Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Stephen Kellogg All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Amethyst Jewelry Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars15
5 star
87%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
13%
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$14.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 29, 2009
I couldn't resist buying this full price at a bookstore. I've only seen Kreisler do stand-up once, but it was enough to make me remember his name. When I saw the book I leafed through it...and scared a lady one row over when I laughed out loud. So I bought it on the spot.
You won't be disappointed. It's cathartic to laugh at the misery cheaters have wrought, and at least this book keeps the dream alive for the rest of us. (That's the catch, right...we're not going to get rich, and we're not going to cheat. But damned if Kreisler's book isn't funny enough to make me want to think of a third option. After I'm done laughing.)
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2009
Take a healthy dose of humor and blend it with some business savvy and observations of questionable practices and you have GET RICH CHEATING: THE CROOKED GUIDE TO EASY STREET, a tongue-in-cheek guide to schemes that have proven to generate cash covers everything from government bailouts to exploiting the weak. From controlling a board of directors to the mechanics of collusion, it's a hilarious, pointed observation of business.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2009
This is a hilarious read! A must buy for the times we live in...the economy in the tank, cheating in every industry, and no hope in sight. It will have you laughing from start to finish!
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2009
This is definitely one of those laugh out loud books - and even funnier because it's true! Jeff is a great writer, and his stories of cheating through the ages, and his take on recent scandals make you shake your head while you are laughing.

Definitely worth the money, and a great read in this bailout filled time.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2009
This book is positively hilarious, I couldn't put it down. The best part is that isn't not fluff humor, Kreisler throws in lots of "supporting facts" making this a learning opportunity. The only thing I'd caution a reader on is to take the material lightly as the subject matter could turn someone into a cynic.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2009
Keep in mind this is not a how to. It is rather a tongue in cheek view of what makes you and I (well, at least me) different from the Kenny Boy Lay's of the world.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2009
Unbelievably brilliant. I laughed at the insight and cried at the truth. A must read for anyone and everyone in this crazy economic hour. Such a timely message.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2014
I ordered and read this book myself and found it very entertaining. The stories are hysterical. Then I gave it as a gift to a friend who is always "pushing the envelope" (in my opinion) regarding taxes including the home office deduction, write offs to stockholders meetings out of town, etc. He got a big kick out of it as well.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2009
I burned through the book and highly recommend it. It is funny, insightful, disturbing, eye-opening, and funny again--a great comic voice with a very important message.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2010
Ever wonder what it's like inside the mind of a genius? Well, now you can take a peek without even getting your Top-Siders wet. In fact, you don't need feet at all, just opposable thumbs --- totally optional --- in order to read Jeff Kreisler's debut book, "Get Rich Cheating."

Kreisler's premise is simple: "...the goal of life is to make money; the means don't matter." The author argues that hard work is for chumps and that "economic mobility is more myth than reality." Therefore, the smart economic actor will break every rule, take every shortcut, swindle every grandmother and rip-off every lemonade stand, not to mention ford every stream, Maria.

What a breath of fresh air. Thank Nietzsche, somebody finally said it. Take that, Joe "the Plumber," and your little dream too!

Reading "Get Rich Cheating" assures that you will spend several very profitable hours exploring the rain forest of Kreisler's mind: wandering under the opaque canopy, marveling at the lush vegetation, grilling the exotic fauna and drinking from the effluent of his very fertile mind.

Lesser mortals (with relatively puny intellects) might argue weakly that America's historic economic success required self-restraint based on individual conscience and objective morality grounded in the Judeo-Christian ethos. Kreisler eschews such quaint notions as woefully naïve and hopelessly outdated or is it vice-versa?

Kreisler writes in a breezy style like an F-5 tornado. As an author, Kreisler is like Mo from the Three Stooges to your Curly: he reaches out, slaps your face, tickles your chin, grabs you by the ear and gives you a wedgie.
"Get Rich Cheating" provides scads of examples which are assiduously researched and by assiduous I mean that he fishes in the deep streams of cynicism from the darkness of the Internet serving up only the most outrageous detritus that supports his premise. In many ways, it is masterful piece of legal writing.

Rush Limbaugh has said that "the world is governed by the aggressive use of force" and Kreisler proves that here by aggressively bending every incidence of human malfeasance to support his argument. Rush Limbaugh is a piker compared to Kreisler. Kreisler is what Rush Limbaugh wishes he could be.

"Get Rich Cheating" is not just a book, it's a truncheon, and an oddly phallic one, which Kreisler swings as he parades down the avenues of American hypocrisy like a lobotomized Holden Caufield and by lobotimized, I mean freed from all personal morality.

"Get Rich Cheating" is enormously stimulating the same way a year and a half in lockup with an ex-linebacker convicted of sexual assault would be stimulating. "Get Rich Cheating" is also wildly insulting, in the most endearing way. What's more, Get Rich Cheating is oddly satisfying, like a beat down by a beautiful, leather-clad dominatrix. How many ways may I liken thee?

If the nitrogen-rich content isn't enough to convince you to buy "Get Rich Cheating," consider this: Kreisler is an over-achiever's wet-dream. Kreisler went to Exeter, Princeton and the University of Virginia Law School, he also wrote for Comedy Central's Indecision 2008 and is Executive Director of the parody, My Wall Street Journal. He is the avatar of the world of himself.

If you have gone to any of these schools, or know, in your heart-of-hearts, that your life would be better if you had --- and you know it would be --- you must buy "Get Rich Cheating". Got it?

"Get Rich Cheating" is jaundiced, dark and snarky and those are its good points; the kind of writing that Keith Olberman aims for yet can never hope to achieve. In the God-is-Dead tradition of Nietzsche, Kreisler is superman.
My advice: screw the Xanax, just read, nay, just buy "Get Rich Cheating."

Originally published here: [...]
0Comment3 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.