Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the price for the teleseminar tips alone
Top notch. As a marketing consultant to independent professionals and small service busineses, I found this book to be outstanding. For example, the book describes how a new trend for professionals and consultants who want to woo and win new clients is to offer teleclasses, also known as telephone seminars or teleseminars. The book explains that having heard you speak,...
Published on September 7, 2005 by Henry Devries

versus
36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best ideas are in the sidebar stories
Get Slightly Famous provides an adequate overview of standard promotional techniques that are found in similar books. The ideas are presented without guidance on how to choose among them, and the author sets unrealistic expectations of activity levels. The book is aimed at small businesses and self-employed professionals, so the mentions of marketing strategies used by...
Published on June 27, 2008 by Janice King


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the price for the teleseminar tips alone, September 7, 2005
This review is from: Get Slightly Famous: Become a Celebrity in Your Field and Attract More Business with Less Effort (Paperback)
Top notch. As a marketing consultant to independent professionals and small service busineses, I found this book to be outstanding. For example, the book describes how a new trend for professionals and consultants who want to woo and win new clients is to offer teleclasses, also known as telephone seminars or teleseminars. The book explains that having heard you speak, people feel they know you personally, and are more confident about hiring you. The advantages are abundant. You don't have to be personally present to give a talk that reaches your target market, says Van Yoder. Online chats and teleconferences, using your own or others' telephone lines, can help you reach a lot of people eager to hear your message. The book is filled with great advice like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical, Must Have Advice for the Small Business, January 25, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Get Slightly Famous: Become a Celebrity in Your Field and Attract More Business with Less Effort (Paperback)
I have to agree with all the positive comments on this book. I've been in medical device consulting for over 10 years, and have tried some of the ideas in Yoder's book already (due to common sense or other consultants' / books' recommendations). But I found much more suggestions here, together w/ updated web-based ideas which I'm now working on employing. I also value his many real-world examples interspersed throughout the book. This is one of only a few books (and I have most) that I'll be rereading to assist in marketing my consulting services.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best ideas are in the sidebar stories, June 27, 2008
Get Slightly Famous provides an adequate overview of standard promotional techniques that are found in similar books. The ideas are presented without guidance on how to choose among them, and the author sets unrealistic expectations of activity levels. The book is aimed at small businesses and self-employed professionals, so the mentions of marketing strategies used by huge corporations is baffling and irrelevant to the target reader. Sloppy proofreading in several places also detracts from the book.

What redeems Get Slightly Famous are the sidebar stories about how entrepreneurs have used the various marketing techniques. These ideas are much more creative and likely to be more useful to a reader than much of the book's main text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Marketing Book I've Ever Read, August 13, 2003
By 
Deborah Harper (San Jose, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Get Slightly Famous: Become a Celebrity in Your Field and Attract More Business with Less Effort (Paperback)
Steven Van Yoder has a deep understanding of the challenges facing small business owners - and offers innovative, low cost methods to succeed in today's fiercely competitive business climate. I enjoyed learning from the many real-life examples of successful entrepreneurs in the book. Steve's humor, expertise, and hard earned wisdom shine on every page. I have re-read Get Slightly Famous twice and highly recommend it to anyone trying to succeed as a small business owner or as a professional in private practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, inspiring & fun to read, August 2, 2003
By 
H. Marx (Santa Barbara, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Get Slightly Famous: Become a Celebrity in Your Field and Attract More Business with Less Effort (Paperback)
Get Slightly Famous is a rare find: excellent tips, inspiring true stories, and enjoyable to read without being full of fluff. At first I just flipped through it, reading "Real-World Success Stories"(they're easy to find, marked clearly--& there are dozens of them), but then I found myself reading the book cover-to-cover. There's quite a bit of good advice here that I haven't read or heard anywhere else, & I've read a lot of marketing & PR guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique and instructional business guide, November 17, 2003
This review is from: Get Slightly Famous: Become a Celebrity in Your Field and Attract More Business with Less Effort (Paperback)
Get Slightly Famous: Become A Celebrity In Your Field And Attract More Business With Less Effort by Steven Van Yoder is a unique and instructional business guide to becoming famous within the context of the business world and thereby attracting clientele and increasing revenues through sheer visibility. A wealth of tips, tricks, and techniques for acquiring and consistently holding media attention; using speaking engagements to become noticed by a targeted market; harvesting the full potential of the Internet; creating ancillary "info-products" to build public awareness, and a great deal more, Get Slightly Famous is excellent, profitable, and highly recommended supplemental reading for businesspeople and marketers on all scales and theaters of commerce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great practical advice, March 21, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Get Slightly Famous: Become a Celebrity in Your Field and Attract More Business with Less Effort (Paperback)
Get Slightly Famous is one of the best books on self-promotion that I have read. Steven Van Yoder provides practical advice that would benefit any person who wants to improve business or raise his or her public profile. While many books of this nature are disappointingly thin on substance, this book provides solid advice for building a career as an "expert."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must-read" for all entrepreneurs - valuable resource, May 11, 2003
By 
Judith Henderson (Oakland, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Get Slightly Famous: Become a Celebrity in Your Field and Attract More Business with Less Effort (Paperback)
This book has innovative and practical suggestions that you can apply to your business - without costing an arm and a leg to implement. Using some of the tips in the book enabled me to get media coverage for my business on a larger scale than I ever had before - resulting in more sales.
It is very comprehensive, but well-paced and easy to read. I highly recommend it to all business owners, regardless of industry.
Whether you have minimal or significant experience in positioning your company to stand out from the crowd, this book has something for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Communiacting with the media............Its easy!, April 6, 2005
By 
Thomas Murrell "Speaker, author" (Perth, Western Australia, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Get Slightly Famous: Become a Celebrity in Your Field and Attract More Business with Less Effort (Paperback)
Steve has done an exceptional job of identifying the barriers most small businesses and private practices face whilst striving for success. This book outlines some key methods in developing a profile in your chosen field. Some very helpful tips on communicating with the media.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical and useful guide for small business owners who want to make it big in their field, July 13, 2008
I am a landscaper with a unique niche, a big personality, and a strong point of view, and I can definitely see how becoming the most well-known person in the area, a local gardening celebrity, would provide great dividends to my business. The question is how do I get there, so that when local people think of gardening, they think of me first?

If you are wondering something similar, look no further than this book. I've read a few books designed to help you set yourself apart and get recognized, and none of them were as specific and practical as this one. This book takes you step by step through a number of techniques and approaches to become a local celebrity or one in your field, and not only gives you general advice about it, but walks you step by step through some of the common pitfalls and questions you'll encounter through each approach.

I have read it cover to cover once, and have bookmarks through the entire thing - some red (do it now!) and some yellow to remind me to try the steps later. I am thrilled at how down to earth and simple the advice was. I feel like I have someone knowledgeable walking me through these new activities, and it has given me the confidence to go ahead and do some of the steps right away.

I'd recommend this book for business owners, whether you have a three-person company like I do or a larger one - especially if you do any consulting work or work where you need to be respected for your knowledge. It's very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Get Slightly Famous: Become a Celebrity in Your Field and Attract More Business with Less Effort
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.