Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Jolting and Compelling Account
The book, Girlbomb: A Halfway Homeless Memoir, tells the story of 15-year-old Jan, whose serially marrying mom has latched onto a real jerk of a man. She finally tells her mom to make the choice: Him or me. And when the mother chooses the guy, Jan goes from heating soup to grabbing her backpack and walking out the door.

She manages to find a shelter, where she...
Published on March 17, 2006 by Amy Senk

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Does not live up to potential, tedious
Erlbaum can write fairly well, but this memoir doesn't stand out from the countless other memoirs about troubled teens. There is an interesting conflict within the way her story is told: The reader is immersed into Erlbaum's life as a directionless teen, yet the story is never compelling. There is little to no delving beneath the surface of Janice's life or the lives of...
Published on September 9, 2012 by J. A. Fernandez


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Jolting and Compelling Account, March 17, 2006
The book, Girlbomb: A Halfway Homeless Memoir, tells the story of 15-year-old Jan, whose serially marrying mom has latched onto a real jerk of a man. She finally tells her mom to make the choice: Him or me. And when the mother chooses the guy, Jan goes from heating soup to grabbing her backpack and walking out the door.

She manages to find a shelter, where she stays for several weeks. This is not a sugar-coated story. This is a story of other residents threatening her with knives. Racial tensions. The very young girl who slips away and later is spied at a Port Authority men's room, clearly prostituting herself. Jan bonds with some girls who disappear from her life. It's not a great place to be.

Her next step is a group home, which is slightly better. Except by now, Jan has discovered night clubs and cocaine and cigarettes and booze.

One element to the story that strikes me as so interesting, having never been a homeless teenager on the streets of New York, is how Erlbaum kept her act together. With very little structure in her home, when she had a home, and then living in a shelter, Erlbaum managed to go to high school. She maintained school friends. She was in the school play. She got into college. She eventually had a somewhat longterm and loving relationship with a guy.

But the lifestyle extracted a toll. She had sex with boys she didn't like, much less love. She had drug problems. Her friends were unsupportive. She lied, and she stole.

At times, the book feels like a cautionary tale, a relatively modern-day and truthful Go Ask Alice.

Other times, the book feels like an exploration of dumb luck. You steal from work, but skip going the day they make arrests? You leave home, become "halfway homeless," but manage to score a leading role in the school play and get into college? You leave your friends, and by minutes you miss the guy having the mishap that leaves him in a coma?

Sometimes the book seems to rise above the specific matter of Erlbaum, New York City and homeless youths. I personally felt the book echo in my soul. The issues of sexuality, of confusion, of friendships, parent-child relationships, of high school reputations and repercussions could have been my issues in the suburban Midwest in the same era.

I kept having this sense of deep memories being shaken loose. I used to get fed up, wanted to run away, get out, go to New York and try things on my own. In Girlbomb, I see what I would have been up against.

I didn't know whether I would have been friends with young Janice, or been terribly afraid of her.

She wasn't always the sweetest and nicest girl, the true-blue friend or the ideal daughter. It's an honest book, one that neither apologizes nor brags about the facts.

Let's not forget this: When we read a book where the subject is so compelling, it's very easy to overlook the writing. When we talk about this book, we tend to discuss the story, the social implications, the woman who is now Janice Erlbaum.

We rarely talk about the actual prose. And to me, this is a sign that the writing is perfection. The writing doesn't stand in the way of Erlbaum's story, doesn't lend a false air or a sense of melodrama. It's vivid, concise, humorous, conversational. It's not showy or overwrought.

This is a book I highly recommend. If you have teen-age daughters, you might read it and consider whether they ought to read it, too.

I'm not just saying this because she's my friend. This is truly one of the best memoirs I've ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Articulate, Witty, Unassuming, March 14, 2006
By 
luckydave (Brooklyn, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Articulate, witty, and unassuming, Janice Erlbaum has presented her audience with a masterwork. She guides us through the roughest times of any young woman's life - namely, high school.

Of course, a memoir focusing only on the difficulties of, say, cheating one's way through Chemistry while starring in the Drama Club's Spring production, wouldn't capture us in the way that her "halfway homeless" memoir does. We're invited to tag along as young Janice finds herself alone in Manhattan after following through on an ultimatum given her mother. From a Catholic teen runaway shelter, to an Upper West Side group home, to a Lower East Side studio, Erlbaum illustrates the confusion, the adaptation, the pain and the humor through which she must wade in order to find the girl in the mirror who keeps reminding her that she is still fragile, somewhere behind all the bravery.

"Girlbomb" is a powerful read that will touch teens, mothers, those who've overcome their own personal struggles, and the rest of us, who just like to peer at the trauma and humor that forever mark the lives of the fiercely independent. With this, her first book, Erlbaum has triumphed as neatly in the publishing world as she did years ago in the New York City of the mid-eighties. And best of all, this memoir is verifiably true!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inside book both at a troubled family life and at the street culture of New York city in the 1980's, September 12, 2006
By 
In her memoir, author Janice Erlbaum take the reader inside her halfway-homeless adolescence on the streets, shelters, squats, and apartments of 1980's New York City. She is candid, unapologetic, and speaks with nary a trace of self-pity. She first ended up in a shelter at age 15 when she carried out her ultimatum to her mom--if mom took back her abusive, manipulative, unemployed, baby-shaking husband, Janice was going to walk out. Janice's childhood to date consisted of a revolving door of boyfriends for mom, losers who would be kicked out and taken back again and again, shifting Janice's role from trusted confidante to sullen, rebellious child at each turn.

Janice, now an accomplished professional writer, relates her story from the perspective of a teenager. She worries about wearing the right clothes to night clubs. She is in a constant tug-of-war with her two best friends, and their relationship suffers all the petty jealousies and misunderstandings of young adulthood. She seeks escapes via alcohol and the hot street drugs of the mid eighties. Not surprisingly, she confuses sex and love, constantly looking for a protective male figure to latch on to.

One striking moment is Janice's identification with Preppie Murder victim Jennifer Levin. Janice reveals the side of the 1980's club kids that the headlines missed. She could identify with trying to fit into the scene, trying to snag the handsome, older scenester (who happens to be a murderer), and to having a moment of drug-fueled lust under a tree in the middle of the night. Janice's revelations make Jennifer Levin seem both less and angelic than the media would like, and far more human as a young girl driven by an overwhelming desire for acceptance and social status.

Janice Erlbaum has gripping subject material, but she is also an excellent storyteller. Don't miss out on learning about a halfway homeless young adulthood from this talented writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brutally honest and wonderfully sardonic, March 12, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There are moments when you want to just cry but then Erlbaum exposes herself in such a genuine manner, adding her inimitable touch of humor, that you find yourself laughing at the most bizarre circumstances. Which is much like life because sometimes you have to laugh or you are gonna cry--or worse. Thankfully Erlbaum didn't go for worse, learned how to laugh at herself, and dared to share her story with the world. It should be required reading for any young woman trying to make sense of herself, her world, and her life. Why? Well she won't find the answers to the life, universe, or anything . . . but she might find it okay to look at herself in the mirror and smile. Thank you, Janice, for sharing yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Girlbomb on Target, March 20, 2006
When a writer can compel you to read on with seeming ease, when you can recognize something of yourself in each of her characters, when dialogue rings true every time, when the writing is clear and insightful, you know you're dealing with a genuine talent. Every page of this memoir of living on the streets of New York City in the 1980s rings true, and rings powerfully due to the forthrightness of Erlbaum in telling the details of her story, and her directness in expressing it.

If I were all thumbs, I'd give it 10 thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is the BOMB!, July 23, 2006
Girlbomb is an amazing book, and I highly recommend it. The fact that it is a memoir by Janice Erlbaum is great because it really gives you a hands on perspective of the main character. As a female, I was able to relate to Elrbaum on so many levels. Yes she was going through a great deal, but at the core she was a teenage girl, experiencing life as we all do. Not to downplay anything she went through, because honestly I don't know how I would have been in her situation, but as I said she is easy to relate to. Reading this book, I went through an array of emotions...from anger, to happiness, to vulnerability, to love, to jealousy...you name it, you'll find it in Girlbomb. When I realized the book was coming to a close I was sad because I wanted to read more!!! Again, I gove this a million thumbs up. I was lucky enough to meet Janice Elrbaum and she is as real as her book, she is an amazing author, and I look forward to reading anything else she may come out with. So go and put this in your shopping cart, you won't regret it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Humbling and mesmerizing, April 26, 2006
By 
Kirsten (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
I read Girlbomb in one sitting this weekend. It was amazingly familiar in that way that relatable stories can be. For me, every description of every street corner was as close as my own memory and it was, at times, uncomfortably, familiar. Reading Janice Erlbaum's recollections and descriptions called to mind the smells, sounds, and heat of New York in that time; small, cramped, under serviced apartments, Cuban salsa music blasting up from streets below. I spent those same 80s living and working in the neighborhoods of the book, spending all of my lunch hours in Washington Square Park and all of my evenings at CBGBs, the Pyramid, or a little Russian coffee shop that I can not recall the name of just now. Janice Erlbaum captures it all perfectly. And on top of that, on top of the completely mesmerizing stories of her struggling teen self, she highlights the sad, dead end, and sometimes hopeless existence of the teen runaway, even if she hasn't run that far. The fear of homelessness and the wrenching realization that one small girl is totally and completely on her own before she's built the coping skills to navigate the harshness of life is palpable and fear-inducing. The helplessness of teens with nowhere else to go, no one else to turn to and no real, long-lasting systems in place to help them is as much a problem in Erlbaum's book as it continues to be today. If everyone who reads this book, donates a dollar to Covenant House or a similar shelter in their own towns and cities, perhaps we can help eradicate the plight of the exploited teens across the country or, at least, create for them a little comfort in a cruel world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Add my name to the others, June 19, 2006
By 
Tina "Tina" (Montreal, Quebec) - See all my reviews
WOw! what can I say about this book? that has not already been discussed.

An honest, down to earth memoir about a girl who looked at her life in a realistic and selfless way. No pity party going on here. The writing style is direct and to the point and there is no gratuitous scenes just to make this book "better".

I don't know if I would have survived this world, but I am so glad that the author did and that she wrote her story.

Buy It.!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot of people say 'unflinching'..., March 16, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
...in conjunction with this memoir, and I don't think you can state that enough about Erlbaum's inaugural effort. A product of an unsafe home in Brookyn, Erlbaum boke away from domestic strife as a 15-year-old and ran headlong into the clutches of institutional homelessness. The book 'Girlbomb' begins with her escape, and the author takes us on a New York odyssey of bad sex, drugs, petit larceny, violence... all the 'good stuff' anyone could want from a memoir about street life. Erlbaum's language is crisp, her pacing is swift, and she had a gift for deft characterization. A very high recommendation, especially if you're looking to wash the taste of Frey/Leroy out of your mouth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Makes Janice Run Away From Home?, December 17, 2006
Sociologists, social workers, and teachers (myself included) have often mistaken the foster-care system as being full of Afro-American and Hispanic teens, but few whites (Jews in particular). The reason is that the subject of urban poverty and crime among Jewish, or simply Caucasian families rarely gets literary treatment (with the exception of All Souls by Michael P. McDonald).

Girl Bomb opened my eyes not only to the subject of white teens from troubled homes, but also the reasons why kids run away. We tend to think that runaways are just spoiled kids who don't want to listen to their parents, but very often they're trying to escape dysfunctional homes. Janice Erlbaum ran away from home because her mother had an abusive boyfriend and was blinded to the way he was destroying her family. Running away was like saying "him or us."

It's 1985. Erlbaum's mother is Jewish, and from the description, she seems to be a leftover from the hippy era. Taking that a step further, she comes off as the kind of woman whose parents never set ground rules, and allowed their daughter to become rebellious to the point of self-destruction. As an adult, Mrs. Erlbaum keeps hooking up with extremely bad men, who live with their mothers and treat women like dirt. The woman is stupid, sluttish, and incompetent, and no man wants her for long (except the worst kind).

Because this woman refuses to exercise any restraint, her daughter, Janice Erlbaum, suffers the most. Her father doesn't want the burden of raising her; he already has children he doesn't want. So he dumps her and her mom. Next, mom comes across another man gets her pregnant, sponges off her, beats her and her daughter, threatens them, etc. But Janice, now 14 and wary of her mother's bad boyfriends, walks out. But she doesn't just hit the streets. She walks into a shelter for homeless teens and asks to be let in.

Unsympathetic to her plight, the social workers disregard Janice as another hopeless case. The other teens, mostly Afro-American, take out all their anger on her. Her mother has dumped her abusive boyfriend, yet he still makes threats to take their child from her. She takes out all her anger on Janice, blaming her for all the unhappiness. Nonetheless, Janice adjusts to life in a foster home, holds a job, snorts coke, moves back in with her selfish mother, moves out, scams her employers, takes ecstasy, lives with her boyfriend, pops pills, and all the while stays in High School and graduates. The fact that Erlbaum didn't wind up pregnant, overdose on drugs, or die from AIDS is remarkable. Some kids may be street smart and independent, but nobody was immune to the drugs-and-AIDS epidemics of the 1980's.

Janice Erlbaum's miserable family takes up the first quarter of the book. The bulk is about her life after leaving home. Now I'd like to read a sequel. I'd like to know what happened with the rest of her life, going to college, having her own place, New York City in the 1990's, etc. I wonder how her adult life compares with the adventures (or misadventures) she had as a teenager.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Girlbomb: A Halfway Homeless Memoir
Girlbomb: A Halfway Homeless Memoir by Janice Erlbaum (Paperback - March 6, 2007)
$16.00 $10.12
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.