Customer Reviews


304 Reviews
5 star:
 (149)
4 star:
 (83)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


124 of 142 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Saw a review copy - loved this entertaining comedy drama
There is a point in "The Girl Next Door - Unrated Edition' (which I received and promptly devoured, extra's and all, in one sitting) where the movie is in danger of changing in tone and focus from American Pie to Showgirls, but luckily for the movie - and viewers - it recovers itself and ends in a definite teen comedy spirit.

I never saw this movie in the...
Published on August 12, 2004 by Darren Harrison

versus
29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So, is it better in Blu-ray?
The honest answer is no.
And that is extensive to the unrated version of the movie.
Why? Ok let me se...

For a movie that is only 5 or 6 years old, the transfer shouldn't look older than it does. The transfer is just a modest upgrade of the less-than-reference quality picture included on the original DVD.

Too much noise/grain and...
Published on September 22, 2009 by Daniel Mendoza Villa


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

124 of 142 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Saw a review copy - loved this entertaining comedy drama, August 12, 2004
There is a point in "The Girl Next Door - Unrated Edition' (which I received and promptly devoured, extra's and all, in one sitting) where the movie is in danger of changing in tone and focus from American Pie to Showgirls, but luckily for the movie - and viewers - it recovers itself and ends in a definite teen comedy spirit.

I never saw this movie in the theater so I cannot comment on what has been added to this "unrated edition" but there is certainly quite a lot of nudity, but nothing involving the main actors. There are some graphic scenes at a strip club (including lap dancing) and we get shots of one of the main actors watching a porn video at home. There are some nude scenes from behind of both principal actors Emile Hirsch and Elisha Cuthbert, but as Hirsch points out on Side B of the disc (where most of the extras are located) the movie used a stand-in for those shots.

I have a word of caution regarding the list of extra's on the Amazon page. One is titled a scene specific commentary by Hirsch and Cuthbert. What we have here though is not a commentary for the whole movie from the two stars, but rather several scenes on the flip side of the disc in which the two actors both give separate commentary.

Largely (and unjustly) ignored at the box office this teen comedy starts of really well and within the first few moments had me rolling with laughter. The movie starts with a montage of sorts, we see the jocks, brains and cheerleader-types all stating, for their entry in the yearbook, what they "will always remember."

Then there is Matt (played by Hirsch) who is pondering this question. Sure, he has had a successful academic career - as illustrated by his acceptance to Georgetown - but he really hasn't done anything memorable in his senior year of high school.

That's about to change for Matt though with the arrival next door of Danielle (played by Cuthbert), who plays a breathtaking beauty house-sitting for his neighbors.

Entranced by her Matt is unable to stop himself from watching Danielle undress in the window opposite his bedroom - but he is spotted. From that moment he is on a rollercoaster ride. Danielle, amused and evidently attracted to Matt, shows him the excitement of living on the edge, from running naked through the streets to moonlight skinny dipping in his school principal's pool.

Just as everything seems to be going so well between Matt and Danielle, Matt is shocked when one of his best friends Eli (who is a connoisseur of porn movies and full of in-experienced sex advice) shows one of his porn movies - in which Danielle is the main star.

Foolishly following some of his friends advice, the two part company and moments later the movie changes tack and takes on a decidedly darker and more serious tone as Matt becomes sucked into the shadowy world of the pornographic movie industry.

What follows is both inventive and highly amusing. How will Matt afford to get into Georgetown? What will become of Danielle? These are just some of the questions in this entertaining movie that borrows heavily and liberally from a number of the John Hughes movies of the 1980s and the AMERICAN PIE movies of more recent years. The movie ends on a high note in a conclusion that is both satisfying and enjoyable.

Now onto the part that most readers of this review are more interested in - the extra's. On Side A of the disc we have an OK director's commentary from director Luke Greenfield and an at times amusing and at other times fascinating trivia track.

Then on Side B of the disc we have the aforementioned seven to eight scene specific commentaries from Hirsch and Cuthbert (Hirsch curiously has one more) and deleted and extended scenes with optional directors commentary. None of these scenes are of any particular value to anyone but completists or fans of the movie. They add nothing to the feature, but do have a curiosity factor to them. They also chose the better of the two endings also.

Of more interest is an amusing featurette in which actor Chris Marquette (who plays Eli in the movie) poses as a porn producer and lures in all too interested men (there'e a cute blonde on the bed afterall) who get decidedly less interested (for the most part) when the girl is replaced by a big burly guy.

We are also offered a stills gallery and a VERY short gag reel as well as trailers for a couple of other like-minded movies in addition to one promotional trailer for several other Fox titles. There is also a trailer for THE GIRL NEXT DOOR with the subtitle `Dirrrty,' which in reality isn't really that much of a big deal.

All in all, this is a good and entertaining movie, it seems to lose its footing half way through but successfully and engagingly returns to top form before the final credits roll. This is a definite must-buy for fans of the movie and the genre and certainly great entertainment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So, is it better in Blu-ray?, September 22, 2009
By 
Daniel Mendoza Villa (At the moment Madrid Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Girl Next Door (Unrated Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The honest answer is no.
And that is extensive to the unrated version of the movie.
Why? Ok let me se...

For a movie that is only 5 or 6 years old, the transfer shouldn't look older than it does. The transfer is just a modest upgrade of the less-than-reference quality picture included on the original DVD.

Too much noise/grain and inconsistent color levels are the main offenders here, with the occasional edge enhancement creeping in as well. Night time and indoor scenes have the most issues, but our first reveal of Cuthbert in a wet, white shirt looks near-perfect, picture-wise. Colors are mostly set to a permanent dull hue, and in some instances are muddy, which is surprising given the quality of most Fox offerings. Trust me, this isn't blu-ray quality.

So if you have the DVD version of it, stick to it and don't change it for the Blu-ray version, you can even find a DVD unrated adaptation of it, plus you won't loose money on it!

As for the extras and unrated part:

The 16 Deleted or Extended Scenes are definitely worth watching. You have a play all option with commentary from director Greenfield. One scene featured actress Amanda Swinton losing it when she had to put a condom on Klitz, who wore a fencing mask to do the scene. She struggles to keep a straight face and loses it at the end. Most were cut for pacing purposes, which is a shame, because a lot of these scenes had moments of genuine emotion that really humanized the movie. We also get the original ending that - get this - Greenfield cut because people at the test screenings thought Matthew was in the White House when he's standing in front of the Capitol Building...anyways...

The movie's first trip on Blu comes with most of the bonus content present on the unrated SD release.

* Audio Commentary by Luke Greenfield
* Scene Specific Commentary by Emile Hirsch
* Scene Specific Commentary by Elisha Cuthbert
* "The Eli Experience" Featurette
* "A Look Next Door" Making-Of Featurette
* Gag Reel
* Deleted and Extended Scenes (Including the Original Ending)
* Theatrical Trailer, "Dirty" Edition

The only extra missing from the previous SD release is the Pop-Up trivia track, but viewers aren't missing much. The stand-outs here are the director's commentary and "The Eli Experience" featurette. The unrated version is nine minutes longer, but they are nine minutes that do nothing for the movie but increase its running time, and pad it out with an extra few seconds of nudity. So for you people, that means the disc gets the DVD equivalent to a Cable Ace award.

"The Eli Experience" is a riot. Chris Marquette, who plays Eli, goes to the Adult Industry Expo, held during CES, and mingles with the porn stars. In a Howard Stern moment, hulking ex-pro wrestler Matt 'Horshu' Wiese walks up to men at the expo asking them if they want to make out with him. Man this has to be seen!

As for "A Look Next Door" is a standard making-of EPK, and the Gag Reel runs three minutes long as features many on-set screw ups. It's funnier than most gag reels, but it's not worth a repeat viewing.

The movie isn't awful, but you would think the Blu-ray version is better than it really is. The direction is component, but unremarkable, the performances are fun but not unified, and the Blu is one of the weakest catalog titles Fox has released on the format so far. Watch the movie; it's acceptable rainy day entertainment. But don't trade in your DVD for the supreme BD experience, because it is not there. Ironically, most of us wouldn't have seen the movie in the first place if they didn't agree to casting Elisha Cuthbert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fall For the Girl Next Door..., July 3, 2006
Teen comedies always turn up big business at the box office, this is generally due to the fact that the creative forces behind these movies include plenty of crude humor, sex, and nudity as can be allowed under the MPAA ratings system. Most of the time these teen comedies are a dime-a-dozen, opening big and fading shortly thereafter, with little lasting appeal with audiences. However, there have been some successes in the genre that have had more staying power than others, examples would be "Animal House", the `Scary Movie' franchise, and the `American Pie' series. With those examples of successful teen comedies, they all have some common traits in which they share, basically they are packed full of sex, nudity, and crude humor and language. However, one thing these examples of successful teen comedies, and even the unsuccessful ones lack is any amount of heart or soul in the story. In 2004, Fox Studios produced yet another teen comedy to appease the masses for a short while, "The Girl Next Door". Starring Elisha Cuthbert (TV's "24") and an unknown lead actor named Emile Hirsch, "The Girl Next Door" would stand out from the other teen comedies that have come before it or even after it, for this movie contained the one thing that I said was lacking in those others, that is heart and soul.

"The Girl Next Door" is the story of 18-year-old Matthew Kidman (Emile Hirsch), a straight-laced, overachieving, good boy who has never really lived life to the fullest. That is, until he spies his incredibly sexy neighbor (Elisha Cuthbert) changing in the window, and finds that through his desire to be with her, he will do anything and everything to be with her. But, Matthew gets thrown for somewhat of a loop when he discovers that his perfect `girl next door' is actually a former porn star, who is trying to forget about the life she used to lead. Now, Matthew's sheltered life quickly begins to spin out of control as he attempts to help his new girlfriend leave the life she knew to embrace the life she longs for.

The reason I feel this movie is far and above those other teen comedies I listed, some of which I enjoyed by the way, is like I said earlier "The Girl Next Door" contains plenty of heart and soul in its story. This movie isn't simply about having sex, yes there is that obligatory teen comedy element in this movie, but this movie is actually about the discovery that sex isn't the only thing to look for in a relationship with someone. To prove that point the main character in the story, Matthew, who by the way is played perfectly by Emile Hirsch, is forced to learn that to have a true meaningful relationship with a woman, he must get past his lustful desire to only want the physical body, with no regard for the emotional side of the woman. A lesson he has to learn the hard way, and it forces his character to mature throughout the story, until finally he is able to have a committed relationship with this `girl next door', as he discovers that she is more than just a beautiful woman, and former porn star, and in fact that she is a person with real feelings. And all she asks of Matthew is that he move past her former life and see her for who she truly is.

The writing in this story is better than most contained in this type of movie, generally the story is fairly thin, and is pretty much there to link each crude joke to the next or to bridge the gap between sex scenes; however, in this movie the story is the main focus, yes there are the crude jokes and a couple of sex scenes, but the story isn't simply a minor plot device to get the audience to these obligatory teen comedy sequences. The actors all do a very good job of bringing their characters to life, and appear to be enjoying themselves immensely with the roles they've been given. Elisha Cuthbert and Emile Hirsch share a great chemistry that helps to elevate this movie to almost a romantic comedy level, instead of just teen comedy. Timothy Olyphant ("A Man Apart" and "Scream 2") makes several appearances throughout the film as a shady porn producer, and he manages to steal almost every scene that he's in, and actually provides Matthew with some rather sage advice, though inadvertently I might add.

If you are a fan of teen comedies, but are perhaps tired of the same old thing, then check out "The Girl Next Door", I promise you it is more than your average teen, gross-out sex comedy.

"The Girl Next Door" is available in both rated R and Unrated editions, both contain language and sexuality/nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hilarious not your average teenage movie, July 6, 2006
this movie is the perfect blend of teenage immaturity and perversion we have all come to love thanks to movies like american pie and likes. it has your average high school student makes good grades, president of the student council, etc. who falls in love with the lady who is housesitting his neighbors house...he falls in love with her only to find she is a porn star, and things go downhill for him from there. this is a movie to be watched not as a teenie bopper flick but seriously, it has a perfect blend also of comedy and drama. fans of the american pie type of movies, and fans of porno both should love this one, it will go down in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cult classic in the making., August 27, 2004
By 
Joey (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
I'm not sure how those of us who were lucky enough to see this movie in theatres actually ^got^ to see it in theatres. Reportedly grossing less than twenty mil during its quick run early this year, and attacked from several angles by self-indulgent critics, this wasn't a movie many people went to see because of its promotion in the media. But instead, somehow, people saw it, and those who did stood by it with an almost unanimous verdict -- the juice was worth the squeeze. I can't remember the last time I saw a movie where I laughed this hard, yet actually cared about the well-being of the characters, and worried as to how they'd end up in the end. Eli and Elisha played their roles beautifully, balancing a mixture of awkwardness with the daring of youth, and a smooth sophistication in certain scenes that just made you smile when you saw them on screen. Some parts of the movie were incredibly touching, while others were somewhere between hilarious and simply crazy - crazy in a good way. Crazy in the best of ways. I'm actually going to get the DVD for my older sister, who wasn't able to see the film while it was in theatres, because that's how much faith I have in the movie to make anyone smile. I mean, look at the ratings here on Amazon. When last did you see a teen comedy get a 4+ out of 5-star rating on Amazon? As someone put it earlier, we can't all be wrong. Look through the reveiews -- the vast majority are fours and fives, and well-written to boot. This movie actually touched people -- it left an impact with them, to the level that they'd come on an online store to write about what it meant to them -- even though only 1 person saw it for every *20* that saw Spiderman II. That's dedication. That's the sign of something different, something deeper than the average. To me at least, that's the sign of a cult classic in the making.

Go see it. I can't promise you'll absolutely love it, but I almost can. It's that good :^)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An underrated film - Extremely funny and entertaining, August 25, 2004
By 
Matthew Kidman ( Emile Hersch) is in his senior year of high school. His future is looking bright due to the fact that he was excepted into Georgetown University. Unfortunately, Matt's family does not have the money to send him, and he has to compete for a full scholarship based on moral fiber. Standing in the way of this, is the girl of his dreams in the form of a porn star named Danielle ( 24's Elisha Cuthbert)who has recently left the profession and moved in next door to housesit for her aunt that is away on vacation. Matt and Danielle soon hit it off and fall for each other instantly. However, Matt is forced to choose between his future and his girl, when Danielle's film producer Kelly ( Timothy Olyphant) comes calling to convince Danielle to remain in the adult film industry.

Going into this film, I was in the same boat as a lot of the people who are going to see The Girl Next Door. I figured that the movie would be your typical teen sex comedy. While the film does play out like a modern day version of the Tom Cruise film Risky Business, the laughs are non-stop, the story is extremely well done, and there is the perfect amount of sex and nudity to keep the film from going over the top. You are probably asking yourself what the perfect amount of nudity is. In my opinion, the perfect amount in a film like this, is enough to get the point across, without taking anything away from the story. After all, the movie is centered in the porn industry which may turn some people away. But, it actually turns out to be a very good film. It is also great when a movie makes you laugh, but it is even better when the story for the film keeps you involved. In fact, I would probably call The Girl Next Door, the best "dramedy" I have seen in awhile. The performances were top notch in this film as well.

Overall, The Girl Next Door is an amazing movie. The great performances, non stop laughs, and incredible story are what make this movie one of my all time favorites. The DVD itself is very cool. It is packed full of special features including a short film called "The Eli Experience" in which actor Chris Marquette goes to an actual adult film convention and plays his character Eli Brooks from the movie. He actually manages to convince people he is an adult film director. This is reason enough to buy the DVD.

A solid 5 stars...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Risky Business for the New Millennium, August 30, 2004
By 
Cubist (United States) - See all my reviews
If the American Pie movies were a new Millennium reworking of the Porky's films, then The Girl Next Door is Risky Business for the 21st Century. Whereas Risky Business was a reflection of the age of materialism that defined the 1980s, The Girl Next Door also represents its time by blending raunchy humour with romantic idealism. In a canny marketing ploy, Fox has released two versions of The Girl Next Door: the theatrical version and a slightly longer, unrated version with a bit more nudity included.

The first disc features an audio commentary by the film's director, Luke Greenfield. He wanted to recreate the high school experience for an audience that was of that age or much older. Greenfield does a fine job of analyzing his own movie and explaining the autobiographical elements.

Also included is the "Trivia Track: Revealing the Girl Next Door" with the occasional factoid popping up in the corners of the screen. However, they are mostly statistical in nature (i.e. "More than 60% of people believe in love at first sight.").

The second disc contains the bulk of the supplemental material. First up, is the "Scene Specific Commentary by Emile Hirsch and Elisha Cuthbert." He comments on four scenes while she talks over five.

"The Eli Experience" is a mock-featurette hosted by Christopher Marquette and follows his character (who has now become a porn film mogul) around.

"A Look Next Door" is a pretty standard Making Of featurette that mixes interview soundbites from the cast and crew with behind-the-scenes footage.

Another standard feature, the "Gag Reel," is included and features lots of blown lines, pratfalls and other hi-jinks that occurred during filming. Mildly amusing.

There are also 16 deleted and extended scenes with an optional commentary track by Greenfield.

Rounding out the disc is a "Stills Gallery" with production photos and a couple of trailers for the movie and for two other Fox films.

While there are many similarities between The Girl Next Door and Risky Business, the former has much more heart than the latter. There is a sincere sweetness to this movie that Risky Business lacks. Again, this is indicative of the times each film was made in. However, The Girl Next Door is superior in one very significant way: the idealized woman is actually given some depth and dimension and isn't merely a sex object that fuels the man's fantasy as in Risky Business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They need to make more movies like this......, February 6, 2005
This is one of the best movies i have ever seen.....its not just your average teen flick with the one linear jokes and crude humour....its so much more.......this movie is really moving it takes time to develop the characters and you makes you care about them....another highlight is the music for this film it is catchy and great really captures the mood of the movie........This is a great film......don't listen to people who rip on it........just go with it...and buy this movie....you won't regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coolest movie I've seen in a long time!!!, December 24, 2005
A Kid's Review
I just love this movie. First I thought it's going to be like one of those mindless teenage movies like American pie or Roadtrip. Although I DO like those mindless American teenage movies, this movie was different. If you just look at its story, maybe it is one of those movies. But how the director presented it and how musics blend with the pictures differentiate this movie with the others. Cameron Crowe and Quentin Tarantino are known as masters of using great musics fittingly in their movies and I think Luke is up there with them. If you carefully watch the ending sequence of this movie, you'll know what I mean. Acting was great too. Elisha is perfect for the role as Danielle in this movie. If you haven't seen this movie yet, watch it, it's a great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I absolutely loved it..., September 6, 2004
Grade: A+

I was expecting this movie to be more of a slapstick humor American Pie type. And was absolutely surprised. This movie has become one of my favorites. Like it says on the case this movie "it's Risky Business meets American Pie." But with a lot more sensitivty than either films. The characters are attractive and likeable.

Emile Hirsch plays Matthew, an ambitious overachiever, but a kid who is still confused and unsatisfied with his highschool experience even towards the end of his senior year. Emile provides a vulnerability to his role that really hit home with me. I felt a connection with him. Elisha Cuthbert plays Danielle, a former porn star who wants to break away from her past but is having trouble adjusting to different environment. You may think Elisha Cuthbert was put in this movie just to attract a teenage male audience, but she is exceptional and absolutely shines, it would not have been the same movie with either actors. She brings confidence and emotion to all of her scenes, which makes her character even more attractive and believeable. There is a definite chemistry between the two on screen, and you get to see how Danielle helps Matthew find a love, passion and excitement that he didnt know he could have.

The score is also excellent, including some great songs by the Who and David Grey (they even featured the main song from Risky Business, Love on a Real Train). However it is a shame some of these were missing on the Soundtrack.

This movie is often compared to Risky Business (the similarities are obvious), but there is a genuine sincerity and sweetness to this movie that is not in Risky Business. Risky Business is more about coming of age in the form of lust and fantasy rather than romance. The character Danielle is given much more depth than Rebbecca DeMornay's character in Risky Business. However, it is wrong to compare the two movies because though there are many parallels between them, the overall messages in the two films are very different. Even though I like Risky Business, I actually found this movie a lot more heartwarming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Girl Next Door  (Unrated Edition) [Blu-ray]
The Girl Next Door (Unrated Edition) [Blu-ray] by Luke Greenfield (Blu-ray - 2009)
$24.99 $7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.