Customer Discussions > The Giver (Giver Quartet) forum

Is The Giver appropriate for a class of 10-year-olds?

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 74 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jan 17, 2009 9:57:12 AM PST
M. McNerney says:
I am a fifth grade teacher and am considering having all of my fifth graders read The Giver. Do you think this is appropriate?

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 21, 2009 2:51:54 PM PST
Nirit says:
I have to say, as a 38.5 year old (with a 7 y child), that images from this book are still haunting me - suicide, killing a newborn, the intent to kill an infant, an adult deliberately, repeatedly, hurting a 3 year old, and the final struggle for survival that is left unresolved. I can't imagine many kids under the age of 15 being able to cope with the images and benefit from the social and personal messages of this book.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 25, 2009 6:09:37 AM PST
Booklover says:
I'm the author of the book---and based on what I've heard from hundreds of teachers over the years since The Giver's publication, it is most effectively used with kids 12-15 years old. With that age group it seems to provoke vigorous discussion, debate, and a good deal of thought about the issues raised in the book. 10-year-olds can certainly follow the plot, and read it for the "story" but they are for the most part too young to fully appreciate the underlying concepts. Some readers that young will read the book and love it; I know because I often hear from them! But as a class read, I think 10 is a little too young.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 27, 2009 11:15:04 AM PST
Gwen Jachim says: