Customer Reviews


405 Reviews
5 star:
 (223)
4 star:
 (92)
3 star:
 (51)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 79 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ginger Snaps
Ginger Snaps. What can I say about this movie? I saw it when I was seventeen years old on HBO and instantly fell in love with it before the opening credits were through. Gore and cheesy effects aside, I have to say this movie is brilliant. It was a pretty original spin on the werewolf theme. If you like animals, especially dogs, you might have a hard time watching this at...
Published on March 15, 2006 by Delphine Debeaumont

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The next generation of horror films.
In the 1990's horror took a disturbing turn. Vampire's went from being soulless evil bloodsuckers to misunderstood addicts and serial killers went from being horrifying to quaintly fascinating. Now, we get Ginger Snaps, a well-crafted film that attempts to expand the genre while still maintaining some good scares. For the most part, it works. Ginger and Brigette are a...
Published on April 11, 2002 by Dustin Dunaway


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 79 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ginger Snaps, March 15, 2006
By 
This review is from: Ginger Snaps (DVD)
Ginger Snaps. What can I say about this movie? I saw it when I was seventeen years old on HBO and instantly fell in love with it before the opening credits were through. Gore and cheesy effects aside, I have to say this movie is brilliant. It was a pretty original spin on the werewolf theme. If you like animals, especially dogs, you might have a hard time watching this at some parts. For being a low budget film, it gets pretty graphic.

I love the relationship between the two sisters, Brigitte and Ginger, and how Ginger's transformation, which they at first mistake for puberty, tears them apart, but they are still connected by their sisterly bond.

The acting is great; I think they did a great job casting the leads, Ginger and Brigitte, the score is beautiful, and the story is captivating. I do have to say that the opening credits are still my favorite part of the movie. I think it portrays the relationship between Brigitte and Ginger very well and you also get a glimpse into their dark and sarcastic realities.

Great movie! I just got the trilogy for Christmas and I'm absolutely ecstatic! If you like Ginger Snaps, I definitely recommend watching the third movie of the trilogy; Ginger Snaps Back: The Beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, but don't buy this version, December 11, 2005
By 
Ron Moses (New Hampshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ginger Snaps (DVD)
It's a great little flick, but if you decide to pick it up, do whatever it takes to track down a copy of the Canadian Special Edition. It's R1, so no problem there. But it's in widescreen (this one is P&S), there's a commentary track, and a number of extras. This one's pretty much bare bones. So do yourself a favor and get Googling for a copy of the Canadian edition. You'll be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's What Little Girls Are Made Of..., April 14, 2006
This review is from: Ginger Snaps (DVD)
What would you do if you found that your sister was turning into a werewolf? This is the problem that faces Brigitte (Emily Perkins), when her sister Ginger (Katherine Isabelle) suddenly reaches womanhood and hairiness at the same time. The two young Goths, fascinated by suicide, loners in a normal high school suddenly find themselves at odds after years of close companionship. Ginger dives into a whirlwind of appetite - sex, drugs, and violence. Brigitte finds herself alienated, desperate to help a sister who cares less and less every day.

At first Ginger's powers are almost welcome. A chance to get even with the world and be free from the limitations of society and parents. But the change that is coming over her isn't a slight allergic reaction to moonlight. Inexorably, her body changes, and she must confront countless contradictions between her actions, and her remorse each step of the way.

For Brigitte the horror is losing a sister and waging a desperate struggle to reverse the process. Once Ginger was the leader, but now Brigitte must find her own power in a effort that becomes more painful as Ginger sinks into bestiality. Brigitte becomes the cleanup crew, the fixer, and the loyal friend. She also delivers much of the subtle sarcasm that keeps the audience unprepared for the tour-de-force ending.

Somebody should have warned me about this film. For some reason I got it in my head that this was something on the lighthearted side of horror. Instead it is one of those dark films that cross over from horror into the bleakest noir. The acting is surprisingly good, building gradually from hokey teenage horror to a kind of fevered tragic pitch that leaves you stunned in the final moments. The effects are a bit amateurish, but the impact isn't. The film has a surprising number of layers, from coming of age to self-realization.

There are no extras on this DVD. No subtitles, no languages, just the film and the trailer. And just for once I would actually like to hear the director comment of explain something of the concept of the film. But this is a low cost production, and I'm glad the transfer was successful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Ginger Snaps" A Howling Good Time, November 12, 2008
This review is from: Ginger Snaps (DVD)
"Ginger Snaps" A Howling Good Time

"Ginger Snaps" takes the old cautionary tale of Little Red Riding and turns it on its furry ear. Instead of Lon Chaney Jr. howling at the moon and chasing poor unsuspecting girls through the woods - enter the Fitzgerald sisters, Ginger and Brigitte (Katharine Isabelle and Emily Perkins) two slightly morbid, teenage sisters entering puberty who are about to experience "the curse," and put a whole new humorous lycanthropic spin on the phrase "that time of month." Ginger has "the bite" put on her by a werewolf while walking through the woods with her sister. She then begins to experience "the change" much to the horror of her younger sister Brigitte. Ginger begins experiencing cramps, ill temper, hair in strange places, and a new found "taste" for boys much to the horror of Brigitte who must hide her sister's secret, clean up the mess, and find a way to help end the terrible curse before Ginger "snaps" again!

"Ginger Snaps" is a horror at it's best. The film benefits greatly by a strong cast, particularly Perkins and Isabelle as the Fitzgerald sisters, Kris Lemche as a dope dealing, knight in shining armor/love interest, and Mimi Rogers - who is a real hoot playing a well meaning but ineffectual "Beaver Cleaver" house mom trying to help her teenage daughters deal with the trials of puberty.

Though Karen Walton and John Fawcett's script was written tongue in cheek - the film has many genuinely horrific moments. There is more than enough blood, gore and entrails here to keep any bonafide horror fan happy. That being said, because this Canadian film production had a tight budget, it relies primarily on acting, atmosphere and suspense building to deliver the scares - probably a plus rather than a minus. Our lycanthrope is seen only in glimpses a la "Alien" until near the end of the film. Thankfully, the makeup and special effects it does employ are innovative and decently done.

Director John Hawcett does a fine job creating a dark chilling atmosphere. He moves the plot at a good pace, deftly interweaving moments of horror and humour. Though the scares come fast and frequent, Fawcett wisely takes the time to give us glimpses into the amusingly macabre life and relationships of the Fitzgerald sisters. Their situation may be fantastic and comic, but the Fitzgeralds, though misfits, are in many ways average teens, dealing with everyday teenage problems (problems with parents, teachers, peers, bullies, boys, etc.) and thus draw empathy from the audience. The gritty dialogue and snapshots of high school life help to underline this realism and contribute to the viewer's willing suspension of disbelief.

The only place where I felt the film didn't quite work was the ending which seemed cliché when compared to the innovativeness of earlier parts of the film. I won't go into any in depth criticism and spoil it for those who haven't seen the film, but suffice it to say that perhaps the reason for this may have been that it was written with a sequel in mind ("Ginger Snaps" ultimately became a trilogy).

As a caution, though definitely not gratuitous, some may feel that the language, gore, nudity and explicit sexuality is over the top.

Though not perfect, "Ginger Snaps" is still the most innovative horrifying piece of lycanthropic lunacy to come down the pike in decades. I highly recommend it to fans of the genre. "Ginger Snaps" is a howling good time!

Rob Rheubottom
Winnipeg, MB Canada
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puberty was never so terrifying, August 16, 2005
This review is from: Ginger Snaps (DVD)
In my perpetual quest to find werewolf movies that are not utter tripe, I stumbled across Ginger Snaps. I didn't know quite what to expect from a film with such an unconventional name. I got the "snaps" part (you know, wolves snap at people) but not the Ginger part.

Ginger, as it turns out, is Ginger Fitzgerald (Katharine Isabelle), a sulky goth chick preteen who is about to become a teen in a hurry. Her younger sister is Brigitte (Emily Perkins), who hides behind her hair. This dark duo, shades of Ghost World, enjoys staging gory death scenes and photographing them for art class. The girls are pros at it too, and the photographs we see plastered over their basement apartment are simultaneously disturbing and amusing.

The two girls are the daughters of Henry (John Bourgeois) and Pamela (Mimi Rogers). It's telling that the girls live in the basement together. They have a lot of freedom, a result of the parental strife going on upstairs.

As a young male, I remember coming back from junior high to high school and suddenly noticing that certain girls had blossomed into vivacious women. I wasn't the only one who noticed either. Ginger Snaps takes the perspective of the girls going through puberty, most specifically from Brigitte who is the younger of the two sisters. But of course, puberty just wouldn't be the same without a little lycanthropy.

As Ginger puts to the school nurse: "I've got hair in places I didn't before, I'm having weird urges, and there's a lot of blood." Sounds like a typical teen, right?

And that's what makes Ginger Snaps such an excellent film. It's not about werewolves. It's not about the usual blarney about how a werewolf is a man's inner beast. We've seen all that before. Yeah, men have the capacity for horrible violence. We see it so much in the movies now that it's hard to get upset about it.

Transposing the angst of puberty into a parable for lycanthropy is a brilliant stroke. We watch in horror as Ginger hurdles towards hot chick status: she wears tight-fitting clothes, starts wearing makeup, and goes after the boys. She's becoming a woman and a werewolf at the same time. It's only through the lens of a horror movie that we understand the horrors of womanhood. And by horrors, I mean blood. Lots and lots of it. Menstrual blood, people blood, blood dripping from mouths, guts torn open (mostly dogs).

Throughout, the film stays true to its roots as a teen horror that's about teens. They curse, they smoke pot, they ogle each other, and sometimes they're just plain mean. Now imagine all those traits in a werewolf driven by hormonal rages that replace lust with rage, with the superhuman strength to back it up...and you have Ginger Snaps.

Ginger finally does snap, despite her sister's best efforts to restrain her. Brigitte allies with the drug dealer (Sam, played by Kris Lemche) whose van killed the original werewolf to manufacture a cure, but Ginger's changes go well beyond vamping into weird territory when she starts growing a tail. And then the hunger starts and somebody dies.

The acting is superb, the music appropriate, the special effects up to par without using CGI. Every actor pulls their weight admirably. The parents act like concerned but clueless adults and the daughters act like angry, sarcastic teens.

I often reference how movies sometimes fail to stay true to the characters. This is another way of saying that happy endings should never be forced. Ginger Snaps never shies away from the stark realities of broken homes, social pressures, or biological changes. The ending is harsh but appropriate.

"Out by sixteen or dead in this scene but together forever," swear the two girls over and over before the changes begin. They never had a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film which never got a chance. Watch it! Buy it!, November 8, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Ginger Snaps (DVD)
Despite gathering high praise on the festival circuit, "Ginger Snaps," in a move of embarassing stupidity, was dumped straight to video by Artisan Ent. Hollywood, after a handful of rotten "Scream" clones (like "Valentine") had tanked at the box office, felt Horror films were on the way out, and never gave this fantastic film a chance to succeed. Well, don't be fooled by the fact that you've never heard of this movie until you saw it on the video/DVD shelf... it's great. Using the classic turning-into-a-werewolf scenario as a metaphor for a young girl's entrance into womanhood, this film finds a fresh new angle on an oft-told tale. And, beyond being a horror film, it's also very much, if not more, a character study of two goth sisters who, at the film's beginning, are virtually inseparable but, through the course of the film, grow further apart as one grows hairier and more lustful (for more than just sex) while the other remains an "innocent" little girl. Despite the low-budget, the SFX are effective, better than some artificial CGI (they primarily use puppetry and good ol' fashioned gore). The two girls who play the sisters are fantastic and are aided and abetted by a strong supporting cast. Do yourself a favor: don't let this clever flick pass you by. Why, after seeing it, you may just have to own it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This movie gets in your head..., January 8, 2002
By 
James R. Wilks "solimond" (Hockessin, DE United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ginger Snaps (DVD)
Or, at least, it got in mine. Like a song that keeps playing, I found myself alternatively laughing and being depressed over this film for the following week (watching it over and over only slightly lessened this). I think, like me, anyone who didn't fit in during their high school years will immediately identify with the main characters. I think that this movie works as a horror film for all the reasons that most horror movies are fun to watch, but not scary. Horror, true horror, doesn't rely on things jumping out at the screen when you least (or most) expect it. The scariest form of horror is psychological. Ginger Snaps doesn't go for cheap scares, it pulls you in with it's unusual approach. Try and name a villain in this movie... there isn't one. Anonymously masked killers don't scare me. My loved one changing in front of my eyes... now THAT scares me. By the by, the collectors edition is available on DVD in Canada, and it contains all sorts of juicy features that this one doesn't have (like widescreen).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent entry in werewolf genre needs better DVD, September 6, 2005
By 
M. Daneker (Spinnerstown, Pa USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ginger Snaps (DVD)
Not a typical werewolf film (some inane reviewer called it a vampire film, obviously never watched it)Ginger Snaps, regardless of it's title, is an excellent film. Two sisters, barely a year apart, obsessed with death, with beign different, are suddenly thrust into a nightmare when the older, Ginger is bitten by a werewolf. Slowly she begins to change, she confuses a need for violence with lust, she spreads the disease and her now shut-out sister is left to search for a cure. The brilliance here is the emotional connection between the sister, tense, taunt humor and the twist of searching for a cure rather than a way to kill. There are also some very believable teen-age moments here and lots of great tension. The final moments of special effects with the mechanical monster-werewolf are horrible but the movie is excellent.

The DVD unfortunately is single layer, full frame with decent stereo and no low end or 5.1. No extras, just a trailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An overlooked gem!!, February 2, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Ginger Snaps (DVD)
I rented Ginger Snaps based on a review I read in Entertainment Weekly during the film's limited theatrical release last fall. I wasn't expecting much even though that review was fairly positive. When the movie was over I just sat there in stunned silence. A truly excellent horror film!! For starters, if you don't get creeped out by the opening title sequence, you must already be dead. Secondly, this movie has so many wonderful layers that I can't even cover them all in this space. It's a horror movie, a black comedy, a coming of age story, a family drama, a social satire and on and on and on and it covers all of these bases beautifully. And on top of all that it is SCARY SCARY SCARY!!!! It was so refreshing to see, once the monster rears it's head, an actual animatronic creation rather than some glossy, phony digital creation. Just rent this movie. You don't even have to be a horror fan. Just shut up and rent it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THIS ONE HAS SOME BITE TO IT, October 25, 2005
By 
Thomas D. Christianson (Ashland, WI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ginger Snaps (DVD)
A new age, teen werewolf movie with a big bite. Two sisters obsessed with death get a taste of it up close and personal. Truly terrifying with some dark humor sprinkled here and there. Unknowns, Emily Perkins and Katharine Isabelle, would seem to have a bright future in the making. Lots of gore, frights, and raging hormones. Everything you would want in a good horror story. This one gets you by the throat and does not let go. Highly recommended for fright fans.

Thanks, and sleep well,

Tom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ginger Snaps (Collector's Edition) [Bluray/DVD Combo] [Blu-ray]
$29.93 $18.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.