Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 
Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
$9.58 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Sold by Doc O'Connor.

or
 
   
Sell Us Your Item
For up to a $0.25 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here

George Carlin - Complaints and Grievances (2001)

George Carlin , Rocco Urbisci  |  NR |  DVD
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (39 customer reviews)

List Price: $19.98
Price: $11.49 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
You Save: $8.49 (42%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Usually ships within 10 to 12 days.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

George Carlin - Complaints and Grievances + George Carlin: It's Bad For Ya + George Carlin - George's Best Stuff
Price for all three: $34.31

Some of these items ship sooner than the others.

Buy the selected items together

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Product Details

  • Actors: George Carlin
  • Directors: Rocco Urbisci
  • Writers: George Carlin
  • Producers: George Carlin, Rocco Urbisci, Jerry Hamza
  • Format: Multiple Formats, Closed-captioned, Color, NTSC
  • Language: English
  • Region: Region 1 (U.S. and Canada only. Read more about DVD formats.)
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.33:1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Rated: NR (Not Rated)
  • Studio: Mpi Home Video
  • DVD Release Date: September 28, 2004
  • Run Time: 55 minutes
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (39 customer reviews)
  • ASIN: B0002I848K
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #88,682 in Movies & TV (See Top 100 in Movies & TV)
  • Learn more about "George Carlin - Complaints and Grievances" on IMDb

Special Features

None.

Editorial Reviews

George Carlin performs a hilarious set of never-before released material in "Complaints and Grievances." His 12th HBO special was recorded live at the Beacon Theater in New York City on November 17, 2001. In "Complaints and Grievances," Carlin shamelessly exposes the people and subjects that irritate him the most. His bold brand of humor forces us to laugh at our own behavior when it comes to disgusting hygiene habits, those annoying family newsletters and people who use credit cards to pay for inexpensive items. This riotous collection includes the routines "Traffic Accidents - Keep Movin'!," "You & Me (Things That Come Off Of Your Body)," "Parents of Honor Students," "Guys Named Todd," and "Why We Don't Need 10 Commandments."

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious January 28, 2005
Format:DVD
I had just heard of George Carlin about a month ago and I read his book "Napalm & Silly Putty"

I couldn't stop laughing. So, I rented this and this is one of the funniest things i've ever seen in my entire life. I was laughing so hard, if I had low bladder control, I probably would've pissed my pants. George Carlin takes your everyday thing from fungal growth to little kids on answering machines and turns them into deliriously funny stuff. His one liners are great and his monolouges are just hysterical. If you like crude humor, YOU NEED TO SEE THIS DVD. A+.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of Carlin's new assault comedy January 8, 2006
Format:DVD
In Carlin's previous album, "You Are All Diseased", he unveiled a new, more hostile persona and unleashed a barrage of agression. Unfortunately, that album occasionally used played-out premises, or attacked the audience rather than society. This follow up has all the energy and viciousness, with less bitterness and cliches. It, along with its just-released follow up "Life Is Worth Losing", are the best and edgiest assault comedy there is. If Carlin's cynical side appeals to you, make this your first purchase.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars George Carlin is at it again! February 25, 2005
Format:DVD
George Carlin does an awesome job with this live show from the Beacon Theatre in New York. I laughed so hard through the entire movie. It is hillarious and I have found myself renting this movie over and over again. I am currently looking to purchase this movie now. It is a gurantee to have you rolling on the floor laughing.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Terrorists Have Won, They Ruined George Carlin January 13, 2009
Format:DVD|Verified Purchase
Let me start by saying that I think Carlin was one of the funniest, cleverest people around, and one of the smartest comedy writers around, with an uncanny ear for rhythm; and furthermore I have agreed with his political, religious, and social stances as portrayed in his comedy.

But this was apparently Carlin's first HBO special after 9/11. Every comedian in the world was treading on thin ground at the time--the death of so many people in such a horrifying way made comedy very difficult--even comedy that had nothing to do with any issue related to the catastrophe.

And Carlin has ALWAYS done social/political stuff.

What was he to do?

He confronts the issue right away, saying that he has to 'get something out of the way so we can have fun', and then goes into a comedic bit about how he would deal with bin Laden and his ilk. Unfortunately he literally can't be clever about it--the audience didn't want to hear what Carlin wanted to say, and he knew it.

So he made fart jokes instead.

Admittedly, when he gets going on his rhythmic lists of 'not just any guys, but...', he is very funny...but...fart jokes? It's not worthy of Carlin. That's a joke for 5th graders.

And I felt that the rest of the show suffered the same problems, and had the same strengths. When Carlin gets fired up on his variations on a theme (the "and here's another guy who should be strangled at birth with his own umbilical cord..." sort of thing), he's both outrageous and hilarious. But he lost the audience several times--and at one point he drops a bit before he's finished, saying "I sense I've lost you.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely hilarious January 25, 2006
Format:DVD
I have notheard of George Carlin for a verylong time but seems to have been in the comedy business for a good while. First off for a man of his age he is hysterical and much more hilarious than any comedy central or young comedian out there. He is also very dirty which makes his comedy even funnier, and some of the best reasons is because it actually makes sense. His comedy is full of sarcasm and nitpicky complaints that all seem to make sense which makes it all the funnier. I have watched this video constantly over and over again and have just bought it. I also highly recommend jammin in New York, it is also hysterical.

The topics George talks about vary between Guys named todd and Kyle and Tucker, A large bit about things that we do and come off our body, a list of people who should be killed due to little annoyances and stupid that george dislikes.

HE also shortens the ten commandments into two.

Highly recommended for a great laugh.

If you enjoy comedy with sarcasm and satire and funny facial expressions and gestures George Carlin is the comedian for you
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars could be longer October 3, 2004
Format:DVD
That's the only complaint I have about Compliants and Greviances.George talks about people who ought to be killed and talks about a fun big deal about things that come off our bodies. The most disgusting things that no one wants to even talk about. He also talks about guys named Todd. The whole DVD is funny. If you really enjoy George Carlin's material, you must see this. It just came out not too long ago, too.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CARLIN'S GOT A BRAND NEW BAG! VERY FUNNY! June 24, 2007
Format:DVD
I'm always glad to see a comedian change his spots. Any comic who has been around as long a Carlin has got to keep pushing the envelop! This is one of the best stand-ups I've seen in years!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOTHING SHORT OF AMAZING November 3, 2006
Format:DVD|Verified Purchase
GEORGIE DOES IT AGAIN.

THIS MAN NEVER FAILS.

BUY THIS DVD AND YOU CAN DIE HAPPY!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
I wanted some tradition george....this was it!!!!
Published 23 days ago by Donna
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
good one
Published 23 days ago by jc
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
How do you not love Carlin.
Published 27 days ago by P. Kelley
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
good
Published 1 month ago by fred hamilton
5.0 out of 5 stars The Man- "The Hippy Dippy Weather Man"
Hi, First we lost a "Great Man" he wrote Books, did Stand up & Movie's. And in the 60's on the Flip Wilson show he was The Weather Man. Read more
Published 4 months ago by Enver Azize
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious Comedy
George Carlin does it again in this Live performance , We sure miss you George . No other Comedian could put fact, common sense , and intelligence into a comedy act. Read more
Published 4 months ago by Jerry G
5.0 out of 5 stars classic Carlin
This is Classic Carlin at his (sorry to be redundant) best! This is the George Carlin I first recall and am glad to be enjoying again. I'm only sorry he's not around any more. Read more
Published 6 months ago by Lord Rhys
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilled
If you love George you will love this dvd!! You are helping me make my collection large & keeping me & anyone that comes over in stitches!! Read more
Published 6 months ago by meaner
5.0 out of 5 stars Good laughs!
If your a Carlin fan this one is a good one. A true classic!
Good selection of his many years performing.
Published 7 months ago by Laura Loyd
5.0 out of 5 stars True Carlin!
You'll be shocked within the first 5 seconds and laugh all the way to the end! Great DVD! Worth buying.
Published 7 months ago by Courtney Keli
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 



Look for Similar Items by Category