Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Five Star Feast
"Gideon's Daughter" is a film written and directed by the brilliant Stephen Poliakoff. Poliakoff's movies focus on a slice of life at a particular moment in history; he tries to capture what is then happening in England and how it might affect the future. The second disk in this set explores his philosophy in depth and how it impacts his films.

In this movie,...
Published on February 1, 2009 by R. Crane

versus
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hokum
All those stars from seven reviewers ?!?!? Amazing. Might the unbelievably generous four and five star reviewers have been blinded to the fact that this is incoherent nonsense by their fondness for Nighy and Blunt, or Richardson? I think they're great too, even here, but they can't salvage this mess of a screenplay. Cheap shots abound: the grieving parents, both of...
Published on May 26, 2012 by Walter J. Jamieson Jr.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Five Star Feast, February 1, 2009
By 
R. Crane (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gideon's Daughter (DVD)
"Gideon's Daughter" is a film written and directed by the brilliant Stephen Poliakoff. Poliakoff's movies focus on a slice of life at a particular moment in history; he tries to capture what is then happening in England and how it might affect the future. The second disk in this set explores his philosophy in depth and how it impacts his films.

In this movie, Poliakoff captures the emptiness of celebrity culture, particularly at the time of Princess Diana's death, when it had reached unheard of heights. Bill Nighy, one of England's best actors, portrays a PR guru who is at the pinnacle of his career, and whose "guidance" just everyone wants. Ironically, Nighy's character is divorced from all those around him, grieving over the broken relationship with his hostile daughter. He is also immersed in a new relationship with Miranda Richardson. His unresponsiveness is interpreted by different people to meet their own expectations, so the farther he drifts from PR, the more they clamor for his help.

This is an outstanding film, beautifully acted, superbly written that is totally absorbing. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mesmerizing experience . Thank you, February 15, 2007
By 
English Major (The Northwest, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gideon's Daughter (DVD)
What a joy to see a compelling, totally intriguing story beautifully acted by a cast that does not appear to be acting: Bill Nighy, Miranda Richardson,Emily Blunt,Robert Lindsey, Ronny Anacona, Tom Hardy & company. Bill NIghy is a treasure. Miranda Richardson, too. Never miss their movies. The screenplay and direction of Steven Poliokoff are so creatively conceived as to be mesmerizing. What a pleasure to see a writer/director who truly presents a fully developed movie. We love the metaphorical quality of the stroy, and appreciate the fact that it enhances, without getting in the way. Gideon's Daughter is a jewel that we first rented, and immediatly purchased,becasue we ant to see it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poignant loss of child by two different parents, February 3, 2007
By 
John R. Aldridge (BoulderJunctionWI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gideon's Daughter (DVD)
As both a parent and a grandparent and also having lost a child in infancy, I found this movie extremely satisfying in terms of the emotions it portrayed. I really got into it. It's hard to go wrong with the star power involved and they worked well together - I'd like to see more of this caliber - on American TV for a change.

The Colonel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Story, Mostly Down to Nighy and Richardson, February 28, 2011
By 
maskirovka (Herndon, Virginia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Gideon's Daughter (DVD)
I saw "Gideon's Daughter" largely because Emily Blunt (who I --along with probably 10-20 percent of my fellow men-- am smitten by) is in the film. And I'm glad I did because it's a good and affecting story. But while the film is called "Gideon's Daughter," the movie isn't so much about Blunt's character Natasha. Rather it's about Gideon (Bill Nighy) and Stella (played very well by Miranda Richardson). Gideon, an uber-public relations wonk, a man who seemingly has it all, is slowly dying inside over fears that he has permanently lost Natasha's love. Stella is a working class divorcee whose marriage fell apart after the tragic death of her son in a traffic accident. The two come into each other's orbit and fall in love while Gideon tries desperately to reach out to his daughter.

I only have three criticisms of this film. One is that it did not give Emily Blunt very much to do. In most of her scenes she comes across as cold and aloof when she talks with her dad (which is appropriate but I think she could have been given more to work with). She only really comes alive near the end of the movie. Second, I didn't really like the narration of the movie. Combined with the score, it almost came across as though the film makers felt "Gideon's Daughter" needed to be depicted as something profound and almost mythological. Finally, while I felt Blunt did well in the limited role she had, she was not really plausible as a 17 or 18 year old (she was either 21 or 22) when the film was made, and it was a stretch to see her as the equivalent of a high school senior or college freshman (just a minor point but I think casting an actual teenager would have made more sense).

What's interesting to me is that this is not the only time where Nighy and Blunt have worked together. She and he starred in the 2010 black comedy "Wild Target" in which she played a confidence woman and he an assassin and they were a couple instead of father and daughter (and despite the age gap, I thought they pulled it off). What is truly impressive about both actors is that both of them appear totally different and one would have to be looking to see they are the same people, which is testimony to their skill.

Wild Target
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poliakoff did it again!, October 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gideon's Daughter (DVD)
If you've read the works of Poliakoff, you'll want to see the movies. Gideon's Daughter stars Bill Nighy and Emily Blunt. Their relationship is what makes the film and these two actors are two of the best. Both have gone on to greater heights. This is one film you must see. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bill Nighy is KING, June 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gideon's Daughter (DVD)
Watched this ONLY because of Bill Nighy and I was not disappointed. As usual he was wonderful. The movie is a little strange and the strained relationship with his daughter at first a little disconcerting. But the story is so intriguingly quirky that all else is forgiven. Was not sure what I would make of this movie but ended up REALLY liking it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is a fine addition to my DVD collection, May 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gideon's Daughter (DVD)
I have a large collection of DVDs, and this movie is a very special addition.
It was interesting to learn about the creative ideas behind it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very unique., March 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gideon's Daughter (DVD)
This is a great movie . Classic Bill Nighy. It was so interesting to see Emily Blunt in one of her first roles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gideon's Daugher is very entertaining, March 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gideon's Daughter (DVD)
Emily Blunt is excellent and so beautiful in this movie. Bill Nighy gives another outstanding performance and is perfect for his role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Drama!, February 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gideon's Daughter (DVD)
Poliakoff's drama is thoughtfully presented here, but I did get a little lost trying to follow it. The actors were superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Gideon's Daughter
Gideon's Daughter by Bill Nighy (DVD - 2006)
$29.98 $10.24
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.