Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic SAC season 1 but, with one flaw.
I just bought this title (again) and it's really the way to go if you are into SAC. There is however a flaw with the set that has continued from the initial release of the limited edition disks. Specifiacally disk two. The limited edition releases came with two disks, a conventional disk and one coded for DTS. Volume two's disks were the only disks in the series that were...
Published on December 17, 2008 by M. Sewell

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great anime but cheap DVD case
I love this anime because of its great stories and qualities. But the DVD case is really cheaply made. It's very difficult to get the DVDs in and out. The first time I opened the case, a piece of plastic fell out. I will give the anime 5 star and the DVD case 2 star.
Published 23 months ago by Gintama


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic SAC season 1 but, with one flaw., December 17, 2008
This review is from: Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex Complete Collection (DVD)
I just bought this title (again) and it's really the way to go if you are into SAC. There is however a flaw with the set that has continued from the initial release of the limited edition disks. Specifiacally disk two. The limited edition releases came with two disks, a conventional disk and one coded for DTS. Volume two's disks were the only disks in the series that were silk screened in reverse so that the DTS disk was labled as if it were the standard version. This problem continues in this set. What this means is that a conventional DVD player will not give you any volume from the disk and you can tell on the main menu because it will read DTS disk in the right corner of the menu. Maybe Bandai will concede to replacing the erronious disk with one that will play on standard players but, I haven't gotten that far yet. That's the ONLY reason I can't give it a 5 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Addition to the Ghost Universe, August 2, 2009
By 
C4 "C4" (Adamstown, MD USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex Complete Collection (DVD)
First of all, I just want to mention that I was always interested in GITS SAC, but between the other expensive collection floating around and the fact that it only airs once a week at 4am, I've never really had the chance to take a closer look. That is, until this convenient, affordable set-up.

Well, anyway, GITS SAC revolves around the investigation of a cyber-terrorist known as the "laughing man." Throughout the series attempts are made to stop this heinous criminal only to reveal that the plot is much thicker and deeper than first imagined.

Along with the overlying plot, stand alone episodes act as avenues for character development, philosophical questioning as well as world building. Perhaps two of the better (or at least entertaining in my point of view) episodes consist of Batou's backstory while investigating a fighter and the tachikoma's consistent questioning of life and death.

Though these stand alone episodes offer much in the way of development, they have a habit of breaking the pace a little. If you are not intending to watch large chunks of the series at a time or in reasonable sucession, important details can easily be forgotten.

All and all, GITS SAC offers espionage, action, philosophical debate and characters that you can't help to feel for. Just remember one thing while diving through the GITS SAC world: Nothing is at it seems. And one other thing: it doesn't hurt to keep the remote in hand to rewind to what you missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghost In The Shell Stand Alone Complete Season One, June 19, 2012
By 
This review is from: Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex Complete Collection (DVD)
In the first season Ghost In The Shell Stand Alone Complex. Major Motoko Kusanagi is the top cyborg of Section 9. Section 9 is the top agency for cyper-terrorism, kidnapping, extortion and corporate espionage. Its been six years seen the laughing man case. Now some copycats is now doing the work of the laughing man and leaving behind a trial of copycats and hacked cyborg citizens. Now follow the intense cyborg Motoko Kusanagi in a world high technology and cyper-terrorism. Which in the end may lead to the destruction of Section 9 and all the team as will.

Season One Disc BreakDown

Disc 01
01.Section 9
02.Testation
03.Andoid And I
04.Intercepter

Disc 02
05.Decoy
06.Meme
07.Idolater
08.Missing Hearts

Disc 03
09.Chat! Chat! Chat!
10.Jungel Cruise
11.Portraitz
12.Escape From

Disc 04
13.Not Equal
14.Yes
15.Machine Desirantes
16.Ag2 0

Disc 05
17.Angel's Share
18.Lost Heritage
19.Captivated
20.Re-View

Disc 06
21.Eraser
22.Scandel
23.Equinox

Disc 07
24.Annihilation
25.Barrage
26.Stand Alone Complex

DVD Features
English and Japanese 5.1 Dolby Digital Audio
English and Japanese 2.0 Stereo
English Subtitles

DVD Extras
Tachikomatic Days Animated Shorts
Interviews with cast and crew
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Anime That is Often Overlooked These Days, May 16, 2011
By 
Elc (CA, USA / Hyogo-ken, JPN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex Complete Collection (DVD)
After years of watching anime and hundreds of series I have plowed through, this series still takes the cake as one of my all time favorite anime.
For those of you who are not very well versed in anime, you should really take a look at this series, to give you an idea of how influential "Ghost in the Shell" is, Ghost in the Shell inspired the American movie series "The Matrix". "The Matrix" was basically an American play on "GitS" to a degree. also, a bit of a note, every single episode of this series got nearly a movie budget, so the animation quality is top notch and they really didn't seem to cut any corners in general, it's well thought out and does not have a rushed ending of any sorts.
It does an amazing job of portraying a very possible future, and if you are into computers and engineering, you will know that the future portrayed is frighteningly possible. Where the line between human and machine blur, and where the world is a very troubling place if you just poke a little under the surface. The series follows a cyborg woman named Motoko and her co-workers in the special police force named "Section 9" as they tackle the crimes of the future.
The good first large chunk of episodes are there to basically introduce you to the characters of Section 9 and to the world. Given that these are some pretty deep characters and a pretty complicated world, they do a good job in fleshing out the characters and giving you a feel for how the world is like in the future in preparation for the main story arc, "The Laughing Man". There may be a good amount of talking and explanation in the series compared to most others, but bear with it, the issues they talk about are very interesting and will do you allot of good to understand them since we will likely deal with them in the future within a couple decades or so.
If you like a deep story and look for more than just "entertainment" in anime when possible, then this should do the trick. It will give you an engaging story that is also enlightening to some extent.

about the actual physical product, the packaging is on the cheap side, but given how cheap it is when compared to the deluxe versions of the series, a good $45 is much better than paying a scary $200+ for individual cases. also, since they are cramming all the episodes into so few disks, don't expect much on the side of extras either, but given that you are looking at this particular release version, you likely only care about the actual episodes anyways. a good deal in my opinion for one of the best anime series out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GITS, SAC, Just AWESOME, October 29, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex Complete Collection (DVD)
When I first saw Ghost In The Shell movie back on 1996 on HBO. (Yes, HBO), I instantly fell in love with the storyline and tha animation (the animation for God's sake), never had seen such great animation for that time. Well, following the item above, I think the series are well done, this first season is filled with some heavy philosophical script (as all GITS universe is) and the plot in my opinion is very interesting it self. The sound is avalaible in both english and japanese audio in dolby 5.1 or 2.0, you choose. In this set you get a well variaty of extras that includes some interviews with the director and production staff as well as the seiyus from the japanese audio. Also you fine the wierd but funny Tachikomatic Days shorts, where these little fellas try to understand the meaning of self thinking and morality and other stuff.

Great work from Bandai, as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent purchase, January 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex Complete Collection (DVD)
This was an outstanding buy for the money. Disks came in a very ingenious box that helps save space on my DVD rack. Fitting 7 DVDs in a double-size DVD case is great. The quality of the set is just top notch. Crisp video and audio. If you are a true GItS fan, this is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Ahead of Its Time in Concept and Execution . . . a Must-See, September 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex Complete Collection (DVD)
Ghost in the Shell was always a fantastic anime movie when I was growing up, but its concepts and core philosophies seemed a bit beyond its own narrative. Now having seen the series, I know that's because it was indeed beyond itself: The concepts of Ghost in the Shell needed an entire show to explore the universe that it created (like Star Trek). Taking the time to understand the technology being presented, the moral and political implications that come with that technology, and asking us what's left of individuality and humanity once the majority of existence is synthetic, is so very worth it.

***PROS***

STORY
Stand Alone Complex is about Public Security Section 9. We observe their sleuthing skills in tracking down cyber-terrorists and their unique combat prowess when facing a variety of challenges that cyber-enhanced humanoids present. Some episodes stand alone, focusing on one case that usually deals us a moral/ethical dilemma or zeroing in on background information regarding the Section 9 characters that we follow. There is also an overarching theme the haunts the entire first season: the hunt for the cyber terrorist known as the "laughing man." The stories are intelligent and rewarding. The replay value is high; a better understanding awaits with every viewing.

ANIMATION
No stills, three-frame choppy motions, or cheaply blocked fight sequences here. This is the good stuff. There's true cinematography at work. The battle animations are fluid and the choreography is sinister. But for fans of nonstop anime action (and I'm one of them): You won't find it here. If a battle can be handled in one quick move, than that's how it goes down. There's no excess, no wasteful flair. The action is always to the point.

CHARACTERS
Each member of Section 9 is an adult character. Keep an eye on all of them. Backstories are rare, but when they're provided, they reveal just enough information for you to draw your own conclusions. Viewers might emerge with their own takes on each character, so I won't bore you with mine. The Tachikomas are tanks-turned-helpers and their A.I.'s showcase a "cute girl" attitude that takes a while to get used to. I'm not sure if I'll ever truly embrace their grating cheerfulness, but it doesn't detract from the show in excess, and their roles are always interesting.

MUSIC
This is in my top 10 for best anime music. At times it's tech-infused and pumping, but avoids stomping over the sounds, themes and conversations; at other times it lifts with orchestral choirs. The opening title music is the best. Hands down, the best.

***CONS***

The Tachikomas worked my nerves a tad. Some of the themes presented are not explored fully (and you'll want them to be).

This is a series that deserves to be seven seasons long. I believe our interests in technology are pushing innovations inward, not outward. We are not developing a warp engine for space flight. Our consumer-driven economies are demanding smarter phones and better internet. We'll have internet access in our brains, sex mannequins, and A.I. tanks before we pursue space flight, renewable energy, and the eventual evolution past currency. This show is the perfect platform for telling stories in that not-far-off setting, and it tells them very well. More Ghost in the Shell, rather than an eighth season of Bleach (no offense).

I'm an animator and writer, so I'm constantly pouring through stacks of anime for inspiration. If you found this review helpful, or our tastes seem to align, follow along. I'll try to steer straight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Series, May 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex Complete Collection (DVD)
This is indeed the complete series as aired on TV. So if you liked it then, you'll like it now.

However, don't buy it for the "additional material". There are interviews with the makers of the film, but they are brutal. For starters, the interview videos are shown in small windows for some reason. So they are tiny and hard to see. Secondly, they are subtitled in English, as the creative people for this epic are all Japanese. However, they are ALSO subtitled in Japanese! So the English subtitles are placed over the Japanese subtitles...and you can't read either. All in a tiny sub-screen. Unwatchable.

However, if you're buying the set to have the TV episodes, they're here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The absolute best of cyber-punk, April 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex Complete Collection (DVD)
Standing in the hall of great sci-fi future anime like Akira, Ghost in the Shell is a spectacular crime-drama with a cyberpunk flavor. The characters are great, the animation is superb, and the voice acting is also good, especially considering that most English dubbed anime voice acting is sub-par compared to the original (the DVDs do come with both English and Japanese voices w/ subtitles).

Overall, an excellent addition that I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, June 26, 2013
By 
This review is from: Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex Complete Collection (DVD)
There is a lot to like about the ambitious cyberpunk anime Ghost In The Shell: Stand Alone Complex. Based on the movie Ghost In The Shell, this series fleshes out some of the characters seen in the film, and adds a lot more. It has tons of stand alone episodes, but there is an overarching story about a mysterious hacker known only as the Laughing Man, the mystery of which is solved over the course of the 26 episodes.

While a lot of animes take a simple, and sometimes cliched approach to the story, this anime takes a very complex approach to each individual story told. Some aren't quite as hard to understand as others, but it's amazing look into a future not to far off is so full of techno-jargon and science that for some, it might be a little much. The individual story episodes can sometimes be rather bland, a few aren't too compelling compared to others leaving inconsistencies. I particularly disliked the fact that the overarching story wasn't all that long, and you were handed a ton of episodes that had nothing to do with anything. When I watch anime I enjoy the whole thing to be overarching or at least most of it. I don't even think Ghost In The Shell hits fifty-fifty. You can skip half the episodes of the series and get the main, most compelling story down.But it otherwise is a fantastic story, something that you would expect from a hardcore cyberpunk piece.I personally enjoyed almost every episode with the exception of a few containing the Tachikomas.

The series has amazing animation. The characters all look good, as well as the background, machines, and movements. Everything is fluid and lifelike. There are a few points where the animation degrades, especially when characters are further away. It's an otherwise very beautiful anime.

There is a great opening song as well as ending. All the voice actors do a good job with their roles and all sound very believable. The sound effects are superb.

I enjoyed almost every character. Each had little quirks, though none really showed any development over the course of the series. The only characters I dislike are the Tachikomas, annoying little tanks with the voices of prepubescenet girls that constantly talk and talk and talk. While their story of becoming sentient is interesting, there could have been a better, much more likeable approach than making them as annoying as they are.

While there are fallicies with characters and plot, everything else is superb. The series will maintain it's place as one of the greatest science fiction anime of all time, as well as one of the greatest examples of the cyberpunk genre. The thing about this anime is that it doesn't present itself as an anime quite as often as all other anime. The Tachikomas seem the only part of the whole show that is traditional anime (cute weapons of destruction).

This is an anime only for those into hardcore science fiction anime or science fiction. If it's your first foray into anime or sci-fi anime or you are looking for something immensely violent, then I would suggest looking elsewhere. While it does have some action, it's not the intesely gory and exciting action of a Shonen anime.

Overall, I give it a 9.2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex Complete Collection
$49.98 $32.04
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.