Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 8, 2013
I have now read 4 or 5 books related to dividend investing and have implemented a system and have about 1/4 of my nest egg invested in dividend yielding stocks. I though that this book was the best of the ones I have bought because it does provide good detail and a plan or strategy for dividend investing.

But - the authors numbers and 'double-digit' returns are based on dividends of 7% or so. A lot of the stocks he talks about are 2-4% dividend stocks, but when he provides his strategy he suggest dividends of 7% or more.

Well, I'm here to tell you folks, the 7% or more dividend stocks are relatively few and the ones you find are mostly high risk. The big cap stocks, like Exxon, Conoco Phillips, Pfizer, Coca Cola, WalMart, etc. are generally in the 2-3% dividend range. When you screen for 7% dividend or greater stocks you begin to find much more risky stocks. Utility stocks (not so risky, but low growth) and mortgage REITs are the stocks you will find at 7% or more - generally. You will also find some like Pitney Bowes whose financials are a wreck.

Almost all financial authors make their books out to be better than they are. Get rich quick by reading my book. You just need to temper your expectations and take the get rich part with a grain of salt.

I do recommend this book.
22 comments| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2012
I should say up front that I have met Lichtenfeld before. So I'm a bit biased toward liking his stuff. But that said, what I really liked about this book was that it goes so far beyond "why dividend stocks are cool." Marc shows you how a dividend specialist approaches income investing. You'll learn little tricks of the trade, like the fact that many companies offer a 5% discount on their stock if you reinvest your dividends. In other words, you buy stock XYZ for, say, $95/share instead of $100... and then you bank 100% of the dividends along the way. He also shows you how to increase your yield using a super-safe options strategy. These are the kinds of secrets you won't get from the Journal. You can definitely put these techniques and strategies to work - even if you're a beginning investor - and these markets are the perfect time, IMO.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2012
I have just read through the first chapter -- Marc Lichtenfeld's philosophy is readily available online, google him -- but he is playing a lot of math 'tricks' on the reader. I think it is page 14 where he says to the effect that 12% returns are very easy, just look at Southern Co. for example, it returned 193% in ten years. Great!

Perhaps he expects the average reader will say, hmm... 193% over ten years, that 19.3% return per year, WOW. Just 12% should be SIMPLE!

But no. Remember compound interest? Compound 12% for 10 years: $100 becomes $112, which becomes $125.44, $140.49,....after 10 years you should be at $310.58, or up 210%. .... so in fact, even his examples just miss his own targets. I can only imagine what his typical results look like.

Anyway, the philosophy is sound, just read the book with a calculator handy and don't get over-excited at his results.
33 comments| 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2012
I was excited to get this book and read through it quickly. There was one takeaway that is very important, and that is "time". As Marc points out a number of times throughout the book is that for this to truly work, one should have a ten year time horizon. At my age, I will probably pass this on to one of my grandchildren with the hope that they employ this strategy.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2012
I've been an active investor and trader for about 10 years. Having studied and tried various strategies, I believe this one to be the surest and easiest way to make serious money over the long haul. Especially if you are young, this is the way to go.

Instead of trying to find the "hot stock", the kind of companies Marc talks about are the ones most likely to be stable. What's so great about this system, is you can actually make more money if the stock market goes down!!! That's not a typo. The reason is as you reinvest dividends, you can acquire more shares if the share price goes down versus going up.

How many stock systems will work in either an up or down stock market?

Read it, and pass it along to your kids.
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2013
The investing ideas in this book explain the one real fool-proof way to get rich in the stock market. Buy the very best, large American companies that have been around for a long time, that have international exposure and long histories of paying and growing their dividends, and, by using DRIPS to re-invest their dividends and by leaving them alone, compounding interest will make you rich. The slow -moving tortoise beats the fast-running rabbit every time. While owning these shares may not be exciting and may be about as much fun as as watching paint dry, they will generate true wealth. I wish I'd adopted this approach to investing 30 years ago. It's a "no-brainer."
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2013
All adults should buy just a few shares of dividend producing stocks. All adults should buy their children a few shares of dividend stocks. Just a few shares of an electric utility will grow to hundreds as time passes. How many of you think an electric utility company servicing your home is going out of business? How many electric utilities have had their stock price go to zero? How many people are living in retirement on utility dividends? This book will guide you to a safe and secure retirement.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2012
This Book is an easy read, however very repetitive. This author repeats the same dividend strategy 12 times. What this author fails to explain is the time value of money. Inflation needs to be implemented in his 10-11-12 formula. Its practical advise but his criteria for picking stocks is pretty mundane. The best advice this book had was the link to dripinvesting.org, which gives you up to date stats on dividend stocks. Overall its practical advise, but can be summed up in one paragraph, don't need a whole book.
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2014
EASY explanation for a beginner. I wish he would have written this 30 yrs ago. I would have easily been a millionare by now with little work. Just have persistant research on your choice and monitoring your choices into the future (very easy and quick to do)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2012
This is a good basic introduction to dividend stocks, emphasizing selection parameters of dividend amount, payout ratio, and history of dividend growth. With today's low cost of money, the threshold suggestion of 4.7% might be a bit hard to meet within Litchenfeld's safety parameters. There's discussion of related parameters like P/E and cash flow. Lichtenfeld proposes a ten year investment horizon with the expectation of income growth to the order of 10 to 12% of the original investment. He makes a good case of lower risk than competing investments with similar return, even acknowledging risk of lowering promised dividends. He favors dividend payments over stock buyback as an indicator of company confidence. CEFs, ETFs and index funds are covered. Other embellishments include investing in foreign securities and augmenting dividend income with options trading. The book fails to mention that dividends have been declining in recent years. It refrains from any economic analysis or prognosis including what happens to dividend stocks when interest rates rise.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.