Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy and fun to play, but limited in game situations.
The premise of this game is simple: you and your opponent each have 15 spheres, and you are working to build a pyramid together, one move at a time. To win, you want your opponent to use his/her spheres before you use yours, so that you can place the last sphere on the top.
But rather than just continually taking from your reserve of spheres, you want to make moves...
Published on September 21, 2001 by Frank Lynch

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull, lacks broad appeal
The person who was smart enough to invent this game of Pylos deserves credit. The game is logical and challenging. But...

This game is dull to play - that's the bottom line.
I bought this game a couple years ago. We played it a few times to learn it, but had no further interest. We have not played it since, and we might never play it again.

The...
Published on October 14, 2012 by Eugene D. Milener


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy and fun to play, but limited in game situations., September 21, 2001
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gigamic Pylos Classic Game (Toy)
The premise of this game is simple: you and your opponent each have 15 spheres, and you are working to build a pyramid together, one move at a time. To win, you want your opponent to use his/her spheres before you use yours, so that you can place the last sphere on the top.
But rather than just continually taking from your reserve of spheres, you want to make moves that either allow you to move a sphere from one place on the board to another, or another move that actually lets you take one or two spheres back. At the same time, you don't want to let your opponent have these openings.
(A sphere can be moved within the board if it goes 'upstairs', that is, on top of the center of a 2x2 of spheres. You can take one or two of your spheres back when you make a 2x2 where all four spheres are your own color. You could almost imagine yourself using similar strategies as you use when playing the 'box' game on paper. As you avoid some situations, you will find yourself trying to put your opponent in dilemmas where whatever they do will leave you an opening.)
So the principles are easy. However, I also think that the game situations are somewhat limited as a result, and while this is a great way to spend 10-20 minutes, it won't be as interesting as other games.
This is a very good game for children who are good at seeing visual relationships; I would expect that any child that enjoys Othello will also enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pylos is a Winner!, December 29, 2013
This review is from: Gigamic Pylos Classic Game (Toy)
Pylos is a great strategy game for all ages. Try to place your sphere at the top of the pyramid! Sounds easy until you realize there are other basic rules the might mess up your strategy! You can remove 2 of your spheres if you are able to make a square of 4 of your spheres or you are able to place 4 in a row. Why would you want to remove spheres? Well, that means your opponent has to put more on the base so that YOU can end up on the 2nd level, closer to the top!

I would recommend this for family and classroom play. In a classroom, this woud be perfect for indoor recess since it can be played quickly. It is also a great game for math class - logic, strategy and reasoning all in one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun game for two!, January 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gigamic Pylos Classic Game (Toy)
Great game, easy to learn the basic rules but changing strategies make it still fun after play after many, many times. Would absolutely recommend this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easier than chess but just as fun, December 29, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gigamic Pylos Classic Game (Toy)
I got this game for Christmas for my 17 year old brother. The whole family was able to enjoy it. It's simple to learn the rules but it's a game of thought and strategy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pylos Wood Board Game: All Quality and All Fun, June 16, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gigamic Pylos Classic Game (Toy)
All of Gigamic's Board Games seem to be of the best quality. Like Quoridor and Quatro, Pylos has very simple rules. In this case, all you have to do is build a pyramid, be the last to place the final piece - and you win. Sounds simple, but the strategy is magic.

The strategy comes in even as the first few pieces are placed on the board; if you can get a "square" formed (4 balls of your color adjacent to each other on the same level), you can remove any 1 or 2 of your pieces (that don't support other pieces) and put them back in your reserve.

I love the polished wood playing pieces and I think the game is more than just quality coffee table art - though it is that. It really is an enjoyable board game and one that can be played again and again without becoming tedious. Pylos is also a Great mind game for our Kids. I suspect that explains the Mensa Select Awards it has won.

As one other reviewer of Pylos said, "The lamb chops were tender and flavoured very well." ... but I think they were talking about a New York restaurant of the same name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game requiring logic, April 19, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gigamic Pylos Classic Game (Toy)
I bought this game because I love Gigamic's Quoridor game. Although it is less thought-intensive than Quoridor, it is still a lot of fun. Also, the wooden board and game balls looks great as a display on my desk when I'm not playing the game. Games are quick to play, leading to many "re-matches". Enjoy it, I sure do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Squares, please!', November 6, 2014
This review is from: Gigamic Pylos Classic Game (Toy)
This is a similar game to GO, the objective is to make squares using your color-coded pieces. Four balls = a square. The be an extra jerk, I like to yell out "Squares, please", when the only move causes the other person to play in my favor. Fun times all around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for all ages, beautiful game, November 23, 2014
By 
Emily Hall (Burlingame, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gigamic Pylos Classic Game (Toy)
One of our favorite family games - easy enough for pretty young kids, but the strategy is complex enough to keep adults challenged. Beautiful wood, well crafted, a great family present. Especially perfect for a lake house, ski lodge, vacation home, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thinkng GAme, June 16, 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gigamic Pylos Classic Game (Toy)
This is a good thinking game that takes a fairly short time to play.
Good for kids off all ages with varying rules for increase challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game! Decorative Too!, August 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gigamic Pylos Classic Game (Toy)
Instructions are a bit difficult to remember during initial play. Pretty enough to be a decorative piece in the house!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Gigamic Pylos Classic Game
$31.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.