George G. Higgins and the Quest for Worker Justice and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$91.07
Qty:1
  • List Price: $102.00
  • Save: $10.93 (11%)
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Details
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

George G. Higgins and the Quest for Worker Justice: The Evolution of Catholic Social Thought in America Hardcover – December 1, 2004


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$91.07
$86.48 $93.26

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Sheed & Ward (December 1, 2004)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0742532070
  • ISBN-13: 978-0742532076
  • Product Dimensions: 8.9 x 6.1 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.4 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #11,359,781 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

This book is a masterpiece and passionate gift. O’Brien uses Monsignor Higgins’s career and compilation of his witty and polished prose to produce an encyclopedia of how Catholic Social Teaching challenged the jurisdiction of American businesses over working conditions, the meaning of work and the status of the worker. Here, we have a book to remind us of how the Church provides us with profound guidance regarding the foundational source of justice--justice for workers. (Teresa Ghilardhucci)

A significant synthesis of the writings and thought of George G. Higgins, who served as an important link between the American Labor movement and the Catholic Church for more than fifty years…this is a helpful book which assembles much important information for both the beginning and serious student of these times and movements. (Fellowship Of Catholic Scholars Quarterly)

... John O'Brian has presented a brilliant synthesis of Catholic Social thought as it applies to the labor movement. (William J. Hutchinson, SJ, PhD Journal Of Religion And Spiritualtiy In Social Work)

[O'Brien] gives us a good introduction to Higgins and his importance in American Catholicism, situates him within his historical context, sympathetically interprets his multiple roles within the American Catholic Church, and provides future researchers with useful and needed bibliographies and a helpful index. I recommend the book not only for researchers but for a general readership. (Theological Studies)

Monsignor Higgins stands solidly in the tradition of Cardinal Gibbons, Peter Dietz, John A. Ryan, and other outstanding priest-friends of labor, and Father O'Brien has produced a fine summary of his social justice views and his contributions to the American Church and to American public life. (The Catholic Historical Review)

[O'Brien] gives us a good introduction to Higgins and his importance in American Catholicism, situates him within his historical context, sympathetically interprets his multiple roles within the American Catholic Church, and provides future researchers with useful and needed bibliographies and a helpful index. I recommend the book not only for researchers but for a general readership.... (Theological Studies)

John O'Brien has written a remarkable synthesis of the twentieth century history of American labor and the Catholic labor movement, the history of Catholic social teaching, the biography of a major Catholic organic intellectual, and analysis of his application of Catholic social ethics to crises during the heart of twentieth century America. This pivotal work on Catholic social thought in twentieth century America will be a required text in a variety of university courses. (Roger Haight, S. J.)

About the Author

John J. O'Brien is a Passionist priest at the Calvary Retreat Center in Shrewsbury, Massachusettes. He is a well-known liturgist, teacher, and preacher.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By William J. Shepherd on January 4, 2005
Format: Paperback
John O'Brien has produced a labor of love in which he concisely recounts the history of the American Catholic church in the pursuit of economic and social justice through the writings and deeds of its most articulate and tireless advocate, Msgr. George G. Higgins. O'Brien discusses the movement from civil religion to public theology, the historical development of American Catholic social teaching, and Higgins' work in the social apostolate both as a labor mediator and public commentator. O'Brien presents a careful study of the latter role through analysis of Higgins's syndicated column, The Yardstick, for 1945-1994, and the annual Labor Day Statements for 1946-2001. This study is a fitting tribute to a great man and a great resource for scholars, students, and the general public. The appendices are especially good though one wishes that a selection of photographs were included.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images