Customer Reviews

10
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Getting Started with Oracle Data Integrator 11g: A Hands-on Tutorial
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$53.99 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on October 15, 2013
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
The subtitle is misleading. I was expecting sceeen shots or detail steps but I did not find. I ended up not using it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on August 21, 2013
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
I recommend this book primarily for the beginning ODI 11 developer who has little or no experience with the product. This book will also be useful as a refresher for advanced ODI users or ODI developers who have ODI 10 experience but wish to explore the new features of ODI 11.

The book is well-written and covers the entire ODI development cycle from installation to deployment. It is fast-paced and thoroughly explains each concept as it is presented in the text.

Aside from Oracle ODI classes, there is really no structured way for a beginner to learn ODI. This book fills the gap by providing step-by-step instructions to build an ETL project in ODI.

By reading this book, you will be able to reduce the time it takes to become proficient as an ODI developer. It will make an excellent reference guide for its examples that show the proper approach to ODI development.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on January 28, 2013
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
This book is written as if you were going to implement the ODI application in a step by step process.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on December 17, 2012
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
This book will at least get you started on the road to installing and using ODI (Oracle Data Integrator), but it is not an in-depth tutorial on how to do ELT in the ODI environment.
Unfortunately Oracle has no documentation I can find that is available in searchable PDF format for any of the many features you will want to use in the ODI product. To get the most from this product it appears you really need to get to an Oracle ODI class. If anyone has information to the contrary, please let me know. I have a lot more questions than I have answers for at this point in time, but this book will get you at least started on the road to learning ODI.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 6, 2012
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
The book is a good introduction to the ODI 11g, it gives good step by step instructions on how to build ELT applications using ODI, but sometimes it fails in the details, I've got some errors even following what is written in the book that I could only solve by getting extra-information from the Internet, and because of that I have to give 4 stars and not five.

Despite of that, it gives a good introduction about the architecture of ODI for someone who is not familiar with the product. The author will guide the reader through the whole installation process so that reader can start using the tool from the very beginning, the installation of the product.

I would make one extra observation. The author talks along the book about data warehouse but doesn't give a single example of for instance how to load a slow changing dimensione type 2 (there exist knowledge modules for that purpose), or let me put it in another way, I would expect from the author to focus more on different datawarehouse common challenges rather than loading from database A type to Database B type.

About the publisher, I have bought four books from this publisher in the last 4 weeks and I'm quite satisfied about them.

In summary, I strongly advise the book for anybody who wants to learn ODI 11g.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on August 30, 2012
Format: Paperback
The authors have written an excellent introduction to the Oracle Data Integrator (ODI). The list of authors reads like a who's who of Oracle folks who are key people on the Oracle Data Integator team and who have worked with it extensively. A couple of them were even with Sunopsis, the company who developed ODI and came over to Oracle when Oracle purchased Sunopsis to gain ownership of the ODI product. So if you're concerned about the qualifications of the authors for your technical books, you needn't be about this group.

It shows in the quality of the information presented in the book. For an intro book they've done a great job including everything you need to know to get started. They've started with an overview of the product, describing the repositories, the Studio, the Agent, the Console and a brief mention of integrating with Enterprise Manager.

The first chapter covers some key concepts like Execution Contexts which are ODI's way to separate the design from the actual parameters used to define where to execute it all. They cover Knowledge Modules which are templates of code for defining your Extract, Transform and Load processes and can be a little confusing to someone first using the product but they provide a great overview to help you understand it.

Chapter 2 covers the installation and they walk you through it step by step complete with screen shots to help you along the way.

Chapter 3 is an entire chapter devoted to the topic of Variables in ODI and at first seemed a bit out of place but upon reading you realize that it's pretty much a stand-alone chapter as they've stated and by putting it up front, gives you the chance to be exposed to the topic for when the use of variables is covered later.

Chapter 4 begins the real meat of starting to use ODI, covering sources targets and knowledge modules. They walk you through the Topology Navigator features for defining your physical data servers, physical schemas and logical schemas. You'll reverse engineer some meta-data into the tool and cover interface flows by looking at some actual examples. The all important topic of Knowledge Modules is covered also, explaining in more detail what they are and the importing of them.

Chapter 5 covers working with databases in general talking about some scenarios and then provides a hands on exercise to work through which puts into practice what we just read about in the previous chapter.

Chapters 6 through 9 then go into more detail about ODI in the context of integrating with four other technologies, a MySQL database in chapter 6, an MS SQL Server database in chapter 7, a flat file in Chapter 8 and an XML file in chapter 9, giving scenarios and some step by step instructions along the way. They have chosen this common set of platforms to illustrate ODI's capabilities in connecting to many different 3rd part databases and technologies and the topics can be adapted to whatever technology you are using. If you're an Oracle only shop, you'll have to adapt the the MySQL database and MS SQL Server database discussion for Oracle but it's understandable they'd cover these non-Oracle databases given ODI's multi-platform support. They've done a good job weaving together those other technologies while covering ODI concepts.

Chapter 10 is on workflows and how to package up your interfaces.

Chapter 11 is on Error management which is very valuable for any tool like this and the authors have devoted a whole chapter to it.

Chapter 12 is on managing and monitoring the ODI components and then some closing remarks in Chapter 13.

Overall a great introduction to the product. There is a lot of information in this book and the authors have managed to weave it together into a comprehensive whole while covering the interface with other technologies. The writing is in a very relaxed style that is easy to understand with many explanations and tips along the way. If you are new to ODI, this is the book you need.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on August 21, 2012
Format: Paperback
The Getting Started with Oracle Data Integrator 11g: A hands On Tutorial book is a good introduction to ODI with some common examples that will be useful to many. It illustrates how data can be imported from various sources, transformed and exported to various sources with ODI. Following the step by step guide of the examples and you will have the right knowledge at the end of the book to create your own data integration solutions. The book is easy to read for novices and offers a great introduction to the world of ODI with useful tips from the authors - and there are a few of them ;-)

This book is an ideal book for somebody who wants to learn quickly about ODI, it's not a reference manual but a good introduction. It is filled with an abundance of useful info, I even discovered new information myself! Such as the Column Setup Wizard when importing flat file data. The chapter on Working with XML Files is also a useful one for anyone working in that area clearly spelling out with an example how it works.

The first and second chapters are all about the product overview and installation. Chapter 3 introduces variables which is a useful reference since it details now only how variables are defined but also where they can be used - this is a much asked question which I have seen many ask for mailing lists and forums. So good to see it included here. The fourth chapter introduces the design objects including topology, models and interfaces. There are useful notes scattered throughout the book which are worth checking out - these are little insights into useful hints on using the tool, personally these are my favorite items in the book. Chapters five, six and seven have illustrations of working with databases including Oracle, MySQL and Microsoft SQL Server covering various areas along the way from building interfaces using ODI's declarative designer, designing lookups, writing transformation expressions and KM selection. Chapters eight and nine are all about files and XML files and as I mentioned even surprised me with a few little pieces of info. Chapter 10 covers the workflow oriented objects including load plans, packages and procedures - a lot for a single chapter but an ok introduction. These 3 could easily be expanded into much, much more information. Chapter 11 covers errors in general - nice to see this too, this gives some insight of how the error handling in ODI works, and where to go to check up on errors. Finally there is an introduction to the ODI management components including the integration with Oracle's Enterprise Manager and the ODI console itself. There are some topics covered quickly such as procedures and I couldn't find any information on user functions, but on the whole it's a good start.

All in all, this book is in excellent read for somebody who wants to have a quick start in ODI. Its a useful book to dive into each chapter and have a read up on topics you don;t have to read end to end - my favorite type. Its an introduction, not a cookbook, the cookbook would be another useful companion book for ODI! This book is ideal for somebody who wants to get up and running in a short amount of time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on August 20, 2012
Format: Paperback
This book has done a great job of introducing ODI at both conceptual and operational levels. It covers how ODI leverages next generation Extract-Load-Transformation technology to deliver extreme performance in enabling state of the art solutions that help deliver rich analytics and superior business intelligence in modern data warehousing environments.

At conceptual level, it has discussed how ODI can deal with heterogeneous datatypes with ease and efficiency. For example, it introduces the concepts of:
* Abstraction
* Decoupling
* Declarative Design
* Delegating and distributing processing

Using these design patterns, ODI allows:
* Integration strategies be reused
* Heterogeneity of data server types be encapsulated via models and other integration objects
* Life management of development, test, or production environments be easily maintained

For operational details, the largest part of the book is a set of hands-on step-by-step tutorials that build a non-trivial Order Processing solution that you can run, test, monitor, and manage. It has highlighted the key capabilities of the product in relation to data integration tasks (loading, enrichment, quality, and transformation) and the productivity achieved by being able to do so much work with heterogeneous datatypes while writing so little SQL.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
Format: Paperback
Oracle Data Integrator is Oracle Corporation's premier software product for integrating data across an organization's lines of business. It addresses the need to move data among transaction processing systems, data warehousing implementations, business intelligence tools, master data management, so-called "big data," and the like. It is fully integrated with the Service Oriented Architecture (SOA) and Enterprise Data Quality.

As an instructor and consultant for the better part of my 40+ year professional career, I have always sought to share with my students value-added collateral that reinforces the lessons I teach them in the classroom (either through traditional or live virtual class settings). I've shared white papers, links to documentation both inside and outside of vendors' mind space and the results of personal research via email threads and blogs. I eagerly anticipate that someone will create a well-written primer that's driven by the needs of a critical mass of product users.

Such is the case with the new book, Getting Started with Oracle Data Integrator 11g: A Hands-on Tutorial. The authors of this practical, easy to digest, 384 page paperback (available also as an e-book) are directly involved with the development and support of the product known by its users simply as "ODI." They ostensibly avoided creating just another rehash of vendor documentation, opting instead to "accelerate your learning of ODI 11g" through hands-on lessons.

As they mention in the first few pages, they hope to "highlight the key capabilities of the product in relation to data integration tasks (loading, enrichment, quality, and transformation" by exposing the key productivity features inherent in a code generator that automates the implementation of much of the required logistics traditionally hand-coded in conventional ETL (Extract-Transform-Load) processes.

They illustrate sample use cases that transcend the mundane, offering examples that exploit a varied set of relational database tables, text files and XML (Extensible Markup Language) data. In keeping with their tutorial focus, they maintain an educational perspective, demonstrating how the features and functions of the tool are used in real-world situations. Their "number one goal is to get you familiar, comfortable, and successful" using the product. In my professional opinion, I believe that the entire book is faithful to their objectives.

With chapters that cover every critical topic from a brief but effective review of ODI terminology, architecture and concepts, through product installation, application development and administration, the authors provide a comprehensive look at the tool without bogging the reader down in minutia. They cover the use of database technologies like MySQL, Oracle database and Microsoft SQL Server. Best of all, the entire book has an enthusiastic tone. As they say, "If it is not obvious by the time you finish reading this book, we <really like> ODI 11gR1" (the emphasis on "really like" is theirs).

I, too, am a zealous devotee of ODI. I have worked with the product ever since Oracle Corporation acquired the French company known as Sunopsis a half-decade ago. Several of the authors were among those who developed and marketed what has evolved into Oracle Data Integrator 11g. I've taught well over 1,000 people how to be successful with ODI in those intervening years. I welcome this new book as an essential title in the library of every student I teach going forward. I will heartily recommend it to everyone "interested in, or responsible for, the content, freshness, movement, access to, or integration with data."

One final comment: I pride myself on being well-versed in ODI. I kept track of all the techniques and observations about this software that I may not have fully exploited, despite my experience. When I was finished reading the book, I had compiled a list of about a dozen features that were interpreted in significantly better ways than I've traditionally explained them! My hat's off to the team who wrote this excellent book!

(This book is available via www.amazon.com or directly from the publisher, Packt Publishing)

Paperback Edition: Getting Started with Oracle Data Integrator 11g: A Hands-on Tutorial

Kindle Edition: Getting Started with Oracle Data Integrator 11g: A Hands-On Tutorial
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
One thing you have to wrap your mind around is that key portions of the book are about metadata. Where you have source and target silos and a separate silo that holds the ODI (Oracle Database Integrator). The book explains how to use the ODI to generate transformations between the source and target. The power lies in the flexibility of the transformations that you can write via the ODI GUI. Considerable effort has been expended by Oracle in making a simple and yet flexible GUI for this ends.

XML is quoted extensively as a good use case. Basically, the source silo contains data in XML format, that uses some given schema. But you need to map this into another schema in the target silo. Crucially, the fact that the input data is already structured according to some logic makes it much easier to write a programmatic transformation.

ODI also has some ability to reverse engineer the extraction of data from a flat file. ODI comes with what Oracle calls wizards, that have knowledge of typical low level formatting structures in a flat file. Like whether the file has column or delimiter boundaries.

Interestingly, though the book is primarily about ODI that uses 11g, there are numerous examples involving MySql. This is freeware that is owned by Oracle. Naturally Oracle would prefer you to pony up to their expensive 11g. So I was somewhat surprised to see those mentions of MySql. The authors are clearly acknowledging the market reality that many users will indeed have source silos stored in MySql. Taking this further, the text also says commendably that "MySql is equally suitable as a target or for use as a staging area". Very good.

There are the occasional jarring phrases, like the oxymoronic "some ETL tools all have the ability". Do your best to ignore those if you can.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Oracle Business Intelligence 11g Developers Guide
Oracle Business Intelligence 11g Developers Guide by Mark Rittman (Paperback - September 18, 2012)
$49.77


Oracle Business Intelligence Applications: Deliver Value Through Rapid Implementations
Oracle Business Intelligence Applications: Deliver Value Through Rapid Implementations by (Oracle sales consultant) Simon Miller (Paperback - June 12, 2013)
$46.96
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.