Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Black Friday Deals Black Friday Video Game Deals Outdoor Deals on HTL

Format: DVDChange
Price:$6.06+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 46 reviews(4 star).Show all reviews
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on August 10, 2007
This box set of six of the King's less promient films is a long time in coming for his die hard fans-less juicy for your run of the mill Elvis admirers. Yes, all six films are in WIDESECREEN format, digitally remastered etc. The packaging is nice and sleek with all film sleeves containg several large postcard style B&W publicity style photos of Elvis with costars and on the sets. I will not do a critical review of the individual movies pros and cons, but speak to the group of films in this package as a whole as being what I would consider Elvis's secondary films. There is no film prowess of Blue Hawaii or Viva Las Vegas caliber here. As par for the course of Elvis's film career at this point most are of the light romantic comedy genre with his ample singing scenes tossed in. There are no sophisticated plots here-just Elvis, singing and girls watching him sing. Each film has nice menu and navigation graphics with all having the theatical trailer included. Girl Happy has an additional song of Startin' Tonight restored. They all have French subtitles except Tickle Me. All films are in color. Many of these films are out for the first time on DVD as well as in WIDESCREEN. Some of them have not been available at all for quite a number of years such as Live a Little, Love a Little. A good buy for Elvis die hard film fans and collectors at this low price for all six movies in such a nice package. They would cost quite a bit more if bought individually. Lesser fans that have none of Elvis's more promient films may wish to start elsewhere with individual film purchases of the King's classics such as Love Me Tender or the superb Jail House Rock.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on March 21, 2003
Okay, say what you want about Elvis Presley's movies, but some of them were actually a lot of fun. Girl Happy is one of those. Elvis and his band travel to Fort Lauderdale for the annual pilgramage of college students for spring break. He is there to perform at a local club and to keep an eye on Shelley Fabares, not a bad job. Fabares adds some extra zest to this forumulaic Elvis movie. The songs are pretty good too with the title track along with Cross My Heart Hope to Die, Puppet on a String and my favorite, Meanest Girl in Town in which Shelley shakes things up, literally. I remember going to the local theater when I was about 13 or 14 to see this movie, then I bought the soundtrack to it and played the grooves off the record. This movie is a lot of fun and can be pretty nostalgic as well as a bit of a piece of pop history.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on June 8, 2006
When can we look for this movie on DVD in widescreen format with

good stereo sound? This is one of the few Elvis movies that

has not made it to the DVD format and is probably the most anticipated. This is one of the big E's best movies and it is

no accident that Shelley Fabares make a huge contribution to that

end. Also, a lesser know movie--"Tickle Me"--needs to make it's

DVD debut: not as good as "Girl Happy" but has some good music

in it and is an entertaining bit of Elvis fluff. We the DVD purchasing public would like to know.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on October 28, 2013
Lights, camera, action! I enjoy a number of Elvis movies like Girl Happy (my favorite), Speedway, Blue Hawaii, Follow That Dream and this movie It Happened at the World's Fair. Yes, I know that they are lightweight and some critics may find them silly. However, when I want a movie that will make me feel lighthearted inside, to remember how much I enjoyed the beach when I was young, and to have beautiful scenery to look at, and great music to listen to, this is the type of movie that I reach for. I hope that Elvis Presley realized before he passed away how much joy he brought to others. Sometimes movies are not all about the drama and the deep thinking which has its place. Sometimes a movie just needs to entertain, and that is what most of his movies accomplished. They entertain you. No, it is not rocket science here nor was it meant to be. It's Elvis and his great ability as an entertainer. Sometimes we need to look past the forest in order to see the trees. We need to appreciate the gifts that people are given and enjoy what they have to offer. I think he would have been excellent in A Star Is Born with Barbra Streisand had he taken the part; however, the films that we do have will put a smile on your face, and a dance in your step, and a song in your heart. I pray that he found both peace and salvation in the end. May he rest in peace and may we enjoy the legacy he left behind in his music and his movies.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon August 16, 2009
Never expecting too much from an Elvis Presley movie occasionally pays off. And sometimes all it takes to elevate a Presley flick is a switching up of venue or premise. Cases in point: the N'Awleans-set KING CREOLE, the straight-up westerns FLAMING STAR and CHARRO!, and the ghetto doctor drama CHANGE OF HABIT, which co-stars Mary Tyler Moore as a nun. And for some reason I find FOLLOW THAT DREAM to be a surprisingly engaging film. IT HAPPENED AT THE WORLD'S FAIR happens to also fall on my list of preferred Elvis Presley screenings.

In his film career, Elvis longed to branch out to more demanding roles and be perceived as a serious actor. But he seldom landed those dramatic parts. IT HAPPENED AT THE WORLD'S FAIR is regarded as one of his formulaic musical comedy romps, but it presents its own easy-going charm. The character in this film may not have been that challenging for Elvis to play, but I think this is one of the most likeable parts he's ever taken on.

There are several cool things about the picture. First, the story is set in the backdrop of the 1962 Seattle World's Fair. Director Norman Taurog actually shot the film on location, lending it an authenticity and a sort of fun, wide-eyed wonder feel. Sights like the Space Needle, the monorail, and the Dream Car exhibit are featured, and, let's not forget, most of the story takes place in a friggin' fair! Granted, there's probably a bit of imprinting that went down when I first saw this movie when I was a kid, because nowadays those sights don't come off near as neat. But I still like the atmosphere.

Freelance charter pilots Mike Edwards (Presley) and his chum Danny (Gary Lockwood) lose their crop-duster plane due to Danny's gambling debts, and they hitchhike to the 1962 Seattle World's Fair. It's a skimpy story, bolstered by ten songs. The core of the plot has Mike taking in an abandoned seven-year-old girl and falling for an attractive but standoffish nurse (Joan O'Brien). And, somewhere along the way, a criminal element is introduced to spice things up, giving a reason for Elvis to engage in manly scuffle, the second one in this film. I'll say this for the King, he really throws himself into his fight scenes. It all ends with Elvis submitting his application to NASA (I kid you not!) and singing "Happy Ending."

Presley is fairly effortless in this one, his role well within the comforts of the cinematic niche he'd fallen into. He again does that thing where he's simultaneously a relentless skirt chaser and a good guy at heart. There are ten songs, most of which are bland. The ones I do like are the suggestive "Relax" (he croons to Yvonne Craig), the mild rocker "One Broken Heart for Sale," and the bouncy bedtime lullaby "Cotton Candy Land."

Elvis is particularly terrific and sweet when he's sharing screen time with young scene-stealer Vicky Tiu, who I think is the film's secret weapon. Vicky Tiu plays the waif Sue-Lin, and she brings a certain irrepressible energy and oodles of cuteness. For triviaheads out there, there's a sexy pre-Batgirl Yvonne Craig canoodling with Elvis, a pre-2001: A SPACE ODYSSEY Gary Lockwood as the gambling addicted pal, and, last but not least, there is Kurt Russell's uncredited film debut (he's the kid who kicks Elvis in the shin - twice!).

3.5 out of 5 stars for IT HAPPENED AT THE WORLD'S FAIR. I like this movie enough that I choose to overlook the fact that Uncle Walter leaves his seven-year-old niece Sue-Lin in the care of a stranger he'd only met that same day. But then maybe he was aware that he was in an Elvis Presley vehicle, where all is sunshine, romance, and song. Ah-huh-huh!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on October 29, 2001
I recently bought Girl Happy and saw it for the first time. I have seen most of Elvis' movies, and this one was actually one of the better ones considering the standard Presley formula.
The tunes are pretty good, Elvis is one the beach with pretty girls and the storyline of babysitting their boss' daughter while on vacation in Ft. Lauderdale was neat.
It is a fun movie designed to entertain, and it does just that. And Elvis breaking into a song is more believable since he is the leader of a combo, not a race car driver or a frogman.
Elvis and Shelley Fabares have great on-screen chemistry, nearly as good as he and Ann-Margret from Viva Las Vegas.
Sit back, relax and enjoy two hours of fun in the sun with Elvis, doing the Clam, speeding through downtown Ft. Lauderdale pulling a boat, getting into fights, breaking "into" jail and later escaping dressed as a woman, courtesy of a quick change with help from a stripper!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on August 16, 2007
Yes, FINALLY!! I'm not quite sure why this particular Elvis film took
so long to get to DVD, but instead just say "thank you" Warner Home Video for finally making it available!

This is one of my favorite Elvis films of all time. Why? I'm not really sure. It's the "typical" Elvis formula flick (you know, paper-thin plot, pretty girls, and Elvis lip-synching to a song every (seemingly) 5 or 10 minutes, etc., etc.). However, there's just something special about the way these typical ingredients happen to come together in this particular "mix", that makes it stand out (just a bit), from almost all of Elvis's other offerings.

The year was 1965. Our country wasn't yet divided over the "unfortunate
situation" brewing in southeast Asia (U.S. troop strength in Vietnam up until this year, was relatively small), NASA was well on it's way to turning the corner on the way to "victory" in the space race, and life, for many Americans, was pretty good.....

What could help make it better? April 14th, held the answer. That was the original release date for "Girl Happy". Elvis, at the peak of his movie career, looks and sounds amazingly great! Add to the mix one of his most enticing female co-stars, Shelley Fabares (possibly second only to Ann-Margaret), fold-in a light-weight, fun plot "set" (on sound stages, anyway) in Fort Lauderdale, FL at spring break, and sprinkle in a generous helping of playful Elvis tunes from start to finish.

Okay, a great film it ain't; but a deliciously fun "guilty pleasure" nonetheless.

For those partial to Elvis films, throw this one on, then kick back with some popcorn and a favorite beverage, and bask in the glow of simpler times gone by!

Enjoy, one and all!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on October 1, 1999
Excellent Elvis vehicle, Great music for the flick as well. unfortunatly the last of the quality Presley movies. Some great scene stealing from many good quality actors and actress. Good outing for Presley although he should have been able to retire after this one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on May 5, 2013
This is a review of Elvis 75th Anniversary DVD Collection (17 Films including Elvis on Tour / Jailhouse Rock / Viva Las Vegas / It Happened at the World's Fair and This Is Elvis) released by Warner Brothers.

I am not a fan of Elvis so mainly bought this to add to my movie collection. I scored it for $57 but even at the normal $70 it works out at $4 a movie. Not bad so long as the quality was OK and in this instance it is.

As one reviewer has already remarked, all the films are in 2.35:1 except Harum Scarum (1965) which is presented in it's original 1.66:1 and This Is Elvis (1981) which is presented in it's original 1.85:1 so do not be fooled by the 1.33:1 listed by Amazon.

Most films run within one or two minutes of original run-times (IMDB) so no major butchering has occurred. There is an error on the packaging that lists Harum Scarum as 85 minutes when the original was 95 minutes however the DVD is the proper 95 minutes. The audio is fine on the DVDs I tested. Each movie is on a separate DVD with all titles packaged into 2 separate cases with hinged disc holders. There are a fair few extras although I didn't delve into those.

The only down side of this package is the subtitles. Every movie is subtitled in French however only 10 of the 17 movies have english subtitles. I still can't fathom why you would produce a set of DVDs with an English cover and then cater for the French market with subtitles. It cost this release a star.

I award this release 4 stars.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on July 19, 1999
My granddaughter has fallen in love with Elvis (she's gonna be 9) and there are certain movies of his that she wants for her collection and this one happens to be one of them and I can't find it anywhere! I called Blockbuster customer service and for whatever reason this movie is out of print as of February of this year. Their only suggestion was to rent it and make a copy of it! I see that there are alot of others who would also like this movie so until (if ever) they re-release it, this is the only way to get it or wait and see if it comes on TV and tape it.
How in the world can they stop releasing any of Elvis' movies?
I wanted to give my granddaughter this movie as her birthday present but now I don't know if I can.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse