Customer Reviews


458 Reviews
5 star:
 (231)
4 star:
 (63)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (103)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never said it was a medical Journal...
A lot of the review about this book are very hard on the author. From page one she tells you she is not a doctor, and to check with your doctor before you follow any of her "opinions". This book is just written as a long conversation that could take place in any circle of friends. I agree if you live in the Bible belt and have been raised by a holy-high-roller you might...
Published on February 3, 2008 by D. Argudin

versus
27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Humorous, somewhat helpful book written by a woman with serious body issues and low opinion of men
Good stuff: She gives really good advice on certain topics such as not to be embarrassed or afraid of wasting your doctor's time. She helps explain how your relationship with your OB is very different from any other doctor. She is also very reassuring and helps you prepare for any number of gross and/or embarrassing issues that may come up during your pregnancy or...
Published 23 months ago by Courtney Upfer


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Humorous, somewhat helpful book written by a woman with serious body issues and low opinion of men, April 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Girlfriends' Guide to Pregnancy (Paperback)
Good stuff: She gives really good advice on certain topics such as not to be embarrassed or afraid of wasting your doctor's time. She helps explain how your relationship with your OB is very different from any other doctor. She is also very reassuring and helps you prepare for any number of gross and/or embarrassing issues that may come up during your pregnancy or delivery.

Bad Stuff: Oh boy does she have body issues!!!! There is barely a topic in the entire book that she doesn't relate back to the fact that you are fat and disgusting when you are pregnant. She herself went from a size four to a ten so she was hardly obese but she will simply not stop harping on how unattractive you are when you are pregnant. She also goes out of her way to let you know that not only she thinks pregnant women are by nature gross to look at but that your husband thinks you look gross. She describes her own husband as only having sex with her when she was bigger out of pity. She does include one brief blurb that some men might like the pregnant body shape and find it a turn on but it is written in a style that leaves no doubt that she finds this to be a rare and laughable quirk that some men might have. If she hasn't already managed to make you feel self conscience about your changing body there is a paragraph about how some men tend to cheat on their wives while they are pregnant if they aren't up for sleeping with their husbands or if their husbands can't stomach sleeping with a pregnant woman. Not just insulting to women but she reveals a very low opinion of men as well. Reducing them to bumbling creatures who are disinterested in their wives apart from a creature to have sex with and to have to put up with if she gets emotional.

Oh, and if you thought that maybe instead of getting neurotic about your increasing size and you would focus on your health, here she comes to shame you out of exercising. She seems to take this really personally. Only crazy people exercise. And if you exercise and something bad happens with your pregnancy you will always be haunted that you harmed your baby by exercising.

Overall:I know this book has been revised over the years but I think it needs a complete rewrite for the next generation (by a new author).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 90 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book is dated and ridiculous, September 24, 2009
This review is from: The Girlfriends' Guide to Pregnancy (Paperback)
This book is ridiculous. There are a few good one-liners but do you really want to waste your money for a couple funny lines? The author is obsessed about her weight (gasp! She got all the way up to a SIZE 10! The world is ending!) and silly things like pedicures and stretch marks. I don't get why people say this book "tells it like it is." Why, because she mentions gas and morning sickness? Or does everyone "capitulate" to their husbands' sexual demands so that he won't run out and have an affair? What planet is this woman living on? Oh, yeah, Planet Playboy Bunny and her Supermodel Friends! I wouldn't want to be friends with any of these people.

The chapter on exercise is downright false, saying don't exercise because you could a. cause a miscarriage and b. you'll get fat anyway. Oh, and you won't look cute in your leotard. I haven't worn a leotard since I took ballet around age 7. (Oh, but if you have a library copy or a used copy, do enjoy the chapter on maternity wear for it's unintended hilarity. It's so dated and so awful it's actually entertaining.) Anyway, in my first pregnancy exercise was a HUGE lifesaver, improving my back pain, fatigue, heartburn and general attitude. But according to this dimwit, it has no benefits unless you're doing it to get skinny. Again, Vicki, you're not my "girlfriend". You're a vapid moron.

We won't even get into her scorn about midwives and natural choices in childbirth. According to her, breastfeeding and formula feeding are basically the same thing. She has seriously got to be kidding me. There is absolutely nothing evidence-based at all in her book, just a lot of snarky rambling about stuff most of us wouldn't have even thought about. Oh, and Vicki, I was down to my prepreg weight and looking fabulous by 5 months postpartum and I really don;t notice any particular loss of "vaginal tone". Way to scare first-timers.

Bottom line? Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No girlfriend of mine..., August 18, 2012
This review is from: The Girlfriends' Guide to Pregnancy (Paperback)
I was reading this book (a gift from a friend) while 5 months pregnant and at the gym on an elliptical trainer. It's not well-written and not my sense of humor so I'd been skipping around and did find some parts informative. I was absolutely floored, however, when I read her reasons to avoid exercise when pregnant. Are you kidding me? No ob/gyn today would recommend this unless health problems exist with mother or baby and/ or a pregnancy is high risk. Totally irresponsible to 1) ignore that study after study shows exercise is, in fact, beneficial and recommended for pregnant and nursing women along with the majority of our obese general population and 2) try to induce guilt about what could happen to your baby if you don't follow her moronic, baseless advice.

I wrapped up 25 minutes on the elliptical and then headed into a Cardio/weight class for an hour, tossing this book in the trash as I went. Never felt better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK, March 12, 2013
This review is from: The Girlfriends' Guide to Pregnancy (Paperback)
Regardless what your Girlfriends say, DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK. This book is a badly written blog, spread over 253 pages. Please do me a favour and don't waste the money. I won't even give this to a local charity for fear of influencing some impressionable young mom to make bad decisions. I am still completely shocked and upset that the author recommends NOT to exercise or have sex with your husband during pregnancy. I feel this book was written as the authors own justification of her own insecurities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shallow. Sexist. Insulting. Tripe, September 24, 2009
By 
Muffy (Portland, OR, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Girlfriends' Guide to Pregnancy (Paperback)
My first impression was that this book needed to get its priorities straight.

It was primarily concerned with your appearance during pregnancy. Every woman worries at least a little about her appearance during pregnancy, but not to the lengths that this book describes. Pedicures were hardly on my short list of worries during pregnancy. Neither was using fake tanner to cover stretch marks.

But the big problem with pregnancy, according to the author, is the fact that your pregnant belly will inevitably grow. The book mentions one thousand times, in many different cutesy ways, that you will get fat and this is supposedly the worst thing possible. Ever! But no worries, this book has the solution: weigh yourself backwards at the doctor's office and tell them not to tell you your weight. If they lecture you on your body issues, then instead of considering that they may have a point, just make up a ridiculous lie to get them off your back and carry on with your hatred of your own pregnant self.

It also covers the emotional side of pregnancy, and in doing so it touches upon quite possibly every single sexist generalization out there and makes up some new ones along the way. Women are hysterical, screechy creatures at the mercy of their hormones. They get utterly confused about simple things while they're pregnant. They walk around in a sort of haze, fall asleep at work, weep uncontrollably at the drop of a hat during meetings, and sometimes become violently enraged with their husbands for no reason. It's not their fault: it's the hormones! How can they ever be expected to control themselves?

By this point in the book, I was only on Chapter 4, and I decided to put it down. Whatever offensive stereotypes the rest of the book contains, I am much better off not having read them, thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What to expect if you have no self esteem and view pregnancy as a burden, August 29, 2009
This review is from: The Girlfriends' Guide to Pregnancy (Paperback)
After reading this book as a newly-pregnant woman, I decided that I would view my pregnancy and body in the exact opposite terms of this author. So far, so good. The ten point list on the inner cover tells you everything you need to know. The idea is that pregnancy is painful, disgusting, depressing, fattening, sex-ruining, and uglifying both during and after. And that about covers the whole message of the book. One of the only blessings she says you have to glean is "a visit from the titty fairy". How crass! My boyfriend still jokingly says that to me now! If you are a thinking woman, do what I did and stay away from this book, and keep having sex and feeling beautiful. Don't take the lowest common denominator route and pay attention to drivel like this.

PS, I'm still pg, but I read another review in which the reviewer also ignored the book and has an awesome, fit body after pregnancy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stressed Me Out, August 6, 2011
As a soon-to-be first time mother, this book caused me a lot of stress and very little reassurance. The author portrays pregnancy and childbirth as such an awful experience that will forever wreck your body, and if not careful, will cause your husband to cheat on you. And god forbid you want to try for a natural birth! By the end of the book, I was so anxious about everything related to pregnancy, that I had to go out immediately and find an uplifting pregnancy book to read ("The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding").

The only nice thing I can say about this book is that the first couple of chapters were a little funny. And then it just got repetitive, catty, and sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars more like the frenemies' guide..., January 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Girlfriends' Guide to Pregnancy (Paperback)
While I appreciate that the author's main theme seems to be succumb to the pregnancy and be nice to yourself, I adamantly disagree with most of her viewpoints. No respectable "girlfriend" would tell you to eat whatever you want because you have nothing else to look forward to while you're pregnant, that your breasts and vagina will not serve to sexually gratify your partner again, and that almost everything about pregnancy will be a horrid experience.
I’d also like to mention that if you're even remotely considering having a natural birth, look elsewhere because she is obviously against the concept: the few natural experiences she cited were not positive, her biggest recommendation is to get an epidural, and throughout the book she constantly sings the praises of all medical professionals—to the point where I’m wondering if she was offered any kind of kick-back on convincing women to schedule cesarean sections.
As someone who has done some actual research, I caution you to reconsider her recommendations for the many unnecessary procedures that have shown to cause more harm than good to women, namely episiotomies and "extra stitches" after birth. If you decide to read this book, definitely heed her one legitimate claim (that she's not a doctor) and be sure to call your mother or a real girlfriend who has gone through childbirth for some support because this book will make you reconsider the whole thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Crass and foul. Author is an uneducated idiot., March 31, 2013
This review is from: The Girlfriends' Guide to Pregnancy (Paperback)
This author makes an effort to be the "tell it like it is girlfriend", but completely misses the mark and dives headfirst into being a rude and judgemental b*tch. I certainly would never want her for a girlfriend in real life.

The first assumption she preaches that really got to me was (regarding fear of miscarriage) "those who conceived without much trouble and who have never experienced any threat to a pregnancy means little more than using the elliptical machine instead of road racing. For other women, like myself, who tried for years to get pregnant... the first three months are characterized by far more precautions."

REALLY. So women who conceived easily have NO FEAR of losing a baby!? Especially knowing that almost 30% of ALL pregnancies end in miscarriage? What a slap in the face! This author clearly has NO knowledge of how babies are conceived, because having trouble conceiving and having trouble carrying are TWO DIFFERENT THINGS. Who let this woman publish this book?

I am now at the part where in ALL CAPS she is preaching that women who give birth naturally are women who expect gold medals. Has this woman even met anyone or spoken to anyone who has chosen to give birth naturally?? No one is expecting a medal anymore than you're expecting a medal for having an epidural! To each their own.

I'm done with this book. I just thank my stars someone lent me this book instead of me buying it and supporting this lunatic. Do not buy this garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly negative and biased, August 4, 2012
By 
Ali (Colorado) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Girlfriends' Guide to Pregnancy (Paperback)
I understand that the author is trying to "tell it like it is" in a humorous way, but this book is incredibly negative. The author, a former Playboy centerfold, endlessly reveals her body issues by harping on how pregnancy negatively affects one's appearance. Ironically, she urges women to drop all exercise during pregnancy, because she sees pregnancy as a rare excuse to stop being image-obsessed. What about light exercise for its health benefits?

I was shocked that she encourages inducing labor for convenience's sake. She joked that she scheduled labors so she could make sure her toe nails were polished. That was a joke, I know, but it should give you some sense of the author's style. Yikes.

If you are looking for a positive reflection on pregnancy, or you are at all into natural childbirth, seek another book. The author's bio (I have the 90's edition) kind of says it all. She's pretty "Hollywood." I'm not trying to make a personal attack, I'm just saying that this is one affluent Playmate's expression of her own experience. She is not a doctor or expert in any field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Girlfriends' Guide to Pregnancy
The Girlfriends' Guide to Pregnancy by Vicki Iovine (Paperback - January 9, 2007)
$16.99 $12.21
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.