optimal for achieving the geometry or assembly, and the occasional "landmark" for a fold is implied or requires an estimate when a precise landmark is available.

4) It would have been educational to have had more discussion of the geometry of the models.

Disclosure. I have a remote association with this publication project, but no material benefit beyond an unexpected free copy from the authors and the pleasure of seeing the project result in another nice LaFosse publication.

The above is intended primarily as a review of the booklet and supplies in the kit, as I have not yet viewed the DVD and also feel that origami diagrams/books should stand on their own.

I have successfully made all the models in the kit using the kit's diagrams (some I knew previously; also see note on Aster model), and intend to buy copies for gifts and recommend it as an introduction to modular origami.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great birthday present for 10 year olds!, October 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Geometric Origami Kit: The Art of Modular Paper Sculpture [Origami Kit with Book, 48 Papers, & DVD] (Paperback)
I bought this for my nephew who turned ten and he is into origami. He wanted a book that had more modular designs. He loved this kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, May 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Geometric Origami Kit: The Art of Modular Paper Sculpture [Origami Kit with Book, 48 Papers, & DVD] (Paperback)
Easy to follow directions that the kids can do themselves - they enjoy the satisfaction of creating something on their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not really worth it, June 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Geometric Origami Kit: The Art of Modular Paper Sculpture [Origami Kit with Book, 48 Papers, & DVD] (Paperback)
The papers are not interesting and seem to be coated. The booklet has some very basic patterns. I do a lot of folding and hoped to find more challenging patterns to use for xmas ornaments. It would have been better to apply the money spent on this kit towards a book with a variety of patterns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Geometric Origami, February 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Geometric Origami Kit: The Art of Modular Paper Sculpture [Origami Kit with Book, 48 Papers, & DVD] (Paperback)
I backed off from modular origami for a long time, it seemed difficult and scary. But, I had a good experience with Mr. LaFosse’s butterfly book with DVD, so decided it was time to take the plunge. Now I see what fun I’ve missed all this time. The book, recently received, inspired me to try some of the creations to be found on the internet – even more fun!

This small and mighty booklet has instructions for 14 modular creations, which someone else has already described beautifully. Mr. LaFosse does most of the instructions on the DVD, and they are very clear. Mr. Alexander does some of them (I confess I haven’t viewed the entire DVD yet), but his descriptions are not quite as clear for me. I probably need to go back to them with more care and attention. I made the compass star, aster, Mette ring, I-ching wheel, lightning bolt octahedron and Sonobe cube without much trouble, just lots of enjoyment, and I’m rather proud of them. Had some trouble with the Alexander modular dish but it became clear by and by. Thought the picture cube would be a cinch as it’s pretty straight-forward, but having only 2 hands, I could not get the modules to stay in place during construction – finally used double-sided tape to help, but even then my cube is very unstable and not particularly attractive (to say the least). Maybe did something wrong..... I think the crane will be not too difficult, haven’t done it yet. So, that leaves the ones that will really challenge me – butterfly ball, Borloz balls, WXYZ, radiolaria and the famous magic rose cube. Will attack them when feeling particularly smart!

I think someone said her order arrived in bad shape with papers crushed in places etc. My order arrived in perfect shape, though I had some concern after reading that comment. The origami paper included is really nice; so far I’ve just used practice paper to get the hang of things, but you can tell just by the feel of the paper in the kit that it is good stuff! Ah, the moment of truth – that comes when you finally decide to put the first fold in THE paper! I assume that LaFosse and Alexander market the paper they make, but I haven’t seen it on Amazon. I get all my paper from Amazon as I can’t find any in my area.

I give this 5 stars for clarity of instruction, for the lovely paper, the DVD, and especially for giving me the confidence to try and succeed at modular origami. And for the calm, meditative state that I attain with origami that is challenging and still do-able. I’m looking forward to their flower book coming out this spring, and wondering what their next book-with-DVD will be. At any rate, you probably will not be disappointed if you purchase this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Folds, Total Bargain!, April 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Geometric Origami Kit: The Art of Modular Paper Sculpture [Origami Kit with Book, 48 Papers, & DVD] (Paperback)
This kit is worth its bargain price just for the Rose Box fold alone! Many years ago, after taking workshops with Michael LaFosse during the Charlotte, NC Origami Festivals, I bought most of his VHS instructionals, at $25 EACH. Here are 2-3 of them combined into one DVD - best visual origami instruction EVER - for so much less. The Rose Box, though, is probably my favorite fold of all time, and the video makes it failproof. I collect origami books, and have come to appreciate good instruction - folds aren't always presented in learner-friendly ways. This kit is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED if you love origami and value clear, easy-to-follow diagrams, but Michael's video tutorials take these to the next fabulous level of origami instruction. And BTW, the paper included features unusual and excellent prints...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretty darn advanced, June 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Geometric Origami Kit: The Art of Modular Paper Sculpture [Origami Kit with Book, 48 Papers, & DVD] (Paperback)
While it's obvious from the box that the shapes are complex, it's really far more involved than it might appear and should be advertised as 'For Advanced Only'. Feel a little deceived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Geometric Origami Kit: The Art of Modular Paper Sculpture [Origami Kit with Book, 48 Papers, & DVD] (Paperback)
'nuff said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is there paper included?, October 28, 2011
By 
MamaLama (Washington, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Geometric Origami Kit: The Art of Modular Paper Sculpture [Origami Kit with Book, 48 Papers, & DVD] (Paperback)
I purchased this book for my 6th grader. I am wondering if there is paper included? It is called a "kit" but I did not see any mention of paper. Thank you very much. She will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Geometric Origami Kit: The Art of Modular Paper Sculpture [Origami Kit with Book, 48 Papers, & DVD]
$16.95 $12.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.