Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Black Friday egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Voyage Cyber Monday Video Game Deals Outdoor Deals on Tikes

Format: DVDChange
Price:$5.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 51 reviews(3 star).Show all reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on March 24, 2012
"Gia" is a 1998 film about the rise and fall of a super model. So why would any man want to see this movie? Angelina Jolie. The film is tedious, runs over 2 hours, and most of the world by now knows what drug addiction ends up doing to those unable to rehabilitate. The film delves into same gender orientation lifestyles, but not as erotically as you might expect. The photo session for the model "GIa" that Angelina Jolie portrayed that made this DVD worth buying, involves a chain link fence (most of which made me wonder about a stunt double). Pretty much the rest of the movie merits the fast forward button. Not a cable TV view, unless you have premium channels (i.e. HBO). This unrated version here on Amazon has more flesh-fest and girl-girl interest than the R-rated version. You might want to look it up on the Internet Movie Data Base (IMDB) for more info. Faye Dunaway also stars, filmed in Los Angeles and New York.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on September 5, 2008
Anjolina Jolie did a wonderful job with this role however the writers took a lot of liberties with Gia's life. Everyone makes her mom seem like the bad guy but Gia's issues ran deeper than the lack of her mother's love like the writers want the public to believe. Gia was most likely bipolar which little was done for or known about in the 80's. Gia was a truly beautiful woman but I would wager that she thought and felt as though she were a man. Today we have a label for what I think she was and that is Transgendered. If she were born in the 80's, she would most likely be alive today with medication and a better understanding of who she really is.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on July 27, 2005
Tempting though it is to pretend otherwise (although to be honest I had never previously heard of Gia), the real reason I bought this DVD was to see more of Angelina Jolie after watching several of her action movies (Mr and Mrs Smith, Tomb Raider I and II, Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow...). In the literal sense I was not dissapointed since Ms Jolie spends half the movie with no clothes on. But her performance is captivating for other (perhaps more worthy) reasons...

On the downside the movie is rather depressing (but then that's no surprise given Jolie plays a frenetic superstar model who becomes a junky and dies of aids). Very few holes are barred (as well as the gratuitous nudity the movie also includes reasonably explicit lesbian love scenes, intravenous drug use, and so forth) so probably not one for the kids. Perhaps the most troubling aspect of the film for me is Gia's dysfunctional relationship with her mother (the movie hints that this was the driving force behind her self destructive behaviour).

On the upside the characters are well drawn, particularly Jolie, her mother (who to the end remains in denial about her level of responsibility for her daughter's behaviour), and her confused girlfriend. The plot is well constructed and the scenes beautifully shot.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on June 23, 2009
I wasn't even aware of a censored version until I went to this site. I was just browsing the old stacks & seeing an early Angelina Jolie effort my interest was piqued. I figured just another beautiful, junkie, dead movie. But she does a stand-out job in this rather lackluster cable tv movie. Gia was a talented, out-of-the box, gorgeous super model. She was also a tortured soul, uncertain of her sexual orientation, fabulously successful & rich too quick. She gets a taste of nose candy & is soon. is mainlining heroin. A few half-hearted attempts to kick the habit fail. Her fall is as spectacular as her rise as she gives up the only person she really loves for the drug. You'd figure if you didn't know the story that an OD would be her end. From using contaminated needles she becomes one of that first generation to contract AIDs. But we didn't know much about it in those days. Then there are the six minutes some full length scenes lingering of her in the all-together. Gratuitous? Tasteful? Dunno. I don't rush out to see Jolie movies, but this one is very dramatic, very good. Her performance that is. The movie itself? Just average.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on July 25, 2006
This unrated virsion of Gia was amazing,,there was so much extra footage that i have never seen before..This edition shows more in depht sight on how Gia"s life was!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on March 17, 2006
Very good acting, especially by Angelina, but not exactly the most entertaining plot. I really only purchased it for my huge-Angelina-fan wife but even she wasn't all that impressed by it.

Lots of Angelina-nudity would be reason enough for some people to buy it, but my advice would be to hire it before deciding to purchase it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on November 19, 2005
Gia Carangi was a party animal! She lived wild and died young. The only person that could have taken this role was Angelina. She's got the look as a actress and a model. This film was Angie's coming out party. Her performance as the legendary model showed the world what the future holds for her. An Emmy and an Oscar later, Angelina is on top of the entertainment world. Esquire Magazine named her the "Sexiest Woman Alive" and I agree with them 100 percent!

As a movie, it does have some flaws. It's talky and rather long. Aside from that, Jolie's groundbreaking performance is enough to recommend this made for cable film.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on December 19, 2007
Watching this film, I was reminded of another Angelina Jolie starrer - "Beyond Borders", which remains her greatest screen performance. Then I compared the two performances and discovered why I couldn't 'connect' with Gia. Granted, the real Gia was quite a wild-child, but Angelina is not for one second convincing as a bisexual supermodel in this over-the-top dramatic TV Movie.

I think the worst part is the actual narrative. No points for the script here. The end, which should have been touching, is instead cloying and demanding of our sympathy, which I felt was a bit cheap. Also, Angelina comes across only as Angelina in almost every frame of this film. I think this was the curse of being early in her career, but seriously, it was very clear to me while watching this that Jolie had absolutely no idea of how to be an actress or how to emote.

Also, Gia was supposed to be a skinny supermodel, but Angelina here is slightly on the heavier side. Did anyone else notice this? Especially in that nude scene where she is having that morning conversation with her lesbian lover. I was left wondering why exactly people thought THAT body was all so exciting, because frankly it looked like everywoman. Not bad, just not spectacular.

"Gia"'s primary strengths come when Angelina lets her guard down a bit (which is rarely). The picture suffers due to Jolie, because she is supposed to be in every scene of it. To such an extent, that almost everyone else is reduced to the part of a pathetic walk-on. They also tried to give this film an early 1980s vibe that absolutely did not work, plus Jolie's hideous hairstyles only made me disrespect the filmmakers even more.

I am giving this a generous three stars, because I believe the true story of Gia deserved to be told. She was thrown out of the fashion world, and cut off even by close friends. Angelina conveys nothing of the mental anguish here, and by the end its hard to feel sorry for her because ten minutes of her all teary was much more than I could tolerate.

Watch this, but be forewarned. If you're an Angie fan, you have to watch this as it did bring her much critical acclaim at the time, and actually launched her into Hollywood. Judged on more unbiased scales though, the film comes off as a fluff-piece without much soul.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on May 18, 2007
In this true life portrayal of Gia Marie Carangi's life, Angeline Jolie lays the ground work for her monumental arrival to the big screen. I think with this film, Jolie establishes herself as the most courageous actress to grace the scene in quite some time. On another note, it's sad that someone as beautiful as Gia Carangi struggled with so many demons. You never know what's going on in someone's mind. In any event, Angelina Jolie is magnificent!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2015
This would have been so good had it had any psychological depth whatsoever. Shallow everything: relationships, drug culture, etc. Yes, the fashion industry is shallow, but c'mon... how about portraying the relationship with Linda - i.e. what was that relationship like? Why did they like each other? Other than naked dinners... Fun to see Jolie in what I think was her first breakout role. She's good. Not great, but good enough.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Showgirls (Fully Exposed Edition)
Showgirls (Fully Exposed Edition) by Elizabeth Berkley (DVD - 2007)

Striptease by Demi Moore (DVD - 2010)

Original Sin (Unrated Version)
Original Sin (Unrated Version) by Antonio Banderas (DVD - 2002)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.