Customer Reviews


217 Reviews
5 star:
 (152)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Movie, Poor DVD Package
A friend gave my kids this movie--I didn't buy it because the idea of a live-action GEORGE OF THE JUNGLE seemed silly to me. Fortunately for my family, this movie is silly in a good way, gleefully silly, with lots of physical comedy, puns, in-jokes, and high ridiculousness. This movie has good-natured fun. The casting of Fraser and Mann as George and Ursula is inspired,...
Published on July 7, 2001 by Thomas A. Holmes

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie Deserves Better DVD Treatment... (Widescreen/Extras)
I wholeheartedly agree with the others who stated that this DVD is less than adequate treatment for this good, fun film. The picture and sound quality is good here but it is pan/scan instead of widescreen and has NO extras at all. This film has enough "grown-up" appeal to warrant at least a nice "making of" featurette, some deleted scenes, commentary, etc. and...
Published on February 25, 2006 by Garan Grey


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Movie, Poor DVD Package, July 7, 2001
By 
Thomas A. Holmes (Johnson City, TN USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: George of the Jungle (DVD)
A friend gave my kids this movie--I didn't buy it because the idea of a live-action GEORGE OF THE JUNGLE seemed silly to me. Fortunately for my family, this movie is silly in a good way, gleefully silly, with lots of physical comedy, puns, in-jokes, and high ridiculousness. This movie has good-natured fun. The casting of Fraser and Mann as George and Ursula is inspired, and Cleese as the voice of Ape works wonders. Movies that elicit joyful instead of derisive laughter deserve our attention, so unless you're sensitive about the requisite animal excrement jokes (the easiest way to avoid a "G" rating), watch this movie with your kids. Then watch it with your buddies. It might even be a good date movie.
The DVD package, however, offers another example of Disney's charging premium prices for few extras. Unfortunately, the disc is also pan-and-scan instead of widescreen. If you already own the videotape, you might as well wait and hope that Disney upgrades the DVD package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swinging Disney Film, June 1, 2002
This review is from: George of the Jungle (DVD)
This film was made in the great tradition of Walt Disney's live action films aimed at the adolescent audience that his studio produced in the 60s and continued into the 70s. It works beautifully tweaking the formula for the 90's audiences. Brendan Fraser is perfect as George in his own likeable but not very bright way. You really feel for this guy because he wants to do what is right and get the job done. The special effects are excellent because they not only look good but they add to the effect of the storytelling and create an innovative world for the audience to immerse themselves into. The casting is also good. Thomas Hayden Church as an equally not-very-bright cad is perfect. You almost feel sorry for this guy. John Cleese doing the voice of Ape is a riot. He has several funny scenes, especially near the very end. This is film is excellent no matter what age you are. I highly recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done Disney!, December 18, 1999
This review is from: George of the Jungle (DVD)
George Of The Jungle is a fantastic family movie - from George Fighting Lions to Hilarious asides with the narrator. The narration is fantastic - a very funny element of the film. John Cleese does a great job as "Ape", a talking (guess what! ) Ape! There are lots of daring exciting moments, but as the narrator says at the beginning of the film "don't worry, nobaody dies in this movie; they just get very bad BOO BOO's!" Great movie to watch with your children, or on your own. In fact you could even watch this movie during a lads/girls night in! Oh yes watch out for that......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars where is the widescreen version???, June 16, 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: George of the Jungle (DVD)
I love this movie - the wit is funny, the sight gags are funny and the characters are endearing - very hard to do when you are creating a movie from cartoon characters. But where is the widescreen version?? The whole reason for buying a DVD is having the chance to see the movie as it was originally envisioned. If I want to watch full frame, I'll watch television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie Deserves Better DVD Treatment... (Widescreen/Extras), February 25, 2006
This review is from: George of the Jungle (DVD)
I wholeheartedly agree with the others who stated that this DVD is less than adequate treatment for this good, fun film. The picture and sound quality is good here but it is pan/scan instead of widescreen and has NO extras at all. This film has enough "grown-up" appeal to warrant at least a nice "making of" featurette, some deleted scenes, commentary, etc. and especially a widescreen transfer.

I bought this thinking it would at least be in its Original Aspect Ratio, but this disc is a result of Disney Home Video thinking anything with a "family" appeal HAS to be full TV frame pan/scan. Of course the movie is short enough for them to have included both WS and FF versions on the same disc, but no, they haven't.

The film itself is good silly fun and very nice to look at, for it's scenery, animal characters, and especially it's lovable buff lead. There are lots of fun inside (adult) jokes, including one subtle music gag that plays briefly as Ursula goes to get our Hero off the Golden Gate Bridge. For those who "get" that joke it's a hoot.

Disney really needs to re-do this one as a Widescreen edition with some decent extras soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is so stupid....IT'S FUNNY, June 27, 1999
By A Customer
How can someone possibly criticize the funniest movie in history? OK... I admit it sure is corny and definitly not for the intellectual group, but hey everyone needs a good laugh...and George sure makes you smile! This movie is unique, how often do you hear an actor arguing with the narrator or see a man fall 10,000 feet into a river and only get a "really big Booboo?" (my favorite line.) This movie, I admit, does not stimulate thought but certainly provides a component we all lack, a sense of humor and a good laugh. Buy this movie for all ages... for all species.* Also, remember to buy the wonderful,spectacular, uplifting, CD...George, George, George of the Jungle...WATCH OUT FOR THAT TREE!!! :)*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun family film, June 27, 2006
By 
This review is from: George of the Jungle (DVD)
This movie is one of my kids' favorites. In fact, it was the first live-action movie my older daughter could sit through, probably because it's pretty cartoonish live-action. The nice thing is that grownups can stand to watch it, too. It's very silly, of course, but there are lots of funny gags, many of which go right over the heads of children. There's a little bathroom humor, but what else would you expect in a movie with talking gorillas and an elephant that plays fetch? Best of all, from my point of view, is the fact that perfectly-cast Brendan Fraser spends a good portion of the movie wearing only a loincloth.

I agree with other reviewers, however, that it would be nice if the DVD were in widescreen and came with some extras. But I'll settle for 90 minutes of happy children plus Brendan Fraser in a loincloth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious send-up..., January 22, 2001
This review is from: George of the Jungle (DVD)
If you watched the originals as a kid (in re-runs or not), and enjoyed the sardonic humor (just as offered up in Rocky and Bullwinkle) and horrible puns, this send-up did an excellent job of offering tribute to the original without slavishly being stuck in a rut.
The plot is a bit weak and standard, but it serves as a vehicle to allow the film-makers to basically entertain themselves and those who enjoyed the humor of the original series. The originals were all about set up for the jokes anyway and this movie serves as a similar vehicle.
Certainly not food for a sequel (I hope), and perhaps not very suitable for people (adults) who didn't understand or otherwise care for the original humor or are expecting the film to stand totally on it's own, it is still great entertainment for children and old fans and may tickle your funny bone even if you haven't experience the originals.
I guess I could offer up 5 stars, yet I don't think this is the best movie ever. I still think it's an extremely entertaining piece for it's intended audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good clean wholesome corny fun, December 3, 2002
By 
Qit el-Remel (California, USA) - See all my reviews
It seems that some reviewers find it necessary to insult the intelligence of anyone who enjoyed this movie...and that's really too bad. "George of the Jungle" could never be accused of being deep...but it should appeal to anyone with the slightest appreciation for parody, slapstick, or the old Jay Ward cartoons.
If nothing else, Brendan Fraser in a loincloth is worth watching. And Greg Cruttwell (of "2 Days in the Valley" fame) and Abraham Benrubi (Jerry from "E.R.") as Tiger and Weevil (ummmm...I mean, as the two inept bounty hunters) are a hoot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WATCH OUT FOR THAT TREE, January 16, 2005
By 
This review is from: George of the Jungle (DVD)
Taking an animated cartoon and bringing it to the big screen live action can be a risky and oftentimes disastrous venture (Rocky and Bullwinkle, Dudley Do Right, e.g.). But with GEORGE OF THE JUNGLE, director Sam Weisman and screenwriters Dana Oldsen and Aubrey Wells bring the loony jungle hero to life and make it as much fun as a cartoon. Brendan Fraser brings his physical and thespian assets to the role of George, a loveable lunk who manages to survive hitting hundreds of trees, and other assorted obstacles. It's in the true spirit of the cartoons, indeed. I also liked the narrator whose occasional forays into the action itself were fun and reminiscent of Fractured Fairy Tales, also a Jay Ward creation. Lovely Leslie Mann (Last Man Standing) is a good Ursula, her prim socialite a perfect foil for the loveable George. John Cleese adds his vocals to the role of Ape, the Ape, and it's a great addition. Oscar hopeful Thomas Haden Church (Sideways) plays the snooty fiance of Mann, giving an effective snooty performance. Catch Holland Taylor, Richard Roundtree and John Bennett Perry in key supporting roles. Of course, the monkeys, elephant, toucan and assorted creatures steal most of their scenes, too.

GEORGE OF THE JUNGLE is goofy, silly fun, and I found myself enjoying it immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

George of the Jungle
George of the Jungle by Thomas Ackerman (DVD - 2000)
$14.99 $10.18
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.