Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Quick read
This was a decent Ghostbusters story, but left a lot to be desired. The Ghostbusters go against ghost mobsters. Al Capone himself is there ha. Peter is possesed, the other guys die and are sent to purgatory. Like I said, the story is thin but it was a quick, fun read.
Published 16 months ago by Anastacia Russell

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A rather poor attempt
The Ghostbusters were mysteriously absent in the world of comic-books for about 20 years. Since end of the Real Ghostbusters run with Marvel there had been so sight of them until IDW printed 'The Other Side'. Why IDW and not Marvel? Because no self-respecting publisher would dare publish this junk.

The story has the Ghostbusters killed by Gangster ghosts and...
Published on August 22, 2011 by Inspector Gadget


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A rather poor attempt, August 22, 2011
This review is from: Ghostbusters: The Other Side (Paperback)
The Ghostbusters were mysteriously absent in the world of comic-books for about 20 years. Since end of the Real Ghostbusters run with Marvel there had been so sight of them until IDW printed 'The Other Side'. Why IDW and not Marvel? Because no self-respecting publisher would dare publish this junk.

The story has the Ghostbusters killed by Gangster ghosts and sent to purgatory were they have to sneak out. And that's it. The artwork, while cartoonish, is bland. The color schemes are dull, unpleasing and unstimulating. There's no excitement, no big confrontation, and very, very little of it makes sense.

For hardcore fans of the paranormal eliminators only, and even they will have a hard time finding any reason to go back to this. A complete waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Ghostbusters in Pergatory - What the....?, December 16, 2013
By 
Pamela (Glenside, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghostbusters: The Other Side (Paperback)
This is something that should be locked in a vault, and never seen again. The writing is poor - full of holes in the plot - and the illustration is dull at best. I felt like I was reading a nightmarish school assignment, forcibly turning from page to page to the end. Nothing really happens; everyone spends a lot of time talking about the same thing over and over while Peter turns into something of a superhero in the mid-way stop to the afterlife. That everything that happens could be engineered by the villains presented is ludicrous. And I was not a big fan of what brought Egon, Ray and Winston to Peter's side; I'll just be juvenile: it sucked. The quick save at the end was beyond contrived. Just skip this one and read "Displaced Aggression", a far superior GB comic with a great storyline. As for The Other Side: yeaachh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quick read, October 9, 2013
By 
Anastacia Russell (Indianapolis, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghostbusters: The Other Side (Paperback)
This was a decent Ghostbusters story, but left a lot to be desired. The Ghostbusters go against ghost mobsters. Al Capone himself is there ha. Peter is possesed, the other guys die and are sent to purgatory. Like I said, the story is thin but it was a quick, fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They're back, October 22, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ghostbusters: The Other Side (Paperback)
I assume this new series of Ghostbusters is in honour of the 25th anniversary of the original film which is fine by me. This tpb has an interesting idea but ultimately it doesn't really flesh it out well enough. Some of the characteristics of the films are there but ultimately it felt a little flat. Maybe I was expecting too much from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as well-written or clever as it should have been., March 18, 2010
By 
Christopher T. Egan (South Plainfield, NJ, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghostbusters: The Other Side (Paperback)
This story involves the Ghostbusters getting caught up with the spirits of old/famous/real mobsters who have decided to put the Ghostbusters out of business...permanently...dun dun dun. Well this is a fun story to read once or maybe even twice but ultimately falls short. It has the feel and humor of both the feature films and the animated series but it isn't as clever or as funny as it should have been. In fact the whole thing is pretty odd. After how great the four part Legion series and the Comic-Con one-shot exclusive The Zeddemore Factor that were both published by 88mph comics I was really hoping for something at least as good, but alas I was a little disappointed. This is not an awful book by any means, but it's not great either. Just good. If you are a huge GB fan like me you will most likely enjoy it...somewhat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BLAH, September 7, 2012
By 
PawClaws BookWyrm (Fairborn, OH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghostbusters: The Other Side (Paperback)
I was really excited when I picked this up, and really disappointed when I put it down. I didn't care for the gangster theme, or the artwork style, but there it is and there's nothing we can do about it. DO NOT let this turn you off of the rest of the other Ghostbuster series. There are better ones out there! Pick up Displaced Aggression or Ghostbusters volumes one and two! They will knock your socks off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ghostbusters: The Other Side
Ghostbusters: The Other Side by Keith Champagne (Paperback - May 19, 2009)
Used & New from: $0.70
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.