Kindle Price: $2.99

Save $7.00 (70%)

Read this title for free. Learn more

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

OR
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Get the Free Kindle App

Enter email or phone number to get a link

Processing your request...

Ghosts of Babylon Kindle Edition

18 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$2.99

Length: 204 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled Matchbook Price: $0.00 What's this?
For thousands of qualifying books, your past, present, and future print-edition purchases now lets you buy the Kindle edition for $2.99 or less. (Textbooks available for $9.99 or less.)
  • Thousands of books are eligible, including current and former best sellers.
  • Look for the Kindle MatchBook icon on print and Kindle book detail pages of qualifying books. You can also see more Kindle MatchBook titles here or look up all of your Kindle MatchBook titles here.
  • Read the Kindle edition on any Kindle device or with a free Kindle Reading App.
  • Print edition must be purchased new and sold by Amazon.com.
  • Gifting of the Kindle edition at the Kindle MatchBook price is not available.
Learn more about Kindle MatchBook.

Kindle Daily Deals
Kindle Delivers: Daily Deals
Subscribe to find out about each day's Kindle Daily Deals for adults and young readers. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"R.A. Mathis is one of those rare authors who knows what he imagines. In the tradition of Conrad and Melville, and with all the vivid authenticity and heartbreak of 'Hurt Locker,' Mathis finds the God inside his details and makes surreal patterns real."

Jay Wurts Coauthor of When Heaven and Earth Changed Places and Honored and Betrayed.

From the Author

This book is dedicated to those who serve our country. It is also dedicated to the families who have waited patiently, prayed ceaselessly, and cried countless tears for their loved ones in harm's way.

Product Details

  • File Size: 627 KB
  • Print Length: 204 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publication Date: September 17, 2012
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B009D4I902
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,027,208 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

A jack-of-all-trades and master of some, R.A. Mathis has worn many hats as a husband, father, student, teacher, soldier, and public official. As a high school math teacher, he was voted Teacher of the Year in 2004 and was honored by the Tennessee State Legislature for work in his community in 2009. However, he has always been a writer. After graduating from the University of Tennessee with a BS in mathematics, he served nine years in the army as an armored cavalry officer, rising to the rank of captain and holding a secret-level clearance. During that time, he served a yearlong combat tour in Iraq. His articles about the war have been published in several periodicals and he has lectured extensively on the subject. In 2010, he was elected to public office in Tennessee where he currently lives with his wife, three children, and a dog named Max.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Andew J. Limb on November 6, 2012
Format: Paperback
This book was a page turner from the beginning. R.A. Mathis' attention to detail can only come from some who has BTDT (Been there, done that). The interplay of modern combat and political intrigue, mixed with Middle Eastern mythology created a great story line that had me wanting more. Reading this book brought me back to my days while serving in the Army, the terminology may have changed but the soldiers never do. I hope this is the first of many books by R.A. Mathis.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Cynthia Hamilton on August 12, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I came across this book by chance and was intrigued by the premise. I was immediately taken by the writing style and curious of where the story would take me. The character the book radiates out from is a man confronted with the demise of his marriage, his aspirations and his lack of success in general. When he catapults himself into the middle of the Iraq war, he makes up for many lost years of living. Utterly uninitiated in military life, he learns everything the hard way, though he does capture the compassion of the most honorable men where he is stationed. It is through bonding with them that he begins to understand what war is all about.
This book held my interest all the way through, though at one point I began to wonder where the author was taking the story. He did not lose his thread, and the ending is a satisfying tying together of all the various POVs. I hope to read more by this talented writer.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The novel takes place during the occupation of Iraq. Stuart Knight, a professor of archaeology, has volunteered to be a translator for American forces (since he speaks some Arabic) with an ulterior motive: he wants access to the priceless archaeological finds he is sure are waiting to be discovered in the Sandbox. He is attached to a battalion-level command which includes Regular Army soldiers and National Guard, so there's conflict to be found everywhere--not just between Kurds and Iraqis.

It doesn't take that conflict long to heat up, either. A local terrorist known as Al-Khayal is developing more and more sophisticated improvised munitions to use against occupation troops. Captain Allen, an intelligence officer (not an oxymoronic title in this case) has an old score to settle with the phantom killer, so finding Al-Khayal is a personal obsession for him. Fellow captain Crumm and their C.O., Colonel Thorne, have their own agenda in-country, and it doesn't line up with Allen's.
Then there's Hadi, the young Kurdish boy who likes to explore. He finds just the sort of archaeological treasure that Stuart Knight is looking for, and that puts his and his family's lives in jeopardy. There are some adults willing to kill for the artifact, and Hadi eventually runs afoul of Al-Khayal himself.

Stuart is an underachiever (if not a full-blown loser) when we are introduced to him teaching at the university back in the World...and an arrogant one at that. But his transformation begins shortly after his arrival in Kuwait. By the climax, he is fully sympathetic (besides being a civilian pogue).

Author R. A. Mathis has always been a writer, according to his bio. And it shows. The characters are well-drawn and the plotting is tight and well-paced.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
Ghosts of Babylon is a fantastic book written by a man who has been there and it shows in the writing. Telling the story of a group of soldiers overseas chasing down a bomb maker who has killed many people from the view of the translator is a new twist to a familiar kind of story. Adding just a hint of paranormal enriches the story drastically and is done with a light hand. This book is not swarming with zombies or ghosts or any of the other elements that are rife in books that get described as paranormal these days, instead there is a feeling of dread caused by something looking over your shoulder. It is a great way to slowly build the tension in a book leaving the reader eager to see what will be revealed.

If you are at all a fan of realistic military books or psychological thrillers then this book is for you. Well done Mr. Mathis and I look forward to seeing what other offerings you will have in the future.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Beadmaster on September 30, 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
The book was very readable, it moved along like a good book should. The Ghosts of Babylon appeared often enough to remind the reader of that extra thing we all know is out there. I don't like war stories of any kind since I grew up watching newsreels of WWII and lived through the Vietnam Nam war on TV every day as well as stories from everyone around me. That being said, this book had me riveted. It was recommended to me and I'm glad I read it. I cared about the characters and felt every emotion the author describes on his site ramathis.com . I hope to see more from this author. This book was better than many I have read by well known authors.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Granny on December 3, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition
This was a very enjoyable book ,for the dark side . Not that I usually read dark but how it was worked into the plot kept you reading long past the time when you usually quit. It also gave a little bit of what our servicemen have to put up with. Some of the characters ended up dying ,I don't usually like books that end that way but there was a good ending to a part of it. Altogether a great read .Expect great things from this author!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in