Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Gifted, 4 Stars
I gotta give Wale his credit, he continues to improve with each album he puts out. His sophomore album Ambition went gold thanks to the hit single Lotus Flower Bomb featuring Miguel. Wale also had an impressive showing on MMG's Self Made Vol 2 album. The DC native kept busy by releasing the Folarin mixtape on Christmas Eve 2012. The first single off The Gifted, Bad...
Published 17 months ago by Hip-Hop-Fan2786

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just ok
The only songs on this album worthy of praise are
2. LoveHate Thing
10. Bad (Remix)

Overall just an ok album. Probably should of just streamed on Spotify
Published 16 months ago by duffy


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Gifted, 4 Stars, June 25, 2013
This review is from: Gifted (Audio CD)
I gotta give Wale his credit, he continues to improve with each album he puts out. His sophomore album Ambition went gold thanks to the hit single Lotus Flower Bomb featuring Miguel. Wale also had an impressive showing on MMG's Self Made Vol 2 album. The DC native kept busy by releasing the Folarin mixtape on Christmas Eve 2012. The first single off The Gifted, Bad featuring Tiara Thomas appeared on that mixtape and its also Wale's biggest hit to date. June has been a big month for Hip-Hop, Kanye West, J Cole and Mac Miller all released albums on the same day (June 18), so that leaves June 25th wide open for Wale's 3rd album.

The good thing about this album is that it sounds nothing like Wale's past efforts. On the albums opener The Curse of the Gifted, Wale raps about his gifts and curses over Sean C, LV's guitar heavy instrumental. Wale addresses how people believe everything they hear nowadays on the Cee Lo Green featured "Gullible", in the second verse he spits "TV killed the radio/ And then the internet slit the television throat/ But not before I gave birth to several episodes/ Our generation is cursed we got too many clones". "Rotation" is for the smokers, Wale does a little harmonizing on the hook over a spaced out beat with pounding drums, Wiz and 2 Chainz do their usual thing, yeah the verses are predictable but the song is still enjoyable.

The production on this album is more soulful, "Sunshine", "Heaven's Afternoon" and "Golden Salvation" (Jesus Piece) all have that soulful feel. Its only right that Wale has some joints for the ladies, Tired of Dreaming (featuring Ne-Yo & Rick Ross) could be a single. "Clappers"(featuring Nicki Minaj & Juicy J) should be a summer smash. It's a perfect club track, Nicki's verse was real short, maybe like 20 seconds. On "Bricks" (featuring Yo Gotti & Lyfe Jennings), Wale explains how the drug game was not for him, while Yo Gotti explains how he got into the drug game and Lyfe kills it on the hook. 88 produced by Just Blaze is dope too. The album closes out with some real talk on Black Heroes / Outro About Nothing (featuring Jerry Seinfeld. I'm interested to see how his next album turns out since him and Jerry are working on it together, if you followed Wale for years then you know he's a big Seinfeld fan.

Overall The Gifted will satisfy Wale's core fanbase as well as casual listeners. I did feel there were some mistakes on here though. For instance, the "Bad (Remix)" was pointless, why waste a Rihanna feature on a song that was already a hit? He could made a different song with RiRi. "Vanity" and "Simple Man" were just okay to me, those two songs weren't really needed. "Bad" featuring Tiara Thomas is the last track, they sequenced that wrong because it should of been somewhere in the beginning of the album, not ending it. Wale can also be too repetitive at times as he rarely changes his subject matter. Mistakes aside, Wale did a good job on his third album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid, August 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Gifted [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
This is an above average rap album. Not pretentious like some his contemporaries. It's just a guy who can rap with some top-notch beats, so if you are into that kind of thing, you should have this in your music library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proud To Be From The DMV, June 26, 2013
This review is from: The Gifted [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
This album is simply amazing enough said...I can't come out of my zone from amazement. And to have Stokley on Background Vocals is an ingenious combination. I so Love Mint Condition...and Stokley's unique vocals add so much flavor. I am so stuck on this album and Proud of the Brother. Bear Witness To Greatness!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wale's Best Album Yet!, September 23, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gifted (Audio CD)
I've always been a fan of Wale, growing up and living in the DMV. Regardless of geographical preference, this album deserves 5 stars!

It is a skip free album. There is a little bit of everything on this album and the beats are nicely produced. Great complete album from Wale!

-DZA tha Dangerous, reppin' VA!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Album, August 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Gifted [Explicit] (MP3 Music)
I really liked this album. I am not a big fan of rap music anymore, but I can get with Wale. I just wish it wasn't all the explicit lyrics, it was unnecessary because his flow is already good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Music, August 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gifted (Audio CD)
Well Wale doesn't disappoint , this album is quality music from beginning to end. Wale also delivered with good lyrics and beat selection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just ok, July 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gifted (Audio CD)
The only songs on this album worthy of praise are
2. LoveHate Thing
10. Bad (Remix)

Overall just an ok album. Probably should of just streamed on Spotify
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RAW!, July 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gifted (Audio CD)
This is a really solid album. Wale is much respected in the rap game. Been down every since attention deficit. DMV all day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I became a true fan, June 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gifted (Audio CD)
I liked it because his lyrics aren't face value... He really displays his intellect on this album. I was pretty impressed actually. It also has a little of the mainstream ingredient, as well. But over all, I do not think this was a waste of money. The only song that I do not like is Clappers... My favorites include, Heaven's Afternoon & LoveHate Thing, I'm happy with the purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love, April 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gifted (Audio CD)
I bought this cd for two songs on the cd and after listening to the whole cd im happy with the price and the songs I do like on the cd...... bad girl of course and clappers lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Gifted
Gifted by Wale (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.