Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Girl Gone Wild
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Recess Monkey Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars20
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 2, 2012
The lady really knows how to make you want to dance.

I can see this being played in every club and even in strip joints!

Madonna always seems to make songs that you want to hear over and over again, and this one is no different. It connects with
some inner part of you that only she consistently is able to touch. It's a genre, [MOODY DANCE MUSIC], that she is the master of, think "Deeper and Deeper" from Erotica, "Get Together" and "Sorry" from Confessions On A Dance Floor, and many others.

This is the reason she and she alone is QUEEN.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2012
enjoyable, glossy disco - dance pop, love it! i can't wait to listen to the rest of the album! girls they just wanna have some fun ;)
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2012
This is one hot track to dance and sing to. Girl is a true blend of artist and producer, although you can clearly hear Benny's influence Madonna and her influence and energy come through on this track full force. Its a fun, dance/pop record with heavy electro elements that I think work well with todays crossover market. This is very similar to the work with Calvin Harris and Rihanna, where the producer and the artist blend and combine to push out some of their best work as a collaboration and celebration of the individual instead of fighting against each other. GREAT TRACK
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2012
I must say that this track is much better that Gimme All Your Luvin, I love the way she sampled her own "Act of Contrition" at the beginning. It does sound a lot like Celebration mixed with Get Together but the song is really growing on me. Lyrically Madonna isn't at the top of her game with this track but who cares, it is a fun song that is sure to burn up the dance floors. The only problem is i don't think we will be hearing this song on US radio anytime soon but I can't wait to hear this song live on her tour later this year. Buy it you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2012
After the disappointing - if not downright awful - release of Give Me all Your Luvin' as the lead single from Madonna's 2012 album MDNA, Girl Gone Wild was a welcome change of pace, and in all truth probably should have come out first in order to spare longtime fans like myself several months of dread and anxiety, lol.

Opening with the same spoken prayer from 1989's Act of Contrition, the track soon explodes into a powerhouse dance anthem that very nearly ventures into rave territory. Produced by Benny Benassi, it's more than a little reminiscent of his remix for Madonna's 2009 single Celebration, which in this case is a good thing. True, it isn't the most profound song you'll ever hear, and at times Madonna's vocals sound a bit wooden as if she were reading the lyrics from a page, but the lush production of it all more than makes up for any shortcomings and it is without a doubt one of the highlights of the album, at least in my opinion. Glow stick not included.

What IS included on this CD, however, is the Justin Cognito remix of Girl Gone Wild, which is actually quite good and gives the song a completely different vibe without outshining the original. Madonna's vocals are layered over a simple tribal beat, but what really caught my attention was how the first couple "hey-ey-ey" parts are almost entirely acapella! That totally took me by surprise, but it works well and I love it. For what it's worth, I believe this mix is also featured as a bonus track on the Japanese deluxe version of MDNA.

Despite being a huge fan and collector, I'm no sheep and can actually be quite critical when it comes to Madonna (especially in recent years) but this is one song I feel no shame in legitimately gushing over, lol. Eight or nine other remixes are already available for download, and rumor has it a physical maxi-single is slated to be released here in the US sometime in the near future, but honestly, I'll believe it when I see it. Meanwhile, this 2-track import CD single is fantastic in and of itself and definitely worth checking out if you get the opportunity.
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2012
All I can say is that this song is one hot track. It is a definite club hit. Its Sorry meets Act of Contrition. Although it is not a drastic change or experimental in any way, it is still a great song to listen & dance to. Madonna wants to party and have fun and this song is a perfect example. Girl Gone Wild is about letting go and getting wild. Just BUY IT, play it LOUD and enjoy the song!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2012
Girl Gone Wild is fantastic-love the thumping beats and fun lyrics!! Hope it is a huge hit! Cannot wait for MDNA to be released!!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2012
Thank you, Madonna, for finally releasing the REAL first single from MDNA. Something tells me "Give Me All Your Luvin'" was created as a Super Bowl tie-in, given the video, the performance, etc. But lucky for gay men and dance music enthusiasts the world over, the Queen has put her dukes up once again and thrown out "Girl Gone Wild" as a pre-release "second single," three weeks before the record is due in stores. Musically, it's not genius--but turn the speakers up and you won't care. You'll be too busy trying not to trip over the coffee table while you dance wildly. Trust me. I've been there three times today.

My only complaint is that, days within this single's official release, Madonna and Co. made an official name change for this track after being threatened by legal action from Joe Francis and his Girls Gone Wild empire. While M's manager and long-time friend, Guy Oseary, has gone on record stating the name change did not stem from Francis' 'cease and desist' letter, I call B.S. Madonna's very own MADONNAVEVO on YouTube originally posted the track with the plural "Girls" title. When stories began to circulate concerning the drama and legal correspondence, the name change drops. WTF, Madonna? You're Madonna. You should have kept it your way. Or was that someone else telling her Dad she wasn't changing her show for him because it comprimised her artistic integrity? Oh, how I long for the early 90's sometimes...
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2014
There's a long time I love this kindda Pictures of Madonna. The album MDNA did not come with lots of physics material like singles, or maxi singles, so, this is a best way to make my amazon'collection higher and higher. Love. Thank you Amazon for being so organised. It came exactly 15th days after I bought.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2013
It's better than "Hung Up" and it's just what one would come to expect from the Queen of Pop herself! Beat for beat, measure for measure, word for word, this one will keep you on the dancefloor for a good long time! It's actually surprising to me how it wasn't a #1 Pop hit. I don't get it. It's got all the makings of ANY and ALL of her previous Pop hits. Thankfully, it was a #1 Dance hit. AbsoLUTELY LOVE IT!!! Hopefully, you will TOO! :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.