Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Girls Who Looked Under Rocks: The Lives of Six Pioneering Naturalists
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars23
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$8.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 6, 2001
Six women whose interest in nature began as young girls are profiled in short biographies that are interesting and easy to read. The biographies are accompanied by lovely charcoal drawings of each subject engaged in her area of interest as either a young girl or woman or both. The women: Maria Sibylla Merian (1647-1717), Anna Botsford Comstock (1854-1930), Frances Hamerstrom(1907-1998), Rachel Carson (1907-1964), Miriam Rothschild (1908-), and Jane Goodall (1934-) became noted scientists, teachers and authors but some were often discouraged from pursuing their interets. The book highlights each woman's fundamental understanding of the connections between all living things. This book would be an excellent additon to any middle school library .
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2002
Well written, straight forward biographies of some interesting naturalists. Not overly sentimental- the challenges of their lives are not glossed over, but they are not romanticized either.
As expected, our 2nd grader- the one who can identify half a dozen types of slug in our garden- *loved* this book. What surprised us, though, was that her frilly sister- the one who reckons that gardens are for tea parties- enjoyed the book as well. Don't limit yourself to giving this book to nature-loving girls!
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2014
The 1st copy we bought of this book was at a national park for our science and nature loving 6 year old daughter. She loved being read the stories of women and girls who enjoyed catching critters, studying all sorts of creatures, and having amazing adventures across the world. It's not a book with an obvious or heavy handed agenda in the writing. It's just a collection of stories about trailblazing women over the past few hundred years who loved science and lead interesting lives. I say that as there is no reason why a young boy wouldn't enjoy these stories as well. A mom and her kids catching mice in a movie theater to feed their pet raptors? C'mon, who doesn't love that?!

We've since purchased this as a gift for other kids and it has been enjoyed by them as well.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2013
As a child/adolescent psychiatrist, I believe that nurturing passions in girls (and boys) from a young age toward environmental concerns, loving and honoring the natural world will help them visualize the positive changes they can make within their own lifetimes. Imagination, nature walks, "unplugging" from electronics and screens, are all healthy ways to navigate around the disconnected reality of technology (iPad, cell phones, videogames, handheld games, etc.). This book is a wonderful example of passionate, powerful yet gentle, thoughtful, and patient women who taught us so much about our world - it can be a great way to help kids see what they can do (outside of developing video games and alternative realities).
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2016
This is a excellent book for the young naturalist. My 10 year old granddaughter has been fascinated by bugs and other critters since she was a toddler. My husband would walk her around our property and turn over rocks so she could see the worlds that exist underneath and she loved it. Today she is still looking under rocks and studying the life going on there. To find a book that shows her how these women made their life's work studying these same things was wonderful. I am so happy to be able to let her see the many opportunities that exist for someone with her love and fascination with critters and bugs that some people are never aware of. I hope to be able to find more books for her to promote her interest as she gets older.
I always try to read a book before giving it to one of my grandchildren and this one is great. We can always learn something new.
If you have one of those children who show curiosity for the unseen world under our feet they will love this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2013
We bought this for our grand-girls to help them appreciate the role of women in science, and other realms of endeavor, which is sadly not given enough attention. Priming them for becoming a future leader, rep/senator/president, Nobel winner, or happy intelligent woman.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2013
A great book to inspire young girls to be their very best! Science is a girl's avenue to achieving her maximum potential in life.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2014
We purchased this for our granddaughter for her Chrsitmas/9th birthday gift. We had recently been discussing Jane Gooddell, so it was very timely and she certainly enjoyed it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2014
I love this more than my daughter does. Perhaps she doesn't have the background knowledge about historical context just yet, but she "glazes over" during some passages. She loves the idea behind it, though. We will keep revisiting this as she ages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2006
I really enjoyed this book about the pioneering naturalist women. I never knew how vital some of these women were to nature conservation.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse