Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great classic album!!!
This album and Moving Violation captures everything that made the J5 great. I don't know what the other reviewer was on when he dissed this . Get It Together and Dancing Machine by themselves are classics but listen to the remake of You Need love Like I Do along with Mama Got a Brand New thing and Hum Along and Dance. I'm glad they are reissiung these albums so the 20...
Published on February 27, 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get On The Dance Floor
Get It Together marks a decided shift in the band's sound. Gone are the soulful ballads and r&b rhythms and entering are thumping disco beats and heavy dance sounds. The title track fires the opening salvo, but it is the propulsive "Hum Along & Dance" that shows off their new sound. It is a dance floor classic and its hypnotic beat drives you to the dance floor. "Dancing...
Published on May 20, 2010 by P Magnum


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great classic album!!!, February 27, 2010
By 
Amazon Customer "jayn2000" (Escondido, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Get It Together (Audio CD)
This album and Moving Violation captures everything that made the J5 great. I don't know what the other reviewer was on when he dissed this . Get It Together and Dancing Machine by themselves are classics but listen to the remake of You Need love Like I Do along with Mama Got a Brand New thing and Hum Along and Dance. I'm glad they are reissiung these albums so the 20 somethings who think Michaels career started with thriller can wake up and get educated about him. Love this cd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are You Kidding Me?, July 9, 2010
This review is from: Get It Together (Audio CD)
I am the only one who sees fit to give this a 5 star review? Ummm, I hate to break it to you but this album rocks. Their versions of "You Need Love Like I Do" and "Reflections" are brilliant. The title track is short and sweet and funky as all get out. Now I do think that "Hum Along and Dance" goes on a bit too long, and is sort of pointless. Not sure why we need close to 9 minutes of this, but it's not a bad song. Same goes for "Mama Got A Brand New Thing" but I think that's the better of the two. The two slower numbers "Don't Say Goodbye Again" and "It's Too Late to Change the Time" fit nicely into the mix. And then there's "Dancing Machine". Well that song just makes this white boy want to dance all night. Oh and the original album artwork was cool back in the day of vinyl records.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get On The Dance Floor, May 20, 2010
This review is from: Get It Together (Audio CD)
Get It Together marks a decided shift in the band's sound. Gone are the soulful ballads and r&b rhythms and entering are thumping disco beats and heavy dance sounds. The title track fires the opening salvo, but it is the propulsive "Hum Along & Dance" that shows off their new sound. It is a dance floor classic and its hypnotic beat drives you to the dance floor. "Dancing Machine" appears in a different version that the hit song and the band made a good decision to remix it. Get It Together started bringing a sound that young Michael would cultivate for the rest of the 70's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full On Reinvention Of The Jackson 5 With An Artistically Grooving Musical Masterpiece!, April 4, 2014
This review is from: Get It Together (Audio CD)
1973 was spelling out to be the year that would sink the Jackson 5's thus far unbeatable luster at Motown. Skywriter and Michael's solo album Music & Me had both been creative triumphs but huge creative failures. The brothers would all come to blame this on the fact that Motown was not welcoming their own input as songwriters and producers. In short,the Jackson's were faltering because the realities of a music industry where artists were treated as commodities to be bought and sold had taken part of their innocence away. Yet as the year progressed,Motown was suddenly no longer the mainstay of the pop/R&B scene anymore. The success from the O'Jays and Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes had made Gamble & Huff's Philadelphia International Records the main focus on that level all of a sudden. And this began to fascinate the Jackson's and their creative team to an enormous degree. Inspired by this,the Jackson's elected to musically refocus some so it seems. And one day in the summer of 1995,I managed to find someone to locate the then extremely hard to find 80's era cassette tape of this album-not having a clue what to expect. Now that its thankfully available on CD? I can at last illustrate to others lovers of funk,soul,R&B and Motown the many wonders that this album has to offer.

The title song opens up the album. Its filled with the string orchestrations of the Philly sound. But the primary rhythmic nature of are these powerful layers of wah wah guitar,bass lines and an almost reggae style bass/guitar bridge. Michael's nearly matured singing is heard with all it's James Brown styled cries and accents-his iconic future already firmly in place. "Don't Say Goodbye Again" is another Philly type midtempo groove-with a rather more resigned and adult take on romantic loss. "Reflections" is the only interpretation that is actually relatively close to the original song. The 8+ "Hum Along And Dance" bares hardly any resemblance to the Temptations/Norman Whitfield original. Breaking out with organ,rock guitars,intense percussion,an almost Police Siren type synthesizer line the song is a psychedelic funk/soul/dance behemoth-closing with a rather Spiritual/gospel West Indian drum style and choral vocal harmonies-with a mild Native American influence as well. "Mama I Got A Brand New Thing" is another elongated number punctuated by a strumming acoustic style guitar and zig zagging and melodic synthesizer lines. "It's Too Late To Change The Time" is right on time with Leon Ware acknowledging the rise of the reggae genre musically with the melodic,harpsichord led hook of a classic Jackson 5 number. The lyrics have a reflective observation of the world at that time as well. "You Need Love Like I Do (Don't You)" is a bassy,hand jive led funk number with a driving bass and harmonies that segues into the original full version of "Dancing Machine"-which led the way towards what would soon become the disco era of course.

Not too long after this album was released,the title song became a decent sized hit-though not to the level I feel it deserved. That being said? The albums last song "Dancing Machine" is the song that,when released as a single edit the following year ended up completely changing the Jackson 5's commercial fortunes and bringing them their first top of the charts single since their 3 hit punch in 1970,really. In a way,this would become the last album of the Jackson 5 as part of the Motown family. The two albums released in the two years following this album were released during a period of legal battles as they sought to split themselves from Motown for the purpose to gaining the creative control they felt they required for their music to succeed and grow further. This albums elements of funk,orchestrated soul and different world music/psychedelic instrumental turns led to this not only being something of a fully unified album statement for the Jacksons, but also heavily reflective of the transition from the funk era (in which this album was released during) and the disco era which would come later in the decade,and in which the by then creatively liberated Jackson's would be a huge part of. But the road to that album starts right here-probably the Jackson brothers first fully formed and mature creative musical statement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Jackson Funky, April 2, 2014
By 
R. Toomey (Piscataway, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Get It Together (Audio CD)
I consider this the Jackson 5 Funk record. This is so edgy and unlike all their albums before and after it. I love their funky spin on the Tempts Hum Along and Dance. While listening to this album you can tell how they matured quite a bit since their earlier sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the most underrated J5 albums, May 6, 2013
This review is from: Get It Together (Audio CD)
The album was released at a time when the group was in a decline as they grew and started to lose their child "cuteness". Also times changed in the music industry and bubble gum soul didn't sell that well any more, while the funk/disco era kicked in. So this album is the group's first attempt to go into that new direction. And actually it's a very good attempt.

The Jackson brothers were still under the Motown label, so the songs were still written by Motown songwriters and the brothers still did not have creative control, but there are some gems there.

There's some "experimental" stuff, such as Hum Along and Dance and Mama I Gotta Brand New Thing Don't Say No, but I can understand if some people feel these tracks are too long (more than 8 and 7 minutes long respectively).

My favoite songs on the album are: Get It Together, Dancing Machine, You Need Love Like I Do (Don't You) and It's Too Late to Change the Time. Dancing Machine is of course a classic and it was first released on this album, although it was the remix version that was released a year later on the Dancing Machine album that went #2 on the Billboard Pop Charts.

Michael was 15 years old at the time of this album and I love his vocals on this album. He doesn't have his small kid voice any more but it's not yet his fully adult voice. But it already has that MJ-like smoothness and warmth in it that he had as an adult. (I personally prefer this voice to his voice on earlier Jackson 5 albums.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars J5, March 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Get It Together (MP3 Music)
We are talking about the one of the greatest groups ever. Enough said! I have two young children...7 & 6. They loved the them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Oldies Are Always Goodies, March 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Get It Together (MP3 Music)
I had the original album when it originally was released in the 70's. I liked it then and still like it, although it was not a big chart topper for J5 back then. I just had to purchase this for my ipod just so I would not have to play the LP. It is a must for all real J5 lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Together, February 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Get It Together (Audio CD)
The Jackson 5 really had it together back then. Love them. Can't get enough of them. Great addition to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get It Together (Rstr), December 4, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Get It Together (Audio CD)
Great record before they left Motown Records. It was unique with sung choice that the record has. I have to say that it is fun to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Get It Together
Get It Together by Jackson 5 (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.