Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ArcGIS Tutorials Galore
This book is 592 pages of ArcGIS tutorials. If you like tutorials, then this is the book for you. These tutorials will walk you through anything you would ever want to do with ArcGIS, in painful detail. I was new to ArcGIS before reading this book, it's a complex and powerful program. This book is meant to be read cover to cover, unlike most software manuals & books where...
Published on June 1, 2011 by PittsburghRic

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good learning material but three editions show little change
I reviewed this title several years ago and highlighted the excellent training material and structure it provides. My view on that remains. However, this book has literally 99% the same content and structure of the earlier editions, so if you are looking for new material you wil be disappointed. The software changes relating to the training examples are largely...
Published on December 5, 2010 by IanO


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good learning material but three editions show little change, December 5, 2010
By 
IanO (Aldwick, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Getting to Know ArcGIS Desktop (Paperback)
I reviewed this title several years ago and highlighted the excellent training material and structure it provides. My view on that remains. However, this book has literally 99% the same content and structure of the earlier editions, so if you are looking for new material you wil be disappointed. The software changes relating to the training examples are largely cosmetic, one or two modified dialogs and toolbars. Nothing of substance.

Also, there is no requirement to purchase this book to obtain the 180-day evaluation software (which is ArcGIS 10 Editor version). Indeed, it is no longer bundled with the book, you have to download the 3.9Gb file, but you also get the evaluation key, so this latest edition is unnecessary.

My advice is, save yourself a whole lot of money, buy an older version and obtain the software via download. There is so little change to the book you will not be disadvantaged. Amazon currently (Dec 2010) has used editions from $17.13.

ESRI Press could have provided an 'update' pdf of changes, but I doubt it would have got beyond a page!

IanO - UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ArcGIS Tutorials Galore, June 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Getting to Know ArcGIS Desktop (Paperback)
This book is 592 pages of ArcGIS tutorials. If you like tutorials, then this is the book for you. These tutorials will walk you through anything you would ever want to do with ArcGIS, in painful detail. I was new to ArcGIS before reading this book, it's a complex and powerful program. This book is meant to be read cover to cover, unlike most software manuals & books where you can just jump to what you need to learn. So,.. if you need to learn ArcGIS then this book is for you, but if you just need to learn specific tasks/ tools/ functions this is probably not the book that you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars incorrect title, September 9, 2009
This book is not an audio book as titled on your website, rather, it is a book with two DVDs of data and software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Getting Know ArcGIS Desktop, April 7, 2009
The software that came with the course materials does not match the written text and examples contained in the text of the book. I am having to try to get information from ESRI to correct the flaws. The exercises beginning in chapter 9 do not work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent help, March 7, 2009
By 
Daniel Gruber (Paradise Valley, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an excellent, very helpful intro to the basics of using ArcGIS (specifically ArcMap in my case). The ESRI documentation that comes with the software was not helpful at all. I was (painfully) learning mostly by clicking on various menus until this book arrived. By referencing the book and its many examples, I've been able to develop my material in a matter of a few hours after spending days making little progress. Expensive but worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Screenshot problems, October 26, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Getting to Know ArcGIS Desktop (Paperback)
While the text of the book has been updated to reflect version 10, none of the screenshots used in the book have been updated. This can lead to substantial confusion.

Regardless, I buy a new copy every 6 months for the cheap software. I can keep this plan going for over 10 years and still come out ahead over buying a commercial one year license.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The place to start, September 27, 2010
The only knowledge of GIS I had before this book was the understanding of what it was and how it was used. This book is excellent for the beginner. Not only is it an excellent way to get a trial version of the software but it takes you step by step through making maps. I had no problems with the data or the software. Once I finished the book I was able to go on to more challenging books and take several of the ESRI longer courses. This book is the place to start for anyone interested in learning GIS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book but not so good support, September 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Getting to Know ArcGIS Desktop (Paperback)
This book is well written but is not so practical to use because installing the trial software is almost impossible and all the exercises are based on having the program installed. If you already have access to the software than this is a great investment otherwise I would make sure you have it before buying this book. Also, good luck getting the 180-day version that they advertise in the book, you'll be lucky to get the 60-day version (you don't need to buy book for that) that will only be available through their website. Keep in mind the book only directs you to their website for any information on downloading trial software.

Was finnally able to istall the trial software and worked well and expired on the last day of course so I'm unable to continue practicing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but limited intro for someone with no GIS experience, September 28, 2010
The writers have decided that the best way for you to get into ArcGIS for the first time is to start using it, and to that end, this book consists almost entirely of exercises. The exercises are presented in cookbook style--each step is detailed very clearly with a huge number of (helpful) illustrations. The downside to this is that there's not much in the way of more sophisticated conceptual explanation of how certain processes in ArcGIS were designed. That said, the cookbook exercises are excellent, and extremely thorough. I've had no moments where I'm wondering what they're talking about in the book or why something isn't working the way it is supposed to. To be able to work through a book like this free of frustration is a rare thing. Plus, 180 day license is a nice perk. The heavy illustration also means that you can really breeze through the book, and whether it's entirely earned or not, getting through 100 pages in a couple hours certainly makes you feel pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for somone who has used GIS before, September 20, 2010
This book is not for someone whom is already familiar with ArcGIS. This is a VERY basic workbook covering the basics of ArcGIS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Getting to Know ArcGIS Desktop
Getting to Know ArcGIS Desktop by Carolyn Groessl (Paperback - August 1, 2010)
$79.95 $47.24
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.