Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Get Hurt
Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$10.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 12, 2014
Phenomenal album, I can listen to it all day on repeat and not get tired of it. Unfortunately to get the full album you have to buy it at BestBuy(SKU 7857016) to get the bonus track "This is Where We Part" and then buy "Have Mercy"(Which is my absolute favorite song on the album.) from iTunes (it is unfortunately an iTunes exclusive track so there is no way to get a lossless copy). I hate exclusivity agreements for songs because you have to piece the full album together from multiple sources.
33 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2014
I really can't say enough great things about The Gaslight Anthem. Ever since I first heard their music I've been enamored with their raw rock n' roll and great storytelling mixed with candid passion. Perhaps no other record this year has had me more excited and been more anticipated than the band's fifth record. Hype has been substantial and the marketing has been top notch. The only question remains: can Get Hurt live up to it? I'm happy to say YES. And then some.

Let me offer a word of comfort to those fearing that this record will be too big of a departure: you needn't fear. While Get Hurt does feature some new sounds, new colors and fresh ideas, it's by no means a total curveball. Each Gaslight album has built on the one before it and this picks up right where Handwritten left off. The opener "Stay Vicious" is the band's take on Nirvana and Pearl Jam, a dirty and grungy opener that ranks as one of the band's heaviest tunes. It's not indicative of the album as a whole but it should give listeners a good idea of what to expect. The sprinkling of new textures is a great move, giving listeners time to adjust without tossing them in head-first.

"1,000 Years" is a major highlight, rife with beautiful guitar work and a great melody. It's another sign of the band's growth and is just begging to be released as single. "Rollin' and Tumblin'" features more Pearl Jam influence, as does "Ain't That a Shame". It's a gentle transition but one that fits the band extremely well. There are callbacks to previous work, as is the case with "Helter Skeleton" and "Selected Poems", the latter of which features some of Brian Fallon's best vocal work. His voice continues to shine and the emotion put forth in these tunes, no doubt inspired by recent personal difficulties, rings as true as ever. Vocally and lyrically he's rarely been better, the pain ringing through in these tunes to the point where you can't help but feel you're on the same journey. Despite the heavy lyrics Fallon does slip in some wry humor and subtle twists with lines like, "I heard about a woman once who did everything ever asked of her/She died last week and her last words were 'It wasn't worth it'."

While the tunes that embrace Gaslight's sound are excellent, it's the more sombre and experimental material that elevates Get Hurt to new heights. The album's title track is beautiful and atmospheric, as is the classic rock feel of "Stray Paper", complete with its shifting dynamics and boundless energy. "Underneath the Ground" may not catch your ear at first but repeated listens reveal some beautiful layers; it's like a gentle hybrid of Tom Petty and U2. The gospel tone of "Red Violins" is hauntingly gorgeous and the acoustic ballad "Break Your Heart" is a phenomenal highlight. The harmonies alone are worth the price of admission. The closer "Dark Places" is awesome and its similarities to "The Backseat" guarantee it a place as a closer at the band's upcoming shows.

Get Hurt may not reinvent the band completely but it does help to usher in a softer and more progressive aspect. There's a little something for everyone here, making for a engaging listen. I recommend picking up the deluxe version if you get a chance, as tracks like "Sweet Morphine" and "Mama's Boys" are bluesier and even broader in scope. This album will undoubtably split fans and critics; even Fallon predicted that one in five reviewers will actually like it. Maybe that puts me in the minority but this one of The Gaslight Anthem's best LPs to date and a strong contender for album of the year. In this case it feels good to get hurt.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2014
This is very different from the rest of The Gaslight Anthem's catalog to date. So much so that I was skeptical when they released the singles over the last couple months. But after digesting the full album and reading some more about their thought process behind the album, I love it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2014
Gaslight Anthem's 5th studio release, "Get Hurt", is going to make their punk root fans really shout, "SELL OUT", but it is with this album the band continues to grow, as they're one of the few great rock bands in the 2000's. Brian Fallon is one of bright spots in the industry, but i hope he doesn't start over thinking things (like he did a little on this album). This is a great fact, The Gaslight Anthem have never been played on any of our radio stations around here, they are so closed minded here.

This album begins with a very strong rocker "Stay Vicious",then we get "1000 Years", a tune that is very good, but it kind of resembles "Queen Of Lower Chelsea", off "American Slang". My biggest disappointment is the title track, it just kind of screams "THIS SOUNDS LIKE THE KIND OF CRAP THAT MIGHT GET US PLAYED ON POP RADIO"! Don't pander to the teenage audience, all they want is dance,sappy acoustic laced fake soul singers and rap s**t. Other strong songs are the rockin' smash "Rollin' And Tumblin'", nice guitar solo by Rosamilia on "Selected Poems", "Red Violins", is a real charmer, "Ain't That A Shame", is top flight Gaslight Anthem. Really like the acoustic "Break Your Heart", (kind of like "Red Skies", off "Sink or Swim"). The excellent busting "Dark Places", "Mama's Boys", is something they haven't really tried before, they branch out here, good job fellas. And the album ends with "Halloween", this is a sweet rocker that could of fit perfectly on their last 3 albums.
The album cover needed some help, this might actually hurt record sales, for being so bland. This album was produced by Mike Crossey (Arctic Monkeys), he isn't one of my favorite producers, but he did fine here. My suggestion is to the band is get back with Ted Hutt and just put out a kick-ass ROCK AND ROLL RECORD! Just drop some of the ballads.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2014
For the past few years, I have been gravitating more towards hard rock and heavy metal. What does that have to do with this album and band?

Well, GA is one of my favorite bands despite being a simpler more basic form or rock. Whenever I listen to them, I think of Springsteen. But, they are their own band. They have their own style - that comes through in their musicianship and story telling.

They write every day music. Songs and music that always sound good. Stories that pull you in and become close friends. Clean, uncomplicated and enjoyable - what more can you say.

While I own a lot of music - I have cut back significantly on the amount of music I buy. This is well worth a spot in your collection - support a great band and buy this record. You won't regret it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2014
There are some who say Gaslight Anthem 'used' to write good songs and I couldn't disagree more! This amazing record has all of the superb elements Handwritten contains but this is a more evolved record from a more mature band. The songwriting here is top notch!! This may be their magnum opus, it's really THAT good! If you liked Handwritten, buy this now! The deluxe editions have 16 tracks, which is great! Best album of 2014 imo.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 12, 2014
The Gaslight Anthem are the kind of band that, should you see them in a local pub, would either have you raising your bottle clenched by your pumping fist, or crying in your beer over how damn good they are and how rare a band that rocks like they mean it seems to be these days. This time, on the excellent "Get Hurt," they stretch out even more than any of their previous albums. The hushed sonics of "Stay Vicious" open the album in a way that definitely says that this isn't going to be a carbon copy of "Handwritten" or "American Slang." The band is tighter than ever before, but they are now willing to toy with your expectations.

Granted, they are still worshiping at the alter of Springsteen and Tom Petty, but they claimed their own sound on "Handwritten" only to refine it here. The soulful title track is one of immense longing. It's a slow burner and and an open hearted song, pleading with the woman in question to ultimately sign off with "You might as well do your worst to me." For a band that built its reputation an barband blues and bluster, opening up this much takes a lot of guts. But before you think The Gaslight Anthem have sold out, you have "Helter Skeleton," with big chords and a ripping lead guitar. Lead singer Brian Fallon can emote with the best of them, be it the speed balling "1,000 Years" or the exposing of the heart that is "Underneath The Ground."

"Get Hurt" is an expansion, one some fans may have trouble adjusting to. But to me, hearing them tackle new sounds without losing their original spirit is healthy. TGA know that their listeners are probably still in that bar I talked about at the beginning of the review, clutching that bottle, and getting it on when a band sings more about them than glitz and glamor. Already a best of for 2014.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2015
Gaslight Anthem and its lead singer/songwriter are great. I'll let others review individual songs, but all of the songs are good with good lyrics and interesting melodies. It's good, new rock. I had this one in the CD player of my truck for a couple weeks and never got tired of it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2014
I really, really like this album. Handwritten wasn't very good, in my opinion, but this is a great rebound. Lyrically strong, and the music, while a very different sound from previous Gaslight, I find that I really like it. It's edgier, but still has a lot of The Horrible Crowes feel in the mix, as well. I felt The Horrible Crowes was the best that Fallon has done (even though I really like 'The 59 Sound), but this one is right up there with it. I'd recommend it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2014
I gave this one some time before I reviewed it. These days you have to, bands chance their sound and catch you off guard. Sometimes the NEW sound isnt bad just takes time to adjust to it. I had that problem with Handwritten. First heard it and didnt like it but then it became a favorite. This one wasnt much of a change tho, its more added to the sounds of Handwritten. Its really Gaslight Anthem meets The Horrible Crows. Half of the songs are upbeat and the others very dark in nature. From the lyrics Im thinking some girl really broke Brian Fallons Heart. Or maybe a bunch of them over time but the lyrics scream Hurt. "I loved her like fire, until it drove me insane" And Im guessing thats where the title comes from. Dont let the terrible cover art fool you, its not Valentines day on this record. I gave it 4 stars and not five because it can kinda be a downer record if you listen close to the lyrics. Stand out Tracks....gotta be honest, there wasnt one that wasnt stand out. Great Album, pick it up. Look forward to any of Brian Fallons projects. If you get a chance check out his other lesser known project MOLLY AND THE ZOMBIES. They dont have a record label signed on yet but I sure hope they do, youtube them. Amazing sound.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$4.99
$11.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.