Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer TL256 TL256 TL256  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars172
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 13, 2005
Get Your Wings(1974). Aerosmith' s Second Album.

In 1974, Aerosmith was some what of a sensation in Boston, where their constant touring and high octane hard rock endeared them to thousands of fans. Their debut, a fantastic mix of hard rock and gritty blues tracks, helped Aerosmith develop a cult following around Boston, not unlike The Grateful Dead. Fans considered Aerosmith "the next Led Zeppelin" , and when 'Get Your Wings' was released, fans eagerly picked up the album. Although not popular until many years later, 'Get Your Wings' eventually went multi-platinum and contained the hit singles "Same Old Song And Dance" and "Train Kept A Rollin'.

By 'Get Your Wings', Aerosmith began to sound more and more like the band that produced classic songs like "Walk This Way" and "Back In The Saddle". Steven Tyler's singing voice began to take on the high-pitched, over-the-top sound that made him one of the most identifiable singers in rock n' roll. Aerosmith even began to branch out their songs, playing more original, experimental, and darker tracks that distinguished them from other blues and Led Zeppelin clones. "Same Old Song And Dance", an Aerosmith classic, pits distorted, kick ass blues guitar against Stephen Tyler's energetic, in-your-face singing. "Lord of Your Thighs" is a slower, percussive hard rock track that is very dark and gritty. "Spaced" is a "spacy" rock track, with an emotional, trippy verse, complete with "epic" sounding guitar work. Definitely one of Aerosmith's most different and inspired songs. "Woman of the World" is a folk and blues inspired hard rocker, and has the sound of a guitar "orchestra", much like early Led Zeppelin. "S.O.S.(Too Bad)" is a loud, brazen hard rocker that is your typical Aerosmith. "Train Kept A Rollin'" is a cover of the classic Yardbirds song, layered with louder and more distorted guitars. Tyler is at his best... his vocals fit the pompous, youthful energy of the song perfectly. Easily one of Aerosmith's best, "Train Kept A Rollin'" is definitely one of the best examples of Joe Perry's mastery of the blues guitar. "Seasons of Wither" is hands down one of Aerosmith's best, most underrated tracks. A dark, progressive, and emotional track, "Seasons of Wither" reminds me of Led Zeppelin's darker material. This song is great, and probably the best on the album. "Pandora's Box" ends the album with a bluesy, upbeat hard rocker, full of loud, blazing guitars.

'Get Your Wings' is a fantastic album, and unfortuneatly is often overlooked by fans of Aerosmith's earlier material. This album has a very mature sound, and Joe Perry and Steven Tyler display some of their best work here. Aerosmith would go on to even greater success with 'Toys In The Attic' and 'Rocks', but you shouldn't overlook their first albums, because they are just as good. In my opinion, "Same Old Song And Dance", "Spaced", "Train Kept A Rollin", and "Seasons of Wither" are all some of Aerosmith's most inspired tracks.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED TO FANS OF CLASSIC ROCK, HARD ROCK, AND AEROSMITH! IF YOU LIKE AEROSMITH, DON'T OVERLOOK THIS CLASSIC ALBUM!

Also Recommended-

Aerosmith- Aerosmith

Led Zeppelin II- Led Zeppelin

Tres Hombres- ZZ Top

Thanks For Reading!
77 comments|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2003
Get Your Wings is such a killer masterpiece, of all the Aerosmith albums out there, this is my #1 favorite cause Steven Tyler's voice is improving and they were starting to sound like themselves, I mean their debut was good but this is even better,
'Same Old Song and Dance' is a radio staple and it has a killer classic groove and the horn section of the Brecker brothers. 'Lord of the Thighs' is one of Aerosmith's most humorous songs of all time and they got the title from the novelty Lord of the Flies. 'Spaced' which has a spooky intro and it is one of Aerosmith's underrated gems. 'Woman of the World' the intro sounds like 'Lord of the Thighs' another killer tune. S.O.S. (Too Bad) a live staple which has a sing along chorus. 'Train Kept A Rollin' which was originally written way back from 1951 and it was done by numerous bands but Aerosmith got this one from The Yardbirds (w/ Jeff Beck on guitar). 'Seasons of Wither' is one of Aerosmith's best ballads (even Joe Perry admits that all of the ballads they've done, it was the only one he cared for, and it's even better than their 1990's ballads) and it should've been on the original Greatest Hits CD. And for the closing track, 'Pandora's Box' is the first song that drummer Joey Kramer wrote (he also wrote the classic 'Kings and Queens' from the Draw the Line album).
If you're a classic Aerosmith fan and want to own an album, get this album, while not as successful as Toys in the Attic and Rocks but this album goes to show you that Aerosmith can rock.
Plus one thing that I didn't tell you was that this album marked the debut of producer Jack Douglas, who produced Aerosmith from Get Your Wings to Rock in a Hard Place (with the exception of 1979's Night in the Ruts).
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2000
Among the finest hard rock albums of all time. Aerosmith fans from the post-Run DMC era who have yet to discover what the fuss was all about should look no further. Nothing Aerosmith has done since `Rocks' shakes my tree, but `Rocks,' `Toys,' and especially this monster disc comprise some of the most stirring and potent hard rock in the era where it became the industry standard (you know, pre-disco, pre-punk, pre-new wave).
The production took a quantum leap from their debut LP (`Aerosmith'), and the songs flow effortlessly (catch the amazing brain-fogged transition between `Lord of the Thighs' and `Spaced'). Every song is powerful in its own right, but this is most undeniably an "album," and needs to be heard in its entirety to be fully appreciated (unlike, say, `Toys', which is more of a singles collection).
The Tyler libido was in full flower, long before the `80's and `90's when it became self-parody. `Lord of the Thighs' and `Pandora's Box' are prime (primed!) examples. `Train Kept a Rollin' still stands as the best version (by miles) of this song I've ever heard. This and `S.O.S.' give a curiously "live" feel, while `Spaced' and `Wither' are definitely very studio, very insular tracks (probably best suited for the headphone aficionado - "under the influence," of course).
Why are you still reading this? If you don't have it, all you have to do is click a little button. You will be rewarded many times over.
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2002
After a terribly underrated debut album, Aerosmith manage to catch the attention of North America with this amazing masterpiece.
While it's always bad to judge a cd but it's design cover, let's just go ahead and do it. Here you have a black and white photograph of the band with a black background. Kinda different compared to their debut album with them all in color and with clouds around them. This album is definately black...very hard, raw, and gritty. Very heavy hard rock'n'roll here.
This album was a huge success the year it was released. Today, this album is often sadly pushed away from 'Toys In The Attic' as well as 'Rocks'. While I love both albums with my heart, this is what really started their rock 'n' roll story.
The album starts off with 'Same Old Song And Dance' which has long been a concert favorite. But the magic doesn't quite happen till you next head for 'Lord of the thighs'. A strange yet great song. It sets the dark tone of the album. Next you get 'Spaced' and 'Woman of the World' which are probably the darkest Aerosmith songs i've ever listened to in my life. Next you have a short semi-fast paced 'SOS (too bad)' which helps to give out a little relief from the dark attitude. Finally you head for the Yardbird's cover of 'Train kept a rollin' which is another huge concert favorite among fans and the band. Some great guitar solos in it. Next you come to another sweet and melodic favorite among fans, 'Seasons of Wither'. Although supposed to be a ballad, it seems very much in-line with a dark tone to it. Still very beautiful and beats the hell out of 'I don't want to miss a thing (ugh). And then finally, we end with 'Pandora's Box' which is accompanied by a nice saxophone with an RnB side to it.
Overall, a great album. Probably one of the best done by them. If you're new to Aerosmith, then i suggest listening to Toys In The Attic or Rocks and then appreciating the magic of Get Your Wings which comes to show you how they got big.
I dunno about you, but i certainly got my wings. Go get your own today and soar high with Aerosmith!!!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2000
I'm slowly filling in my collection of Aerosmith. It's mostly the old stuff that I don't have. I've heard a few songs off of this album before on their GREATEST HITS album and the PANDORA'S BOX boxed set. For me, at least from the albums I've heard, this is second only to TOYS IN THE ATTIC. I've been hunting for this CD at a good price for a while because I've wanted the original album with SEASONS OF WITHER. I love that song. Most of the other songs on this album are just as good. SAME OLD SONG AND DANCE, LORD OF THE THIGHS, and PANDORA'S BOX are probably the biggest standouts. I've been listening to Aerosmith for about the last ten years and their old stuff is still the best. This is a must have for any rock collection.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2008
In my opinion this is aerosmiths best album. It was released over 30 years ago and still rocks today. There are 8 excellent tracks here-same old song and dance, lord of the thighs, spaced, woman of the world, sos(too bad), seasons of wither, train kepta rollin and pandoras box. Seasons of wither is my favourite song of all time, check out the live version of it on "Rockin the joint", it will blow you away. This album proves that aerosmith are the best rock band in the world. They were when this was released and they still are today. Get this and i gaurantee you wont be disappointed.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2005
This album was first released back in 1974 and I was playing a cover version of "Woman Of The World" in my High School Rocking Band when I was 14.This was back in the days when Aerosmith did not have the critical and musical acclaim that the band has today. However this album sounds as fresh today as it did back in 1974 which proves once again that good Hard Rock music is Immortal and Timeless. These guys could and can really rock. Thankfully Disco music has come and gone but Aerosmith are alive and well and rocking.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2015
Just got it today-12/20/2015!! I love it!! Awesome!! Fantastic!! Amazon is like a Xmas Wonderland!! I will be doing all of my shopping here!! Great music store!! Great!! Amazon has everything you could ever imagine or want!! :o)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2007
It is a great album there second collection of songs and Same Old Song and Dance - Train Kept a Rollin and Season of Wither are of my favorite songs on here. Train Kept a Rollin is the first time on Aerosmith albums that you got the idea of what they were like live. I had the album now I have the CD. Very good and a must for true fans!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2015
This album shows off Aerosmith's growing rock 'n' roll chops before the breakthrough success of "Toys in the Attic." You'd remember "Same Old Song and Dance" and "Train Kept a Rollin'," but check out "Lord of the Thighs" and "Seasons of Wither" for some variety.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.