Industrial-Sized Deals Shop all Back to School Shop Men's Hightops Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Cecile McLorin Salvant UP3 $5 Off Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Shop Popular Services hog hog hog  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Big Savings in the Amazon Fall Sportsman Event Baby Sale
Digital List Price: $0.99
Kindle Price: $0.00

Save $14.95 (100%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Girl's Guide to Witchcraft: A Humorous Paranormal Romance (Jane Madison Series Book 1) Kindle Edition

134 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$0.00

Length: 432 pages
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration with Whispersync for Voice. Add narration for a reduced price of $1.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Audible Narration: Ready

Sing for Us
Historical Fiction
Based on a true story, Sing for Us is a riveting tale of love and hope in the last days of the Civil War. Learn more

Complete Series

Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

Jane Madison, a somewhat timid, fashion-challenged librarian living in Washington, D.C., is none too pleased when she learns her salary is being cut by a quarter. Her supervisor eases the blow by offering to let Jane live rent-free in a small cottage on the library's property. Jane gets more than she bargained for when she discovers a hidden key that unlocks the door to the basement, which is filled with a wide array of witchcraft books. Jane is even more surprised when she recites a spell and it works, calling forth a familiar in the form of a handsome, cheeky gay man and bringing a stern but sexy warder, David, to her door, intent on helping her harness and moderate her newfound powers. Fans of Shanna Swendson's Enchanted, Inc. series will find much to love in Klasky's zesty blend of fantasy and romance as well as in her winsome heroine. Enchanted readers will also be pleased to learn that a sequel is already in the works. Kristine Huntley
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved

Review

"Klasky tells a strong, straightforward, and convincing story full of entertaining twists and turns." -- Chronicle

Product Details

  • File Size: 560 KB
  • Print Length: 432 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Res Ipsa Press (November 4, 2011)
  • Publication Date: November 4, 2011
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0063LIJFI
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #943 Free in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Free in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful By N. O'Toole on October 16, 2006
Format: Paperback
I was first introduced to Klasky through her Glasswright novels, a complex fantasy series that got really stunning in the last few volumes. After the publication of "The Glasswrights Master," Mindy was quiet for a while. I was beginning to worry if she wasn't going to write anything else. When I learned that she was going to write a new book, I was ecstatic. When I learned that it was a chick lit novel, I was confused and worried. After all, The Glasswright series had been rather dark and I'm quite picky with Chick lit titles. Still, I decided to pick up the book when it came out and found myself very pleasantly surprised. Although Mindy has given us a much different offering, it's still a very enjoyable read.

Jane Madison is a young librarian who's life is about to get a lot more complicated. When her boss tells her that she is going to face a significant pay cut, she tries to compensate for it by giving Jane a small cottage to live in by the library. Jane soon discovers a large collection of spell books in the basement. After reading aloud spell, she accidentally turns a cat statue into a familiar and discovers that she's a witch. Confused and intrigued by these new abilities, she tries to manage learning witchcraft while dealing with the other challenges in her life. Recently dumped by her long term boyfriend, Jane lives out her romantic fantasies through a young college professor who she calls her "Imaginary boyfriend." On top of that, Jane is forced to reconnect with her bizarre estranged mother who wants to attempt to forge a relationship with her. What's easier to control? Magic or the trails of everyday life?

I don't typically go for chick lit books, but something about A Girls Guide to Witchcraft connected with me. Perhaps it's the supernatural element.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful By Amy Leo! on August 29, 2007
Format: Paperback
I absolutely loved this book. It was light (without being too fluffy), magical (without being too science fiction-y), and romantic (without being too Bridget Jones). The characters are relatable and the story is fantastic. Great read for a chilly fall evening.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
23 of 26 people found the following review helpful By Rosalie Gwinn on March 20, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I really liked the beginning of the book and it's heroine. But, as the book progressed, I started liking Jane a lot less. No need to be a witch with all the magical thinking this gal did. She developed a obsessive fantasy about a professor she liked (whom she calls her "Imaginary Boyfriend") and then, when it seemed she'd cast a love spell on him, she pounced on the opportunity to make him her real boyfriend. What the--?? Now, I've never taken Witch Ethics 101, but I would think even without it, she'd have moral reservations about being with a man that might only want her because she'd trapped him with magic. I'd much prefer true love than coerced love. But, Jane never showed a single qualm over having had a person fall in love with her, not for herself, but due to supernatual forces he couldn't control. At that point, my heroine was too flawed and I read the rest of the book grimly just because I'd started it. It was a good book in many ways, but Jane's taking advantage of what she thought was spellbound man's affection turned me off completely.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful By A. Seel on May 24, 2012
Format: Paperback
This review contains spoilers, if a book this bad could actually be spoiled.

Woman (who acts more like a teenager) discovers she can do magical spells and accidentally sets off a love spell. Does she work hard to undo the spell? No. In fact, she takes advantage of it. Does she work hard to explore her new-found powers? Anything about the new culture she's now a part of? Nope, instead, she has her familiar (a gay cat/person) help her with make-up and looking attractive.

In the end we (and she) learns that the love spell only worked on one guy - everyone else fell for her better haircut and "Pick-Me-Up Pink lipstick." She's good with that - the only thing important to her is a Boyfriend (the capitalization is from the book).
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful By C. Crockett on October 2, 2007
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Chick lit (as it's called since it's so obviously written and marketed toward women) is still a relatively new genre of novel, but more and more I have been noticing that a large number of these types of books are utilizing supernatural or paranormal story elements with incredibly charming and entertaining results!

"Girls Guide to Witchcraft" is a story that follows a young librarian on a journey that leads her to discover her raw talent for witchcraft (accidentally of course, after she stumbles upon a hidden cache of powerful spell books in the basement of her cottage). Jane Madison never thought of herself as a witch, but she was pleasantly suprised to find that she was ready to fully embrace this new and exciting side to herself. Meanwhile, she inadvertantly awakens her familiar (a statue of a cat that she managed to turn into a man, and an extrovertly gay man at that), while also bringing down the irritated wrath of her new Warder, David, who is assigned to help teach Jane everything she needs to know to safely and expertly practice witchcraft. Along with her love sick friend Melissa, her meddling Grandmother, her newly resurrected mother (don't ask), and her desperate crush on a man who frequents her library, Jane definitely has her witchy hands full!

In chick lit novels, it's easiest to allow the character to stumble upon the discovery of their bizarre and hidden talent, such as witchcraft, and therefore this tends to be a storytelling staple in books such as this. Thats not necessary a bad thing, I only mention it because I know there are some who can't stand that sort of lackidasical way of keeping the plot going. It doesn't particularly bother me though. As long as I'm entertained on some level, I'm happy.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in