Girl, Get Your Mind Right and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Girl, Get Your Mind Right! Paperback – July 10, 2007


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback, July 10, 2007
$51.58 $0.99

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Product Details

  • Paperback: 130 pages
  • Publisher: iUniverse, Inc. (July 10, 2007)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 059545402X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0595454020
  • Product Dimensions: 8 x 5 x 0.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 4.8 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (65 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #950,408 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From the Back Cover

After losing herself too many times to the wrong man—after watching too many friends suffer from the lies and games of "mind wrecking" males—Tionna Tee Smalls started the "Girl, Get Your Mind Right" movement. Her goal is to help every woman find the right man—no more settling and no more nights alone. Tionna says it's time for you to stop blaming yourselves for your toxic love lives and take a deep, hard look at why you're attracting the wrong men in the first place.

Gathering together all the good advice that made her a star on VH1's What Chilli Wants, Tionna Tee Smalls sugar-coats nothing, pulls no punches, and tells women how it really is. Girl, Get Your Mind Right will show you the correct ways to deal with every man who worms his way into your heart—from the broke cheater all the way up to Mr. Right.

--This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

About the Author

Tionna Smalls is a writer, community advocate, socialite, and entrepreneur from Brooklyn, New York. She is the proud owner of a small event management company called La Smalls Concierge. Tionna is also the creator of the Million Dollar Lady Luncheon; a networking luncheon that focuses on uniting women entrepreneurs through out the United States. She is also the creator of the popular blog, Talk Dat Ish. Tionna hopes to complete her B.A. degree in Sociology at Stony Brook University.

More About the Author

Tionna Tee Smalls is best known as the Relationship Advisor on Vh1's What Chilli Wants (Season 1 and 2) who helped pop star Rozonda "Chilli" Thomas on her quest to find love. In this follow-up to her successful, award-winning book, Girl, Get Your Mind Right! (HarperCollins, 2011). Smalls resides in New York City with her fiance'.

Customer Reviews

I have learned so much from reading this book and have already started making changes in my life regarding relationships with men.
Chely
As a maturing woman you do not want to kick all your relationship business to get sketchy advice from nosey or bitter girlfriends and that is where this book comes in!
Toya
If you can get past the many grammatical errors, run-on sentences and the unnecessary vulgar language throughout, you may find this book somewhat entertaining.
A. D. Greene

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

29 of 33 people found the following review helpful By A. Robinson on April 29, 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Oh goodness...where do I begin? I was so excited to read this book, and found myself overall disappointed. I couldn't believe with the frequent gramatical errors, run-ons, and misused phrases, that this book made it onto the shelves. I could look past it though, and continued to give it a chance well into the first chapter. I'm 22, a single mom with a career, who also owns a home. I felt like I am more in a place where I have my "mind right" moreso than the author of this book. YIKES!! I didn't realize this until the end of the first chapter, when the author talks about children like they aren't people. I found myself a bit offended, and put the book down...only to pick it back up the next day just to be more disappointed. Some ignorant things are said...the book makes little sense and the subjects never stay on point...REFUND PLEASE!!
5 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful By Tyler on April 17, 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I found out about this author and book a few night ago when I was up late one night flipping TV channels and came across the new show, "What Chili Wants?" where the author, Tionna Smalls, is helping the singer Chili, from the group TLC, to find a mate in 8 weeks. The show and author were quite entertaining and it prompted me to order her book. It is truly an awesome read. I finished it in 2 days because I just could not put it down. I could relate to so many points made in the book and I see how several of my friends could benefit from reading it as well. Congrats to the author for writing a book that is just so pure, raw and real. Ms. Smalls holds back no punches, has an incredible way with words and the ability to uplift. I loved it. It is a book that all women should read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Miz Samuel on April 22, 2011
Format: Paperback
This was a very informative book. If you can't relate to any of the scenarios used in this book then consider yourself lucky. "Girl, Get Your Mind Right!" helps you find ways to better yourself and be your own individual while you pursue a man. If you haven't been in a negative relationship you can use this book to prevent yourself from being a victim. After I read this book, I've gained knowledge on the signs that many women disregard because of their quench for love. Many times it is better to let it go before it even gets started. Tionna has been through her share of relationships and has written this book in hopes to help other women out. I have a better understanding of not only men, but myself as well after reading this book. Because of this book, my new word is "NO", and I know its OK to want more for myself and never settle for anything less than what I deserve. I've been recommending this book to all my friends who have a story to tell me about the guy they're dealing with and I would definitely recommend this book to you.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By The RAWSISTAZ Reviewers on January 20, 2011
Format: Paperback
**Review based upon January 2011 Re-released version of the book**

When I saw the title GIRL, GET YOUR MIND RIGHT! by Tionna Tee Smalls, my first thought was what a catchy title in the vein of Girl, Get Your Money Straight. And once I started reading it, I realized there were a few similarities, but GIRL, GET YOUR MIND RIGHT! is a straight, no-chaser book that gets to the heart of how women, particularly, young single women give themselves away to any man who comes along, so long as he has male parts.

There was nothing new or earth-shattering in the book, but Smalls, who has forged a career in print and on television for her no-nonsense approach to the goings on between men and women, brought it from her perspective which was fresh and often hilarious. I loved the way she revealed herself in the book and the mistakes she made in the dating game. Also, the way she separated the book into chapters and sub-chapters added to the appeal. She listed the types of men and why and how we respond to them. I also loved that she had no problem using `colorful' slang words so there was no confusion about what she meant.

There were many times throughout the book, when I said, "umm hmm, child you better preach." Because, while so much of what she said, such as value yourself, do not confuse sex with love, et al was so common sense. I know far too many young women are compromising themselves to have a man; any man. I am sure there are those who will see GIRL, GET YOUR MIND RIGHT! as male bashing, but I am going to say it is not. It is an empowerment book for women written by a woman. Smalls is simply pro-woman without being anti-anything else.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful By booksense154 on January 20, 2011
Format: Paperback
I was really interested in reading the book based on the promotion and comments received on twitter, so I made my way to the bookstore to support. I got through 4 chapters and couldn't read anymore. I echo the same sentiments as others; too many grammatical errors and the content was all over the place. The book had some potential, but should have been thoroughly reviewed by a highly-qualified editor. I seriously doubt this book was carefully reviewed, which is unfortunate for Tionna. She is in the public eye through Chilli's show, so it would behoove her and her team to ensure that she incorporates quality in all of her work if she wants people to take these endeavors seriously. I understand wanting to speak your everyday language to make your words more "real", but it must be done tastefully so that readers can follow what you're saying. My overall diagnosis for Tionna is to get a serious team of literary professionals around her that value quality and try again.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews