Customer Reviews

80
3.7 out of 5 stars
Get Smart Again
Format: DVDChange
Price:$49.95 + $3.99shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on May 27, 2009
Format: DVD
The original "Get Smart" tv series was broadcast on NBC 1965-69 and CBS 1969-70. Starring Don Adams as "Maxwell Smart" (Agent 86) and Barbara Feldon as "Agent 99".Get Smart - Season 1 (The Original TV Series)
10 years later, Don Adams returned as "Maxwell Smart" in the motion picture, The Nude Bomb (1980). Other original cast memebers returned, but without Barbara Feldon and the late Edward Platt.
In 1989, Don Adams and Barbara Feldon reteamed for the new tv-movie, "Get Smart, Again!".
Also returning, David Ketchum as "Agent 13", Dick Gautier as "Hymie", Robert Karvelas as "Larrabee", Bernie Kopell as "Siegfried" and King Moody as "Shtarker".
C.O.N.T.R.O.L suspects their is a double agent in their organization. Someone else is working for KOAS. The only man capable of investigating on this case is ex-Agent 86, Maxwell Smart, but would he be wearing his phone shoe after all these years? The United States Intelligence Agency gives it a try.
Maxwell is at a funeral when his phone rings, er ah, I mean his shoe rings.
Smart is re-activated by the USIA to, once again, stop KAOS from destroying the world, but he only has 7 days to do it. Maxwell Smart enlists the help of his former collegues.

Also in the cast: Harold Gould and Roger Price (who both appeared in an episode on the original tv series), John de Lancie, Kenneth Mars, Steve Levitt, Lou Felder, Fritz Feld.

Running time: 93 min.

This DVD has no extras. No audio commentary.

In 1995, Don Adams and Barbara Feldon reteamed again for the new FOX tv series, Get Smart: The Complete Series. Only 7 episodes were broadcast.

Don Adams and Barbara Feldon reunited on the 1 TV Land Awards in 2003.

Don Adams passed away September 25, 2005 of pulmonery infection.

Remake of "Get Smart":

 Get Smart (Single-Disc Fullscreen Edition) (2008) starring Steve Carell and Anne Hathaway.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
Format: DVDVerified Purchase
I own the Get Smart boxed set with all 5 Seasons and bonus materials that comes in the phone booth box. After viewing the entire series I just couldn't get enough of Get Smart so I ordered this TV Movie. I had missed it when it was first shown on television back in the 80's. Being an original fan of the series from back in the 60's I just had to click the order button ..

For the most part, it is very satisfying . Don Adams is a little long in the tooth in this, but then again, I'm not getting any younger either! Almost every character returns except for the Chief of course. This release is lacking the laugh track that was originally attached to it, and I for one am glad of it. I do not need a laugh track to tell me when to laugh.

If I could have changed anything I think I would have given Agent 13 (the great Dave Ketchum) a little more screen time and a few more gags. Hymie, Larrabee, and Siegfried and Starker all make appearances with Bernie Kopell playing a dual role. King Moody as Starker finally gets to take charge and turns out to be brighter than you might think.

I thought the plot ran a tad thin towards the end of the movie, but it was great seeing them all again. Written by series executive producer Leonard Stern and directed by series mainstay Gary Nelson, this movie has ALL the catchphrases and running gags you can remember and even a few new ones.

If you are a fan of Don Adams and Get Smart, then this movie is probably the single greatest purchase you will ever make in your entire life. Ok, would you believe a FAIRLY good decision? How about, it's a good deal for the money? (Sorry about that, I couldn't resist!) oooops, did it again!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on June 7, 2009
Format: DVD
Get Smart was one of those series that never got a proper send off, and it looked to have been destroyed with the 1980 movie, "The Nude Bomb" but this reunion type of TV movie was great and has been a favorite of mine for years.

Don Adams as Maxwell Smart & Barbra Feldon as 99 are still married (thank god this ignored the Nude Bomb story) and are no longer spies. Max does odd jobs here and there, and 99 is writing her autobiography of her days with Control. However, it's been many years since Control was in business, but things soon change as KAOS is now back in business and have in there possession a machine that can alter the worlds weather to any condition with just the push of a button.

And when KAOS is back in business, there is only one man to give the assignment to, and who you gonna call? ... no, not them, you call Maxwell Smart, secret agent 86. Being that the Chief (Ed Plat) had passed on, the new Chief type position is given to Kenneth Mars as Commander Drury, who re-activated Max as a secret agent to go up against the forces of KAOS once again who are now led by Conrad Siegfried (Bernie Koppel) with Shtarker as always by his side.

Max put's together a team of familiar faces from the original TV show, with Hymie The Robot, Larrabee and 13. As well as some new additions like Beamish, a new member to the spy service, and sets out to take on KAOS once again.

Much of the humor derives from classic lines from the original TV show, which seemed to bother some people, but I loved it, and thought they delivered the lines here better in some ways to get the gag to work just as well as ever, some even better then before.

It's great to see the old cast back together and creating a great reunion movie that did not leave you thinking, "the TV show was so much better" it really is a good follow up that I did not leave with a bad taste in my mouth wondering what parts I would have cut out of the film had I had the chance to before it was released.

The only thing I wish this DVD had was bonus features. I really would loved to have seen more to this then is here. It's one of those movies I had on VHS for years, and when I saw it on DVD I snapped it up, no matter how much the asking price was, but it is a cheapish, even if it is printed in more then 6 colors!

This movie is defiantly one of my favorites. And a particular line in the movie leaves you smiling at the end, when Max says, "99, I love ya better then the whole world, would you believe it, the whole world"
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on February 4, 2009
Format: DVD
This is an excellent DVD. "Get Smart Again" is a reunion movie starring most of the original cast of Get Smart (Ed Platt had alredy passed away). Maxwell Smart gathers together the agents of Control for one more confrontation against Kaos. If you liked the tv series you'll like this movie.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on May 17, 2007
Format: DVD
Yes, it's that simple. Get Smart Again is just the best TV reunion movie ever made. With most of the original cast, a pitch-perfect script from one of the original writers of the classic television show, and a tone and feel right out of 1968, this movie deserves a place right beside the coming DVDs of the series, which will be out in the fall.

Most TV reunion shows are disasters. The actors look different, fresh blood behind the scenes are all trying to put their stamp on the thing... the result is usually painful to watch if you are a fan of whatever show is being remade.

Not so with this movie. Every, and I do mean EVERY, aspect of the timeless series is recreated here. After the dismal Nude Bomb, they got it right. Max and 99 have the same chemistry. There are a plethora of the same bad (meaning laugh out loud funny) jokes. And for the show which took the term catchphrase to unparalleled heights, they manage to weave ALL of them into this movie. And, if you are not familiar with the show, Get Smart had too many oft-repeated catchphrases to list here.

This is a great movie.

My only knock is the terrible picture quality. Hopefully this will be remedied with the original series FINALLY coming out on DVD. I hope so. It is a gem of a movie. Really a "lost" episode of the series. It's a shame they couldn't have made more of these.

A must-have for any long-time fan of Get Smart. And for you new fans, fresh from the excellent DVD release -- and there will be a LOT of you, believe me -- you'll want to add this film to your collection. No Get Smart collection will be complete without it.

"Would you believe you'll love the series and this movie?"

"You'll believe it."

Rest in peace Don Adams. Us long-time and new fans will be watching you face danger at every turn... AND LOVING IT!!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on December 4, 2004
Format: DVDVerified Purchase
A good Tv film made years before the end of the Tv series.With some of the actors reprising their roles which made them famous.

Please release the original Tv-series on Dvd!.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Format: DVDVerified Purchase
This is testimony that Maxwell Smart always belonged on the small screen (with the exception of the new Steve Carell movie version). After the horrible "Nude Bomb", which attempted (rather feebly) to bring "Get Smart" to the big screen in 1980, this 1989 TV-movie reunion is far more satisfying. Like many revivals, it's certainly not perfect, but it has a lot going for it: Original series producer Leonard Stern returned to co-produce & co-write; it re-unites the surviving cast of characters (all but Edward "Chief" Platt, whom the movie is dedicated to); and all the goofy dialogue & gadgets, catchphrases, wacky plots & physical humor that made the original so great. It's a pleasure to see Don Adams fumble through this movie as he falls backwards in chairs, walks into doors & kicks coffee mugs out of people's hands with welcome nostalgia. However, Adams, although in good physical shape, was obviously made up to look younger by make-up artists...and as you know, that often backfires; he's looks like a middle-aged man with a dye job. He actually looks more fit & youthful in the short-lived NEW Get Smart series in the mid-90's.
This time, it's veteran comic actor Kenneth Mars who fills in for the role of "Chief" as the head of Central Intelligence who presses Smart & the old CONTROL agents back into service...and of course, barely contend with Smart's ineptitude. Yep, they're all back in top form: Robert Karvelas' strangely dense Larrabee (still watering plants at his CONTROL office--15 yrs. after the organization was moth-balled!); Dick Gautier's stoic Hymie the Robot (now a crash test dummy); Smart's longtime nemesis Siegfried (Bernie Kopell, brilliant as usual)& his henchman/stooge Shtarker (King Moody); and of course, the lovely & intelligent 99 (Barbara Feldon), re-igniting the old magic with Max. Even Dave Ketchum returns as Agent 13, getting stuffed into filing cabinets & fire hydrants like the old days. Outside of the Smart cast, you'll recognize John DeLancie, who became famous as the all-powerful "Q" on "Star Trek: The Next Generation".
The plot involves a powerful weather machine which KAOS has obtained from a scientist & threatens to destroy the world's climate...who better to thwart their plans than their old formidable enemy Smart (who always bumbles his way through a case, but seemingly manages to defeat them)? Regardless of plot, it's the familiar Get Smart shtick & trappings that are the real fun here, as well as seeing old (or older?) familiar faces. Fans of the show will undoubtedly love this; and even non-fans will get some chuckles from this movie.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on August 23, 2009
Format: DVDVerified Purchase
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie when I first saw it a decade or longer ago. Sometimes memories are kinder than reality, but I still found myself laughing out loud when I watched it again after buying it on amazon not long ago.

Those of you who have filled out a review on amazon know they always ask you if you're over 13. Had I not known it was a regulalr question, I would likely have thought it was specific to Get Smart Again. Yeah, the comedy is silly and at about a 6th or 7th grade level, but occasionally we need to return to a more youthful perspective and get a good laugh. This will definitely do it.

Reunited is the majority of the original Get Smart cast. Don Adams is one of a kind and Barbara Feldman does a great job - as always - of playing the wiser and lovingly long-suffering Agent 99. The Cone of Silence scene alone is worth the price of admission - or DVD purchase - and many of the other old gags are back.

If you liked the original series and are looking for some great comedy thats stays true to the original (and if you don't mind that there's little new here - just the old gags revisited) you will enjoy Get Smart Again thoroughly.

Max is wrong to say "Missed it by that much!" Get Smart Again hits the mark completely.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on September 12, 2009
Format: DVD
GET SMART AGAIN was a 1989 television movie that, in part, redeemed the horrible 1980's theatrical release of THE NUDE BOMB. The 1989 movie was essentially an extension of the original series. The characters, the story, and the soundtrack were all worthy of GET SMART. Best of all was that the original actors reprised their roles as Maxwell Smart, Agent 99, Larrabee, Hymie the robot, Siegfried and his assistant Starker. Of the original regular cast, only the Chief, played by Ed Platt who passed away in 1974, is missing.

Before extolling the virtues of GET SMART AGAIN we have to revisit the attempt to resurrect GET SMART nine years earlier. In 1980 Universal released THE NUDE BOMB. THE NUDE BOMB was an attempt to retool the GET SMART franchise into a major motion picture. Don Adams returned as Agent 86, as did Adams' cousin Robert Karvelas as Larrabee. Adams and Karvelas are the only familiar faces in the movie. The storyline was worthy of a GET SMART episode, but the execution of the script was poor. With the exception of a comical motorized desk chase scene and the clone melee toward the end of the film, the film drags along supported solely by clichés of the earlier television series. The movie was also shot on a fairly tight budget as evidenced by one chase sequence shamelessly lensed in the Universal Studios theme park and tour. Worse was that Agent 86 is inexplicably a bachelor with no mention of 99 and only passing references to CONTROL.

THE NUDE BOMB did poorly at the box office and was quickly recycled as THE RETURN OF MAXWELL SMART for television two years later.

The appearance of a new GET SMART television movie in 1989 was somewhat of a surprise for me. When I first set the channel to watch the movie I expected to see another repackaging of THE NUDE BOMB. Much to my chagrin the film was a brand new undertaking done in the style of the original television series. Barbara Feldon was back as 99 along with Siegfried and a long absent Hymie. Were it not for the lack of a canned laugh track GET SMART AGAIN could very well have been an original episode of GET SMART. Much of the credit goes to Producer Leonard Stern who, as it turns out, was also the producer of the original series.

Plot summary: Maxwell Smart is called back to duty to counter KAOS' latest blackmail threat. KAOS perfected a weather machine that can create or change weather both outdoors and indoors. Agent 86 reactivates CONTROL and follows a trail that leads him to his old nemesis Siegfried. Unfortunately KAOS always seems to be one step ahead of Smart. As it turns out the new secret leader of KAOS leads a double life as the publisher of 99's recent autobiography. Unbeknownst to 99, Publisher Nicholas Demente (Harold Gould) is using 99's detailed manuscript to anticipate Smart's moves. Demente's ultimate goal is to force people to read more books. Eventually Smart locates the weather machine and Demente is electrocuted by a bolt of indoor lightning generated by the machine.

Granted the story is not rocket science, but it was good to see the team together again in a story vehicle worthy of the original. GET SMART AGAIN was successful enough to generate interest in a new television series. As a result in 1995 the FOX network aired a new GET SMART starring Don Adams and Barbara Feldon. In this version Maxwell Smart was chief of CONTROL and Smarts' son was his star, though accident prone, agent. The new television series did not last through the season.

Much like THE NUDE BOMB, GET SMART AGAIN did not have a big budget, but the money was spent wisely. The film moves along smartly. Also look for John de Lancie in a strong supporting role. De Lancie is best remembered as the "Q" from STAR TREK THE NEXT GENERATION.

Watching GET SMART AGAIN on television and (subsequently again) on its DVD release brought back a lot of memories. Had the television movie been followed by yearly sequels it would probably have done well. Alas it was the last of the traditional GET SMART films.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on May 4, 2013
Format: Amazon Instant Video
Don't waste your time on this one. Look for the original 60s show first...this is terrible...the writers missed it by THAT much!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed

Get Smart: The Complete Series
Get Smart: The Complete Series by Don Adams (DVD - 2008)
$8.37

The Nude Bomb
The Nude Bomb by Don Adams (DVD - 2008)
$9.54
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.