Customer Reviews


258 Reviews
5 star:
 (195)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


148 of 155 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Great In Season Five
Gilmore Girls is one of those rare shows that has maintained a consistently high standard of quality throughout its run and has even managed to get better with age. The show started with the Lorelei (Lauren Graham) & Rory (Alexis Bledel) as mother & daughter who are best friends. Rory was an innocent intellectual who was starting a prestigious high school as sophomore...
Published on October 17, 2005 by P Magnum

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disapointing
I never watched the series when it was first aired but the DVDs were suggested to me by a friend. The first three seasons are wonderful and season four is good. I am part way through season five and I think I'm just done. Characters have turned into caricatures and Rory has turned into a snob. I don't like the Logan character and Luke and Lorelei (after all the...
Published on July 9, 2011 by J. Yarrow


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

148 of 155 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Great In Season Five, October 17, 2005
This review is from: Gilmore Girls: Season 5 (Digipack) (DVD)
Gilmore Girls is one of those rare shows that has maintained a consistently high standard of quality throughout its run and has even managed to get better with age. The show started with the Lorelei (Lauren Graham) & Rory (Alexis Bledel) as mother & daughter who are best friends. Rory was an innocent intellectual who was starting a prestigious high school as sophomore. Through the years, the show has transformed her from a young girl who lost herself in books and education to a young woman who is experiencing life first-hand. The change started at the end of season four when Rory sleeps with her ex-boyfriend, the married Dean (Jared Padalecki) and continues in this season with her relationship with the rich Logan Huntzberger (Matt Czuchry). The change in Rory is startling and Lorelei has a tough time dealing with it thus creating rift between the two. This season also shows the blossoming of her relationship with Luke (Scott Patterson) and how that relationship is handled by her parents Emily (Kelly Bishop) and Richard (Edward Hermann). One particular funny episode involves Richard taking Luke golfing. The best episodes of the season involve Richard & Emily's wedding to renew their vows and the fall-out from Emily's visit to Rory's father Christopher (David Sutcliffe) who shows up at the wedding and gets into a verbal fight with Luke. The season ends with Rory and Logan stealing a yacht and Rory decides to drop out of Yale. Lorelei goes to her parents for help in this matter and they agree Rory shouldn't drop out. They provide the cruelest slap of all in Lorelei's face when they renege on their promise and Rory ends up moving into the pool house. Ms. Graham is particular superb in this season and fact she was snubbed for an Emmy nomination is criminal. Gilmore Girls continues to be among the best shows on television and season five only reinforces it greatness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The season of Luke and Lorelai, September 18, 2005
This review is from: Gilmore Girls: Season 5 (Digipack) (DVD)
The fifth season of Gilmore Girls might as well be named the Luke-Lorelai season, because basically that's what it was. From their first date, to thier breaking up, to Lorelai popping the question, it is obvious to me that they belong together. The break-up showed that. Luke was miserable without her, trying to find excuses to be near her, and Lorelai couldn't sit up! The whole point of the short break-up was to show that they belong together. It would be a major dissapointment to me if Luke and Lorelai didn't end the series together. After the great Luke-Lorelai romance, where could they go? Bring back Christopher? I don't think so.

On to Rory... seasons 1-3 were basically about Lorelai and Rory. Thier relationship, and being best friends. When Rory went off to college, it was hard for them to stay as close. Despite a few exceptions(Rory visiting Lorelai in bed after Luke breaks up with her) there were few great Lorelai-Rory moments this season. This makes sense, because Rory is off to college, so some seperation is inevitable. Rory... has changed, and needless to say that has made many Rory fans unhappy. However, I think change is inevitable, especially when going off to college. And you can't blame it all on Logan. Although I don't nesesarrilly condone Rory's actions, I think her changes are more realistic than if should would have stayed exactly the same from ages 16-20.

I liked Logan. I have to say that he was better than Dean, and way better the Jess(the jerk). Logan treats her right, so what he likes to have some fun? What has he really done to Rory or while he was with Rory that was all that bad? He stood up to his family when they attacked her at the dinner. Rory dragged him to steal the yacht, not the other way around. Rory needs to be blamed for her own actions, not Logan.

All that being said, I really hope that they can repair the Lorelai-Rory relationship in season six, and I am pleading with the producers, PLEASE sign Scott Patterson for season 7!

Overall, great season, with more great stuff to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoying a Renessiance of a Year, September 9, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gilmore Girls: Season 5 (Digipack) (DVD)
After a brutal year that left fans guessing up until the last minute whether or not the girls would be back for a fifth season, comes what many fans argue as the best season of the series.

Focussing on Lorelai and Luke's blossoming relationship, as well as Rory's ventures into adulthood with sex and matural relationships, Gilmore girls starts to retreate into the teritory of the first couple years, bringing back the charm that was so veyr much missed over seasons 3 & 4.

Durring the Emmy Nominations times, there was alot of buzz going around about how this coule be the year that Lauren Graham gets a nomination, but eventhough she was overlooked again (in favor of 3 housewives) this season still remains the strongest season to date.

Special Features Include: The 100th Episode with Commentary by Creator Amy-Sherman Paladino (this is the first gilmore commentary!), behind-the-scenes footage, trivia, and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The fun is back!, September 26, 2005
This review is from: Gilmore Girls: Season 5 (Digipack) (DVD)
After the somewhat downer 4th season, the original Gilmore charm returned with this season. Rory found her place at Yale, Paris was MUCH less of an annoying roommate than she could have been, and everything in Stars Hollow seemed to be clicking. This season was just 22 episodes of fun mixed with some excellently written drama. I don't really believe there is much else to say about this season. The romance between Lorelai and Luke has been so long in the making that it is finally a huge breath of fresh air to see it come to fruition. After their little falling out 1/2 through the season, seeing Luke at her door and the two of them kiss made all my roommates and I jump off our couches and scream, "YYEEESSSS!" Which may not be that weird to some people, but we are all heterosexual heavy metal loving males. Why do I mention this? Because the Gilmore girls works on a level that is attractive to everyone. Whether you're a middle aged woman, a college aged girl, or a pierced up 20 something male, the Gilmore girls is a fabulously well written and very entertaining show.

The thing I loved most about season 5 is the speed with which the characters quip back and forth to each other. The dialogue has always been a trademark of what makes the Gilmore girls so special, but after what I viewed as a lackluster season 4, the dialogue really seems to get back on track with season 5. Between Rory and Logan, the Gilmore grandparents separating and getting back together, Luke and Lorelai, and everything else that goes on, this season had all the right elements to guarantee excellent and witty sentences from everybody!

The Gilmore girls rocks. If you're not watching or buying this show you are missing out on one of the coolest and most enjoyable things to ever grace television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Gilmores are back in full force, October 1, 2005
This review is from: Gilmore Girls: Season 5 (Digipack) (DVD)
It happens on many shows that when one or more of the principal characters transitions from high school to college, the series sometimes loses its footing. Gilmore Girls did lose some of what made it loveable from previous seasons in their fourth season. Though good as always, the fourth season was lacking and it was a new dynamic to get used to. However, any charm and wit that were lost in the fourth season are reclaimed in Gilmore's fifth and strongest season to date.

Season 5 explores Rory's journey into adulthood as she begins to embrace the life that her mother ran away from. Rory's relationship with the wealthy Logan Huntzberger unnerves her mother as much as it thrills and pleases her grandparents. We also see the long-awaited blossoming (and often tested) romance of Lorelai and Luke. The audience is also exposed to a side of Richard and Emily that was only hinted at in previous seasons; their obsession with class, breeding and appearances. It manifests itself in horrible ways, driving a wedge between both Rory and Lorelai, as well as Lorelai and her mother with whom she had been on relatively good terms with in season 4.

The bonds between mother and daughter are tested both at the end and the beginning of season 5, in ways never before seen on this loveable, relatable and well-written season. Gilmore Girls has definitely emerged as a series that transcends all ages, races and genders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luke and Lorelai finally get to the devoutly wished consummation, January 1, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gilmore Girls: Season 5 (Digipack) (DVD)
The fourth season of "Gilmore Girls" was my least favorite to date because essentially Lorelia and Rory spent the year treading water. The finale of the third season, "Those Are Strings, Pinocchio," was when Luke had the dream about Lorelia asking him not to go on the cruise with Nicole, which created a nice bookend with the third season premier, "Those Lazy-Hazy-Crazy Days," when Lorelia had the dream about Luke. Clearly something was being set up for the fourth season, but the payoff was deterred all the way until the final episode, at which point Luke finally kissed Lorelia, Lorelia kissed him back, and then Rory went and lost her virginity to Dean, who happened to be married to Lindsay. Obviously the series creator Amy Sherman-Palladino is well aware of all those romantic comedies that died as soon as the bickering couples consummated their love ("Moonlighting" being the paradigmatic example of such a fate). Still, waiting until the end of the fourth season to have Luke and Lorelai finally kiss was sheer agony.

Between the first kisses and the consummation devoutly to be wished, the impediments came from other Gilmores. "Goodbye to Daisy Miller" has Lorelai worried about Rory and Dean, and then learning that her parents are separated. Fortunately Emily takes Rory to Europe and this actually gives Lorelai and Luke the necessary alone time. Ultimately "Gilmore Girls: The Complete Fifth Season" is about cementing the ties that bind between Luke and Lorelai. By the end of this season they have become one in every way that matters short of cohabitation and marriage, and are clearly moving in those directions. All of the best moments in this season have to do with those two, while Rory gets thrown off track by falling into the orbit of Logan Huntsburger and his family.

The fifth season has several of my all-time favorite moments in the series to date and two moments when I was a-feared the show was jumping the shark. My first favorite moment comes in "Written in the Stars" when Luke and Lorelai go on their first date, he recalls the first time they met, and shows her what is in his wallet. Of course he is all in. Then there is the moment at the end of "Wedding Bell Blues," when Lorelai has learned from Christopher that Emily was encouraging him to rekindle their romance. As Lorelai was being dragged over for the wedding photography I was yelling at my television for Lorelia to "nuke" her mother, by which I meant to pull out the biggest nuclear device in her possession and drop it on Emily, which, I believe is exactly what she does. There was a close call for another great moment off of this plot line when Rory blows up at her grandmother in "So...Good Talk," but it fell short of my requirements (I want Rory to say to Emily, just once, "Grandmother, I love you a whole lot, but no matter what you do or what happens I will never love you more than I love my mom"). My second favorite moment is the end of "A House is Not a Home," and I am talking not only of Lorelia's final question of the season but the whole range of thoughts and emotions that Lorelai goes through right before she pops the question. Why Lauren Graham does not at least get nominated for an Emmy for Best Actress in a Comedy Series is beyond comprehension (but neither did Sarah Michelle Gellar or any other actress from the WB).

My first fears of shark jumping proved to be a false alarm, but in the wake of the wedding debacle I did not buy it when Luke tells Lorelai in "Say Something" that they could not be together. As the town elder points out in "Blame Booze and Melville," Luke has been waiting for Lorelai for a long time and he should be able to weather the perpetual hurricane that is Emily Gilmore. Fortunately Lorelia's phone call at the end of the episode changes the dynamic (Look at Luke's face: I swear he is ready to take her back right then). I should point out that my third favorite moment of the season is what accompanies Judy Garland singing "The Man Who Got Away" from "A Star is Born" at the end of "So... Good Talk."

However, I had much greater concerns over what happens in "Blame Booze and Melville" when Mitchum Huntzberger lowers the boom on Rory and she decides to drop out of Yale. I personally think that a gopher/intern should keep their mouth shut in meetings of the senior staff at a newspaper. In the sixth season in "We've Got Magic to Do" it is suggested that Mitchum actually believes what he is saying, but I still find it hard to believe. But the resulting split between Lorelai and Rory is really the province of the sixth season, and while I agree that the dramatic consequences of such a rift was worth pursuing at this point in the series, I simply think that dropping out of Yale and moving in with grandma and grandpa was not the way to go (I waited in vain for Paris to really read Rory the riot act). But as the nadir of the series plays out against Claudin Longet singing "I Think It's Going To Rain" when Rory turns away from her mother, it also serves to set up the beauty of the cliffhanger that was never a cliffhanger.

"Wedding Bell Blues" was the show's 100th episode so it gets special treatment with the DVD extras here. However, the main thing is that we are now caught up with all five seasons out on DVD during the sixth season of "Gilmore Girls." Let joy be undiminished on theis new year's day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here Comes a Rave, November 9, 2005
This review is from: Gilmore Girls: Season 5 (Digipack) (DVD)
This show is so well done, it trascends genres--like the Godfather is the great American film because it works on multiple levels, Gilmore Girls is the great American dramedy (as funky as it sounds). Characters like Kirk are there for just laughs, but so many others in Palladino's "little corner of the world" are the most human I've seen on T.V. The situations aren't about rockstars, cops or morons (hopefully no one connects with the latter). It's about seemingly real lives and it's intellegent (perhaps the reason Lauren Graham is constantly overlooked come award time). It's what our culture lost.

Season 5 promises to be better then the first four, because there are major character developements with Rory, the long-awaited Luke/Lorelai romance and big things for Lane's band. What I love about this season is that the writers were building up to everything from the beginning, and it finally came out. Chilton was a stepping stone to Yale and Yale to Emily and Richard; Rory's turn from her mother(carried into Season 6 too) has been integrated in from the off. And all you have to do is see the pilot to know how long Luke has been "pining" for Lorelai. Even with Lane's role in previous seasons, her character has been climbing the ladder to musical success, hiding CDs in the floor boards.

Spend an hour with the show and you'll see why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Remarkably Intelligent Show, November 2, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Gilmore Girls: Season 5 (Digipack) (DVD)
Gilmore girls proves yet again in season 5 that it is perhaps the most, charming, witty, comical, and intelligent show on the air. The genius of the writing is nothing short of extaordinary. From the first episode, Gilmore girls pulls its fans in so quickly that before you know it, it's hard not to go one day without the friendly and familiar faces of Lorelai, Rory, Sookie, Luke, Lane, Kirk, and the rest of the Gilmore cast. Even if you have never seen the show, you would in no doubt be pleased and feel that you've gotten your money's worth by going out and purchasing all five seasons on DVD. From the Luke and Lorelai romance to Rory's struggle to find herself to Sookie's quirky moments and Lane's rock and roll life, Gilmore girls season 5 proves to be yet another wonderful display of Amy- Sherman Palladino's incredible talent as a producer. Practically perfect in every way! Gilmore girls deserves more than five stars. If I could, I would give it a one hundred and five. By the way, John Q., wrong grammar usage. So are the rest of the idiots, not so is. Hmm, pretty ignorant. Don't be fooled! The girls will do nothing but please you. As a Gilmore fan you begin to develop relationships with the characters like no other TV show around. This show is BEYOND television. Its just Gilmore girls. You can't even describe it. Oye with the poodles already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Without Question, The Girls Are Back!, November 7, 2005
This review is from: Gilmore Girls: Season 5 (Digipack) (DVD)
It's very safe to say that season five of GG was a startling and smashing return to form. Coming off of the misguided season four, which started off on the wrong foot but ended with a blaze of glory, season five was the kind of season that reminded you why you loved this show, and you were just glad that it was back in glorious form. There were some things that didn't quite gel as the season progressed, but they are minor quibbles. Nothing to detract from a fine season. Why so good?. The show was back to itself. Mother and daughter were more close again, and the show just had that special GG tone back. The writing was back on firmer Gilmore ground, new storylines were fresh, brilliantly done, and for this show and characters, daring. The humor was always there, but it was better and even spicier than in season four. This is the GG I knew and love. The season premiere, "Say Goodbye To Daisy Miller", was a brilliant season opener, and if you know who Daisy Miller is, the title makes perfect sense. Basically, Rory slept with married Dean, and that is causing major ripples in their lives. Dean's marriage crumbles, and Rory is in this interesting new state. Meanwhile, Lorelai and Luke are an item, and the episode "Written In The Stars", is a magical, sweet, romantic, and sweet tour de force that has the duo going on their first date. Rory meets rich kid Logan Huntberger, and it is the beginning of a new relationship. I didn't like Logan, but events towards the end of the season changed my mind a little. Other great episodes include the series' 100th episode, "Wedding Bell Blues", where Richard and Emily re-tie the knot. An amazing episode that begins a strong seperation between Lorelai and Emily. The end of the season finds Rory getting a job at one of Logans' dad's newspapers. But in "Blame Booze And Mellville", our little Rory gets disheartening news and reacts in a shocking and un-Rory way. That's what makes it great. The finale, "A House Is Not A Home", is a major piece of GG television. It sets up situations that are major in these girls' lives, and carry over into season six. It rivals season four's fantastic finale in a major way. There are plenty of other good to great episodes, but too many to all name here. Not all are great, like "I Jump, You Jump, Jack" and "Norman Mailer I'm Pregnant!", which does feature the famed author, but there isn't a bad one in the bunch. The writing is top notch and back to fighting form. This was easily one of the show's best seasons ever. The storytelling was rich, and the GG heart, humor, and drama were in full force. This season was one of the most complex and the most rejuvenated. The town of Stars Hollow itself and it's number of looney, but beloved, citizens are just as much a part of the show as anyone else, and I think they got the short shrift in season four. But they are all back and more involved than last year. Lauren Graham continues to shine and is the number one actress who continues to be Emmy-worthy, but never gets the much sought after award. Not even a nomination!. Alexis Bledel as Rory continues to blossom into such a young beauty, and this season has both women in new, different, exciting, and challenging places. Season five of Gilmore Girls is great television. The girls are definitley back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Season Yet, December 12, 2005
By 
This review is from: Gilmore Girls: Season 5 (Digipack) (DVD)
"Gilmore Girls: Season 5" is the best season yet of this beloved show for one simple reason: Luke and Lorelai. It finally happens, but not without struggle and heartbreak. This season is also a little controversial because Rory begins her downward spiral which only ends(?) with her bottoming out in season 6. My favorite episode is probably "Wrtten in the Stars", a lovely, deceptively sweet show when Luke ardently proclaims his love and Lorelai is subtly equivocal, thus setting up the smash-up in the middle of the season. Other soon to be legendary episodes are "Wedding Bell Blues", the 100th episode, when Emily and Christopher nearly succeed in destroying Luke and Lorelai; "Pulp Friction", the real reconciliation episode; and of course the season finale "A House is Not a Home", where Rory finally loses it after a mind screw-over courtesy of the Huntzberger family. (I wonder; is that supposed to remind us of the Sulzbergers of the "New York Times"? What did that newspaper ever do to Amy Sherman-Palladino, hmm?) This is just a classic TV series, and I shouldn't have to remind men that it features two very hot actresses; winsome Alexis Bledel, and the staggeringly charismatic Lauren Graham. If you are looking for a place to begin with the "Gilmore Girls world, season 5 is a choice place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Gilmore Girls: Season 5 (Digipack)
Gilmore Girls: Season 5 (Digipack) by Matthew Diamond (DVD - 2005)
$39.98 $19.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.