Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: George Romero Presents Deadtime Stories Vol. 2
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEM

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
12
Price:$5.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 2, 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed this trilogy. It is so much better than Volume 1. Great acting, editing and sound...a true testament to horror creativity. Of the three, I enjoyed "On Sabbath Hill" the most, followed by "Dust". George Romero has made amends for his disappointing first volume. This one was designed for mature adults...volume 1 was more for the younger set. Good job. Four stars. When is Volume 3 coming out?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2012
See other reviews for content. if you enjoy films like paranormal activity, Ring-O, a haunting in connecticut (which i do not) you'll certainly like this. this is top shelf modern horror. If you accept modern horror than dont hesitate to purchase this. if you like your horror oldschool, this will still appeal to you. I tend to avoid any horror past the turn of the century.i just dont find it scarry and dont appreaciate the way its filmed; lightning editing, CGI, etc... i enjoy mostly silver age horror from the mid 70's - throught the late 80's/early 90's. ... i decided to give this a chance since its george romero and an anthology. i would describe this as modern horror done in classic fashion. both the stories and acting are much better than average. for 5 bucks this isnt a bad investment. take the plunge, you wont be dissapointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2011
George Romero introduces the tales similar to Creepshow. I was expecting something light with a twist, but that was not the case. In the first tale, 3 spelunkers go into a cave only to get trapped...and one is injured. We know what happens here. The unexpected part, the part that should make the story a hit or miss, comes after the rescue. In this story, it was pretty much a miss unless you watch strictly for blood and gore.

In the second episode a college history professor (married, 2 children) is sleeping with one of his students, Alison. He is a stickler for being on time to his class and not missing it. As it turns out Alison is "late" and is pregnant with his child. She comes to class with a gun, points it to her head, and she doesn't "miss." The interesting part is the expected haunting. As expected it starts out slow and takes some twists. Perhaps the best of the three.

The third episode is more akin to the Creepshow variety. A security guard steals Mars dust from NASA to cure his terminal wife of cancer. She becomes a human sexual dynamo (nudity). Unfortunately the effects wear off and the guard must get more.

The plots weren't overly exciting. Romero uses his special gore/make-up effects as a substitute for a good story. If you keep your expectations low, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2013
Romero's second volume of Deadtime Stories, like the first, comes as a disappointment with, once again, two out of three being uninspiring. Give this one a miss unless you've got plenty of time to spare.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2012
Okay, why can't I find the first one? Number two is filled with three gory horror stories, one about three people trapped in a gorge and getting desperate, one about a professor whose vengeful student gets back at him posthumously, and another about the healing yet deadly effects of Martian dust.

Fun times if you are into this.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2016
It wasn't bad for a low budget horror flick, but don't go in expecting another Night of the Living Dead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2016
I had to purchase this movie because my son does a bit role in it, and was also a grip on this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2015
love the stories very scary
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2014
not that good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.