The Girl Behind the Glass and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $16.99
  • Save: $2.46 (14%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Good | Details
Sold by CWJBOOKS
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: exlibrary hardcover book in mylar jacket with light wear, shows some light reader wear throughout
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Girl Behind the Glass Hardcover – August 9, 2011


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$14.53
$1.98 $0.01
100%20Children%27s%20Books%20to%20Read%20in%20a%20Lifetime


Frequently Bought Together

The Girl Behind the Glass + Nature Girl
Price for both: $27.76

Buy the selected items together
  • Nature Girl $13.23

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Product Details

  • Age Range: 8 - 12 years
  • Grade Level: 3 - 7
  • Lexile Measure: 440L (What's this?)
  • Hardcover: 192 pages
  • Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers (August 9, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 037586220X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0375862205
  • Product Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.9 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 10.6 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,060,030 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

The Horn Book Magazine, November/December 2011:
A spooky old house and a contemporary family come together in this
multilayered mystery. Page-turning . . . well above the ordinary.

School Library Journal
, September 2011:
The creep factor is never in doubt. Suggest this one to fans of Mary Downing Hahn who can't get enough chills.

Publishers Weekly, July 2011:
Chilling and lyrical, Kelley's second novel is a ghost story with a cryptic narrator whose identity gradually comes into focus. The ethereal tone and steady parceling out of warning, clues, and bits of information . . .will keep readers invested in the unfolding mystery.

The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, July 2011:
Kelley nails it. This has a pleasing amount of chill for readers who've moved beyond Marion Dane Bauer's gentler elementary spooky tales.

Kirkus Reviews, July 2011:
It takes a haunted house to break the bond of identical twins. Mounting creepiness with well-placed spine-tingling moments make this scary story perfect for fans of Mary Downing Hahn.

About the Author

JANE KELLEY is the author of the middle-grade novel, Nature Girl (Random House, 2010). She lives in Brooklyn with her husband, her daughter, and a black cat who sometimes cries in the night for no apparent reason. You can visit her website at JaneKelleyBooks.com.

More About the Author

Jane is the 2013 Thurber House Children's Writer in Residence. She lives in Brooklyn, New York with her husband, her daughter, and her cat. She grew up in Mequon, Wisconsin, on the edge of a magical woods. If you want to find out more about Jane, visit her website www.janekelleybooks.com

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 13 customer reviews
The ending really surprised me. all in all, it was great.
Jethro Tull
I remember so well being afraid of the dark closet in my bedroom growing up.
Sabadotarde
I think i will defiantly read this book over and over again.
makayla

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By KidsReads on November 11, 2011
Format: Hardcover
When their older sister Selena fails to get into a decent New York City private school, identical twins Hannah and Anna aren't exactly surprised. After all, Selena has never been the brightest bulb on the tree. But they're certainly not prepared for all the changes that are about to ensue thanks to Selena's academic failings. The whole family up and moves from their beloved Brooklyn neighborhood to a small suburban town, where everyone drives everywhere and there's neither a bookstore nor a decent coffee shop.

What's more, the old house they're renting while their new house is being remodeled is creaky, smelly and teeming with critters. What with the mice in the cupboards and the bats in the attic, Hannah and Anna feel like they're surrounded by creatures who they can't see...but who are watching their every move.

Before long, Selena has settled into her new public high school. Even Anna has made a new friend, a girl named Georgia who rejects Hannah as being "weird." That leaves Hannah on her own, plagued by mysterious voices and rumors of a girl with green eyes.

Who haunts the mysterious, gloomy house on Hemlock Road? Is it the World War I soldier still uneasy at the thought of the deaths he caused? Or the ominous "ILDRED" who carved her name in the haunted closet off Selena's room? Or maybe the real specter is something more insidious --- and far closer to home.

Part of the unsettling feeling of reading Jane Kelley's THE GIRL BEHIND THE GLASS is not knowing who --- or what --- the narrator is. Even as Hannah, in particular, is struggling to figure out what haunts her new home, readers are equally involved in figuring out the nature of the increasingly unstable and even menacing narrator who tells the story. Is she a simple narrator?
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Jethro Tull on February 2, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition
i really loved The Girl Behind The Glass. Throughout the whole book there are suggestions of murder, and we wonder who... or what the evil ILDRED is. The ending really surprised me. all in all, it was great.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Story Circle Book Reviews on December 13, 2011
Format: Hardcover
In a decidedly different voice, author Jane Kelley once again explores the nature of familial relationships. The Girl Behind the Glass is a darker story than Nature Girl, Kelley's debut novel. This new offering revolves around eleven-year-old identical twins Anna and Hannah, older boy- and clothes-crazy teenaged sister Selena, their parents, and a rather determined ghost that is spiritually tethered to the house on Hemlock Road.

Hemlock Road--the rundown creepy house that the Zimmer family is renting until they can move into their new home. Hemlock Road--the house with the green eyes, unexpanded events and a sad, tragic history.

The ghost of Hemlock Road narrates the story, and her identity takes shape slowly. Her loneliness and emotional pain are palpable as she shares her viewpoint on older sisters, relationships, trust, and friendship. She seeks to come between the twins in order to establish a connection and friendship with Hannah, initially to do her bidding, to right a wrong.

The Girl Behind the Glass is a story filled with just the right amount of thrills and chills. One that will grab the interest of young girls and have them quickly turning the pages as they root for all of the characters--while coming to understand that unconditional love binds and forgiveness frees the soul.

by Judy Miller
for Story Circle Book Reviews
reviewing books by, for, and about women
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Overseas Mom on November 2, 2011
Format: Hardcover
Overall Review: How scary it must be to live in a haunted house. Hannah and her twin sister Anna (and their family) have moved into a house that is purported to be haunted by a ghost with green eyes. But ghosts aren't real, right? But what if the house you live in seems to have random gusts of wind...inside? And a tree branch (just one) that waves at you? And what if the longer you live there, the more you start to feel anger and hatred and suspicion of everyone around you? And is that a voice I hear? Why is the ghost still there, and what does she want everyone (especially Hannah) to know?

The point of view of this story is so interesting. It is all told from the eyes of the ghost who haunts the house. How often do we get the ghosts' side of the story? The tone is dark and foreboding, and while it gives you chills and makes you want to turn up the lights, it also keeps your attention and is difficult to put down! The Girl Behind the Glass is not only a great ghost story for a younger audience, it is also full of the importance of family--especially sisters!--and of understanding and forgiveness. Overall rating is 4 out of 5 stars!

Content Review:

PROFANITY: None

VIOLENCE: Mild throughout

SEXUAL CONTENT: Two very mild instances

MATURE THEMES: Moderate

RECOMMENDED AGE GROUP: 14+

There was one crude reference to a girl's large behind, but there was no profanity.

There is some mild violence. The narrator is a ghost and alludes often to her murder (death) and that of small creatures. A character almost drowns in a swamp. A character is hit over the head by a somewhat crazy person and drowns in a pond. Bats fly around and seem to attack people (they really don't).
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?