Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Book
Six women whose interest in nature began as young girls are profiled in short biographies that are interesting and easy to read. The biographies are accompanied by lovely charcoal drawings of each subject engaged in her area of interest as either a young girl or woman or both. The women: Maria Sibylla Merian (1647-1717), Anna Botsford Comstock (1854-1930), Frances...
Published on August 6, 2001

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worthy book about women naturalists
This book familiarizes young people with the admired women naturalists we have heard of but may not know much about.
Published 9 months ago by Ger D.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Book, August 6, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Girls Who Looked Under Rocks: The Lives of Six Pioneering Naturalists (Paperback)
Six women whose interest in nature began as young girls are profiled in short biographies that are interesting and easy to read. The biographies are accompanied by lovely charcoal drawings of each subject engaged in her area of interest as either a young girl or woman or both. The women: Maria Sibylla Merian (1647-1717), Anna Botsford Comstock (1854-1930), Frances Hamerstrom(1907-1998), Rachel Carson (1907-1964), Miriam Rothschild (1908-), and Jane Goodall (1934-) became noted scientists, teachers and authors but some were often discouraged from pursuing their interets. The book highlights each woman's fundamental understanding of the connections between all living things. This book would be an excellent additon to any middle school library .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great bios for all girls..., March 9, 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Girls Who Looked Under Rocks: The Lives of Six Pioneering Naturalists (Paperback)
Well written, straight forward biographies of some interesting naturalists. Not overly sentimental- the challenges of their lives are not glossed over, but they are not romanticized either.
As expected, our 2nd grader- the one who can identify half a dozen types of slug in our garden- *loved* this book. What surprised us, though, was that her frilly sister- the one who reckons that gardens are for tea parties- enjoyed the book as well. Don't limit yourself to giving this book to nature-loving girls!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong Intelligent Women who Care about the world, March 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Girls Who Looked Under Rocks: The Lives of Six Pioneering Naturalists (Paperback)
As a child/adolescent psychiatrist, I believe that nurturing passions in girls (and boys) from a young age toward environmental concerns, loving and honoring the natural world will help them visualize the positive changes they can make within their own lifetimes. Imagination, nature walks, "unplugging" from electronics and screens, are all healthy ways to navigate around the disconnected reality of technology (iPad, cell phones, videogames, handheld games, etc.). This book is a wonderful example of passionate, powerful yet gentle, thoughtful, and patient women who taught us so much about our world - it can be a great way to help kids see what they can do (outside of developing video games and alternative realities).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem for the young ladies in our lives, but great stories for the boys too, April 4, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Girls Who Looked Under Rocks: The Lives of Six Pioneering Naturalists (Paperback)
The 1st copy we bought of this book was at a national park for our science and nature loving 6 year old daughter. She loved being read the stories of women and girls who enjoyed catching critters, studying all sorts of creatures, and having amazing adventures across the world. It's not a book with an obvious or heavy handed agenda in the writing. It's just a collection of stories about trailblazing women over the past few hundred years who loved science and lead interesting lives. I say that as there is no reason why a young boy wouldn't enjoy these stories as well. A mom and her kids catching mice in a movie theater to feed their pet raptors? C'mon, who doesn't love that?!

We've since purchased this as a gift for other kids and it has been enjoyed by them as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book to raise awareness, January 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Girls Who Looked Under Rocks: The Lives of Six Pioneering Naturalists (Paperback)
We bought this for our grand-girls to help them appreciate the role of women in science, and other realms of endeavor, which is sadly not given enough attention. Priming them for becoming a future leader, rep/senator/president, Nobel winner, or happy intelligent woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars christmas gift, January 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Girls Who Looked Under Rocks: The Lives of Six Pioneering Naturalists (Paperback)
We purchased this for our granddaughter for her Chrsitmas/9th birthday gift. We had recently been discussing Jane Gooddell, so it was very timely and she certainly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, May 17, 2013
By 
Wallace Robbins (San Antonio, Texas) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Girls Who Looked Under Rocks: The Lives of Six Pioneering Naturalists (Paperback)
A great book to inspire young girls to be their very best! Science is a girl's avenue to achieving her maximum potential in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great role models, straight-forward text, October 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Girls Who Looked Under Rocks: The Lives of Six Pioneering Naturalists (Paperback)
I love this more than my daughter does. Perhaps she doesn't have the background knowledge about historical context just yet, but she "glazes over" during some passages. She loves the idea behind it, though. We will keep revisiting this as she ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book review of Girl Who Looked Under Rocks, August 9, 2006
This review is from: Girls Who Looked Under Rocks: The Lives of Six Pioneering Naturalists (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book about the pioneering naturalist women. I never knew how vital some of these women were to nature conservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for future naturalists!, April 15, 2010
This review is from: Girls Who Looked Under Rocks: The Lives of Six Pioneering Naturalists (Paperback)
My daughter, who loves all things nature-related, loved this book. Opens up possibilities, and shows what someone can accomplish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Girls Who Looked Under Rocks: The Lives of Six Pioneering Naturalists
Girls Who Looked Under Rocks: The Lives of Six Pioneering Naturalists by Jeannine Atkins (Paperback - September 1, 2000)
$8.95 $8.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.