Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not an investment book, but good advices to fathers and their children
I have never read any of Jim Rogers prior books, but I am pleasantly surprised to find this little book insightful and enjoyable to read. He provided his answers to questions such as how to best prepare our children for the future. As a father of a five year old daughter, I fully appreciate a book just like this.

Each chapter is a lesson on a major quality of...
Published on May 28, 2009 by X. Li

versus
41 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Run Of The Mill" motivational book!
I had preordered the book after the impressive book "Hot Commodities: How Anyone Can Invest Profitably in the World's Best Market" ( one of the books in perpetual classics list in my listmania) and Jim Rogers TV interviews.The book does a decent job of giving "Commonsense" advise and a lot of motivation addressed to the readers (disguised as addressed to his daughters)...
Published on April 30, 2009 by T. Chandrasekhar


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

82 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not an investment book, but good advices to fathers and their children, May 28, 2009
I have never read any of Jim Rogers prior books, but I am pleasantly surprised to find this little book insightful and enjoyable to read. He provided his answers to questions such as how to best prepare our children for the future. As a father of a five year old daughter, I fully appreciate a book just like this.

Each chapter is a lesson on a major quality of character or "virtue"; and each chapter is about several pages long. Each lesson is elaborated and explained with real events in Jim Rogers' life - his childhood in rural AL and his investment decisions.

This book is definitely NOT an investment book, but I am more than happy to learn about personal stories of this legendary investor, particularly about his thought process, mindset, and insights about being a father and investor.

Obviously he writes with his unique set of values and ideas about where to live (don't live in a country involved in any kind of war), what to become (a world citizen), and what to learn (philosophy and history), but in this little book I have found gems of wisdom common to a few very successful people I personally know. They universally credit their success to: 1)think on your own, 2) hard work and never quit, 3) read as much as you can, 4) always prepare for the worst, 5) save and don't carry debt, and 6) start your child early.

If you write a book for your child, what would you include and exclude? Under this premise I think Jim Rogers has done an excellent job so I rate this book with five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very entertaining read!. Thanks, Jim, for sharing...All Mums & Dads must read!..., August 3, 2010
This review is from: A Gift to My Children: A Father's Lessons for Life and Investing (Hardcover)
'A Gift for My Chidren: A Father's Lessons for a Life & Investing',
by Jim Rogers

What follows is just my quick list of interesting takeaways from the book, 'A Gift to My Children: 'A Father's Lessons for Life & Investing', by American investor extraordinaire Jim Rogers, now based in Singapore, who is acknowledged by Time as 'The Indiana Jones of Finance'.

Frankly, all the stuff from the book has nothing much to do with finance &/or investing.

They are essentially pearls of wisdom from his world of "hard knocks", which Jim wants to share with his two beautiful daughters, respectively nicknamed in Chinese as 'Happy' (7) & 'Babe Bee' (2).

* Swim your own races

- do not let others do your thinking for you;

- rely on your own intelligence;

- it's important to decide for yourself what's important to you and what you want before you turn to others;

- if anyone laughs at your idea, view it as a sign of potential success;

- be who you are; be original; be bold;

- above all, be ethical;

- save ~ you must avoid the trap of spending $ willy nilly simply because you can;

* Focus on what you like

- Age is irrelevant when you are passionate about a goal;

- when you find something that interests you, just do it!

- The quickest way to success is to do what you like and give your best;

- Dedicate yourself to what you feel passionate about;

- Try as many things as you can, then pursue the one about which you're passionate;

* Good habits for life

- Be a self-starter;

- Attention to details is what separates success from failure;

- However trivial it may seem, you must research and check each and ever piece of information you need to make a decision... Only through meticulous research will you obtain the knowledge necessary for success... it requires abundant work and diligence...

- There is no such thing as "enough". No finish line!

- Live your life with a dream;

- If you continue to be passionate and work hard at what you truly love to do, you eventually find that dream;

* Uncommon Sense

- Always consider alternative interpretations;

- Seek out multiple perspectives on the same story will always help you figure out the truth;

* Your education ~ Let the world be a part of your perspective PART 1

- Do not rely on books; go and see the world;

- Experience life as they do; see the world from the ground up. By observing ordinary life... you will forever be stumbling upon experiences that will raise important question in your mind ;

- Understand the significance of BRICs;

- Be open to people who are different whether at home or abroad;

- Keep an open mind and be a world citizen;

- Be eager to move if you see opportunities;

* Your education ~ Learn philosophy and learn to think PART 2

- Philosophy will teach you how to think for yourself;

- You must learn to think at a profound level if you want to understand yourself and what's important to you. You must know yourself if you want to accomplish anything in life...;

- To think outside the established framework, to examine things independently this is true philosophy...;

- Draw conclusions from your observations as well as on the basis of logic;

- As an investor, look for the bull and the bear;

* Your education ~ Learn history PART 3

- An interest in history, politics, and economics will help you see the world with clearer perspectives;

- Nothing is really new: what is happening now has happened before and will happen again;

* Your education ~ Learn languages (make sure that Mandarin is one of them) PART 4

- Mandarin will be the next global language;

- Pay attention to the major changes taking place in the world now, especially China;

* Know thyself by understanding your weaknesses and acknowledging your mistakes

- Know who you are;

- To be a successful investor you really need to understand psychology, history, and philosophy;

* Recognise change and embrace it

- Everything changes. Everything;

- Embrace the principle of supply and demand;

- Change can be a catalyst;

- Adapt or die;

* Look to the future

- Read the newspapers, but think differently;

- Pay attention to what everyone else neglects;

- If you are looking for success, be quick to start something new, something that no one else has tried;

- The more certain something is, the less likely it is to be profitable;

- Do not think in terms of what you wish (ergo, wishful thinking versus willful doing);

- Know when not to do anything;

* Lady Luck smiles on those who continue in their efforts

- Do your homework'

- If you let vanity and self-importance (ego) take over, you will lose all that you have achieved;

- Never let yourself become arrogant. Study hard. The more you learn, the more you will realise how little you know - armed with this humility, you will never lose sight of the distance between self-confidence and self-importance;

- Do not stop when you are working towards your dream;

* Epilogue

- The devil of life is always in the details;

- Anything that is a must-see, must-try, must-read, must almost certainly be avoided, especially if it is popular;

- Use good manners no matter where you are or whom you meet;

- Learn to do as much arithmetic and figures as possible in your head;

- Take care of yourself;

- Learn to stay calm;

- Once you do get to know and understand yourself, remember who you are and stay with it;

- Don't be greedy;

A very entertaining read! Thanks, Jim, for sharing!

All Mums & Dads must read, especially the end part about BGR (Boy-Girl Relationship) & DOM (Dirty Old Man), on top of the foregoing. BGR & DOM do not fall under my purview of interest.

[Reviewed by Lee Say Keng, Knowledge Adventurer & Technology Explorer, Optimum Performance Technologies, Singapore, August 2010]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good Jim Rogers book, June 5, 2009
By 
Yunsum S. Yu (Huntington Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Gift to My Children: A Father's Lessons for Life and Investing (Hardcover)
I've read all of Jim Rogers' books. All his books are well-written, entertaining, and easy to read. This one is no exception. It is filled with simple, good-ol-fashion advice for both adults and children. However, some of the examples Rogers uses to explain his idea may be hard for children to grasp, e.g. shorting stocks! Unless you plan to educate your kids about finance and economics early on, this book may be more appropriate for college-bound age teenagers or older.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving and insightful gem from a great investor, June 14, 2009
This review is from: A Gift to My Children: A Father's Lessons for Life and Investing (Hardcover)
This is simply a moving, touching soul will not only to his daughters, but also to the children of the world. Thanks for sharing your insight with us. I just cannot agree with you more. Learn from history, have indepedent thinking, mostly conventional wisdom is wrong. Thanks you, Jim, for sharing your the wisdom of wisdom!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Run Of The Mill" motivational book!, April 30, 2009
By 
T. Chandrasekhar "gentlemans25" (Pembroke pines, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Gift to My Children: A Father's Lessons for Life and Investing (Hardcover)
I had preordered the book after the impressive book "Hot Commodities: How Anyone Can Invest Profitably in the World's Best Market" ( one of the books in perpetual classics list in my listmania) and Jim Rogers TV interviews.The book does a decent job of giving "Commonsense" advise and a lot of motivation addressed to the readers (disguised as addressed to his daughters). However we have to remember that Jim Rogers is an ordinary father who happens to be the "Warren Buffett" of Commodities. That's it.Everyone who buys the book is looking to tap into the genius in him and possibly get rich trading.Pure and simple!

The first line of the book starts like this " There are going to be moments in life when you must make very important decisions. You will find many people ready to offer you...." and goes on explaining the importance of Relying on your own intelligence .Unfortunately for most common mortals like me who is squeezed between driving to office and dropping kids at school and watching prime time reality shows, it is nothing more than a hunch or instinct or a radio news that often leads to loss making trades.If you can sterotype an investing genius as someone who is passionate, who reads a lot, who analysis financial numbers, travels to the factories, production zones, understands macro economic,political structure first hand. then this book has all the meat to solidify stereotypes.

Without revealing the plot(!) of the book,I am going to point the subtitles in first chapter,that would give ample evidence to other readers as to what you can expect from the book.

CHAPTER 1:
Swim Your own Races.
Subtitles in Chapter1:
1.Rely on your own intelligence
2.If anybody laughs at your idea, view it as a potential success
3. Be Original,be bold
4. Be ethical
5. Save.

Each has a page or few paragraphs of explanation. A good motivational/instructional book should generally have powerful examples and this book fails terribly in that regard. It is plain instructions page in and page out with bland examples of boring references to Apple, GM etc. The example that stands out are those where he gives his life as examples ( when he invested in IBM stock, when he traveled to China, why he avoided investing in Algeria because of blackmarket currency controls).

For a common man, in general has two modes of investing. Either they "buy and hold" (401k) or trade. There are plenty of better books out there for either modes of investing . Some of them are

Charles Schwab's New Guide to Financial Independence Completely Revised and Updated : Practical Solutions for Busy People
One up on Wall Street: How to Use What You Already Know To Make Money in the Market, Miniature Edition
Reminiscences of a Stock Operator (Wiley Investment Classics)

Towards the end of the book, the advice on "Following your dreams" are downright insanity and borders on stupidity. He proudly claims driving in his motorcycle around the world chasing his dreams while he knew all along that his father will not be alive when he returns back. He also advises his daughters to do the same, ignore your "everyone" in pursuit of your dreams.

Well, what is wrong with that?. Had he mentioned that " I was young and bubbling with energy that my ambitions were more important than my father who gave everything for me. Looking back, I would advice that living a "fulfilled" life is more important than being "Successfull", that would have been a good dad's advice

A good "Dad or Mom" is an epitome of lot of internal and external compromises.He compromises his career, his hobbies, his desire ,puts up with nasty work environment, even occassionally swallows his pride in office place so that his family and kids have a good and prosperous future. It is lot easier to pursue your dreams , enjoying 18 hour work than playing with your kids and nurturing your family.Well, if you want to be a good dad,then read "The Road Less Travelled: A New Psychology of Love, Traditional Values and Spiritual Growth" ( Another perpetual classic in my listmania)

This book is a "run of the mill" stuff! Still I rate it as 3 stars since the readers are hopefully mature enough to seperate the grain from chaff (ex :save,learn chinese).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and sincere advice for all ages, March 5, 2012
This review is from: A Gift to My Children: A Father's Lessons for Life and Investing (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful little book that you can reread over and over again for gems of advice on life and investing. The heartfelt nature of the advice from Jim Rogers to his beloved children really comes through. The advice is very simple and direct so this book would make a great gift for the young but the book is deep and thoughtful enough to inspire readers of all ages. I suppose that how much one appreciates this book depends to some extent on how much you admire Jim Rogers.

I personally believe that Jim Rogers is one of the most inspiring people alive and he's a hero of mine. He grew up poor in rural Alabama to become, among other things, a Wall Street legend, a fascinating author of multiple books, a model father, a principled libertarian who actually lives and breathes a life of freedom, and a world record holder for his adventurous travels. This book gives you reference points to enjoying success the way Rogers has.

I've read Warren Buffett's biography "The Snowball" and while there is much to admire about Buffett's life and career, I would say that Jim Rogers' life has been far more fascinating and admirable. It's a shame that investors like Rogers are perhaps overlooked for media/PR strategists like Buffett who often pander to dogma. Jim's contrarian approach to life has made him a master investor but it also makes him difficult to digest for people who aren't used to thinking outside the box. I can't help but admire his commitment to do things his own way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not an investment book, but I enjoyed it, August 14, 2009
By 
Mariusz Skonieczny "Author" (classicvalueinvestors com) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Gift to My Children: A Father's Lessons for Life and Investing (Hardcover)
I picked up this book because I read other books by this author. I was hoping to get more investment-related topics, but this book is more about life lessons. The author advises his two daughters and we, as readers, get to listen. He stresses the importance of being original, bold, and ethical. Similarly to Warren Buffett, he says that it is important to figure out what you love to do and focus on it instead of doing what is expected of you.

As far as finances, he finds it important to save, invest, and be frugal at a young age, so that there is enough money to afford things in the future. Since Jim Rogers is a very successful investor, I found it valuable to learn how he thinks and what values he follows. If you are looking for investment advice, read author's other books because this is not what you are looking for.

- Mariusz Skonieczny, author of Why Are We So Clueless about the Stock Market? Learn how to invest your money, how to pick stocks, and how to make money in the stock market
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Scattered Advice from a Financial Giant, July 27, 2010
This review is from: A Gift to My Children: A Father's Lessons for Life and Investing (Hardcover)
Jim Rogers presents a book of principles intended to provide guidance to his young daughters.

As co-founder of the Quantum Fund and subsequent worth in the hundreds of millions of dollars, Roger's in no doubt qualified to speak as an authority on particular subjects of success; however, that expertise does not extend into writing. The book is scattered, awkwardly jumping from personal tones into broad topics. Rogers seems to struggle to find his audience, at some points speaking intimately to his daughters, at other times coming across as though he was presenting to a board room of C-level officers. And while I am certainly not qualified to question his judgment on emerging markets, he even seems to offer conflicting advice regarding China; promoting China as the future yet later denouncing the effectiveness of any nation that devalues their own currency to compete - one of China's mainstays.

Overall, there are some nice pieces of advice in this book, but it is hardly what it purports to be. This book struggles between trying to be a sit down talk with children and an overview of Roger's investment strategies, and is only adequate in either area. I recommend determining which area is of more interest to you and seeking out a book that better suits that interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting easy read, June 12, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Gift to My Children: A Father's Lessons for Life and Investing (Hardcover)
The book is very easy to read. You'll be done with it in no time but it's worth the time. It has a lot of interesting life lessons. As a guide to investing there are much more hardcore books, this one, as the author clearly states, is more on life with a small twist towards investing. I would also recommend it to parents who are about to or currently raising children as the general perspective of the book is written from a father to his daughters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing book from a colourful investor, May 14, 2009
By 
I think this book is really intended as the title suggests - for his daughters; but also for anyone who wants a summary of what Jim Rogers has experienced in his long and colourful life and what conclusions he draws about life in general.

The book is very brief and written in an easy language so that you can read it in one go if you want to. I find it very refreshing that in contrast to many other books this one is NOT bloated to the "standard" size of ca. 200 pages so that the editor is happy.

Prior reviews have outlined the content; there is very little new stuff for people who follow Jim Rogers on TV or have read his other books. Nevertheless I think it is good as a summary for the ones who are familiar with him or who is isn't yet but wants to quickly get an overview. This book plus a couple of YouTube interviews and you get his - interesting - view of the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Gift to My Children: A Father's Lessons for Life and Investing
A Gift to My Children: A Father's Lessons for Life and Investing by Jim Rogers (Hardcover - April 28, 2009)
$17.00 $13.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.