Customer Reviews


291 Reviews
5 star:
 (216)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood Collection is GREAT!
I am a big ELVIS fan... The six titles in this set were only on VSH until now. Charro was released on dvd before but quality was poor. This new version of CHARRO is wonderful... I can't find anything on the package that states it is re-mastered But I have just watched it. The color and sound are perfect. This Hollywood Collection dvd of Charro is the very best version...
Published on August 7, 2007 by Cindy Dooley

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Elvis Lite
What can be said of another formulaic Elvis Presley movie? The usual elements of music, romance, comedy, and exotic locations are present. The songs are typical light weight rock 'n roll fluff from the mid-sixties. Ultimately, the allure of this film is one's interest in Elvis Presley. As is well known, the mid-sixties were a creative wasteland in the career of one...
Published on February 16, 2000 by Robert S. Clay Jr.


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood Collection is GREAT!, August 7, 2007
By 
Cindy Dooley (Omaha, NE United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am a big ELVIS fan... The six titles in this set were only on VSH until now. Charro was released on dvd before but quality was poor. This new version of CHARRO is wonderful... I can't find anything on the package that states it is re-mastered But I have just watched it. The color and sound are perfect. This Hollywood Collection dvd of Charro is the very best version I've ever seen!
GIRL HAPPY and KISSIN' COUSINS - On the back of each dvd case it states it is a new digital transfer of complete original theatrical version. But nothing about being re-mastered.
TICKLE ME, STAY AWAY JOE, LIVE A LITTLE LOVE A LITTLE - are all great quality dvd movies.
All dvds are widescreen version and subtitles are English or French *except Tickle Me is English only. For each movie titled there is a set of 4 movie set pictures & 1 mini movie poster enclosed in each case. Pictures are approximately 7 inches by 4.5 inches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GIRL HAPPY-ONE OF THE MOST ENTERTAINING MOVIES EVER!!!, May 29, 2007
This review is from: Girl Happy (DVD)
I love every second of this film. Elvis is at his peak and Shelley Fabares is at her most beautiful. The supporting cast is also great: Gary Crosby, Jimmy Hawkins, Joby Baker, Nita Talbot, Harold J. Stone, Chris Noel, Mary Ann Mobley. Every song is great and the chemistry between Elvis & Shelley really shows strong here. No Elvis movie collection should be complete without his best film. I give it an 11 out of 10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FUN IN THE SUN, September 14, 2002
By 
Carl Savich (Detroit, MI, USA) - See all my reviews
GIRL HAPPY is a fun 1965 musical comedy starring Elvis Presley. GIRL HAPPY features Shelley Fabares, who herself had a number one hit record with JOHNNY ANGEL in 1962. Fabares, who was a cast member of THE DONNA REED SHOW, later starred in the ABC comedy series COACH. There is a great scene where she sings while driving a car. Fabares and Elvis click on the big screen. GIRL HAPPY is a fun in the sun movie.

The movie is a musical comedy that pokes fun at the spring break movies of the early 1960s. It is similar in style to GREASE or the BEACH BLANKET BINGO/BEACH PARTY movies or the ROCKY HORROR PICTURE SHOW or BYE BYE BIRDIE. So if you liked those, you will like GIRL HAPPY. It has the usual Elvis movie routines: A fist fight, singing on a stage, singing while driving a car, water skiing, riding a motocycle, and doing the Clam, a new dance that never quite caught on, but which is fun to watch nevertheless. Shelley Fabares and Mary Ann Mobley saunter on the beach and in the pool in bikinis. GIRL HAPPY, indeed!

Jackie Coogan, who played Uncle Fester on the Addams Family TV series and was in the Charlie Chaplin movies, plays a policeman. Elvis even impersonates a woman to get out of jail.

The movie is a tongue in cheek take on the spring break movies. The plot and screenplay are adequate. The music is excellent although lyrically weak. The best song is PUPPET ON A STRING by Sid Tepper and Roy Bennett. The musical score is very good but many of the songs are merely typical movie musical numbers, such as FORT LAUDERDALE CHAMBER OF COMMERCE and WOLF CALL. But Elvis performs them well. They are obviously tongue in cheek numbers that are not to be taken too seriously.

GIRL HAPPY is entertaining. This version includes the original movie trailer. The picture quality and sound are excellent. This is not Elvis' best movie but it is a very good one from his "middle period", 1963-1966, when his movies were following a pre-set formula.

If you liked GREASE, BYE BYE BIRDIE or WHERE THE BOYS ARE, you will like GIRL HAPPY. GIRL HAPPY is an enjoyable movie. Elvis sounds great toting a canary yellow Fender Telecaster guitar with a Bigsby tremolo bar. In VIVA LAS VEGAS from 1964, Elvis played a sunburst Fender Stratocaster.

See why Elvis was the artist of the century and why TV GUIDE named Elvis Entertainer of the Century. Elvis could do it all. Enjoy the fun in the sun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Agree it should be on DVD !!!!, September 24, 2005
By 
Jon Wolf (Atlanta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I grew up watching this movie and singing all the songs. I love Viva Las Vegas and all his big hits, but Girl Happy to me just has it all. Its kind of how I imagined Elvis would be, singing and chasing after women. Please put it on DVD!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Elvis Lite, February 16, 2000
By 
Robert S. Clay Jr. (St. Louis, MO., USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What can be said of another formulaic Elvis Presley movie? The usual elements of music, romance, comedy, and exotic locations are present. The songs are typical light weight rock 'n roll fluff from the mid-sixties. Ultimately, the allure of this film is one's interest in Elvis Presley. As is well known, the mid-sixties were a creative wasteland in the career of one of the most remarkable musical entertainers ever. The iron-fisted control Colonel Tom Parker exerted over Elvis' career stifled Presley's creative impulses regarding movie roles. Parker's idea was to keep "my boy" before the public in an endless series of Grade B flicks targeted at teeny-boppers of all ages. Ironically, the concept was profitable, for a while. Dedicated Elvis fans, including me, flocked to the local movie theater to munch popcorn and hum along to the title song "Girl Happy," "Puppet on a String," and (dare I confess it?) "Do the Clam." Now I am almost fifty, I can admit these foibles without blushing.
"Girl Happy" is okay family entertainment. Artistically the film is in the same league with Doris Day movies and Jerry Lewis comedies. The romance aspects are mild enough to view with the kids. The comedy is clean, and the language always appropriate. The film is great for nostalgia buffs that remember early high school days and the entertainment options available for young adults. (Remember the Beach Party movies)? There is nothing remarkable about this movie, but it is harmless fun. It's sad to be reminded of the wasted opportunities of Elvis' career, but that is getting way too cerebral over a light weight movie such as "Girl Happy." Don't think about; just kick back and enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE PUT ON DVD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, February 7, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Girl Happy [VHS] (VHS Tape)
"Girl Happy"is the best and personally my favorite Elvis movie around.It's highly recommended and a must see!!Also,dvd distributors should take notice to release this wonderful movie on dvd at a more reasonable price so that humble people such as myself can afford it!!So,please put on dvd!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem That Should Be On DVD!, August 23, 2005
A Kid's Review
Girl Happy was the first Elvis Presley movie that I ever saw and I never thought that I would like an Elvis Presley movie because I had heard people saying they were really corny but I really enjoyed watching this movie and I thought it was a cute, lightweight feel good movie! Elvis plays a singer who's band plays in a night club and he and his band mates travel to Fort Laurderdale Florida during Spring Break to keep an eye on the bosses daughter played by Shelley Fabares and she turns in a wonderful spunky performance as the the good girl smart college girl in the mood for fun and Elvis is very good too. Unfortunately this gem isn't on DVD and I hope it is put out on DVD soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 68 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Elvis 75th Anniversary Collection is disappointing rip-off, November 11, 2010
By 
Jobla (Bellevue, WA United States) - See all my reviews
To begin, two opening statements: number one, my review will only pertain to the supplemental features (or lack thereof) contained in the Elvis 75th Anniversary DVD Collection on Warner Brothers home video. Second, I rarely post negative reviews in this forum.

This set comes with a list price of $74.95. For that amount, I expected a boatload of extra features. The films themselves are all commonly available.

The back of the interior packaging clearly states that JAILHOUSE ROCK includes an audio commentary track and a retrospective featurette. Neither of those features are actually present.

Most of the discs include some Elvis trailers, but that's pretty much it for supplements, with one exception: VIVA LAS VEGAS does have an audio commentary track with "Elvis in Hollywood" author Steve Pond, and a 20 minute retrospective featurette (I had hoped for some comments from Ann-Margret in it, since she's still active in show business, but she does not appear).

Ads for this set promised audio commentaries (plural), so finding only one was a huge disappointment. One can only wonder what happened to the missing JAILHOUSE ROCK audio commentary track.

The version of THIS IS ELVIS contained in this box is the shorter 102 minute theatrical version. There are much longer cuts available elsewhere. Given that this box set is supposed to celebrate Elvis' 75th anniversary, I had hoped for one of the two longer cuts of the film. There is a short 9 minute featurette entitled "Behind the Gates of Graceland," but it appears slightly out of focus and is annoying to watch.

For the SRP of $74.95, I expected much more than this set provided. My verdict: if you wish to buy the box set for the supplemental features, you might just as well save your money. If you don't already have these films, this might be worth a purchase. Just don't expect to find the bells and whistles that an expensive 75th anniversary collection should have provided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis The Hollywood Collection, August 10, 2007
This box set of six of the King's less promient films is a long time in coming for his die hard fans-less juicy for your run of the mill Elvis admirers. Yes, all six films are in WIDESECREEN format, digitally remastered etc. The packaging is nice and sleek with all film sleeves containg several large postcard style B&W publicity style photos of Elvis with costars and on the sets. I will not do a critical review of the individual movies pros and cons, but speak to the group of films in this package as a whole as being what I would consider Elvis's secondary films. There is no film prowess of Blue Hawaii or Viva Las Vegas caliber here. As par for the course of Elvis's film career at this point most are of the light romantic comedy genre with his ample singing scenes tossed in. There are no sophisticated plots here-just Elvis, singing and girls watching him sing. Each film has nice menu and navigation graphics with all having the theatical trailer included. Girl Happy has an additional song of Startin' Tonight restored. They all have French subtitles except Tickle Me. All films are in color. Many of these films are out for the first time on DVD as well as in WIDESCREEN. Some of them have not been available at all for quite a number of years such as Live a Little, Love a Little. A good buy for Elvis die hard film fans and collectors at this low price for all six movies in such a nice package. They would cost quite a bit more if bought individually. Lesser fans that have none of Elvis's more promient films may wish to start elsewhere with individual film purchases of the King's classics such as Love Me Tender or the superb Jail House Rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best soundtrack of Elvis in the 60's, April 13, 2003
This movie is, to me, the best Elvis did in the 60's, surpassed only by Viva las Vegas. The soundtrack is great, the majority of the songs belongs to good old rock'n'roll, and the presence of Shelley Fabares is also exciting. In this movie is pure electricity between her and Elvis(the briiliant ending when Elvis, dressed in black, sings a reprise of the beautiful title song, and Shelley dances with him). The Meanest Girl in Town, I've got to find my Baby, Do the Clam, Startin'Tonight, Spring Fever and Puppet on a String are songs that reveals the true potential of the King, very far from the poor quality songs from Harum Scarum, Kissin'Cousins and others. It is a very entairtaining movie and in my country(Romania) still remains the most cherished Elvis's movie. I saw this film 20 times and I knew many people who likes to see it one more time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Girl Happy
Girl Happy by Boris Sagal (DVD - 2007)
$12.97 $5.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.