Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Martha Stewart American Made Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals BestoftheYear Outdoor Deals on Tikes

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on June 18, 2002
When Ellie comes up with the idea to go shopping for Christmas presents at the mall she doesn't realize there's a model search going on. Soon her two best friends (Magda and Nadine) are dragging her along so they can try out. The only problem? All the girls are so skinny and perfect and Ellie is fat (in her opinion) and not perfect.
Soon Ellie begins to stop eating, and starts throwing up when she does eat. But with the help of a friend (Zoe), who's anorexic and begins slowly killing herself, Ellie realizes that being thin doesn't mean anything, it's what's on the inside that counts.
This is a great book, and I recommend it to all fans of books such as "The Princess Diaries" and "Angus, Thongs, and Full Frontal Snogging".
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on November 4, 2003
I think Jacqueline Wilson is the best author!! She writes abfab books, she soooo knows what a teenager is thinking and she's thinking our era not her era! I would defenitly give Girls Under Pressure 5 stars!!!!
Ellie, Magda and Nadine are just your typical teenagers! Boymania!!! They stick together in any situation and thats where Jacqueline Wilson has got it totally correct!
I think Ellie goes through all the typical teenage things like thinking shes the only one who doesn't have a boyfriend and thinking shes fat and all the rest!
I think Nadine goes through the typical teenage thing of thinking you can handle having a boyfriend older than you... so she thinks she can go all the way with him because she is so mature! But really Liam (her boyfriend) is just pushing her to go with him, she isn't doing it because wants to!
And Magda... well... magda is the mate who knows all the style tips and has all the hot gossip about everyone plus she has a crowd of lads with her all the time lol! You need magda in a disaster situation (with your hair or make up)
I hope you go out and buy it cos i know i have! :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on April 11, 2003
First off, let me admit that I am a true blue Jacqueline Wilson fan and have been one ever since I read Elsa Star of the Shelter. I have read books 1-3 of the "Girls" quartet. While books 1 and 3 have a more Georgia Nicholson feel (heroine of Angus, Thongs, and Full Frontal Snogging and 3 other books), meaning they're full of amusing Brit slang and the adventures of 3 Brit teens, this book, #2, is far more serious. Wilson evidently understands the societal and familial pressures that can cause young people to fall into the anorexia/bulimia trap, but she avoids the oversimplification one usually encounters in books about the subject, i.e., that it's a control issue, that the victims are stressed perfectionists, etc. Wilson details main character Ellie's descent into starvation with far greater empathy and demonstrates the complexity of causative factors quite well. The other 2 teens, Magda and Nadine, are not mere supporting characters in Ellie's drama; each has her own experiences which reflect some of the pitfalls into which teens can fall. Magda experiences the horror of being viewed as a "slag" (or slut for us Americans) because of her beauty and distinctive sense of fashion. Nadine joins a modeling competition and sacrifices her goth style on the alter of conventional American beauty only to find she would have done better to have remained true to herself. I would highly recommend the quartet and this book in particular to sensitive, intelligent girls ages 12 and up. I can't wait to read Girls in Tears, the final book in the quartet.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on October 18, 2003
The book "Girls Under Pressure" was a good book. It was a book about a girl named Ellie. Ellie has a brother named Eggs her dad and a step mom named Anna. She has two best friends, Magda and Nadine. Ellie thinks she is fat and goes on a diet. But this isn't just an ordinary diet where only nutritional food allowed, Ellie stops eating completely. But occasionally when she forgets and ends up stuffing herself, she runs to the nearest bathroom and makes herself throw-up by shoving two fingers down her throat. Magda is obsessed with boys and is the wealthiest out of the three, plus she's an only child. Nadine is the thinnest out of the three and she tries out to be the model on the cover of a magazine, she has a younger sister named Natasha that she can't stand to be around. This book relates to some girls, because some girls think of themselves as fat and end up starving themselves and turning anorexic or bulimic. I would recommend this book because it can help people, especially if they think they're fat.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on July 30, 2000
Iwas recommended this book by a friend and was assured it was so good I bought it myself. This was a brilliant idea! In some places I cried and in others I laughed. Ellie decides to go on a diet while Nadine is so very close to becoming a model.There is so much crammed into one 205 page book. There's friendship, jealousy ,tears ,laughter and so much more! This is another fine example of Jacqueline Wilson's witty talent. I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommend it to anyone who appreciates fine, english literature.Happy Reading!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2004
This book was not good at all! Well, let me take that back. It was rather interesting and semi-accurate in some parts, but in others lagged off and was not at all what one [truly] suffering from an eating disorder would feel/respond like...Maybe this sort of view is as much as can be expected of a fictional book, and by a woman who has probably never had an eating disorder--God forbid--but, I was expecting more. The story's plot faltered at many angles, and, sorry to be redundant, was not at all a correct portrayal of an eating disordered mind. The book ends with the main character seeing the impact of eating disorders and life of Anorexics in an Eating Disorder rehabilitation type setting, and then--not wanting to end up in that same situation--goes off to lunch. At this point, what I would like to call my "what-the-heck" moment came about. What on earth sort of ending was that? Even if she, an eating disordered person, had wanted to stop hurting herself in that way, and wanted to go and eat, there would be no way that she could simply hop up and eat fearlessly. Not without compensatory behaviors afterwards. She could, yes, seek help in her struggle to break free of the chains of an eating disorder--but she could never do it alone. Maybe I am reading into this too thoroughly. Possibly the book was only a fable-type read to persuade girls to love their bodies and themselves...either way, the type of stage that was set was quite inaccurate.
I gave this book two stars for the attempt, and also for it's slightly interesting parts in-between what really sucked to me. If you are looking for a quick read, a true "story" in the fact that it is quite inaccurate and very lacking in information, this is for you.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on June 2, 2003
This was the first book I read by this author, and I was very impressed. I bought the book for an assignment and I was worried it would be cheesy. In the end I enjoyed the book. I thought the topics were great and needed to be exposed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2004
i have literally reread this book FIVE times. i think out of the GIRLS quartet this book is definitely the best. i couldnt get enough of it. ellie is so hilarious and funny with a brilliant british accent, and yet she also remains very realstic with some very real problems many girls can deal with. i love jacqueline wilson, and among her books this is definitely one of my faves. i esp liked how her family wasnt the perfect little loving extended family that books often have. they definitely arent all angels, esp her father. her conflicts with them, along with her friends, are things i have totally experienced and felt. i dont kno how wilson does it, but she really does remember what life was like as a teen. not just the typical 'Oh im so lonely life sucks' sort of thing a lot of books display, but how teen life really can be hellish, which is shown when ellie struggles thru anorexia. even tho she keeps her sense of humor and the book overall is a fun, quick read, it really does reach out to some complex emotions and hilarious events that reader will LOVE
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2003
This second book in the GIRLS series by Jacqueline Wilson is quite engrossing. Well sure it's classified as a Young Adult novel, but that shouldn't stop older readers always on the lookout for a great read from enjoying this tasty little morsel.
And speaking of food, this particular volume in the series could be a great read for adolescent girls looking into starving themselves. I could go on and on and say it's not worth it to shun food to get thin, and there are other (HEALTHIER) ways to drop a few pounds, and that's even only when your weight potentially endangers your health. But that would flat-out be preachy. Fiction, if used in a constructive way, is a better way to get the message across. It's an entertaining means of getting through to the subconscious after all.
And that is just what this little volume can do for young girls.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2004
Being a fan of the rest of the books in the series, I couldn't wait to read GIRLS UNDER PRESSURE. I knew this book would deal with Ellie's battle against her weight, but it was a bit of a letdown.

Ellie is upset that both her friends are gorgeous and thin, and she's on the shorter, stockier side. She also thinks she's ugly, and her way of dealing with this is simple - lose weight by dieting. Of course, the diet goes out of control and soon she's in a serious battle with anorexia.

My least favorite part of the book is the fact that nobody realized Ellie's problems sooner, and the fact that Ellie befriended an incredibly anorexic girl, without realizing that she was in the same condition. It's a good book, but GIRLS UNDER PRESSURE is probably the worst in the series.

Overall grade - C
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Girls in Tears (Girls Quartet)
Girls in Tears (Girls Quartet) by Jacqueline Wilson (Mass Market Paperback - April 13, 2004)

Girls Out Late
Girls Out Late by Jacqueline Wilson (Mass Market Paperback - June 10, 2003)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.