Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars McBain At His Best With This One!
If you are a fan of the 87th Precinct potboilers by Ed McBain, then this is a MUST READ for you. The police procedural has never been done better by anyone. Period. This story has Steve Carella and Cotton Hawes confronted with a double murder scenario right off the bat on Page 1. They must try and make sense of a couple of very brutal murders, the musings of a...
Published on August 5, 2006 by Barry J. Williams

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ghosts
I have recently become a world traveller mainly on business, and feel that on long haul flights an injection of an 87th precinct mystery is just what is needed. I have read many of Ed McBain's novels and find that I am almost part of the story, However I found in this novel (ghosts) the story ended far to quickly, and was left a little disappointed.....
Published on March 21, 2001 by Malcolm Thomas MBA


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars McBain At His Best With This One!, August 5, 2006
This review is from: Ghosts (Paperback)
If you are a fan of the 87th Precinct potboilers by Ed McBain, then this is a MUST READ for you. The police procedural has never been done better by anyone. Period. This story has Steve Carella and Cotton Hawes confronted with a double murder scenario right off the bat on Page 1. They must try and make sense of a couple of very brutal murders, the musings of a psychic/medium who seems to be eerily prescient with her psychic "takes" on the proceedings, and a number of sidebar issues that include a major blizzard which has been blanketing the city at Christmastime.

This is one of those wonderful 189 or so page mysteries that you can truly read in one sitting and come away saying to yourself, "What a great way to spend the afternoon."

The writing is taut, parsed-down and authentic. The characters are bitingly realisitic and well-drawn throughout.

If you have never read an 87th Precinct novel (and there are over 40!), then this one comes about mid-way in the series and is a good place to start!!

Excellent story, charcters and crackerjack writing, I highly reccommend GHOSTS for your mystery reading short-list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ghosts, March 21, 2001
I have recently become a world traveller mainly on business, and feel that on long haul flights an injection of an 87th precinct mystery is just what is needed. I have read many of Ed McBain's novels and find that I am almost part of the story, However I found in this novel (ghosts) the story ended far to quickly, and was left a little disappointed.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Find this Book, January 1, 2000
By 
Dean E. Turner (Union City, CA. USA) - See all my reviews
I found this book in a used book store a while back. Just got around to reading it. Its one of the most enjoyable books I have read. Find this books. Tell the kids not to bother you for a few hours and read it. Great book for a rainy weekend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rarely a book makes the hair stand up on my neck, December 19, 2003
By A Customer
Ghosts only fault was that it was too short. Most of McBain's is too short for me. He is excellent at evoking the feelings a cop has in certain situations for the reader. You aren't being entertained you actually become part of the 87th's squad.
Ghosts shows insight into Steve's personality. It is never blatently described instead it is like watching something happen to a friend and partner.
The scene with the house and the ghosts sent chills up my spine. Sitting here typing I am feeling the same chills. It was an intensely uncomfortable scene well written to bring those feelings to life for the reader. You were not reading a story about Ghosts instead you were walking thru the house with Steve and it was happening to you and your partner. I am extremely hard to do this too. I usually laugh at Steven King and the rest. I wasn't laughing here. The impact in that short scene was perfect. The writing transported you there.
Now perhaps I have a different view because I have worked in law enforcement but if you really want to know what it is like, take a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Trip Back in Time, June 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ghosts (87th Precinct Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
What a treat to read a prolific crime/mystery writer from the 1950s who had a profound impact on some of today's most popular storytellers like Nelson DeMille and Stephen King. This was my first Ed McBain novel, and I'll be reading more. There's something to be said for electronic books that can so easily link us to the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An oldie but a goodie, June 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ghosts (87th Precinct Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
One of the best things about Ed McBain's 87th Precinct novels is the way he utilized an ensemble cast of regular characters so each book was unique. This one features detectives Steve Carella and Cotton Hawes and includes a supernatural element. The plot involves the murder of a best selling writer of non-fiction ghost stories and what Carella and Hawes suspect is a related killing on the sidewalk in front of the writer's apartment building.

While the cops close in on the killer, McBain finds the opportunity to insert discourses on marital infidelity, the legitimacy of psychics and how we are all the heroes of our own stories. I'm a huge fan of the 87th Precinct novels and thought this was one of the best. Its well written, cleverly plotted and should appeal to any modern fan of crime novels. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Carella meets the supernatural, April 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ghosts (87th Precinct) (Paperback)
This is maybe not one of the best 87th precinct stories, but still good. (Aren't they all?) The supernatural part is not over the edge, just interesting. Recommended for all McBain fans...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Always Good, February 17, 2014
This review is from: Ghosts (87th Precinct Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
If you're a fan of Ed McBain's 87th Precinct novels you'll enjoy Ghosts. It's a Steve
Carella based novel and follows the expected format but is still enjoyable for the
characters and action. It's also fun to read about a time without modern technology-where making a phone call required special effort. Worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Everyone Dies, February 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ghosts (87th Precinct Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
One of the more depressing in the 87th Precinct series--although the murders unravel in a fascinating manner. One of the main experienced, somewhat hardened detectives experiences an almost unbelievable phenomena--a rare change from McBain's usual attitude. Worth reading but a real feeling of evil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A different 87th precinct adventure, June 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As an avid reader of Ed McBain I enjoyed the move that the author has made in this novel. It is quite different to the daily detective's
routine investigation methods and I for one welcomed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.