Customer Reviews


167 Reviews
5 star:
 (140)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YOU'VE NEVER READ A DOG STORY LIKE THIS ONE!
Yes, yes, I know, there are currently a plethora of books about dogs on the market. But I promise you there's not one that even comes close to this. In fact, don't believe there's a dog that comes close to Giant George because he is the biggest dog in the world and has his name in Guinness World Records to prove it. George is an amazing seven feet long and almost five...
Published on April 11, 2012 by Gail Cooke

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Precious
Throughout this book one can imagine the sheer size of George. The authors paint a relatable picture of growing up with a large dog. If you ahve ever owned a large breed, not even extra large, you can relate to the struggle raise a GIANT.
Published 18 months ago by morgana


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars YOU'VE NEVER READ A DOG STORY LIKE THIS ONE!, April 11, 2012
This review is from: Giant George: Life with the World's Biggest Dog (Hardcover)
Yes, yes, I know, there are currently a plethora of books about dogs on the market. But I promise you there's not one that even comes close to this. In fact, don't believe there's a dog that comes close to Giant George because he is the biggest dog in the world and has his name in Guinness World Records to prove it. George is an amazing seven feet long and almost five feet tall. How the runt of a litter could grow this big is anyone's guess and certainly a shock to owners Dave and Christie Nasser.

It all began shortly after Dave and Christie married. He wanted to move back to his hometown of Tucson, Arizona. She, being a California girl, wasn't too enthusiastic about the idea, but she could be bribed - if they moved they'd have a house and she could have a dog. Sounded like a good compromise to Dave.

So, they began to settle in with Dave looking for a house and Christie looking for a dog - she found him, an irresistible Great Dane puppy they called George. Well, happiness didn't last long for Dave because by the time George was four months old Dave figured he was out about $2,000 - "...$1,750 for our puppy, plus the cost of around six weeks' worth of special puppy food, an extra-large crate, a leash and a collar, dog bowls..." He placed an ad in the Arizona Daily Star in the pets section "Home Needed For Great Dane Puppy."

But as it turned out he couldn't sell George, the puppy had become a part of their family (a large part, and Dave decided you just didn't give up on family. "Giant George Life with the World's Biggest Dog" is their story, and it's a whopper (pun intended). There's never been a dull moment. George has appeared on Oprah, has over 75,000 Facebook fans and 2.6 million hits on his YouTube videos. You'll smile, you'll laugh, probably sigh - it's for sure you've never read a dog story like this one.

Enjoy!

- Gail Cooke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Large and in charge, March 27, 2012
By 
This review is from: Giant George: Life with the World's Biggest Dog (Hardcover)
Giant George by Dave Nasser was quite a funny little book talking about such a BIG dog. George is the world's tallest dog, ever. And this book is about him, about his owners and about his rise to stardom. George was just an average Great Dane dog, until he grew to be over 200 pounds of HUGE. He sounds like a fun loving, easy going, calm dog that just loves his family, loves his fellow dogs and loves to be in the spotlight. So when he appeared on Oprah, it was right up his alley.

The story is about how this dog went from the runt of the family to being one of the most loved dogs in all of America and possibly the world. Nasser makes this story fun by telling what he thought, how he felt and what they did to raise this dogs into what he is today. There were moments of heart break and sadness followed by another fun story about George.

I would recommend this book to any dog lover, anyone who wants a quick laugh or someone who wants to find out about the worlds tallest dog!

I received this book for free from Grand Central Life & Style Publisher for this review through their association with NetGalley.com. I was not required to give a positive review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your the Greatest Giant, George and I love you, May 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
His dad wrote the greatest book about this gentle Giant and I loved every word I read. I couldn't put the book down. If you aren't a dog lover, you will be after reading this delightful book. I wish I lived near him to meet him. I joined his fan club!!!
Sheila R
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dog lover's good read, October 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Alas, Giant George died very recently. I am glad I have this book to remember him by. If you love Danes, in particular, you will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Giant George gets a GIANT thumbs up!, February 10, 2013
This review is from: Giant George: Life with the World's Biggest Dog (Hardcover)
This book is absolutely wonderful for anyone, but especially dog lovers. George's owners share their heartfelt story of love, trials and tribulations, as well as overcoming obstacles and finding happiness and success. I am owned by a Great Dane, so I may be swayed by their quirky ways and funny habits, but George can make anyone fall in love with him. I appreciate the realness and fun of the book and recommend it to everyone! Great job George!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good human and dog interest story, April 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Giant George: Life with the World's Biggest Dog (Hardcover)
This was such a delightful read. It gave me enjoyable laughs, and brought back childhood memories of a dumped puppy that my brother and I brought home from the swimming pool. After seeing George's picture I realize our extremely tall hound was a great dane; who thankfully didn't get as big as George. George is just a wonderful dog, and thank goodness has a forever home with a family that can afford him, and loves him dearly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Goodbye George, October 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have always wanted to read this books. Today I heard that George had died. So I decided to finally get his book. I read it all in one sitting. What a good book and great dog. I only wish the kindle edition had pictures. Maybe the non kindle books do? RIP GEORGE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars George, October 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Loved this book.. and the pictures were awesome..so neat to see him as a puppy an so gigantic now. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book about a great dog!, February 10, 2013
This review is from: Giant George: Life with the World's Biggest Dog (Hardcover)
I absolutely loved this book! A touching sometimes sad, but mostly happy story about a family and their XXXXXL dog!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful story - full of fun and excellently told,, September 25, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Giant George: Life with the World's Biggest Dog (Hardcover)
I loved this story! It is so well told and becomes real on the page - you can live it with George and his family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Giant George: Life with the World's Biggest Dog
Giant George: Life with the World's Biggest Dog by Lynne Barrett-Lee (Hardcover - April 10, 2012)
$24.99
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.