Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Delightful Read
What a delightful read this book has been. The author displays a clear and deep admiration for his subject, but I find no fault in that. The book reads very easily without a lot of stilted verbiage, making it a wonderful introduction of the great orator to the student.
There is not a lot of detailed analysis here, but I don't believe that was the authors' intention...
Published on February 7, 2003 by Monty Rainey

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too didactic
I was somewhat disappointed with this short book. The author seems to have targeted the book to young people rather than older, more demanding readers. The book is comprised of very short, easy-to-read chapters written with too much moral heavy-handedness. The second half is nothing but a series of chapters on the moral lessons of his life with a decidedly religious...
Published on March 30, 2002 by Francois Krodel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Delightful Read, February 7, 2003
By 
Monty Rainey (New Braunfels, TX) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Give Me Liberty: The Uncompromising Statesmanship of Patrick Henry (Leaders in Action) (Hardcover)
What a delightful read this book has been. The author displays a clear and deep admiration for his subject, but I find no fault in that. The book reads very easily without a lot of stilted verbiage, making it a wonderful introduction of the great orator to the student.
There is not a lot of detailed analysis here, but I don't believe that was the authors' intention. This work is meant to be an outline and introduction Henry, the Trumpet of the Revolution.

The work is actually presented as three separate volumes in one binding. Part 1 takes the reader from birth to death, touching on the momentous occasions, as well as a good bit of reference to the details of life which shaped the life of Henry. Part 2 gives Henry's views of some of life's virtues, such as Christianity, patriotism and duty and gives an insightful look at the character of this great American. Part 3 concludes with how Henry has been remembered by history, and how he should be remembered.

Overall, a delightful read which I highly recommend to students or anyone wishing to gain a basic insight to a great American patriot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The clearest, most succinct book on Henry I've read., April 23, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Give Me Liberty: The Uncompromising Statesmanship of Patrick Henry (Leaders in Action) (Hardcover)
Give Me Liberty tells the story of most important, yet often overlooked, cause of American freedom. He was known by Jefferson, Randolph and Lee as The Trumpet of the Revolution.
This book includes many exerps from his speeches and writings and offers a more accurate version of his faith and family than I've found elsewhere. If you love freedom, read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too didactic, March 30, 2002
By 
Francois Krodel (Washington, DC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Give Me Liberty: The Uncompromising Statesmanship of Patrick Henry (Leaders in Action) (Hardcover)
I was somewhat disappointed with this short book. The author seems to have targeted the book to young people rather than older, more demanding readers. The book is comprised of very short, easy-to-read chapters written with too much moral heavy-handedness. The second half is nothing but a series of chapters on the moral lessons of his life with a decidedly religious take. A hagiography for early adolescents. This is not a book that takes much time to develop more complex themes of his life, times, and ideas.
Nevertheless, I finished the book with great admiration for Patrick Henry and an eagerness to read more about him and his ideas. I came to the book wanting to know more about the Anti-Federalists, as Henry was the most visible leader. I didn't get what I was searching for in this book. An okay book for young people but too simplistic and pat for others wanting a more intellectually demanding examination of the man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Hidden Legend's life revealed, February 22, 2001
This review is from: Give Me Liberty: The Uncompromising Statesmanship of Patrick Henry (Leaders in Action) (Hardcover)
Dr. George Grant is perhaps of the foremost modern historians, and his 'Leadership In Action' series deserves special attention. Rev. Vaughan is an excellent writer. He seeks to educate his reader about Patrick Henry's life and character, rather than mention uncaring, cold, and pointless facts. Vaughan applies Patrick Henry's life lessons to our future leaders, offering advice and direction where others just demand action. Henry is not often written about by modern historians. He is very a 'hidden' legend of American History. He was not an outstanding person in his social life, and he did not try to be in the lime light. Henry diligently sought to due his duty quietly and passionately. Patrick Henry was a truly Christian man concerned about the future generations of Virginians, Americans, and Christians. Anyone who is also concerned about such things should read this book and learn from a veteran warrior for Christ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding and Inspiring, March 13, 2000
This review is from: Give Me Liberty: The Uncompromising Statesmanship of Patrick Henry (Leaders in Action) (Hardcover)
Give Me Liberty is a biographical look at the leadership of Patrick Henry. The author relies heavily on the speeches and writings of Henry and his contemporaries, thus giving the reader an accurate depiction of this noble statesman. This book is a refreshing departure from the revisionist history texts that are now so common.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series of books, September 20, 2001
This review is from: Give Me Liberty: The Uncompromising Statesmanship of Patrick Henry (Leaders in Action) (Hardcover)
This is an excellent series of books edited by George Grant. Chase down the entire Leaders in Action series and enjoy! I especially loved this, as well as "The Sterling Nobility of Robert E. Lee" by J. Steven Wilkens. great job!! should be required reading in school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little redundant, but nice, March 17, 2008
Overall I really enjoyed this book, and it held some new information on Patrick Henry of which I, a professed afficionado of the man, was not aware. It is written in simple, understandable language, but it ended up becoming a little redundant as it progressed, repeating some things from chapter to chapter as if the author thought that a person would be jumping around to read only segments of interest, rather than reading through from start to finish. But I would still recommend it to anyone who asked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "MUST READ" FOR LOVERS OF LIBERTY, April 26, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Give Me Liberty: The Uncompromising Statesmanship of Patrick Henry (Leaders in Action) (Hardcover)
It was wonderful to see Patrick Henry's Christian values and belief on the LORD JESUS CHRIST openly written about. I enjoyed it completely and would recommend it to any who enjoy studying the Revolutionary War. BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Concise and Readable, but a few problems, November 27, 2009
This review is from: Give Me Liberty: The Uncompromising Statesmanship of Patrick Henry (Leaders in Action) (Hardcover)
Give Me Liberty is good because its subject--Patrick Henry--is so interesting, influential, and great. The book is divided into three sections: Henry's life; his character; and (briefly) his legacy. His life was amazing (perhaps more important to the Revolution than anyone save George Washington), his character was almost impeccable, and his legacy is enduring. Author David Vaughan writes on the backs of others: his sources are secondary. Vaughan also writes from a Calvinist perspective. That causes him to treat Henry's Christianity seriously, but also causes him to overstate Calvinism's importance. For instance, Vaughan all but says that Calvinists brought religious liberty to the colonies; he ignores the Baptists' profound influence in securing religious liberty and the history of Puritan persecution of Baptists in New England. There are a few other problems with the book: Vaughan treats Henry as almost flawless. And--perhaps due to the format (separate sections concerning Henry's life, character, and legacy)--there are many repetitions, which should not happen in an under 300 page (with small page size) biography. Despite these problems, Give Me Liberty contains a concise, interesting, and readable study of Henry and the leadership qualities he exhibited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you!, February 5, 2007
Thank you, Mr. Vaughan, for pointing out what many if not all public schools leave out of history... the fact that it was founded on Biblical principles by Christian men. I'm not saying that all the founding fathers were Bible believing or lived a moral live but that fact that Patrick Henry was such a HUGE part of it and he WAS a Christian and moral person was impactful to our nations birth.

My daughter enjoyed the humorous bits throughout the book and I enjoyed the fresh look at history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Give Me Liberty: The Uncompromising Statesmanship of Patrick Henry (Leaders in Action)
$33.95 $25.76
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.