Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sumptuous film score, May 15, 2004
By 
This review is from: Girl With A Pearl Earring - Original Motion Picture Score (Audio CD)
Earlier this winter I saw "Girl With a Pearl Earring" in the movie theater. I loved the concept of taking a famous painting and turning it into a fictional story like author Tracy Chevalier did with Johanne's painting of a girl with a pearl earring. The film was a stunning piece of work. Colin Firth as Vermeer and Scarlett Johansson as Griet put in excellent performances as did the supporting cast. What really made the film for me was the haunting film score. The music really shaped the mood of the film. I finally found a copy of the soundtrack for "Girl With a Pearl Earring" today. I knew right away that I had to buy it. Listening to the music sent chills down my spine. Alexandre Desplat did an amazing job as composure as well as conductor for the film score. It brought back images of the film. I agree with the other reviewer, Alexandre's film score should have received an Oscar nod. It is truly one of the best film scores I have ever heard in my 30 years of life (well, almost 30 years in a few months). The music isn't bombastic and loud like a lot of film scores tends to be. It is very subtle and breathtaking to this music lover's ears. Anyone who has seen and loved the movie, get this soundtrack. It is a nice reminder of one of the best art house films ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasing and haunting score, March 1, 2004
By 
This review is from: Girl With A Pearl Earring - Original Motion Picture Score (Audio CD)
I first saw Girl with a Pearl Earring at Telluride by the Sea in late September 2003.
Immediately, the score struck me as something beautiful and unique. It was lovely against the gorgeous spectrum of the film.
I immediately wanted to purchase it,
but only until six months later is it now available.
I highly suggest purchasing this disc, even if you have not seen the film.
The score was robbed of an Academy Award nomination
and shouldn't be overlooked by anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie soundtrack, January 29, 2004
By A Customer
Although not using 17thc instruments, this quiet, often dreamy and haunting soundtrack evokes the setting and mood of both the movie and book beautifully.
Anyone wanting this soundtrack in the U.S. can order this soundtrack directly from LionsGate Films. Go to [...] and click on "Order the Soundtrack" You will then get this CD in a week or so, and have the CD that is playable on U.S. equipment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subtle but amazing in every way, July 26, 2005
By 
Scott Roy "rocco83" (Rochester, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Girl With A Pearl Earring - Original Motion Picture Score (Audio CD)
This is truly a beautiful soundtrack. Like the film, it is probably not very well known by many people, but a gem nonetheless. It has several themes that are played with variation throughout the soundtrack. Overall, the sound is very consistent; delicate strings and piano, slightly melancholy and mysterious at times. It is a little repetitive, but you won't care because the melodies are so exquisitely crafted. This is the kind of cd that you can just sit and listen to and let your mind wander, or read to and not have to worry about one track being calm and quiet and the next being loud and blaring. For such a short movie, you have a good amount of playing time to feast your ears on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, haunting, lyrical, romantic soundtrack music, January 27, 2004
By A Customer
I loved the movie, and the soundtrack is a big part of the reason why. Beautiful, haunting music, gorgeous cinematography, fascinating story -- listening to the soundtrack brings it back for me.
Almost an hour's worth of music, another plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Girl With A Pearl Earring, June 26, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Girl With A Pearl Earring - Original Motion Picture Score (Audio CD)
It would seem that soundtracks are a good source of a new type of classical music. If you like hauntingly beautiful short pieces you will find some really memorable little tracks on this CD. Some of them will become a part of you, and this one will stand up to repeated listens.
Alezandre Desplat was reaching the heighth of his creative powers on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this soundtrack, June 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Girl With A Pearl Earring - Original Motion Picture Score (Audio CD)
Alexandre Desplat proves he is the best composer of his generation! The music entrances you and makes you relive the scenes of the movie!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soundtrack is a work of art itself, April 11, 2005
This review is from: Girl With A Pearl Earring - Original Motion Picture Score (Audio CD)
I love this soundtrack! It stands alone as beautiful, haunting, alluring, and innocent--just as Griet herself was in the film. Desplat perfectly captured the spirit of the story, enhanced and deepened a plot that was less than stellar.

Scarlett Johanssen's acting is superb, as well as Essie Davis and Colin Firth. The story, though, was a bit tired--pretty housemaid/jealous wife/do-nothing husband. Its portrayal of Vermeer and his wife was a disservice to the real people, even though it is a fictionalized account.

The two best tracks on this album are 'Griet's Theme' and 'Colours in the Clouds'. While I'm not keen on seeing the film again, this soundtrack is a treasure. It's a real work of art, second only to Vermeer's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fine film, February 3, 2005
By 
D. A. D Orlins (boca raton, florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Girl With A Pearl Earring - Original Motion Picture Score (Audio CD)
a fine film of one man's fantasy of a vermeer painting. Strictly fiction based on an actual work of art. I enjoyed the film, though not a great film. Vermeer's character remined basically unchanged or developed during the film. Still a worthwhile fine movie. Remember, it is all fiction, except for the lovely work which thankfully is real. Who knows? She was lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Girl With A Pearl Earring - Original Motion Picture Score
Girl With A Pearl Earring - Original Motion Picture Score by Alexandre Desplat (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.