Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


110 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Album With an Unfortunate History.
Milli Vanilli was one of the greatest success stories which quickly turned into one of the biggest scandals of the late '80s/early 90s. The duo of Rob Pilatus and Fab Morvan were riding high as instant superstars with their album "Girl You Know It's True" which spawned five top 10 hits (three of which went to No.1) and went nearly 10 times platinum. Then, in 1990, their...
Published on June 25, 2004 by Louie Bourland

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No worse than Britney
When Girl you know it's true was released, I was old enough to enjoy Milli Vanilli's Europop rap-dance fusion, but not enough to understand the scandal that put an end to their hugely sucessful career. In my opinion, this thing never even should've seen the light of day : Frank Farian should've used the real signers' images instead of hiring models to impersonate them (to...
Published on December 23, 2004 by Laury B.


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

110 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Album With an Unfortunate History., June 25, 2004
By 
This review is from: Girl You Know It's True (Audio CD)
Milli Vanilli was one of the greatest success stories which quickly turned into one of the biggest scandals of the late '80s/early 90s. The duo of Rob Pilatus and Fab Morvan were riding high as instant superstars with their album "Girl You Know It's True" which spawned five top 10 hits (three of which went to No.1) and went nearly 10 times platinum. Then, in 1990, their success turned to disgrace when record producer Frank Farian revealed that Pilatus and Morvan weren't the actual singers on the album. This led to one of the greatest backlashes in music history (one that possibly rivals John Lennon's statements about the Beatles and Jesus Christ).
The history and scandal behind the "Girl You Know It's True" album has gotten in the way of what the record truly is - an album of great energetic dance/pop. From the opening orchestral hits of the title track all the way to the tender ballad "Girl I'm Gonna Miss You", the album is a solid effort with its unique production and music arrangements. The vocal work performed by Brad Howell and John Davis (who did most of the vocals on the album) along with Charles Shaw (who sang "Girl's.." title track) and The Rocco Sisters(who sing all the female lead vocals) is extraordinary. Howell's delivery on "Blame it On The Rain" shows just why this song became the big hit that it did while Davis's cross between rap and singing on nearly all the tracks was of greater quality than most popular rap acts at the time.
With all the great music on this album, it's easy to see why people soaked it all up when it was released. It's also easy to see why people became so angry when the story behind the album was revealed. The unfortunate circumstances behind Milli Vanilli led to some tragic results. Rob Pilatus headed down a path of substance abuse and self-destructive behavior which led to his premature death in April of 1998. Fab Morvan (who now goes by his full first name Fabrice) has been more fortunate in leaving the scandal behind as he is now a budding singer/songwriter performing in small clubs around the world (Yes, Fabrice can really sing and he is actually quite good). The actual singers on the album continue to stay undercover as session musicians. In 1991, however, they released an album under the group name The Real Milli Vanilli entitled "Moment Of Truth". The album included the same type of dance/pop as heard on "Girl You Know It's True" but was a flop as the album was never released outside of Europe and few knew it ever existed.
Despite all the controversy, "Girl You Know It's True" was and still is a great album of great music. Forget about what happened in 1990 and listen to the album in this day and age. Pretty darn good, isn't it? In the end, it's truly the music that matters and "Girl...We know it's true"...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forget the scandal...what matters is the MUSIC, May 11, 2004
By 
eric_f (Boston, MA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Girl You Know It's True (Audio CD)
It has almost become a stigma to own this album and actually admit that one likes it. But I for one have no shame in saying that I think it's great. Yeah, yeah, we all know about the infamous scandal with Milli Vanilli. But should that be a valid reason for judging this album? Hardly. Listen to the new Britney Spears album: on some songs her voice is so digitally altered that she almost sounds like a robot. One could argue that she isn't really singing on her album either. And there are plenty more artists out there who fall into the same category.
For the most part, Girl You Know It's True is a fantastic listen. The songs are well composed and have a great vibe. From a lyrical standpoint it's nothing profound, but then again this music is to make one feel good, not to convey life-changing deep messages. Take it for what it is. The most memorable songs are of course the hits like the title cut and "Blame It On The Rain." But there are many other gems as well, such as the nice ballad "I'm Gonna Miss You" and the funky "All Or Nothing." I didn't give it 5 stars because a few songs just aren't as memorable as the other stronger ones. But taken as a whole, Girl You Know It's True is a great listen. An album that will go down in history for all the wrong reasons. But that doesn't take away from what matters most: the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little "karaoke" never hurt anybody! (all 10 songs listed here), April 25, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Girl You Know It's True (Audio CD)
With the popularity of Puff Daddy's and others use of sampling others' songs to create new material, it should not really matter in the case of Milli Vanilli, who really stirred up a hornet's nest in the early 1990s and even have to give back an award.

OK, so they said they were singing their songs but in fact they were merely lip-syncing (Britney lip-syncing in concert and me paying $80 for a ticket is worse - at least she made up for that in her performing and Jazzy renditions of here early hits) to songs recorded and sung by a their band. I guess in concert the vocals were tracked and the band played live. I heard that Depeche Mode does this but with some or all of the special effects used in their songs - at least in the 1980's. What it all adds up to is two front men performing (lip-syncing and dancing) and made had a darn good routine doing it. After all the dust settled, the "Real Milli Vanilli" would come forward, revealing the band and singers who backed the duo but this time doing their own material.

Having found out this duo does not take away from the music itself, Milli Vanilli have made a name for themselves as performers even if they did not actually sing the material.

Track Listing
1. Girl You Know It's True
2. Blame It On The Rain
3. Take It As It Comes
4. Baby Don't Forget My Number
5. Dreams To Remember
6. All Or Nothing
7. It's Your Thing
8. I'm Gonna Miss You
9. More Than You'll Ever Know
10. Girl You Know It's True (NY Subway Mix)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heck with the Scandal this is Great Music!, February 15, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Girl You Know It's True (Audio CD)
Milli Vanilli were big during my college days. They took the country by storm and everybody was listening to their stuff. Then of course the unfortunate scandal. But I say, heck with the scandal and heck with who was singing the songs. The songs are there, they are good and I enjoy them. Blame it on the Rain is one of my favorites. Girl You Know Its True and all the others are just classics. These are good dance songs and sing a longs too.

Gotta blame it on somethin'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the end, what matters (and should have mattered at the time) is the music, June 29, 2013
This review is from: Girl You Know It's True (Audio CD)
"Girl You Know It's True" is an album that is synonymous with the infamously tragic scandal of two guys who rose to the top of the Billboard charts only to get caught lip syncing. However, contrary to what most people seem to believe, the true tragedy of the Milli Vanilli scandal was not that Rob and Fab got caught lip syncing. It's that someone had to be hired to lip sync to begin with! It's a sad state of affairs in the music business when someone's musical ability (or perceived lack thereof) is judged by looks instead of true talent (a problem which still exists today), and what makes this even sadder is the fact that the musicians who really did create this album got told that they weren't marketable before they even got the chance to prove any differently, and as a result, an album that blew the rest of the Pop competition out of the water at the time and is even more head-and-shoulders above today's abomination of a genre got horribly overlooked. Judge Rob and Fab all you want. Judge the idiot of a producer who started the scandal to begin with even more harshly. But don't bash this album as a result, because the fact is that truly talented musicians created it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Admit it.. You love these songs. Who cares who sang them?, October 6, 2005
By 
This review is from: Girl You Know It's True (Audio CD)
"Girl You Know It's True" has the quintessential late-'80s/early-'90s pop sound. It captures everything about that brief, societal hiccup between the time when the high school posers took off their Motley Crue T-shirts and when they put on their baggy, saggy Dickies (with a gangsta lean!). Just for a moment, the world was full of bright colors and positivity. Not to mention stirrup pants.

If you're reading my review, or anyone else's for that matter, you already want to buy this album. You know it's true! So go ahead. If your friends see it on your CD rack, just give them some metrosexual-age snob line about how "delightfully kitchy" it is or tell them it's a piece of "found art." After they go home, crank out "Blame It on the Rain" and let your thoughts drift back to the good old days. The Berlin Wall coming down . . . Marion Barry smoking crack . . . Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles . . . actually winning a war against Iraq! . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Milli Vanilli, June 26, 2013
This review is from: Girl You Know It's True (Audio CD)
I've always loved this album, even when I discovered that the front people were dancer-actors. So what! The music was still great and I applauded the real singers, writers, and producers for the quality of their product. My favorite song has to be I'm Gonna Miss You. It always brings me to a time in my life when I could relate. Anyway, if you were a fan of the music and want to enjoy these songs again, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No worse than Britney, December 23, 2004
This review is from: Girl You Know It's True (Audio CD)
When Girl you know it's true was released, I was old enough to enjoy Milli Vanilli's Europop rap-dance fusion, but not enough to understand the scandal that put an end to their hugely sucessful career. In my opinion, this thing never even should've seen the light of day : Frank Farian should've used the real signers' images instead of hiring models to impersonate them (to this day, I still can't understand what could possibly have possessed Farian to do such a thing, because it was bound to blow up in his face sooner or later), and Rob Pilatus and Fabrice Morvan never should've agreed to become puppets in Farian's hands. Now, look where their 15 minutes of fame took them : Rob never recovered from the scandal and died of an overdose, while Fab tries to pursue a solo career while being well aware that no one will ever take him seriously again. The only reason why people hate Milli Vanilli so much is because they can't accept the fact that they were so easily fooled. And it's a shame that their songs were erased from all radio playlists, because Milli Vanilli's music wasn't bad at all : it was merely lightweight, well-produced dance-pop. The same thing can be said of a certain Britney Spears, who's also been the target of criticism concerning her lyp-synching during her concerts. Just because she really sings on her albums(if you dare calling it singing...), does it make her more acceptable than Milli Vanilli? Because she too is a marketing toy whose career is based on her looks, not her talent. But this didn't stop her from selling millions of copies worldwide. Let's face it : pop music is based on looks, and it's unfair that Milli Vanilli had to be the ones to epitomize that fact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They Were No Worse Than What's Out There Now, July 26, 2005
By 
This review is from: Girl You Know It's True (Audio CD)
Milli Vanilli. Two sexy, goodlooking men who could dance and sing. Oops! I just remembered that they didn't and couldn't sing. For those of you who were wondering why Frank Farian didn't put out the real singers of the songs, you have to watch VH1 Behind the Music (if they still air it). They showed the two men and the woman who actually did the singing and, let me tell you, they were old folks. The music was definetly HOT but it wouldn't sell if old folks were singing it. Why not get two sexy young men to lip-synch the songs? The formula worked, but somehow egos and greed got in the way. Rob and Fab wanted more artistic control, but that was impossible since neither of them could actually sing. Then you add in the sex and drugs and that definetly spells disaster. Rob and Fab got too caught up in the rock n' roll lifestyle and lost focus of what they were supposed to be doing. That's how the dream turned into a nightmare. Anyway, enough of that psychological babble. "Girl You Know It's True" is a good CD and whenever I listen to it, I still like to believe that it's Rob and Fab really singing. It's 2005 and if you're still upset about the Milli Vanilli scandle, you've got some major issues. These guys had more talent than the bozos that are out there now making watered down Pop, R&B, and Hip-Hop. Even though it was an illusion, Milli Vanilli still delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Era of Milli Vanilli, April 6, 2006
By 
MDC "MusicLove555" (Dallas, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Girl You Know It's True (Audio CD)
This is one of the best albums ever! It doesnt matter who sang it, wrote it, etc. - the shame of all of it is that two absolutely drop dead gorgeous guys were cornered into doing this with lip synching alone. Who did sing it? The music is fantastic. It also represents a great era - the 80's - that will never be repeated or the same. My best friend and I were lucky enough to party with these two beautiful creatures one night when they were in Dallas - and they were so kind, and humble - and stunning to look at. Dont follow or listen to the negativity that happened to them - if you dont know the real story, look it up, and see what really happened. Every artist at one time or another lip synchs. I am not saying that I agree with them misrepresenting themselves as the singers of these songs at all - this was from their management company. Just two beautiful guys, inside and out, caught in a very bad business/management decision-deal, with so much money thrown at them, how could they say no? I will forever love their music!!!

D/Dallas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Girl You Know It's True
Girl You Know It's True by Milli Vanilli (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.