Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grant's Final Episodes
This DVD set contains the first 12 episodes of the 8th season of Ghost Hunters. These 12 episodes also happen to be the last episodes to feature TAPS co-founder and lead investigator Grant Wilson.

Episodes:

801-January 11, 2012 Roller Ghoster/Mason, OH - Kings Island Amusement Park and Antrim, NH -- Antrim Family House
802-January 18, 2012 Buyer...
Published 18 months ago by Kris128183

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grant Wilson, we loved thee.
Ghost Hunters started very modestly but has become something of a showhorse. The exit of the humble Grant Wilson was a foreboding of a slicker production lead by Grant's less humble buddy, Jason Hawes. the strange hirings and firings of last season break open with a new season of celebrity guest stars and questionable evidence. Ghost hunters must be credited, though with...
Published 18 months ago by Alexandria Heather


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grant Wilson, we loved thee., January 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ghost Hunters started very modestly but has become something of a showhorse. The exit of the humble Grant Wilson was a foreboding of a slicker production lead by Grant's less humble buddy, Jason Hawes. the strange hirings and firings of last season break open with a new season of celebrity guest stars and questionable evidence. Ghost hunters must be credited, though with the current interest and methods of paranormal investigation copied by so many others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grant's Final Episodes, January 25, 2013
By 
Kris128183 (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghost Hunters: Season 8: Part 1 (DVD)
This DVD set contains the first 12 episodes of the 8th season of Ghost Hunters. These 12 episodes also happen to be the last episodes to feature TAPS co-founder and lead investigator Grant Wilson.

Episodes:

801-January 11, 2012 Roller Ghoster/Mason, OH - Kings Island Amusement Park and Antrim, NH -- Antrim Family House
802-January 18, 2012 Buyer Beware/Naples, NY - Naples Hotel and Gardner, MA - Gardner Mansion
803-January 25, 2012 Flooded Souls/Haletown, TN - Hales Bar Dam
804-February 1, 2012 Dead & Breakfast/Red Boiling Springs, TN - Thomas House (bed and breakfast)
805-February 8, 2012 Moonshine & Madness/Max Meadows, VA - Major Graham Mansion
806-February 15, 2012 City Hell/Providence, RI - Providence City Hall and Farmington, NY - Burson House
807-April 11, 2012 Frighternity/Kingston, RI, University of Rhode Island - Lambda Chi Alpha and Baltimore, MD - USCGC Taney
808-April 18, 2012 A Ghost of a Marine/Annapolis, MD - U.S. Naval Institute
809-April 25, 2012 A Family of Spirits/Mount Joy, PA - Bube's Brewery and Reisterstown, MD - Boston House (private home)
810-May 2, 2012 Haunted By Heroes/Mt. Pleasant, SC - USS Yorktown
811-May 9, 2012 The Princess and the EVP/Bretton Woods, NH - Mount Washington Resort
812-May 16, 2012 Please Sign the Ghostbook/Whitefield, NH - The Spalding Inn

Grant's final investigation is significant for two reasons. The first is that he ends his run on Ghost Hunters with an investigation of the Spalding Inn, a hotel in which he and Jason co-own and that was originally investigated by GHI in 2009. Perhaps even more alarming is that when the show returned in September minus Grant, the show's format was given a makeover. The first episode post-Grant was chaotic to say the least and when the show "calmed" down a few episodes later, it featured reenactments of suicides and murders(a la Ghost Adventures) and each episode ends with Jason narrating what they experienced in that episode(similar to Paranormal State).

As far as the episodes, there are some very cool investigations in this season. The first episode features the King's Island Amusement Park which a pretty cool episode. Some of the other investigations are Hales Bar Dam, USS Yorktown, US Naval Institute, Naples Hotel, and a return to the Mount Washington Resort which was originally investigated in season 4. Considering that this set contains Grant's last episodes and the last episodes before the format was slightly tweaked, I'd say that this is a must own set for any Ghost Hunters fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Did You Hear That???, February 8, 2012
By 
Kim Edmonds (Burbank, CA USA) - See all my reviews
I enjoyed watching this video because it brought back memories of the places TAPS investigated over the years. I enjoy the gang and even though sometimes I feel they're a bit "too" skeptical, I do like it when something "paranormal" is witnessed by them. Thank you Jason, Grant, Steve, Tango, Brit, Adam, Amy, and all the rest......love you guys!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely love it!!!!, April 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ghost Hunters: Season 8: Part 1 (DVD)
Another great list of investigations from the ghost hunter team, this time they go to more great places, and catch great evidence! I can't wait for part 2 to come out, i'll be glued to that dvd as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, March 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I viewed this show on a suggestion from a friend 5 yrs ago and was pleasantly surprised at how great it is . I am hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghost Hunters season 8, February 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This season was really good and kind of sad because Grant leaves for good. But they find really good evidence of the paranormal this season, even a few entities caught on tape. I would recommend watching this season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment, January 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was worried that Ghost Hunters would not be as entertaining anymore without Grant but I was wrong. If anything, the newer shows are even more chilling. Of course, that is no reflection on Grant and I do miss him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Quality DVD, October 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ghost Hunters: Season 8: Part 1 (DVD)
I love TAPS, but the DVD was junk - it skips, the sound is off and it wasn't even worth continuing to watch. It wasn't just one DVD, it was all of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great show, June 26, 2013
By 
Oscar (Boston, MA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
great show, great cast, great locations, great history of the locations and sometimes even a great scare. I've seen every season and enjoy them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ghost Hunters, May 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ghost Hunters: Season 8: Part 1 (DVD)
I have always been a GH fan. I still am interested in the sites visited and the investigations done. However, it seemed that this season had less effort given to it. It seemed as though the GH team swept in and swept out rather like a train on a track--no trailblazers in S8:P1. Also, much of the evidence they did manage to capture during the sweep was fairly questionable: faint and indistinct sounds that could have been caused by almost anything. I don't need to have thrills and major action each episode. I am a paranormal investigator and know how unthrilling and inactive a site can be. However, I think that every case is special in it's own way and merits effort and attention. I think there had already begun to be signs of lost momentum last season, but in S8:P1 it really felt like everyone was just going through the motions. Maybe it had to do with the looming loss of Grant and a certain failure of team 'heart' as a result, but things just didn't hold up. Will I get S8:P2? I certainly will--and I will continue to collect the seasons for as long as GH is on the air. Will GH continue to decline? Will it get better? That's why I will continue to watch and collect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ghost Hunters: Season 8: Part 1
Ghost Hunters: Season 8: Part 1 by None (DVD - 2013)
$27.02
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.