Buy Used
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by Indigoheirlooms
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Original Release made in England. complete with Liner Notes. IN STOCK, IMMEDIATE SHIPPING
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Giovanni & Andrea / Lo Sposalizio Import

5 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, August 11, 1998
"Please retry"
$29.95 $3.87

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

Lo Sposalizio: Ceremonial Wedding Of Venice To The Sea - S/T - Cd

The Venetians have always had a genius for celebration. Take, for example, Ascension Day: what began as a simple gathering of sailors to pray for St. Nicholas's protection became by the 16th century an opulent procession of barges across the Lagoon, a ceremony where the Doge (and Venice) ceremonially married the sea "as a sign of perpetual dominion" over it, and a sumptuous High Mass. Robert King has assembled (on a two-CDs-for-one set) an assortment of music for this occasion. Disc One, the Procession to the Lagoon, has an extraordinary variety of secular pieces: drum tattoos and trumpet fanfares; elegant instrumental works; grand multiple-choir madrigals; delicate pieces for three lutes; even Venetian church bells. The second disc (music from the Mass) has similar instrumental music and sprightly organ pieces mixed with impressive Mass movements for choir, soloists, and brass by the Gabrielis. Now this is a very worthwhile release, and the King's Consort performs very capably, every note in place--what's missing is a sense of excitement and festivity, the energy that Paul McCreesh would bring to such an occasion. (Try Music for San Rocco on DG Archiv and see.) --Matthew Westphal

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Single Tolling Bell Of San Marco
  2. Drums
  3. Rotta: Trumpet Fanfare
  4. Vieni, vieni Himeneo: Madrigal a 8
  5. Canzona XXIV a 8
  6. Kapsberger
  7. Cantiam de Dio: Madrigal a 12
  8. Drums
  9. La Battaglia: Canzona
  10. Lieto godea sedendo: Madrigal a 8
  11. Variazioni sopra La Folia: After
  12. La Leona: Canzon XIX a 8
  13. Variazione sopra La Ciaccona: After 17th-Century Italian Examples
  14. Udite, chiari et generosi figli: Madrigal a 16
  15. La Veneziana: Canzona
  16. Imperiale prima: Trumpet Fanfare And Drums

Disc: 2

  1. Tolling Church Bell
  2. Imperiale Seconda: Trumpet Fanfare
  3. Kyrie a 12
  4. Gloria a 16
  5. Intonatione Settimo tono
  6. Canzon per otto tromboni
  7. Sursum corda (Plainsong)
  8. Sanctus a 12
  9. Intonatione Primo tono
  10. Christe, adoramus te: Motet a 5
  11. Sonata XX a 22
  12. The Bells Of Venice

Product Details

  • Audio CD (August 11, 1998)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Hyperion UK
  • ASIN: B00000AE0A
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #474,652 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's Robert King Store

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
I have a lot of CD's with Renaissance/Gabrieli music, so I have become rather hypercritical and I didn't dare to expect too much. But thanks to Robert King both 'uncle' Andrea and 'nephew' Giovanni again have moved me deeply (for those who understand Portuguese: saudade...). No CD or book is a 'must', but this performance makes me wish I could play the sackbut (at all/this well).
Comment 9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
This recording is very impressive. It features a range of sacred and secular vocal and instrumental music by the Gabrielis and their contemporaries. The music is well sung and well played and the whole experience is very impressive. I do agree that Paul McCreesh often does this kind of 'reconstructed event' in music a little better but this is a fine effort.
There are some fabulous pieces here that are rarely recorded and I suspect that some of these works have received their recording debut here.
The vast madrigal by Giovani Gabrieli - 'Udite, chiari e generosi figli' and Andrea Gabrieli's polychoral madrigals 'Cantiam de Dio' and 'Vieni, vieni Himeneo' are beautifully performed here and I know of no other recordings of these works.
The Canzon per otto tromboni by Tiburtio Massaino is a deep and dark piece and suggests that this composer deserves further exploration.
A couple of minor criticisms - the madrigal Lieto Godea is taken at a snail's pace and it is hard to believe listening to this performance that this piece inspired so many composers! Also, the performance of the Sonata XX à 22 is a all right but the recording made by the Taverner Consort & Players under the direction of Andrew Parrott is vastly superior.
Overall, a very entertaining CD with a couple of interpretations that did not impress me very much. Buy with confidence!
Comment 7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
The is a stellar recording, based on events that took place on Ascension Day, 1600, and every year around that time in Venice. Venice, of course, has an economy and culture that are based on the sea, being built on a lagoon that enters into the Adriatic Sea. Over the years the fishermen would bless their boats, their catch, etc and it evolved into something quite spectacular! The bishop would lead the fleet of ships across the lagoon to the entrance to the Piazza San Marco, marry Venice to the Sea, then there would be a solemn Mass held in San Nicolo. All this is accompanied by tolling of the bells of San Marco, drums, fanfares, music of the Gabrielis and it became quite the ceremonial event! This recording is a reconstruction of that event and is extremely well recorded and the progress of the event is exciting to follow. This cd is a terrific experience of the Venetian tradition.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: vinyl pop