Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taut, precise, funny, won't let you sleep
For all you thriller addicts like myself, please include David Rollins into your permanent list of must read authors for the duration of your reading lives. I suggest to start with the first Vin Cooper story -and read all of them in succession: Death Trust, Knife Edge, Hard Rain, Ghost Watch.

It would not do David justice to compare him to anyone on the market...
Published on May 16, 2011 by Smooth

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Worst book of a good to excellent series
Worst book of a good to excellent series, improbable story line with a very sketchy continuity to the books before and after.
Published 6 months ago by Seaox1983


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taut, precise, funny, won't let you sleep, May 16, 2011
This review is from: Ghost Watch (Vin Cooper, Book 4) (Paperback)
For all you thriller addicts like myself, please include David Rollins into your permanent list of must read authors for the duration of your reading lives. I suggest to start with the first Vin Cooper story -and read all of them in succession: Death Trust, Knife Edge, Hard Rain, Ghost Watch.

It would not do David justice to compare him to anyone on the market today. Mark Greaney's Gray Man series, Vince Flynn, Brad Thor, John Gilstrap are by all means entertaining and unique authors in their own class which is exactly where David Rollins stands out - in his own unique class of precise, logically sound and grab-you-by-your-gonards narrative delivery. Not bad for an Aussie :-) Kidding!

Literary license of suspension of disbelief refers to both the plausibility of events that you are reading about and to your acceptance of the plot as real. If you summarize plots of Vin Cooper series in a brief, you'd think the writer is nuts! That is until you go through the first 2 pages and dive in the story.

It takes a special talent to tell something like Ghost Watch or Knife Edge and you don't have to be an active/discharged/retired member of the Armed Forces to believe the details. Ghost Watch story has everything you'd want to have in a plausible military action thriller. The combat sequences feel like the author had been through them himself. Mystery behind the events has more than a dozen twists which change fluidly after each subsequent one is discovered. The amount of events is overwhelming but is very believable and easy to follow. You'd have more than one laugh throughout the story.

When it ends, you'd feel as if your best buddy just left you.

Look forward to the fifth Vin Cooper installment next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vin Cooper, you're da man!, May 25, 2011
This review is from: Ghost Watch (Vin Cooper, Book 4) (Paperback)
Vin Cooper had to babysit a couple of singing mega-stars in the middle of an African jungle. Be afraid. Be very afraid...

What makes David Rollins' books so special is how the author creates and molds the lead character throughout the series. Honestly, Vin Cooper could be an annoying and obnoxious pain-in-the-ass SOB but he's so funny! Even in highly-tensed and near-death situations, Cooper is still able to emit hilarious POV one-liners to crack me up. I had to put down this book several times just to finish laughing!

Highly recommended. You won't regret owning this. Can't wait for the next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best thriller I've ever read!, January 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
And David Rollins is the best thriller writer I've ever read, and one of the best writers I've read in any genre. Why? There are three main reasons.

First, his characterization is superb--all of the characters are drawn with strokes of which Andrew Wyeth would be proud. They are all multi-dimensional and REAL--all of them, not just the so-called main characters. We care about them--again, all of them (if they are good, we weep with them; if they are bad, we either glory in their comeuppance, if it comes, or lament that the world lets the slimy slip through the hands of justice).

Second, Rollins's plots are as intricate as a bejeweled Swiss mechanical chronograph--every gear, wheel, pinion fits with precision. Rollins gives us no dead ends, no unexplained happenings (to which most authors resort when they discover that have painted themselves into a corner on some point). His plots are roller coasters of exhilaration. There is an "a-hah!" moment on every page--often every paragraph.

Third, Rollins has the extremely rare ability to describe with sufficient detail to make the scene live, to set the ambiance, to let us smell the flowers and feel the grass between our toes. But he does not overdo it, or, for that matter, repeat. We FEEL with all our senses what his words paint.

In short, David Rollins gives us heart-throbbing, page-turning reality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Start at the beginning...., July 28, 2011
By 
Brian L. (Herndon,VA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Vin Cooper series is everything you want in an action thriller surrounding military spec. ops and a connection to the real world. Rollins has a knack for detail and an astounding writing style that led me to read Ghost Watch in 3 weeks! Read Rollins in a series from original publish date (gathered from his website) beginning to end and you will NOT be disappointed! I can't wait to see what he comes out with next..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Rollins At His Best, June 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ghost Watch (Vin Cooper, Book 4) (Paperback)
I recently decided to buy an ipad as I had a Nook wanted to be able to get books from both Kindle and Nook.

One of the main reasons was to get this book and others that I could not get elsewhere.

This writer is one of the best thriller writers out there - the biggest problem I have with his books is that once you start its difficult to put them down.

Rollins is an Aussie who writes about a US Air Force cop; improbable yes, but he really makes it work. His research is marvelous and once he draws
you into the story line you are hooked. The really amazing thing is he gets better with each book.

Keep them coming David, you've got me hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Worst book of a good to excellent series, July 8, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Worst book of a good to excellent series, improbable story line with a very sketchy continuity to the books before and after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid example of Rollins' at his best., June 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ghost Watch (Vin Cooper, Book 4) (Paperback)
Good story with the character of Vin Cooper showing through (although I would have liked more of his irreverent self). The setting was a little hard to comfortable with, but it was a well written story arch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good yarn, May 12, 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Corrales, NM United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As with most of this genre it is a bit over the top but never the less is an engaging adventure novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read, December 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ghost Watch (Vin Cooper, Book 4) (Paperback)
David Rollins is an Australian writer. Before the recession, he had a publisher in the United States and I used to get his books at the library. With the recession, he lost that publisher and I sorely missed his books. I found this in the used category. The price was good, the book arrived promptly and was in excellent condition. I'm keeping this book to reread from time to time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vin Cooper #4, October 4, 2013
By 
Cynthia (2 Colors, AL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ghost Watch (Vin Cooper, Book 4) (Paperback)
A very good book in the series. You'll want to follow Vin Cooper to see what he gets into and out of....in one piece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ghost Watch (Vin Cooper, Book 4)
Ghost Watch (Vin Cooper, Book 4) by David Rollins (Paperback - April 1, 2011)
Used & New from: $1.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.