Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars O'Keeffe's simplicity will keep the young spellbound, June 5, 2000
This review is from: Georgia O'Keeffe (Getting to Know the World's Greatest Artists) (Paperback)
"Georgia often rearranged the natural things she saw, and simplified them", p. 8
The young reader will learn about O'Keeffe's young years on her family's big Wisconsin farm, her years in Texas teaching art and during her free moments painting, her years with Stieglitz in New York painting, and her years in New Mexico painting.
O'Keeffe's choice of enlarging objects in her paintings makes this a perfect choice for young children. Everything is larger than life for the young. If there is anyone who will have nearly an innate appreciation for O'Keeffe's style it will be the young. They will readily identify her objects. Her color choices in her paintings are few and therefore not busy and distracting. The young reader will be drawn in by her bold and bright selection of colors.
Venezia's illustrations are humorous. His narrative is delightfully entertaining. His approach brings the artist within reach of the young. His re-enactment of an opening at Stieglitz's gallery of new artists' paintings is precious.
The size of the book is perfect for smaller hands. It enables the young to have art within their grasp. Venezia gives the locations of the paintings and as result if the child lives near one of the museums or will be near one on vacation, she/he would be able to see the original.
This is the 15th in Venezia's "Getting to know the World's Greatest Artist" series. He also has similar series on composers. Venezia's back cover illustrations tie back to the subject. "Like O'Keeffe, Mike searches near his home for objects in their natural surroundings ...".
The price of the book is well worth paying. The book contains the following: O'Keeffe's Paintings - 18, Photos of O'Keeffe - 3, Venezia's Illustrations - 8, Others' paintings - 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, May 23, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Georgia O'Keeffe (Getting to Know the World's Greatest Artists) (Paperback)
We own over 30 of the Getting to Know the World's Greatest Artists books. Georgia O'Keeffe's is one of my daughter's favorites. When she was 8 years old she used to sleep with five of the books like they were Teddy Bears because she loved them so much. They obviously have enormous appeal to children with the cartoons mixed in with the actual art, but even adults can enjoy these stories about the artists lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing books for teaching kids about art, December 20, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Georgia O'Keeffe (Getting to Know the World's Greatest Artists) (Paperback)
This book - along with every other one in the "Getting to Know the World's Famous Artists" series -- is a fantastic purchase all around. It puts a creative spin on the teaching of art to children and makes the artists' stories come to life in a "current" and cool way -- using graphics/cartoons, great photos of masterpieces and easy-to-understand language. My son is 8 years old and loves all of the books -- I think they are appropriate for a range of ages (4 or 5 yrs to 10 / 11 / 12 yrs.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific book, December 30, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Georgia O'Keeffe (Getting to Know the World's Greatest Artists) (Paperback)
I bought all of the books in this series for our homeschool art curriculum. They are easy to read and a fun supplement that can lead to a nice trip to the Smithsonian Gallery of Art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book along with Picasso were read to my grandson ..., October 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Georgia O'Keeffe (Getting to Know the World's Greatest Artists) (Paperback)
This book along with Picasso were read to my grandson while in his 1st grade class. They have opened up his and the other student's worlds to this magnificent beauty.

Upon finding out of his captivation I determined to buy around 6 copies of this series and give them to him for his 6th birthday last week. He was speechless.

Thank you.

Jeanne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, June 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Georgia O'Keeffe (Getting to Know the World's Greatest Artists) (Paperback)
I love the artist books by Mike Venezia. He does a great job presenting each artist in a fun way for kids with bright and colorful pictures throughout the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best!, May 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Georgia O'Keeffe (Getting to Know the World's Greatest Artists) (Paperback)
This is the best of all the children's books on this great artist. My daughter was able to use it as a reference on her O'Keeffe wax museum project. It was informative and easy to comprehend. I love this series for young people!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 28, 2014
By 
S. Silva (Wilmington, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Georgia O'Keeffe (Getting to Know the World's Greatest Artists) (Paperback)
Got this series to share with my son and he loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love, November 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Georgia O'Keeffe (Getting to Know the World's Greatest Artists) (Paperback)
Love these books for part of our homeschool learning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, October 27, 2014
This review is from: Georgia O'Keeffe (Getting to Know the World's Greatest Artists) (Paperback)
For Home schooling great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Georgia O'Keeffe (Getting to Know the World's Greatest Artists)
Georgia O'Keeffe (Getting to Know the World's Greatest Artists) by Mike Venezia (Paperback - March 1, 1994)
$6.95 $5.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.